R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 08-03-2011, 12:24 PM   #20926
Super Moderator
 
Kraig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Sun Prairie, WI
Posts: 6,497
Trader Rating: 71 (100%+)
Default

I am running in blinking mode currently and I will see the two led's blink and then on occasion the first led will blink when the two blinking led's won't blink during this time. So it goes like this, two blinking lights for about 3-4 times and then the first led will blink and then it will return to the two blinking led's. It seems to do this in the same pattern continuously.

I am running it with a 3Pk radio so I am wondering if it is a neutral related issue?
__________________
There is great need for a sarcasm font.

You never know when it will strike, but there comes a moment at work when you know that you just aren't going to do anything productive for the rest of the day.

Sometimes I post just to look at my avatar.
Kraig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2011, 01:04 PM   #20927
Tech Master
 
YoDog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Lompoc, Ca.
Posts: 1,686
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by goin2drt View Post
Two outside LEDs on both sides blink and no chime.
It's either changed to the wrong motor type setting (brushed/brushless)or the motor has a bad connection on one or more of the windings. The last scenario is that some FET's have failed thus causing the "wrong Motor" LED indication.
This has happened to me and several of my friends who also run The RS.

You will see several others with the same problem if you look back in this thread.
YoDog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2011, 01:49 PM   #20928
Tech Champion
 
touringdriver's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: RICKY RACERVILLE
Posts: 5,203
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

what is the true purpose of using the silver cap on a rs pro? and what are the advantages if i used 2?
__________________
Proudly Sponsored by: Mr. Crash Racing, RickyRacer lidz & Ebay..
Rock Chalk Jayhawks
2014 Subway Cup & Dee and Mees On-road Race Schedule:
http://www.rctech.net/forum/kansas-m...l#post11891510
touringdriver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2011, 02:51 PM   #20929
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Denmark
Posts: 562
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RedBullFiXX View Post
Randy can give more exact numbers on how much actual advance there is at 80 or 100%, but it is negligible compared to boosting, or turbo.
If I remember correct, 100% timing advance is 30 degress.
__________________
Niklas Hansen
Team TCHobby / Team Upgrade-RC
Tamiya TRF417 / Speed Passion GT2.0 / Speed Passion V3 motors.
Nilks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2011, 02:55 PM   #20930
Tech Master
 
yokemad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 1,150
Default

Hi guys
What's the latest software version for Rs pro?
I was thinking v212 is the latest but seen on the forum some people talking about v218....
Cheers
yokemad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2011, 03:00 PM   #20931
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Denmark
Posts: 562
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by yokemad View Post
Hi guys
What's the latest software version for Rs pro?
I was thinking v212 is the latest but seen on the forum some people talking about v218....
Cheers
v212
__________________
Niklas Hansen
Team TCHobby / Team Upgrade-RC
Tamiya TRF417 / Speed Passion GT2.0 / Speed Passion V3 motors.
Nilks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2011, 03:01 PM   #20932
Tech Lord
 
20 SMOKE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: HVR_ WEEKI WACHEE FL
Posts: 10,299
Trader Rating: 101 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nilks View Post
If I remember correct, 100% timing advance is 30 degress.
yes

Quote:
Originally Posted by yokemad View Post
Hi guys
What's the latest software version for Rs pro?
I was thinking v212 is the latest but seen on the forum some people talking about v218....
Cheers
thats all here say
__________________
Jamie W
*Team Tekin*Tekno-rc*DE Racing*AKA*DDHRC*

Last edited by 20 SMOKE; 08-03-2011 at 06:44 PM.
20 SMOKE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2011, 03:52 PM   #20933
Tech Adept
 
Groomie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 157
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by M-Technic View Post
My suggestion for a Duo3:

50 boost
5,XXX start rpm
18,XXX end RPM
10-12 turbo
ramp 2
delay .20
1-2 notch advanced timing on the motor
6.0-6.5 FDR

That should be noticably faster than the setup you are using now.
Hi Do you have a suggestion for a 70x30 meter track using a duo3 17.5
70m straight and flowing infield

