R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 06-20-2011, 10:03 AM   #20731
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Sarasota FL
Posts: 2,059
Trader Rating: 48 (93%+)
Default

Im very happy with my tekin. i ran them a few years back on sc10 but never really got the power to the ground. I switch from sp to tekin and i say i love it. and paired to the d3 its got crazy power... thanks guys for giving us the best esc out there. for sure..
tcb22185 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2011, 01:43 PM   #20732
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 109
Default

I have rspro with Vegas 212 software. When I just touch the trigger the motor does not spin immediately until the trigger is pulled a little bit more. Normally you would have a quick response when touching the trigger. Any help will be appreciated.

Thanx
2Quick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2011, 02:06 PM   #20733
Tech Champion
 
cannon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: A total distraction
Posts: 7,266
Trader Rating: 35 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 2Quick View Post
I have rspro with Vegas 212 software. When I just touch the trigger the motor does not spin immediately until the trigger is pulled a little bit more. Normally you would have a quick response when touching the trigger. Any help will be appreciated.

Thanx
Reduce the neutral width on the ESC settings. The default setting is very large
__________________
www.feralbatteries.com ........... new website
cannon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2011, 02:07 PM   #20734
Tech Fanatic
 
RobS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Chatham, Ontario
Posts: 878
Default

Check your neutral width on the ESC... Default settings are rather high. Lower that number to get a quicker response.
__________________
Rob Say
Action Hobbies Kingsville
"In racing you never really lose. You either win, or learn."
RobS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2011, 02:12 PM   #20735
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Central Wisconsin USA
Posts: 3,340
Trader Rating: 217 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RobS View Post
Check your neutral width on the ESC... Default settings are rather high. Lower that number to get a quicker response.
How much lower. Default is like 56, right?
Andy Koback is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2011, 02:16 PM   #20736
Tech Fanatic
 
RobS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Chatham, Ontario
Posts: 878
Default

In my oval cars I run 0, but in my onroad cars I run 8-10.
__________________
Rob Say
Action Hobbies Kingsville
"In racing you never really lose. You either win, or learn."
RobS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2011, 02:24 PM   #20737
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Central Wisconsin USA
Posts: 3,340
Trader Rating: 217 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RobS View Post
In my oval cars I run 0, but in my onroad cars I run 8-10.
Thanks! Gonna have to try that on the oval.
Andy Koback is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2011, 03:47 PM   #20738
Tech Elite
 
bkspeedo's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Fort Fun, CO
Posts: 3,139
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 2Quick View Post
I have rspro with Vegas 212 software. When I just touch the trigger the motor does not spin immediately until the trigger is pulled a little bit more. Normally you would have a quick response when touching the trigger. Any help will be appreciated.

Thanx
The neutral width is part of it. Also try increasing your trigger subtrim. On my radio i've turned the subtrim up to 20 giving me a much quicker low end response.

Here's how to set it;
Set the proper neutral width on ESC first. Turn up the throttle sub-trim to 30, run the motor for a second it should keep running after letting off the throttle, if not turn the sub-trim up more.

Next turn down the sub-trim a few clicks, run the motor again, if still running repeat until motor does not run after letting off the throttle. Lastly turn down the sub-trim 5 more clicks for some buffer.

This will give the better low end response.
__________________
Brent Klingforth
Sponsors: Awesomatix USA ~ Roche USA ~ ORCA ~ AVID Bearings ~ R1 Wurks
TQ Wire ~ Montech ~ WTF ~ BSR Racing Tires ~ 2mm Design ~ Helix Designs
5280 Raceway
MILE HIGH INDOOR CHAMPS April 19-22nd 2018 @ www.milehighindoorchamps.com
bkspeedo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2011, 07:27 PM   #20739
Tech Regular
 
sandsurfer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Lockport, Illinois
Posts: 306
Trader Rating: 20 (100%+)
Send a message via Skype™ to sandsurfer
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sandsurfer View Post
I have had my rs for about 6 months and not had a problem until now. I was having issues with brakes, I mean there was none, no matter what changes I made via the hotwire. As a last resort I restored the default settings. After I did this the esc will calibrate with the Tx but the motor will not do anything. When I start it to calibrate it no longer makes the sounds it used to, no sound what so ever, even when turning it on. However, the lights flash like they are suppose to and it will go through the whole set up (neutral, throttle, brake), just without the sound. Even after the whole calibration process the motor will not do anything. The lights respond to throttle and brake input, but nothing happens with the motor. I have tried it with three different motors.

