R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 05-23-2011, 03:38 PM   #20551
Tech Elite
 
M-Technic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Palm Beach, FL
Posts: 2,562
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by InspGadgt View Post
Ok well it has been awhile since I have ran my TC in the 17.5 boost class so I haven't posted here in awhile. I finally got to run it this past weekend with a new radio (New Spektrum Pro) and I am still having a bit of what seems to be a turbo fade issue...basically about half way through the race my car seems noticeably slower on the straight than other cars running the RS. Initially I start out the same speed as everyone else but just seem to have more drop off than everyone else. My motor temps in the low 150s and so far I have changed out the RS, the radio, and the motor. So I'm wondering if my battery could be falling off that much or if I should look at something else. Also I am not running fan on the motor and most if not all of the RS's I am racing against are running a fan. I don't remember my settings off hand but have tried many different things and typically run the same settings as others at my track. Any other suggestions of things for me to look at?
Same settings don't always work from driver to driver, motor to motor, car to car, etc. Your batteries could be dropping that much though. Voltage always drops throughout a run and on a bad battery it will be more pronounced.
__________________
RCAmerica | Xray | Hudy | Radiopost | Speed Passion USA | Trinity | P3 Graphics
M-Technic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2011, 11:52 PM   #20552
Tech Addict
 
waOscar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Pattaya Thailand
Posts: 614
Default Start RPM Settings

A lot of people recommend start RPMs for 10.5 or lower turn motors of 5 or 6k.
This seems low to me. I've used Novak data logger with 10.5 on the 3 tracks in my state. On the tight twisty carpet track the minimum RPM during a lap (ignoring starting or pulling away from hitting kerbs) was roughly 8000. On our large outdoor asphalt track the slowest corner had a motor rpm around 10500.
Correct me if I'm wrong, but is it best to have little timing on the motor when initally starting and then adding the timing as the motor winds up.
It seems to me that if your start RPM is less than the rpm on the slowest corner then you are adding timing right from initial throttle pull.
Be good if someone could clarify whats happening and whats the correct setup approach to take.
Cheers.
__________________
Xray T3 2011 - my asphalt chassis
Xray T3 2011 - my carpet chassis
waOscar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2011, 04:36 AM   #20553
Tech Champion
 
tc3team's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 6,151
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 2wdrive View Post
http://www.teamtekin.com/hotwire/ESC...n-TC-BD6-5.pdf

Try those setting.

You have too much timing comming in to soon. Your settings are for roughly 10.5t or higher turn motors.
+1.

In general, the higher the motor wind (13.5/17.5 etc etc) the more timing is used, 50 total timing appears to be "optimal", but the more heat the motor gives out, the quicker it is going to loose its peak power.

The reverse is said for lower turn motors as they already have the power without the need for timing as well.
__________________
Fusion Hobbies / www.horshamrc.org

The wife stops me being sane and the r/c stops me from going insane....
tc3team is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2011, 05:45 AM   #20554
Tech Lord
 
20 SMOKE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: HVR_ WEEKI WACHEE FL
Posts: 10,299
Trader Rating: 101 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by waOscar View Post
A lot of people recommend start RPMs for 10.5 or lower turn motors of 5 or 6k.
This seems low to me. I've used Novak data logger with 10.5 on the 3 tracks in my state. On the tight twisty carpet track the minimum RPM during a lap (ignoring starting or pulling away from hitting kerbs) was roughly 8000. On our large outdoor asphalt track the slowest corner had a motor rpm around 10500.
Correct me if I'm wrong, but is it best to have little timing on the motor when initally starting and then adding the timing as the motor winds up.
It seems to me that if your start RPM is less than the rpm on the slowest corner then you are adding timing right from initial throttle pull.
Be good if someone could clarify whats happening and whats the correct setup approach to take.
Cheers.
your right,not everyone has a data logger to see this and going with a little lower start just smooths the the transition when the timing is added.some motor timing is good but to much will create heat
__________________
Jamie W
*Team Tekin*Tekno-rc*DE Racing*AKA*DDHRC*
20 SMOKE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2011, 07:55 AM   #20555
Tech Champion
 
