R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 09-13-2011, 05:18 PM   #21076
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 629
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default 3pk

3pk
mdhyams is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2011, 05:21 PM   #21077
Tech Master
 
HarryLeach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Hampton, VA, USA
Posts: 1,596
Send a message via AIM to HarryLeach
Default

I seem to remember some guys with Futaba radios having issues, which required reversing the throttle channel on their radio to get a good ESC calibration.

Give that a shot.
__________________
Privateer racing lots of stuff.
Remember kids, racing isn't fair!
HarryLeach is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2011, 05:25 PM   #21078
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 629
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default radio

I tried that already, no dice.
mdhyams is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2011, 05:31 PM   #21079
Tech Master
 
HarryLeach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Hampton, VA, USA
Posts: 1,596
Send a message via AIM to HarryLeach
Default

Alright.

When you say your throttle end points are at 100%, do you mean they're at 100 each way, or that they're maxed out?

If they're set at 100, try 115.

Is this your first time calibrating?
__________________
Privateer racing lots of stuff.
Remember kids, racing isn't fair!
HarryLeach is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2011, 05:37 PM   #21080
Tech Master
 
YoDog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Lompoc, Ca.
Posts: 1,678
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mdhyams View Post
I tried that already, no dice.
Are you holding the mode button while turning on the speedo? If you are pushing the button after it's on, you are just mode selecting therefore not in setup mode.

Also make sure the trim adjustments are centered both in the regular trim and the sub trim settings. I remember the Tekin being quite touchy regarding the correct neutral signal.
YoDog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2011, 06:02 PM   #21081
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 629
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default got it

Finally got it to work
mdhyams is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2011, 06:12 PM   #21082
Tech Master
 
YoDog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Lompoc, Ca.
Posts: 1,678
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mdhyams View Post
Finally got it to work
What was the hang up?
YoDog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2011, 07:14 PM   #21083
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 629
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default esc

not sure, I tried the way the instructions say and also whatevery one here said. No luck with any suggestions, then I thought I would give it 1 more try and it worked.


Strange
mdhyams is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2011, 07:33 PM   #21084
Tech Lord
 
20 SMOKE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: HVR_ WEEKI WACHEE FL
Posts: 10,299
Trader Rating: 101 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by YoDog View Post
Are you holding the mode button while turning on the speedo? If you are pushing the button after it's on, you are just mode selecting therefore not in setup mode.
holding the mode button down for 3sec will go into setup mode
__________________
Jamie W
*Team Tekin*Tekno-rc*DE Racing*AKA*DDHRC*
20 SMOKE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2011, 11:31 PM   #21085
Tech Elite
 
BoneCrusher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Calgary, Alberta
Posts: 2,195
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by HarryLeach View Post
Not real sure what you're asking.

If you're running boosted, there's no real "compensation" for physical motor timing, it's just another adjustment.

Physical Motor Timing = In effect at all times
Boost = In effect during the designated RPM Range, applied linearly during that range, with max boost kept beyond the END RPM
Turbo = In effect at full throttle, after the delay time [in seconds], applied exponentially based on the ramp setting used.


Obviously, if you're running Blinky, Physical Motor Timing is the only timing adjustment you have.
Thanks you Harry!

If say you put a Novak motor in Positive timing (increasing top speed?), could you put the motor back into neutral timing and use the speedo settings compensate and vice versa? and do you gear it right first to compensate then change speedo settings?

I appreciate any comments,

Ivan
__________________
ARC R10, 12R5.1, Tamiya Mini, MTS FFv2 Pro, Exotek F1
carcar.ca
BoneCrusher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2011, 11:40 PM   #21086
Tech Master
 
HarryLeach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Hampton, VA, USA
Posts: 1,596
Send a message via AIM to HarryLeach
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BoneCrusher View Post
Thanks you Harry!

If say you put a Novak motor in Positive timing (increasing top speed?), could you put the motor back into neutral timing and use the speedo settings compensate and vice versa? and do you gear it right first to compensate then change speedo settings?

I appreciate any comments,

Ivan
For a boosted profile, yes, you could put the motor at N timing, and add timing how you'd like with speedo settings.

For gearing, the best bet is to start with a high FDR [slow speed] and then add timing through the ESC.

Before a lot of good profiles people had worked out for the various motors were available, I set my gearing so the car would top out on speed on the shortest straight on the track, then added boost or turbo to get continuous acceleration on the longer straights.

Nowadays, you can take a profile and gearing from a similar motor setup to what you're running, and be pretty safe by starting out lower on the boost and turbo, slowly working your way back up on the settings as you verify temps on each run.
__________________
Privateer racing lots of stuff.
Remember kids, racing isn't fair!
HarryLeach is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2011, 08:52 PM   #21087
Tech Apprentice
 
Charlie 13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 78
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default switch

What happens if you cut the switch off the RS? doesnt seem like its needed? can it just be wired together to eliminate the hassle of mounting? i have a battery pack with switch to power up the receiver and servo.

thanks
Charlie 13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2011, 06:08 AM   #21088
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: France
Posts: 812
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Charlie 13 View Post
What happens if you cut the switch off the RS? doesnt seem like its needed? can it just be wired together to eliminate the hassle of mounting? i have a battery pack with switch to power up the receiver and servo.

thanks
No problem, but if you do not have another switch, as soon as you plug your batteries the speedo will be on, so make sure radio is on first and wheels are off the table/ground just in case.
__________________
Electriquement votre...

Drink EARTH water and save lives! in support of WFP
olly986 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2011, 03:01 AM   #21089
Tech Champion
 
tc3team's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 6,151
Default

Bump
__________________
Fusion Hobbies / www.horshamrc.org

The wife stops me being sane and the r/c stops me from going insane....
tc3team is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2011, 05:34 AM   #21090
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Posts: 708
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Can anyone see any issues with me doing the battery connections the way I am? In case it's not clear from the picture, I've soldered male bullets onto the RS battery posts and have shrink-wrapped female bullets on the battery wires (hope that makes sense...). Any opinions or concerns? Thanks in advance!
Attached Thumbnails
Tekin RS ESC sensored-db12rr-1.jpg  
adam lancia is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tekin Redline RS Sensored ESC and motors, opinions for offroad? Cain Electric Off-Road 4230 06-07-2015 04:38 PM
Sensored vs. Sensorless lemansracer Electric On-Road 71 02-14-2009 03:19 AM
New Tekin Redline Sensored Motors are Roar Legal! Randy_Pike Electric On-Road 3 08-05-2008 02:08 AM
Tekin Redline Sensored 10.5 HUCKMAN Electric On-Road 6 07-15-2008 08:50 PM
sensored vs sensorless bprocket Rookie Zone 5 05-16-2008 09:38 AM


Tags
v203, vegas 2.0


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 04:31 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net