Does anyone have any ideas of what the problem may be.

I have also uninstalled and reinstalled hotwire two times on my laptop which I have always used and even installed it on another computer. Did the same thing of resetting factory default settings, all with the same result.

Am I missing something?
Anyone have any ideas? Running 2s if that matters.
sandsurfer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2011, 05:08 AM   #20740
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 109
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 2Quick View Post
I have rspro with Vegas 212 software. When I just touch the trigger the motor does not spin immediately until the trigger is pulled a little bit more. Normally you would have a quick response when touching the trigger. Any help will be appreciated.

Thanx
Thanx all for your helpfullness and advice. Will try it out.

Thanx
2Quick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2011, 05:10 AM   #20741
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 109
Default

Can I use a 1000uf 16v 105C cap on my RSpro to give cooler temps ?
2Quick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2011, 05:19 AM   #20742
Tech Lord
 
20 SMOKE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: HVR_ WEEKI WACHEE FL
Posts: 10,299
Trader Rating: 101 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 2Quick View Post
Can I use a 1000uf 16v 105C cap on my RSpro to give cooler temps ?
use the stock cap,if you are runnind mod add a second one.you can use the 1000 uf caps if you cant find stock ones
__________________
Jamie W
*Team Tekin*Tekno-rc*DE Racing*AKA*DDHRC*
20 SMOKE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2011, 03:40 PM   #20743
Tech Adept
 
ATLASCOPCO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: ENGLAND
Posts: 191
Default Motor going into reverse

I hope one of you guys can help,
When i move the transmitter throttle forward then into brake back to centre then back into brake the car goes backwards .
Is this right?
thanks
__________________
XRAY T4 2014
HOBBYWING V3.1
HOBBYWING MOTORS
ATLASCOPCO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2011, 03:42 PM   #20744
Tech Adept
 
L@gger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Slovakia
Posts: 163
Default

Hello guys. Im racing with 2wd buggy and I am having an issue with a motor knocking forward too much in low RPM. My novak ballistic has 35deg endbelt and tekin has 20 boost. If my thoughts are right I get more sensible feeling of motor when endbelt timing is around 15deg and tekin boost is 35? What do you think? Thank you.
L@gger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2011, 04:41 PM   #20745
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Christchurch, NZ
Posts: 1,063
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ATLASCOPCO View Post
I hope one of you guys can help,
When i move the transmitter throttle forward then into brake back to centre then back into brake the car goes backwards .
Is this right?
thanks
Yep, that's how reverse is engaged.
You can change the settings to remove reverse, and have brake only.
__________________
Agama A8 Evo | GRP .21 | Spektrum | Savox

My car just hit 88mph. I hope it comes back soon....
JR007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tekin Redline RS Sensored ESC and motors, opinions for offroad? Cain Electric Off-Road 4230 06-07-2015 04:38 PM
Sensored vs. Sensorless lemansracer Electric On-Road 71 02-14-2009 03:19 AM
New Tekin Redline Sensored Motors are Roar Legal! Randy_Pike Electric On-Road 3 08-05-2008 02:08 AM
Tekin Redline Sensored 10.5 HUCKMAN Electric On-Road 6 07-15-2008 08:50 PM
sensored vs sensorless bprocket Rookie Zone 5 05-16-2008 09:38 AM


Tags
v203, vegas 2.0


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 06:15 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net