Krio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: At dirt tracks in Michigan!
Posts: 5,103
Trader Rating: 150 (99%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by waOscar View Post
A lot of people recommend start RPMs for 10.5 or lower turn motors of 5 or 6k.
This seems low to me. I've used Novak data logger with 10.5 on the 3 tracks in my state. On the tight twisty carpet track the minimum RPM during a lap (ignoring starting or pulling away from hitting kerbs) was roughly 8000. On our large outdoor asphalt track the slowest corner had a motor rpm around 10500.
Correct me if I'm wrong, but is it best to have little timing on the motor when initally starting and then adding the timing as the motor winds up.
It seems to me that if your start RPM is less than the rpm on the slowest corner then you are adding timing right from initial throttle pull.
Be good if someone could clarify whats happening and whats the correct setup approach to take.
Cheers.
Less timing does not equal more torque. The "perfect" timing at any given rpm equals more torque. People recommend 5-6k start rpm's because these motors produce more power when the timing starts to kick in there. It doesn't 'smooth' the power out, it makes the power 'always there' so you don't have a drop in power and then the kick later on once the esc ramps back up to the appropriate timing.
__________________
www.kriostasis.com
Krio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2011, 08:07 AM   #20556
Tech Regular
 
Mr. MR4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Malta, EU
Posts: 297
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

What start rpm for 13.5 boosted would you recommend for a track with 4 hairpins?
__________________
Xray T4'16 HobbyWing Xerun 120A V3.1
Xray X1'16 HobbyWing Justock
Yokomo R12C3 HobbyWing Xerun V3.1
Mr. MR4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2011, 09:12 AM   #20557
Team Tekin
 
Randy_Pike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Norcal
Posts: 9,702
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to Randy_Pike
Default

We need a LOT more info than just "hairpins."

Track dimensions, layout, motor used, average lap times,etc.
__________________
"Things may come to those who wait, but only the things left by those who hustle." Abraham Lincoln

Tekin,Protek,A-Main Hobbies,JConcepts,Avid RC,Yokomo,MIP,SikLidz,FactoryRC, www.randypikerc.com
Randy_Pike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2011, 09:52 AM   #20558
Tech Champion
 
tc3team's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 6,151
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr. MR4 View Post
What start rpm for 13.5 boosted would you recommend for a track with 4 hairpins?
Is there a link / picture of the track online that you could show us?
__________________
Fusion Hobbies / www.horshamrc.org

The wife stops me being sane and the r/c stops me from going insane....
tc3team is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2011, 10:38 AM   #20559
Tech Regular
 
Mr. MR4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Malta, EU
Posts: 297
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Randy_Pike View Post
We need a LOT more info than just "hairpins."

Track dimensions, layout, motor used, average lap times,etc.
Here is a video of the track

http://www.youtube.com/user/rangerover25?blend=7&ob=5

Staright is around 90 feet long. Average lap time 16 sec.

Motors being used are GM 13.5 and Speed Pasion 13.5 (12.3mm purple ring rotor)
__________________
Xray T4'16 HobbyWing Xerun 120A V3.1
Xray X1'16 HobbyWing Justock
Yokomo R12C3 HobbyWing Xerun V3.1
Mr. MR4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2011, 10:44 AM   #20560
Team Tekin
 
Randy_Pike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Norcal
Posts: 9,702
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to Randy_Pike
Default

Ok, that's longer than 90ft. I'd wager more like 140f at least.

That being said I'd try Hara's 17.5 setup:

http://www.teamtekin.com/hotwire/ESC...C-IIC-2010.pdf
__________________
"Things may come to those who wait, but only the things left by those who hustle." Abraham Lincoln

Tekin,Protek,A-Main Hobbies,JConcepts,Avid RC,Yokomo,MIP,SikLidz,FactoryRC, www.randypikerc.com
Randy_Pike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2011, 10:49 AM   #20561
Tech Regular
 
Mr. MR4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Malta, EU
Posts: 297
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Randy_Pike View Post
Ok, that's longer than 90ft. I'd wager more like 140f at least.