Thanks Groomie
__________________
WSRC open and ready to race
Check us out at
http://www.facebook.com/WesternSydneyRaceCentre
Groomie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2011, 04:11 PM   #20934
Tech Regular
 
TrevCoult's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Worksop, Nottinghamshire, UK
Posts: 355
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kraig View Post
I am running in blinking mode currently and I will see the two led's blink and then on occasion the first led will blink when the two blinking led's won't blink during this time. So it goes like this, two blinking lights for about 3-4 times and then the first led will blink and then it will return to the two blinking led's. It seems to do this in the same pattern continuously.

I am running it with a 3Pk radio so I am wondering if it is a neutral related issue?
Don't worry, the single LED blinking is just the temperature monitor kicking in. There's nothing wrong.

Trev
__________________
Schumacher Atom GT12
Schumacher Eclipse 12th
www.carsrcracing.co.uk
CARSrcracing.co.uk Webmaster
Schumacher Racing
TrevCoult is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2011, 07:48 PM   #20935
Super Moderator
 
Kraig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Sun Prairie, WI
Posts: 6,497
Trader Rating: 71 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TrevCoult View Post
Don't worry, the single LED blinking is just the temperature monitor kicking in. There's nothing wrong.

Trev
Thank you.
__________________
There is great need for a sarcasm font.

You never know when it will strike, but there comes a moment at work when you know that you just aren't going to do anything productive for the rest of the day.

Sometimes I post just to look at my avatar.
Kraig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2011, 07:53 PM   #20936
ira
Tech Fanatic
 
ira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Olathe, KS.
Posts: 972
Trader Rating: 18 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by touringdriver View Post
what is the true purpose of using the silver cap on a rs pro? and what are the advantages if i used 2?
Any help with this, Thanks.
ira is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2011, 08:28 PM   #20937
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 679
Trader Rating: 82 (100%+)
Default

Your speedo will run a little cooler with more caps --
tnrccar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2011, 08:31 PM   #20938
Tech Lord
 
20 SMOKE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: HVR_ WEEKI WACHEE FL
Posts: 10,299
Trader Rating: 101 (100%+)
Default

only if you are using low turn motors it will help keep it cooler,there is no advantage in using more than one cap with high turn motors
__________________
Jamie W
*Team Tekin*Tekno-rc*DE Racing*AKA*DDHRC*
20 SMOKE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2011, 08:41 PM   #20939
Tech Champion
 
touringdriver's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: RICKY RACERVILLE
Posts: 5,203
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

So the purpose of the cap is to help cool the speedo and that's all?
__________________
Proudly Sponsored by: Mr. Crash Racing, RickyRacer lidz & Ebay..
Rock Chalk Jayhawks
2014 Subway Cup & Dee and Mees On-road Race Schedule:
http://www.rctech.net/forum/kansas-m...l#post11891510
touringdriver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2011, 01:59 AM   #20940
Tech Champion
 
tc3team's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 6,151
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by touringdriver View Post
So the purpose of the cap is to help cool the speedo and that's all?
Correct.

It smooths out the voltage to prevent any spikes, as said, 2 caps are needed for lower turn motors.
__________________
Fusion Hobbies / www.horshamrc.org

The wife stops me being sane and the r/c stops me from going insane....
tc3team is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tekin Redline RS Sensored ESC and motors, opinions for offroad? Cain Electric Off-Road 4230 06-07-2015 04:38 PM
Sensored vs. Sensorless lemansracer Electric On-Road 71 02-14-2009 03:19 AM
New Tekin Redline Sensored Motors are Roar Legal! Randy_Pike Electric On-Road 3 08-05-2008 02:08 AM
Tekin Redline Sensored 10.5 HUCKMAN Electric On-Road 6 07-15-2008 08:50 PM
sensored vs sensorless bprocket Rookie Zone 5 05-16-2008 09:38 AM


Tags
v203, vegas 2.0


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 08:13 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net