Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
Tekin RS ESC sensored >

Tekin RS ESC sensored

Tekin RS ESC sensored

Reply

Old 06-16-2011, 10:47 AM
  #20686  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (44)
 
bvoltz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Bedtime with Teddi
Posts: 3,635
Trader Rating: 44 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by bvoltz View Post
Had an interesting thing happen this weekend with my RS. When I would apply changes to it, then plug everything back in, I would have to recalibrate with the radio. Now to make it even more interesting this only happened early in the day. Not after say 2 hours. It did not loose the setting only wanted to be re calibrated.

Any ideas what would cause this?
Any one have any ideas, or this is send it back?
bvoltz is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2011, 08:25 PM
  #20687  
Tech Regular
 
casino57's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Sandwich,Il.
Posts: 498
Default

Originally Posted by Randy_Pike View Post
Is this a 1s application?
Hi Randy...It wasn't my speedo...He was running 2 cell lipos in a 10th tourning car on asphalt. I pit with him....and was witness to it. It seemed fine like he says later in the day.
casino57 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2011, 08:28 AM
  #20688  
Tech Master
 
JustWill75's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: DOUGLASVILLE GA.
Posts: 1,793
Default

I was running 1/12 for the first time this week and was told by a fellow racer that the reciever pack that I'm using is to high in voltage. Is this true? I'm using a SMC lipo reciver pack 7.4v 450 mah. He told me it will burn up my RS
JustWill75 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2011, 09:02 AM
  #20689  
Tech Lord
iTrader: (101)
 
20 SMOKE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: HVR_ WEEKI WACHEE FL
Posts: 10,345
Trader Rating: 101 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by JustWill75 View Post
I was running 1/12 for the first time this week and was told by a fellow racer that the reciever pack that I'm using is to high in voltage. Is this true? I'm using a SMC lipo reciver pack 7.4v 450 mah. He told me it will burn up my RS
It will burn up a servo,you can do the switch mod
20 SMOKE is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2011, 09:21 AM
  #20690  
Team Tekin
iTrader: (6)
 
Randy_Pike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Norcal
Posts: 9,785
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by JustWill75 View Post
I was running 1/12 for the first time this week and was told by a fellow racer that the reciever pack that I'm using is to high in voltage. Is this true? I'm using a SMC lipo reciver pack 7.4v 450 mah. He told me it will burn up my RS
Yes, he's right. If you're going to use it there are two options. Purchase and use a regulator that drops the voltage down to 6v. Or wire it up inline with the RS's switch. This will be then regulated internally.
Randy_Pike is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2011, 09:23 AM
  #20691  
Tech Master
 
JustWill75's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: DOUGLASVILLE GA.
Posts: 1,793
Default

Originally Posted by 20 SMOKE View Post
It will burn up a servo,you can do the switch mod
What's the switch mod? Do anyone have the link?
JustWill75 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2011, 09:28 AM
  #20692  
Tech Master
 
JustWill75's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: DOUGLASVILLE GA.
Posts: 1,793
Default

Delayed post. Thanks guys....... can anyone post pics of how this is done?
JustWill75 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2011, 10:12 AM
  #20693  
Tech Lord
iTrader: (101)
 
20 SMOKE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: HVR_ WEEKI WACHEE FL
Posts: 10,345
Trader Rating: 101 (100%+)
Default

I will later at work unless someone gets it before me,I have posted it in here and in the tekin 1s thread
20 SMOKE is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2011, 11:38 AM
  #20694  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (49)
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Sarasota FL
Posts: 2,067
Trader Rating: 49 (93%+)
Default

Looking for a setup going to be running a tekin rs in blinky mode with a 17.5 D3 looking for a starting point on final drive.

here is the link to the race track

www.sarcar-inc.org
tcb22185 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2011, 01:21 PM
  #20695  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (2)
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Posts: 708
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

I believe this is what you're looking for JustWill.
Attached Thumbnails Tekin RS ESC sensored-tekin-1s-2s-lipo-rx-pack-inline-switch.jpg  
adam lancia is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2011, 01:53 PM
  #20696  
Tech Master
 
JustWill75's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: DOUGLASVILLE GA.
Posts: 1,793
Default

Thanks bro I'm looking at it and now debating to do or not to do. Or get a Li-Fe
JustWill75 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2011, 02:05 PM
  #20697  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (1)
 
nashrcracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: LA - Lower Antioch
Posts: 4,925
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

I've been running a Thunderpower 180mah 7.4 pack in my CRC GenXL with my Tekin RS Pro, KO 951 servo and Sanwa 451 receiver with no problems for 2 years.

some receivers and servos can't handle it.
nashrcracer is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2011, 02:19 PM
  #20698  
Tech Lord
iTrader: (101)
 
20 SMOKE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: HVR_ WEEKI WACHEE FL
Posts: 10,345
Trader Rating: 101 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by JustWill75 View Post
Thanks bro I'm looking at it and now debating to do or not to do. Or get a Li-Fe
one advantage is there is one thing to turn on
Originally Posted by nashrcracer View Post
I've been running a Thunderpower 180mah 7.4 pack in my CRC GenXL with my Tekin RS Pro, KO 951 servo and Sanwa 451 receiver with no problems for 2 years.

some receivers and servos can't handle it.
very true
20 SMOKE is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2011, 04:52 PM
  #20699  
Tech Master
iTrader: (2)
 
Buckaroo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Norfolk, VA
Posts: 1,503
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by tcb22185 View Post
Looking for a setup going to be running a tekin rs in blinky mode with a 17.5 D3 looking for a starting point on final drive.

here is the link to the race track

www.sarcar-inc.org
What kind of car? 12th? TC? If TC, rubber or foam?
Buckaroo is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2011, 09:56 PM
  #20700  
Tech Fanatic
 
RacinJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Mesa Az
Posts: 759
Default Tekin 1S switch mod

Been running this for over a year. Works great.
Attached Thumbnails Tekin RS ESC sensored-tekin-wiring-diagram.jpg  
RacinJ is offline  
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Terms of Service