R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 06-28-2011, 10:41 AM   #20761
Tech Master
 
poochy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 1,456
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Randy_Pike View Post
Radio calibration can be a part of this. Some radios "wander" more than others. Over shooting your calibrated epa point can correct this. Calibrate the RS/RS Pro with epa's set to 100. Then bump your high or throttle EPA to 110.
Randy, thanks for the advice-but i just dont like this fix-this sounds like masking a bad radio (dx3r) that had been working just fine or masking a bad motor or masking a bad esc.

has anybody fixed this problem by replacing the radio or motor or esc or lipo? or even added an extra cap to fix it?
poochy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2011, 01:19 PM   #20762
Tech Adept
 
L@gger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Slovakia
Posts: 163
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Randy_Pike View Post
What do you mean it's "pushing?"
I mean that in low RPM it is imo sometimes not equivalent to trigger - too agressive. Like sometimes I get wheelie with really low throttle (I am having linear curves no drag brake no minimum brake...) In dual mode it drives more consistent but I dont have enough torque in mid RPM to jump.
L@gger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2011, 01:34 PM   #20763
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Hawaii, USA
Posts: 7,186
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by poochy View Post
hi, i am losing turbo after a few minutes of mod sedan racing. everything had been working fine for about 3 months until the track changed, it now has two 150 ft. straights instead of one.

motor temps are always under 170.

what have others done to fix this? ive read the recalibrating the throttle end points fixes it for some but not for others. hard to believe its the sensor cable since it always works at the beginning of the race. please help!!!
I've had this same issue for awhile now and have replaced everything with new equipment except the battery. My battery is getting quite old now so this is most likely where my issue is and I plan to replace it eventually. Right now I am concentrating on other RC related purchases so it will be awhile before I can get a new battery and test.

Quote:
Originally Posted by [email protected] View Post
I mean that in low RPM it is imo sometimes not equivalent to trigger - too agressive. Like sometimes I get wheelie with really low throttle (I am having linear curves no drag brake no minimum brake...) In dual mode it drives more consistent but I dont have enough torque in mid RPM to jump.
Do you have push control on? Kinda sounds like it.
InspGadgt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2011, 01:36 PM   #20764
Tech Lord
 
20 SMOKE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: HVR_ WEEKI WACHEE FL
Posts: 10,299
Trader Rating: 101 (100%+)
Default

or min throttle to high
__________________
Jamie W
*Team Tekin*Tekno-rc*DE Racing*AKA*DDHRC*
20 SMOKE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2011, 02:03 PM   #20765
Tech Adept
 
L@gger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Slovakia
Posts: 163
Default

As I said I want to have my drive absolutely clear of every modifiers. Nothing is on. But sometimes it act as it had push control on but I think my timing dynamic or inbuilt isnt right.
L@gger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2011, 03:11 PM   #20766
Tech Lord
 
20 SMOKE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: HVR_ WEEKI WACHEE FL
Posts: 10,299
Trader Rating: 101 (100%+)
Default

post your setup so we can see
__________________
Jamie W
*Team Tekin*Tekno-rc*DE Racing*AKA*DDHRC*
20 SMOKE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2011, 04:06 PM   #20767
Tech Master
 
poochy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 1,456
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by InspGadgt View Post
I've had this same issue for awhile now and have replaced everything with new equipment except the battery. My battery is getting quite old now so this is most likely where my issue is and I plan to replace it eventually. Right now I am concentrating on other RC related purchases so it will be awhile before I can get a new battery and test.



Do you have push control on? Kinda sounds like it.
Ok, what battery r u using?
where are sodder posts locatd in relation to the chassis?
poochy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2011, 04:10 PM   #20768
Tech Adept
 
L@gger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Slovakia
Posts: 163
Default

Here is what I was mostly running. With lower endbelt timing im getting passive braking in neutral. I really dont understand how it is with redline / ballistic to what stick or how to calculate a good compromise with most redline motor setups to my ballistic. And 55 deg as maximum useful timing doesnt work with ballistics right?
Attached Files
File Type: pdf Tekin-RS-setup-sheet.pdf (281.3 KB, 126 views)
L@gger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2011, 04:33 PM   #20769
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Hawaii, USA
Posts: 7,186
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by poochy View Post
Ok, what battery r u using?
where are sodder posts locatd in relation to the chassis?
It is a Trinity 45c 5000mah pack I've had for probably close to 2 years now. I've tried the ESC in various positions relative to the chassis to get better cooling to the posts but this is just a 17.5 motor and the ESC is not overheating.
InspGadgt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2011, 06:56 AM   #20770
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 53
Default

I have been going through this forum and am looking for help with a RS pro set up together with gearing for an LRP X12 6.5 running a touring car on a tarmac track - Straight approx 35m

Also is dual mode the way to go for mod or stay running in sensored?

