Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
Tekin RS ESC sensored >

Tekin RS ESC sensored

Tekin RS ESC sensored

Reply

Old 05-23-2011, 02:38 PM
  #20551  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (15)
 
M-Technic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Palm Beach, FL
Posts: 2,562
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by InspGadgt View Post
Ok well it has been awhile since I have ran my TC in the 17.5 boost class so I haven't posted here in awhile. I finally got to run it this past weekend with a new radio (New Spektrum Pro) and I am still having a bit of what seems to be a turbo fade issue...basically about half way through the race my car seems noticeably slower on the straight than other cars running the RS. Initially I start out the same speed as everyone else but just seem to have more drop off than everyone else. My motor temps in the low 150s and so far I have changed out the RS, the radio, and the motor. So I'm wondering if my battery could be falling off that much or if I should look at something else. Also I am not running fan on the motor and most if not all of the RS's I am racing against are running a fan. I don't remember my settings off hand but have tried many different things and typically run the same settings as others at my track. Any other suggestions of things for me to look at?
Same settings don't always work from driver to driver, motor to motor, car to car, etc. Your batteries could be dropping that much though. Voltage always drops throughout a run and on a bad battery it will be more pronounced.
M-Technic is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2011, 10:52 PM
  #20552  
Tech Addict
 
waOscar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Pattaya Thailand
Posts: 614
Default Start RPM Settings

A lot of people recommend start RPMs for 10.5 or lower turn motors of 5 or 6k.
This seems low to me. I've used Novak data logger with 10.5 on the 3 tracks in my state. On the tight twisty carpet track the minimum RPM during a lap (ignoring starting or pulling away from hitting kerbs) was roughly 8000. On our large outdoor asphalt track the slowest corner had a motor rpm around 10500.
Correct me if I'm wrong, but is it best to have little timing on the motor when initally starting and then adding the timing as the motor winds up.
It seems to me that if your start RPM is less than the rpm on the slowest corner then you are adding timing right from initial throttle pull.
Be good if someone could clarify whats happening and whats the correct setup approach to take.
Cheers.
waOscar is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2011, 03:36 AM
  #20553  
Tech Champion
 
tc3team's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 6,151
Default

Originally Posted by 2wdrive View Post
http://www.teamtekin.com/hotwire/ESC...n-TC-BD6-5.pdf

Try those setting.

You have too much timing comming in to soon. Your settings are for roughly 10.5t or higher turn motors.
+1.

In general, the higher the motor wind (13.5/17.5 etc etc) the more timing is used, 50 total timing appears to be "optimal", but the more heat the motor gives out, the quicker it is going to loose its peak power.

The reverse is said for lower turn motors as they already have the power without the need for timing as well.
tc3team is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2011, 04:45 AM
  #20554  
Tech Lord
iTrader: (101)
 
20 SMOKE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: HVR_ WEEKI WACHEE FL
Posts: 10,345
Trader Rating: 101 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by waOscar View Post
A lot of people recommend start RPMs for 10.5 or lower turn motors of 5 or 6k.
This seems low to me. I've used Novak data logger with 10.5 on the 3 tracks in my state. On the tight twisty carpet track the minimum RPM during a lap (ignoring starting or pulling away from hitting kerbs) was roughly 8000. On our large outdoor asphalt track the slowest corner had a motor rpm around 10500.
Correct me if I'm wrong, but is it best to have little timing on the motor when initally starting and then adding the timing as the motor winds up.
It seems to me that if your start RPM is less than the rpm on the slowest corner then you are adding timing right from initial throttle pull.
Be good if someone could clarify whats happening and whats the correct setup approach to take.
Cheers.
your right,not everyone has a data logger to see this and going with a little lower start just smooths the the transition when the timing is added.some motor timing is good but to much will create heat
20 SMOKE is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2011, 06:55 AM
  #20555  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (152)
 
Krio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: At dirt tracks in Michigan!
Posts: 5,395
Trader Rating: 152 (99%+)
Default

Originally Posted by waOscar View Post
A lot of people recommend start RPMs for 10.5 or lower turn motors of 5 or 6k.
This seems low to me. I've used Novak data logger with 10.5 on the 3 tracks in my state. On the tight twisty carpet track the minimum RPM during a lap (ignoring starting or pulling away from hitting kerbs) was roughly 8000. On our large outdoor asphalt track the slowest corner had a motor rpm around 10500.
Correct me if I'm wrong, but is it best to have little timing on the motor when initally starting and then adding the timing as the motor winds up.
It seems to me that if your start RPM is less than the rpm on the slowest corner then you are adding timing right from initial throttle pull.
Be good if someone could clarify whats happening and whats the correct setup approach to take.
Cheers.
Less timing does not equal more torque. The "perfect" timing at any given rpm equals more torque. People recommend 5-6k start rpm's because these motors produce more power when the timing starts to kick in there. It doesn't 'smooth' the power out, it makes the power 'always there' so you don't have a drop in power and then the kick later on once the esc ramps back up to the appropriate timing.
Krio is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2011, 07:07 AM
  #20556  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (8)
 
Mr. MR4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Malta, EU
Posts: 297
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

What start rpm for 13.5 boosted would you recommend for a track with 4 hairpins?
Mr. MR4 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2011, 08:12 AM
  #20557  
Team Tekin
iTrader: (6)
 
Randy_Pike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Norcal
Posts: 9,778
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

We need a LOT more info than just "hairpins."

