R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 07-16-2011, 02:10 PM   #20866
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: France
Posts: 172
Default

Yes, that is on the hotwire. But 75 degres of timing don t work. I m remember tekin have an internal security about over timing.
But don t remember exatly if it s 64 or

I m waiting randy answer about it.
Manson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2011, 03:16 PM   #20867
Tech Lord
 
20 SMOKE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: HVR_ WEEKI WACHEE FL
Posts: 10,299
Trader Rating: 101 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Manson View Post
Yes, that is on the hotwire. But 75 degres of timing don t work. I m remember tekin have an internal security about over timing.
But don t remember exatly if it s 64 or

I m waiting randy answer about it.
it is 75* of internal timing,yes there are setups that go as high as 90+ but some where in the 60* total is what you want or less
__________________
Jamie W
*Team Tekin*Tekno-rc*DE Racing*AKA*DDHRC*
20 SMOKE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2011, 04:56 PM   #20868
Team Tekin
 
Randy_Pike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Norcal
Posts: 9,702
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to Randy_Pike
Default

Guys what you all must understand is that yes you can put max boost (55) and max turbo (20) and it will set. However we will not let them time to the point of mis-coumutation. This would destroy the motor and the speedo.

Technically anything over 60 will fire on the wrong phase. You may have it set to these extremes but the motor is not likely getting it.

I've said it more times than I can count, there is no reason to max out the settings. Doing so will often make you slower during the entire run.
__________________
"Things may come to those who wait, but only the things left by those who hustle." Abraham Lincoln

Tekin,Protek,A-Main Hobbies,JConcepts,Avid RC,Yokomo,MIP,SikLidz,FactoryRC, www.randypikerc.com
Randy_Pike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2011, 05:22 AM   #20869
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: France
Posts: 172
Default

Ok, but on the tekin official web site we can found a lot of setup sheet with more than 60 degres.

I m trying to understand lol
Manson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2011, 07:48 AM   #20870
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Denmark
Posts: 562
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Randy_Pike View Post
Guys what you all must understand is that yes you can put max boost (55) and max turbo (20) and it will set. However we will not let them time to the point of mis-coumutation. This would destroy the motor and the speedo.

Technically anything over 60 will fire on the wrong phase. You may have it set to these extremes but the motor is not likely getting it.

I've said it more times than I can count, there is no reason to max out the settings. Doing so will often make you slower during the entire run.
So for a guy with English as a 2nd language, what exactly do you mean? Will Tekin just "ignore" timing above 60 degrees? Or will it make some kind of check whether it will fire on the wrong phase, and if it will, just skip that "firing"?
__________________
Niklas Hansen
Team TCHobby / Team Upgrade-RC
Tamiya TRF417 / Speed Passion GT2.0 / Speed Passion V3 motors.
Nilks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2011, 10:34 AM   #20871
Team Tekin
 
Randy_Pike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Norcal
Posts: 9,702
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to Randy_Pike
Default

We will not allow the motor to miscomutate due to excessive timing set by the user. Some secrets are better left alone.
__________________
"Things may come to those who wait, but only the things left by those who hustle." Abraham Lincoln

Tekin,Protek,A-Main Hobbies,JConcepts,Avid RC,Yokomo,MIP,SikLidz,FactoryRC, www.randypikerc.com
Randy_Pike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2011, 03:50 AM   #20872
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 57
Default

This weekend i tried my speedo maxed out to see what the effects were on the motor heat and lap times.

I used a LRP X12 10.5 with 0 insert and turbo max as well as timing boost max result motor heat was 95 degrees and a fastest laptime of 17.56.

Then changed my LRP X12 insert to -15 and reduced my turbo to 15 and timing boost to 50 the motor came off at 85 degrees and a fastest laptime of 17.05. I have far more punch and it didnt compromise top end speed.

Just because you max settings doesnt mean faster, you can put too much timing on.
__________________
Team Durango UK, Muchmore Racing
Adam Howe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2011, 04:11 AM   #20873
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: London
Posts: 83
Default

With a 13.5 I use 55 timing boost, no turbo but the max setting on the motor which i think is 20. I've had no issues and the temps come off at no more than 40 degrees and thats on a track 32m x 14m geared at around 9.3:1. On other smaller tracks i can be geared as low as 13.1:1.
RSCosworth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2011, 06:25 AM   #20874
PDR
Tech Master
 
PDR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 1,826
Trader Rating: 30 (100%+)
Default

Anyone got a good starting point for an LRP X12 21.5 TC setup?

Phil.
__________________
Looking for chassis | Multiple Kids
2011 Slowest Winner - 21.5 Muchmore Masters & NSW State Titles Demo Class
https://www.facebook.com/phatdadracing/
Making an A Main at a Scotty Ernst event. Awesome. Scotty calling you first in A1. Priceless
PDR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2011, 11:58 AM   #20875
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Denmark
Posts: 562
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Adam Howe View Post
This weekend i tried my speedo maxed out to see what the effects were on the motor heat and lap times.

I used a LRP X12 10.5 with 0 insert and turbo max as well as timing boost max result motor heat was 95 degrees and a fastest laptime of 17.56.

Then changed my LRP X12 insert to -15 and reduced my turbo to 15 and timing boost to 50 the motor came off at 85 degrees and a fastest laptime of 17.05. I have far more punch and it didnt compromise top end speed.

