R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 06-22-2011, 10:55 PM   #20746
mok
Tech Master
 
mok's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Perth, Australia
Posts: 1,075
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Send a message via MSN to mok Send a message via Skype™ to mok
Default

Hi Randy,

I've just noticed an interesting characteristic of dual mode and was wondering if this is considered normal.

it was noticed when I free revved a motor (yes i know i should not do this) to try and understand the way the ramping was working..

i have the esc configured as follows..

vegas 212
dual mode
timing - 100
start rpm - 10000
end rpm - 32000

the motor is an LRP X12 4.5T (non-octa) with the -10 timing insert.

when the esc ramps up, its very smooth/linear..
however, when it reaches full throttle/rpm motor stops climbing rpm and then almost appears to kick back to a a lower rpm (or maybe timing?) and is held there..

i did not notice this when running < 100 timing on the esc..
but i guess its possible that it was there, but not as noticeable due to the less timing..

is this considered normal?
maybe some sort of protection routines in the esc?

..or worse, could this be a fault with the ESC itself?

having never used dual mode before i'm unsure as to whether or not this should be happening..

you comments would be appreciated!

thanks,
Mark

ps. the tekin capacitors.. any reason why you chose 16V 330uF ?
i've got an LRP capacitor bank attached (in addition to the tekin cap) which has 3 x nichicon lg 10V 820uF caps..
__________________
XRAY T3'2011 / TEKIN RS PRO / LRP X12 / HYPERION SWIFT G3 RACE PACKS / FUTABA S9551 / SPEKTRUM DX3R
www.epracer.com - www.precc.org.au - www.westcoastmodelrallyclub.asn.au - www.onroadrccarclubbunbury.org.au
mok is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2011, 08:06 AM   #20747
Tech Adept
 
ATLASCOPCO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: ENGLAND
Posts: 191
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JR007 View Post
Yep, that's how reverse is engaged.
You can change the settings to remove reverse, and have brake only.
What setting dose this is it reverse speed
Thanks
__________________
XRAY T4 2014
HOBBYWING V3.1
HOBBYWING MOTORS
ATLASCOPCO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2011, 10:07 AM   #20748
Tech Adept
 
Bob~H's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Sullivan, IN
Posts: 136
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ATLASCOPCO View Post
What setting dose this is it reverse speed
Thanks
The setting is motor type.
Bob~H is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2011, 10:14 AM   #20749
mok
Tech Master
 
mok's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Perth, Australia
Posts: 1,075
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Send a message via MSN to mok Send a message via Skype™ to mok
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ATLASCOPCO View Post
What setting dose this is it reverse speed
Thanks
not trying to be offensive, but this does explain it all..
http://www.teamtekin.com/hotwire_RS.html
__________________
XRAY T3'2011 / TEKIN RS PRO / LRP X12 / HYPERION SWIFT G3 RACE PACKS / FUTABA S9551 / SPEKTRUM DX3R
www.epracer.com - www.precc.org.au - www.westcoastmodelrallyclub.asn.au - www.onroadrccarclubbunbury.org.au
mok is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2011, 12:12 PM   #20750
mok
Tech Master
 
mok's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Perth, Australia
Posts: 1,075
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Send a message via MSN to mok Send a message via Skype™ to mok
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mok View Post
Hi Randy,

I've just noticed an interesting characteristic of dual mode and was wondering if this is considered normal.

*SNIP*

your comments would be appreciated!

thanks,
Mark

ps. the tekin capacitors.. any reason why you chose 16V 330uF ?
i've got an LRP capacitor bank attached (in addition to the tekin cap) which has 3 x nichicon lg 10V 820uF caps..
i think i just answered my own question but would like this verified..

the change in rpm i am seeing when free revving to max rpm appears to be when the esc drops from sensored mode to sensoreless mode..

when i set the same boost/timing setting as i had in dual mode (ie. 30 degrees, 0 turbo) the motor stays at the peak rpm and does not drop down a little as it does in dual mode..

-Mark
__________________
XRAY T3'2011 / TEKIN RS PRO / LRP X12 / HYPERION SWIFT G3 RACE PACKS / FUTABA S9551 / SPEKTRUM DX3R
www.epracer.com - www.precc.org.au - www.westcoastmodelrallyclub.asn.au - www.onroadrccarclubbunbury.org.au
mok is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2011, 05:38 AM   #20751
Tech Adept
 
ATLASCOPCO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: ENGLAND
Posts: 191
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mo View Post
not trying to be offensive, but this does explain it all..
http://www.teamtekin.com/hotwire_RS.html
Thank you,
all done and working fine
__________________
XRAY T4 2014
HOBBYWING V3.1
HOBBYWING MOTORS
ATLASCOPCO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2011, 06:05 AM   #20752
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: France
Posts: 812
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sandsurfer View Post
Anyone have any ideas? Running 2s if that matters.
It sounds like your speedo is gone into brushed mode.

Maybe you should also reset your radio trims, then reset the speedo.