Track dimensions, layout, motor used, average lap times,etc.
Randy_Pike is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2011, 08:52 AM
  #20558  
Tech Champion
 
tc3team's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 6,151
Default

Originally Posted by Mr. MR4 View Post
What start rpm for 13.5 boosted would you recommend for a track with 4 hairpins?
Is there a link / picture of the track online that you could show us?
tc3team is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2011, 09:38 AM
  #20559  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (8)
 
Mr. MR4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Malta, EU
Posts: 297
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Randy_Pike View Post
We need a LOT more info than just "hairpins."

Track dimensions, layout, motor used, average lap times,etc.
Here is a video of the track

http://www.youtube.com/user/rangerover25?blend=7&ob=5

Staright is around 90 feet long. Average lap time 16 sec.

Motors being used are GM 13.5 and Speed Pasion 13.5 (12.3mm purple ring rotor)
Mr. MR4 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2011, 09:44 AM
  #20560  
Team Tekin
iTrader: (6)
 
Randy_Pike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Norcal
Posts: 9,778
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Ok, that's longer than 90ft. I'd wager more like 140f at least.

That being said I'd try Hara's 17.5 setup:

http://www.teamtekin.com/hotwire/ESC...C-IIC-2010.pdf
Randy_Pike is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2011, 09:49 AM
  #20561  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (8)
 
Mr. MR4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Malta, EU
Posts: 297
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Randy_Pike View Post
Ok, that's longer than 90ft. I'd wager more like 140f at least.

That being said I'd try Hara's 17.5 setup:

http://www.teamtekin.com/hotwire/ESC...C-IIC-2010.pdf
Thanks Randy

What gearing shall I start off with since im using 13.5?

Last edited by Mr. MR4; 05-24-2011 at 01:26 PM.
Mr. MR4 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2011, 12:01 PM
  #20562  
Tech Master
 
wingman2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Tewkesbury, UK via Plymouth, UK.
Posts: 1,259
Default

Hi guys, sorry if this has already been asked, but is there any advantage to run more than one cap with the RS Pro? I noticed 'other' companies do use more than one cap, so would there be any benefit with the Tekin?? Cheers, Chris.
wingman2 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2011, 12:23 PM
  #20563  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (152)
 
Krio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: At dirt tracks in Michigan!
Posts: 5,395
Trader Rating: 152 (99%+)
Default

Originally Posted by wingman2 View Post
Hi guys, sorry if this has already been asked, but is there any advantage to run more than one cap with the RS Pro? I noticed 'other' companies do use more than one cap, so would there be any benefit with the Tekin?? Cheers, Chris.
The main benefit is a cooler running esc. If you aren't running hotter mod motors there is no need with the RS pro.
Krio is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2011, 12:24 PM
  #20564  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (1)
 
hairy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: In the Good ole' U.S.A.
Posts: 2,327
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Well folks it has happened AGAIN!
For the seventh time since November of 2010 a Tekin ESC has FAILED on me!This time is shows that I have the wrong motor selected.After a conversation with Tekin it has been determined that the ESC has failed and will neeed to be replaced!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Before you jump on me and tell me I must be doing something wrong The first Six failed because a problem with the process in which it was made.This time it just decided in between runs that it didn't want to work anymore and couldn't tell what motor I have in it.
Alas another race day sitting at home because of Tekin equipment failure.
hairy is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2011, 12:51 PM
  #20565  
Tech Master
iTrader: (8)
 
PitNamedGordie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Highwood, IL
Posts: 1,789
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by hairy View Post
Well folks it has happened AGAIN!
For the seventh time since November of 2010 a Tekin ESC has FAILED on me!This time is shows that I have the wrong motor selected.After a conversation with Tekin it has been determined that the ESC has failed and will neeed to be replaced!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Before you jump on me and tell me I must be doing something wrong The first Six failed because a problem with the process in which it was made.This time it just decided in between runs that it didn't want to work anymore and couldn't tell what motor I have in it.
Alas another race day sitting at home because of Tekin equipment failure.
Not trying to fan the flames, but has this one failed 7 times or have you bought seven Tekin ESCs and they have all failed?
PitNamedGordie is offline  
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Terms of Service