Just because you max settings doesnt mean faster, you can put too much timing on.
Well, to be honest - You did use an X12, which are known to have a lot of timing built-in, so they do need less timing than other motors. Plus it was a 10.5T, which also needs less timing. So yeah - you did over-time heavily.
__________________
Niklas Hansen
Team TCHobby / Team Upgrade-RC
Tamiya TRF417 / Speed Passion GT2.0 / Speed Passion V3 motors.
Nilks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2011, 12:01 PM   #20876
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Denmark
Posts: 562
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RSCosworth View Post
With a 13.5 I use 55 timing boost, no turbo but the max setting on the motor which i think is 20. I've had no issues and the temps come off at no more than 40 degrees and thats on a track 32m x 14m geared at around 9.3:1. On other smaller tracks i can be geared as low as 13.1:1.
That sounds extremely under-geared to me, and the temps seem to agree. Gear up to get more speed. You still have a lot of room to gear up.

I found a heavier gearing to be easier to drive, so I would prefer a higher gearing, if I can.
__________________
Niklas Hansen
Team TCHobby / Team Upgrade-RC
Tamiya TRF417 / Speed Passion GT2.0 / Speed Passion V3 motors.
Nilks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2011, 04:20 AM   #20877
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 57
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nilks View Post
Well, to be honest - You did use an X12, which are known to have a lot of timing built-in, so they do need less timing than other motors. Plus it was a 10.5T, which also needs less timing. So yeah - you did over-time heavily.
I knew that.

It was a test, so i could post my findings
__________________
Team Durango UK, Muchmore Racing
Adam Howe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2011, 08:52 AM   #20878
Tech Addict
 
Stogie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Biggie Shorty style
Posts: 716
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default Cooling this puppy...

So - I'm really curious just how much a fan will really help cool this unit when there is no exposed mosfet/aluminum/whatever, such as on competitor products such as LRP/SP/Novak. Is there some kind of micro-perforation in the plastic case that I just can't see?

Suffered my first series of thermal shut-downs over the weekend when I took the leap from 17.5 to 6.5 modified on a huge outdoor asphalt track (Leisure Hours Raceway). I tried several different combinations of FDR and settings on the unit, but the longest I could go was about 3 minutes before shutdown. The unit performs flawlessly week in and week out in 17.5 open, but I guess that 6.5 just pulls too many more amps for it to handle. From what I'm reading, I need to upgrade from the RS to the RS-Pro. Even with that, I'm a bit skeptical of how I still won't thermal, so could someone technical (Randy?) please assure me that thermals won't happen with a Pro, as well? If I'm going to spend another $200, I want to make sure it's worthwhile. Thanks!!
__________________
☆☆☆ Chad Stowe ☆ ready to run some Mod TC again, finally ☆☆☆
Stogie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2011, 09:38 AM   #20879
Tech Elite
 
M-Technic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Palm Beach, FL
Posts: 2,562
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Stogie View Post
So - I'm really curious just how much a fan will really help cool this unit when there is no exposed mosfet/aluminum/whatever, such as on competitor products such as LRP/SP/Novak. Is there some kind of micro-perforation in the plastic case that I just can't see?

Suffered my first series of thermal shut-downs over the weekend when I took the leap from 17.5 to 6.5 modified on a huge outdoor asphalt track (Leisure Hours Raceway). I tried several different combinations of FDR and settings on the unit, but the longest I could go was about 3 minutes before shutdown. The unit performs flawlessly week in and week out in 17.5 open, but I guess that 6.5 just pulls too many more amps for it to handle. From what I'm reading, I need to upgrade from the RS to the RS-Pro. Even with that, I'm a bit skeptical of how I still won't thermal, so could someone technical (Randy?) please assure me that thermals won't happen with a Pro, as well? If I'm going to spend another $200, I want to make sure it's worthwhile. Thanks!!
The posts are the heat sinks on the RS and RS Pro and you would want to have the fan facing so it blows over the posts. It can make a difference. I have run 7.5 mod touring in the FL summer heat with a non-pro RS on a HUGE nitro track, and the RS never thermal'd. In fact, it would never get above 3-4 dots for the onboard temp sensor.

An RS Pro has twice as many FETs as the non-pro and has no motor limit. It will not thermal running a 6.5 in a touring car given the correct gearing and settings.
__________________
RCAmerica | Xray | Hudy | Radiopost | Speed Passion USA | Trinity | P3 Graphics
M-Technic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2011, 10:31 AM   #20880
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: France
Posts: 812
Default

6.5t on a RS is not giving much room for mistake, what is actually the minimum turn for the RS? 5.5t?

Also one question as I have never run mod with my RSpro, do you run your speedo with 0 timing with lets say a 4.5t or do you keep some advance, turbo etc...settings.
__________________
Electriquement votre...

Drink EARTH water and save lives! in support of WFP
olly986 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tekin Redline RS Sensored ESC and motors, opinions for offroad? Cain Electric Off-Road 4230 06-07-2015 04:38 PM
Sensored vs. Sensorless lemansracer Electric On-Road 71 02-14-2009 03:19 AM
New Tekin Redline Sensored Motors are Roar Legal! Randy_Pike Electric On-Road 3 08-05-2008 02:08 AM
Tekin Redline Sensored 10.5 HUCKMAN Electric On-Road 6 07-15-2008 08:50 PM
sensored vs sensorless bprocket Rookie Zone 5 05-16-2008 09:38 AM


Tags
v203, vegas 2.0


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 09:57 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net