Any help much appreciated
JamieV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2011, 07:50 AM   #20771
Tech Master
 
poochy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 1,456
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Randy_Pike View Post
Radio calibration can be a part of this. Some radios "wander" more than others. Over shooting your calibrated epa point can correct this. Calibrate the RS/RS Pro with epa's set to 100. Then bump your high or throttle EPA to 110.
symptom=turbo loss/fade, drag brake loss/fade

i found my issue and wanted to share-i didnt up the travel 10% over calibration or re calibrated.
i noticed on my dx3r, in "monitor" mode, it showed the Throtte trim at -50 off center (max is -1378 for brake and around +1378 for throttle). i probably accidentally pushed the throttle trim button -50 off center recently--it is now set back to zero (neutral)..problem solved (turbo fade/drag brake fade are good now)-thank you all.
poochy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2011, 10:10 AM   #20772
Team Tekin
 
Randy_Pike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Norcal
Posts: 9,702
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to Randy_Pike
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by [email protected] View Post
I mean that in low RPM it is imo sometimes not equivalent to trigger - too agressive. Like sometimes I get wheelie with really low throttle (I am having linear curves no drag brake no minimum brake...) In dual mode it drives more consistent but I dont have enough torque in mid RPM to jump.
Ok what motor is this wind wise? your setup is very mild unless you're using a 7.5 or faster motor.

Your gearing is kinda out of whack though since none of us use a 90T spur on the CR. Also with the combined 35 motor and 20 boost you're at 55 degrees of timing...

Wheelies are a part of offroad. Use current limiter to tame them down. Try 80 right out of the gate.
__________________
"Things may come to those who wait, but only the things left by those who hustle." Abraham Lincoln

Tekin,Protek,A-Main Hobbies,JConcepts,Avid RC,Yokomo,MIP,SikLidz,FactoryRC, www.randypikerc.com
Randy_Pike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2011, 10:15 AM   #20773
Team Tekin
 
Randy_Pike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Norcal
Posts: 9,702
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to Randy_Pike
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JamieV View Post
I have been going through this forum and am looking for help with a RS pro set up together with gearing for an LRP X12 6.5 running a touring car on a tarmac track - Straight approx 35m

Also is dual mode the way to go for mod or stay running in sensored?

Any help much appreciated
http://www.teamtekin.com/hotwire/ESC...C_6.5_v212.pdf
__________________
"Things may come to those who wait, but only the things left by those who hustle." Abraham Lincoln

Tekin,Protek,A-Main Hobbies,JConcepts,Avid RC,Yokomo,MIP,SikLidz,FactoryRC, www.randypikerc.com
Randy_Pike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2011, 10:28 AM   #20774
mok
Tech Master
 
mok's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Perth, Australia
Posts: 1,075
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Send a message via MSN to mok Send a message via Skype™ to mok
Default

hi randy,
i noticed on the tekin website that there is only 1 setup for a mod motor for a 1/10th onroad tourer..
is there any chance you could share with us a setup for say a 4.5T mod motor?
if there was a preference, i'd say large flowing asphalt track
-mark
__________________
XRAY T3'2011 / TEKIN RS PRO / LRP X12 / HYPERION SWIFT G3 RACE PACKS / FUTABA S9551 / SPEKTRUM DX3R
www.epracer.com - www.precc.org.au - www.westcoastmodelrallyclub.asn.au - www.onroadrccarclubbunbury.org.au
mok is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2011, 12:13 PM   #20775
ira
Tech Fanatic
 
ira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Olathe, KS.
Posts: 972
Trader Rating: 18 (100%+)
Default 1/12th

I'm going to be racing 1/12th this winter, what is the best way to use the RS PRO ESC for 1 cell LiPo? With a receiver battery back or with a voltage booster?

Thanks for the help.
ira is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tekin Redline RS Sensored ESC and motors, opinions for offroad? Cain Electric Off-Road 4230 06-07-2015 04:38 PM
Sensored vs. Sensorless lemansracer Electric On-Road 71 02-14-2009 03:19 AM
New Tekin Redline Sensored Motors are Roar Legal! Randy_Pike Electric On-Road 3 08-05-2008 02:08 AM
Tekin Redline Sensored 10.5 HUCKMAN Electric On-Road 6 07-15-2008 08:50 PM
sensored vs sensorless bprocket Rookie Zone 5 05-16-2008 09:38 AM


Tags
v203, vegas 2.0


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 08:51 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net