That being said I'd try Hara's 17.5 setup:

http://www.teamtekin.com/hotwire/ESC...C-IIC-2010.pdf
Thanks Randy

What gearing shall I start off with since im using 13.5?
__________________
Xray T4'16 HobbyWing Xerun 120A V3.1
Xray X1'16 HobbyWing Justock
Yokomo R12C3 HobbyWing Xerun V3.1

Last edited by Mr. MR4; 05-24-2011 at 02:26 PM.
Mr. MR4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2011, 01:01 PM   #20562
Tech Master
 
wingman2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Tewkesbury, UK via Plymouth, UK.
Posts: 1,259
Default

Hi guys, sorry if this has already been asked, but is there any advantage to run more than one cap with the RS Pro? I noticed 'other' companies do use more than one cap, so would there be any benefit with the Tekin?? Cheers, Chris.
__________________
Sponsored by CML Distribution - http://www.cmldistribution.co.uk
wingman2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2011, 01:23 PM   #20563
Tech Champion
 
Krio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: At dirt tracks in Michigan!
Posts: 5,103
Trader Rating: 150 (99%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wingman2 View Post
Hi guys, sorry if this has already been asked, but is there any advantage to run more than one cap with the RS Pro? I noticed 'other' companies do use more than one cap, so would there be any benefit with the Tekin?? Cheers, Chris.
The main benefit is a cooler running esc. If you aren't running hotter mod motors there is no need with the RS pro.
__________________
www.kriostasis.com
Krio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2011, 01:24 PM   #20564
Tech Elite
 
hairy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: In the Good ole' U.S.A.
Posts: 2,323
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Well folks it has happened AGAIN!
For the seventh time since November of 2010 a Tekin ESC has FAILED on me!This time is shows that I have the wrong motor selected.After a conversation with Tekin it has been determined that the ESC has failed and will neeed to be replaced!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Before you jump on me and tell me I must be doing something wrong The first Six failed because a problem with the process in which it was made.This time it just decided in between runs that it didn't want to work anymore and couldn't tell what motor I have in it.
Alas another race day sitting at home because of Tekin equipment failure.
__________________
MERLIN RACING
"He once ran a marathon because it was on his way"
Logic is a lost art!
You are defined in life by how you respond to defeat!
hairy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2011, 01:51 PM   #20565
Tech Master
 
PitNamedGordie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Highwood, IL
Posts: 1,789
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to PitNamedGordie Send a message via Yahoo to PitNamedGordie
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hairy View Post
Well folks it has happened AGAIN!
For the seventh time since November of 2010 a Tekin ESC has FAILED on me!This time is shows that I have the wrong motor selected.After a conversation with Tekin it has been determined that the ESC has failed and will neeed to be replaced!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Before you jump on me and tell me I must be doing something wrong The first Six failed because a problem with the process in which it was made.This time it just decided in between runs that it didn't want to work anymore and couldn't tell what motor I have in it.
Alas another race day sitting at home because of Tekin equipment failure.
Not trying to fan the flames, but has this one failed 7 times or have you bought seven Tekin ESCs and they have all failed?
__________________
☆ The Track @ Harbor Hobbies ☆ www.harbor-hobby.net ☆
PitNamedGordie is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tekin Redline RS Sensored ESC and motors, opinions for offroad? Cain Electric Off-Road 4230 06-07-2015 04:38 PM
Sensored vs. Sensorless lemansracer Electric On-Road 71 02-14-2009 03:19 AM
New Tekin Redline Sensored Motors are Roar Legal! Randy_Pike Electric On-Road 3 08-05-2008 02:08 AM
Tekin Redline Sensored 10.5 HUCKMAN Electric On-Road 6 07-15-2008 08:50 PM
sensored vs sensorless bprocket Rookie Zone 5 05-16-2008 09:38 AM


Tags
v203, vegas 2.0


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 10:52 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net