Try also servo reverse on radio.

Check all you receiver connection, if you have a second one try it also.

These are a few ideas to try before looking to send the unit for repair

See ya
olly986 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2011, 04:21 PM   #20753
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 8
Exclamation Cap size for rs pro

Hello sorry to butt in but I noticed you were talking about cap size.I've bought a second hand rs pro.The cap size is 16v. 2200uF is this correct or not.I don't know how to work out what size should be used.Need advise please.
Autotek1st is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2011, 04:38 PM   #20754
Tech Elite
 
M-Technic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Palm Beach, FL
Posts: 2,562
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Autotek1st View Post
Hello sorry to butt in but I noticed you were talking about cap size.I've bought a second hand rs pro.The cap size is 16v. 2200uF is this correct or not.I don't know how to work out what size should be used.Need advise please.
The cap is supposed to be 16v 330uf.
__________________
RCAmerica | Xray | Hudy | Radiopost | Speed Passion USA | Trinity | P3 Graphics
M-Technic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2011, 10:26 PM   #20755
Tech Master
 
Yazid_TA05-IFS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Penang
Posts: 1,988
Send a message via Yahoo to Yazid_TA05-IFS Send a message via Skype™ to Yazid_TA05-IFS
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by M-Technic View Post
The cap is supposed to be 16v 330uf.
what will happen if putting more that? Will it damaging the ESC?
Yazid_TA05-IFS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2011, 11:10 PM   #20756
Tech Regular
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 419
Trader Rating: 32 (100%+)
Default Strange problem

Ok sorry not trying to change any topic but have a quick question. I had what I thought a motor go bad I change it and then everythig was fine and then change it again to test 13.5 motor & it acts like a bad sensor wire & cuts on on low end on a murffdog & thunder power but fine on the Orion & tekin all 13.5 or 10.5 motors. All test with same & new sensor wires Someone at track mentioned the bec board might be bad or....?
arnie84 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2011, 08:53 AM   #20757
Tech Master
 
poochy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 1,456
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default turbo loss

hi, i am losing turbo after a few minutes of mod sedan racing. everything had been working fine for about 3 months until the track changed, it now has two 150 ft. straights instead of one.

motor temps are always under 170.

what have others done to fix this? ive read the recalibrating the throttle end points fixes it for some but not for others. hard to believe its the sensor cable since it always works at the beginning of the race. please help!!!
poochy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2011, 09:40 AM   #20758
Team Tekin
 
Randy_Pike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Norcal
Posts: 9,702
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to Randy_Pike
Default

Radio calibration can be a part of this. Some radios "wander" more than others. Over shooting your calibrated epa point can correct this. Calibrate the RS/RS Pro with epa's set to 100. Then bump your high or throttle EPA to 110.
__________________
"Things may come to those who wait, but only the things left by those who hustle." Abraham Lincoln

Tekin,Protek,A-Main Hobbies,JConcepts,Avid RC,Yokomo,MIP,SikLidz,FactoryRC, www.randypikerc.com
Randy_Pike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2011, 09:59 AM   #20759
Tech Adept
 
L@gger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Slovakia
Posts: 163
Default

Can anyone help me with my problem?

I am having ballistic 7.5 and tekin RS on my 2wd buggy. Ballistic has 35 deg endbelt timing and on tekin I have 5000-20000 RPM 20 boost. My problem is that it is irregularly pushing to much in low rpm.

I found tekin setups mostly with 12 deg timing on redline motor. I thought that novak / tekin has probably the same standart and I did the same and added a high boost of 35 deg. I thought that it will be running more consistent but it doesnt and it is braking when trigger is in neutral. So I was forced to put it back to 35 and as I heard its useless to put higher timing than 55. But what is the difference with inbuild timing between redline and ballistic motors please? So what way to go to get my drive more consistent please? Thank you
L@gger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2011, 10:37 AM   #20760
Team Tekin
 
Randy_Pike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Norcal
Posts: 9,702
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to Randy_Pike
Default

What do you mean it's "pushing?"
__________________
"Things may come to those who wait, but only the things left by those who hustle." Abraham Lincoln

Tekin,Protek,A-Main Hobbies,JConcepts,Avid RC,Yokomo,MIP,SikLidz,FactoryRC, www.randypikerc.com
Randy_Pike is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tekin Redline RS Sensored ESC and motors, opinions for offroad? Cain Electric Off-Road 4230 06-07-2015 04:38 PM
Sensored vs. Sensorless lemansracer Electric On-Road 71 02-14-2009 03:19 AM
New Tekin Redline Sensored Motors are Roar Legal! Randy_Pike Electric On-Road 3 08-05-2008 02:08 AM
Tekin Redline Sensored 10.5 HUCKMAN Electric On-Road 6 07-15-2008 08:50 PM
sensored vs sensorless bprocket Rookie Zone 5 05-16-2008 09:38 AM


Tags
v203, vegas 2.0


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 07:15 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net