R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 08-04-2011, 07:05 AM   #20941
ira
Tech Fanatic
 
ira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Olathe, KS.
Posts: 972
Trader Rating: 18 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tnrccar View Post
Your speedo will run a little cooler with more caps --
Thanks for the help.
ira is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2011, 07:06 AM   #20942
ira
Tech Fanatic
 
ira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Olathe, KS.
Posts: 972
Trader Rating: 18 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tc3team View Post
Correct.

It smooths out the voltage to prevent any spikes, as said, 2 caps are needed for lower turn motors.
Thanks for the help.
ira is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2011, 09:49 AM   #20943
Tech Adept
 
noline's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 227
Default

Any one have a 1/12th 13.5 1c blinky gearing with a 13.5 D3 motor on a 100'x45' carpet track what rotor would be good the 1c or the one that comes with it?
noline is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2011, 10:23 AM   #20944
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Hagerstown, MD
Posts: 1,699
Trader Rating: 19 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by noline View Post
Any one have a 1/12th 13.5 1c blinky gearing with a 13.5 D3 motor on a 100'x45' carpet track what rotor would be good the 1c or the one that comes with it?
I run the stock rotor in mine, I run an 86mm rollout and my temps have never gotten above 135. I run a 100 by 38 foot track so it should be close, you may be able to go up a tooth or two on your pinion though.
__________________
★Randy Banks★
COLD AS ICE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2011, 11:53 AM   #20945
Tech Addict
 
mysupratoy94's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Sunny California
Posts: 733
Trader Rating: 24 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to mysupratoy94
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tc3team View Post
Correct.

It smooths out the voltage to prevent any spikes, as said, 2 caps are needed for lower turn motors.
lower turn motor as in a 4.5, 5.5? I have a 8.5 brushless, is that in the lower turn motor list category?
mysupratoy94 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2011, 01:47 PM   #20946
Tech Lord
 
20 SMOKE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: HVR_ WEEKI WACHEE FL
Posts: 10,299
Trader Rating: 101 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mysupratoy94 View Post
lower turn motor as in a 4.5, 5.5? I have a 8.5 brushless, is that in the lower turn motor list category?
no,is it the pro
__________________
Jamie W
*Team Tekin*Tekno-rc*DE Racing*AKA*DDHRC*
20 SMOKE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2011, 02:24 PM   #20947
Tech Addict
 
mysupratoy94's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Sunny California
Posts: 733
Trader Rating: 24 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to mysupratoy94
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 20 SMOKE View Post
no,is it the pro
No its the RS model.
mysupratoy94 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2011, 05:54 AM   #20948
Tech Elite
 
UK.hardcore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Belgium.
Posts: 2,136
Default

Is it ok to connect the cap with some wire?

I want it a little further away because it would be a cleaner install.
__________________
A racecar is only as good as the mechanic who build it.
UK.hardcore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2011, 06:59 AM   #20949
Tech Lord
 
20 SMOKE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: HVR_ WEEKI WACHEE FL
Posts: 10,299
Trader Rating: 101 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mysupratoy94 View Post
No its the RS model.
8.5 and rs is fine no need for a second
__________________
Jamie W
*Team Tekin*Tekno-rc*DE Racing*AKA*DDHRC*
20 SMOKE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2011, 07:00 AM   #20950
Tech Lord
 
20 SMOKE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: HVR_ WEEKI WACHEE FL
Posts: 10,299
Trader Rating: 101 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by UK.hardcore View Post
Is it ok to connect the cap with some wire?

I want it a little further away because it would be a cleaner install.
you want it as close as you can to the post,put some black shrink wrap on it
__________________
Jamie W
*Team Tekin*Tekno-rc*DE Racing*AKA*DDHRC*
20 SMOKE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2011, 07:01 AM   #20951
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: France
Posts: 812
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by UK.hardcore View Post
Is it ok to connect the cap with some wire?

I want it a little further away because it would be a cleaner install.
Yes I cannot see a reason why not, mine has 4 caps on a wired unit, make sure to get the proper wire, that's all
__________________
Electriquement votre...

Drink EARTH water and save lives! in support of WFP
olly986 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2011, 02:04 PM   #20952
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Staten island,ny
Posts: 295
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

Hey i have the rs speed control and just bought the hotwire interface for it. I just have a quick question how do i put the speed control in blinky mode. Please help new to this stuff
sczrface85 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2011, 02:34 PM   #20953
Tech Elite
 
UK.hardcore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Belgium.
Posts: 2,136
Default

you have to load 212 software in the speedo.

the computer will basicly tell you how.

then, it will be TP 1 for blinky in the speedo.

it's all on the Tekin site too.
__________________
A racecar is only as good as the mechanic who build it.
UK.hardcore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2011, 03:55 PM   #20954
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Staten island,ny
Posts: 295
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

thanks i got it know so easy to follow off the website
sczrface85 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2011, 07:37 PM   #20955
Tech Master
 
ShadowAu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Somewhere you'd never heard of
Posts: 1,531
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

Could I push an RS to 6.5 with some boost?... if I add a fan to blow across the post?
__________________
I am quite content with doing what I do

Don't mistake not being happy for unhappiness - its not the same thing
ShadowAu is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tekin Redline RS Sensored ESC and motors, opinions for offroad? Cain Electric Off-Road 4230 06-07-2015 04:38 PM
Sensored vs. Sensorless lemansracer Electric On-Road 71 02-14-2009 03:19 AM
New Tekin Redline Sensored Motors are Roar Legal! Randy_Pike Electric On-Road 3 08-05-2008 02:08 AM
Tekin Redline Sensored 10.5 HUCKMAN Electric On-Road 6 07-15-2008 08:50 PM
sensored vs sensorless bprocket Rookie Zone 5 05-16-2008 09:38 AM


Tags
v203, vegas 2.0


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 04:32 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net