R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 05-19-2011, 05:29 PM   #20521
Tech Elite
 
nerdling's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Canberra
Posts: 2,849
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default Voltage Booster

Hi Guys,

I'm taking delivery of a 12th scale this weekend, I'm planning to use my Teking RS Pro. Will I need to use a voltage booster to en sure that the Radio gear gets sufficent voltage?

Mark
__________________
--XRAY--NOSRAM--PROTOFORM--MUCHMORE--
www.teamxray.com -- www.hudy.net -- www.hobbyexpress.com.au
nerdling is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2011, 05:41 PM   #20522
Tech Lord
 
20 SMOKE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: HVR_ WEEKI WACHEE FL
Posts: 10,299
Trader Rating: 101 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nerdling View Post
Hi Guys,

I'm taking delivery of a 12th scale this weekend, I'm planning to use my Teking RS Pro. Will I need to use a voltage booster to en sure that the Radio gear gets sufficent voltage?

Mark
yes buy the tq one
__________________
Jamie W
*Team Tekin*Tekno-rc*DE Racing*AKA*DDHRC*
20 SMOKE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2011, 09:51 PM   #20523
Tech Elite
 
nerdling's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Canberra
Posts: 2,849
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 20 SMOKE View Post
yes buy the tq one
thanks. any details on the tq booster? part no, where I can get one?
__________________
--XRAY--NOSRAM--PROTOFORM--MUCHMORE--
www.teamxray.com -- www.hudy.net -- www.hobbyexpress.com.au
nerdling is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2011, 12:02 AM   #20524
Tech Champion
 
RedBullFiXX's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Intergalactic Planetary
Posts: 6,542
Trader Rating: 34 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nerdling View Post
thanks. any details on the tq booster? part no, where I can get one?
http://www.tqcells.com/TQBOOSTER.htm
__________________
--> 12th scale Information Source <--

"Men do not quit playing because they grow old; they grow old because they quit playing."
― Oliver Wendell Holmes Jr.
RedBullFiXX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2011, 01:54 AM   #20525
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 92
Default

Would one of the Tekin Team kindly give me some advice on settings for the following UK track. Track is approx 40-45 metre straight (approx 130-140 ft) and is very grippy



Will be running a Trinity Epic D3 (13.5) in a HB TCX

My thoughts are (correct me if wrong)

End point 18000 (approx)
Start 3500 (approx)
Ramp 3
Boost 50
Turbo 16
Timing 50
Profile 3
Delay 0.5

No timing on motor and approx gearing 7.12

thanks for your help

john
Jo90uk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2011, 02:19 AM   #20526
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 321
Default

that is a picture of the old adur track not the one you will be racing on for the stcc
Smartypants is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2011, 05:49 AM   #20527
Tech Elite
 
nerdling's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Canberra
Posts: 2,849
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RedBullFiXX View Post
thanks
__________________
--XRAY--NOSRAM--PROTOFORM--MUCHMORE--
www.teamxray.com -- www.hudy.net -- www.hobbyexpress.com.au
nerdling is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2011, 07:24 AM   #20528
Tech Master
 
daverobbo5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 1,079
Trader Rating: 43 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Monkeys punk View Post
I use a receiver extension cable and that takes the strain off the RS plug.
thank you. i also saw this simple idea.Tekin RS ESC sensored-untitled.jpg
daverobbo5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2011, 07:25 AM   #20529
Tech Master
 
daverobbo5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 1,079
Trader Rating: 43 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hairy View Post
Try putting a section of shrink wrap on the plug and wire where they come together. That will relieve some of the strain.
good idea. thanks!!
daverobbo5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2011, 07:26 AM   #20530
Tech Master
 
daverobbo5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 1,079
Trader Rating: 43 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 20 SMOKE View Post
use a 2-3 in servo extension
will do.
daverobbo5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2011, 07:42 AM   #20531
Tech Elite
 
M-Technic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Palm Beach, FL
Posts: 2,562
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jo90uk View Post
My thoughts are (correct me if wrong)

End point 18000 (approx)
Start 3500 (approx)
Ramp 3
Boost 50
Turbo 16
Timing 50
Profile 3
Delay 0.5

No timing on motor and approx gearing 7.12

thanks for your help

john
I haven't run 13.5 in a while but here is my input:

Your start RPM doesn't need to be so low for such a large track. 5,000 or even 8-9,000 RPM for a 13.5 on a large flowing track will be fine. Go to like a 22,000-25,000 end. Decrease your turbo delay to about .3 or so. You might want to start with less turbo than 16. Not sure on the gearing.
__________________
RCAmerica | Xray | Hudy | Radiopost | Speed Passion USA | Trinity | P3 Graphics
M-Technic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2011, 08:50 AM   #20532
Tech Adept
 
GBOGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Go Big Or Go Home #WINNING
Posts: 114
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Randy_Pike View Post
Try these settings with your orange motor set to N.

http://www.teamtekin.com/hotwire/ESC...dBuggy_212.pdf
I'll give that a shot, it's a duo 3 and a tekin 17.5 that I have. I'll set these both to 0. I'll try those settings with turbo and adjust motor timing from there, looks like James and I for trans ratio and gearing are setup the same so I'll be giving this a shot tonight when I go race, thanks for the help Randy.

One question aren't we "supposed" to not go over 60* timing with boost and endbell timing combined? What about when you add the turbo? Or does that just actually ramp up the rate of boost it's giving until max boost / rpm?

Thanks for the help even though this was in the on-road section.
GBOGH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2011, 09:21 AM   #20533
Team Tekin
 
Randy_Pike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Norcal
Posts: 9,702
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to Randy_Pike
Default

60 is a relative figure,yes. However in some cases it can work. You're flirting with a line of failure...sounds like racing
__________________
"Things may come to those who wait, but only the things left by those who hustle." Abraham Lincoln

Tekin,Protek,A-Main Hobbies,JConcepts,Avid RC,Yokomo,MIP,SikLidz,FactoryRC, www.randypikerc.com
Randy_Pike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2011, 09:23 AM   #20534
Tech Champion
 
tc3team's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 6,151
Default

Jo90uk, the new track Adur has now is much bigger, and can be viewed here:

http://www.teamwilliams.co.uk/Adur%20Track.jpg
__________________
Fusion Hobbies / www.horshamrc.org

The wife stops me being sane and the r/c stops me from going insane....
tc3team is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2011, 09:44 AM   #20535
Tech Master
 
cwoods34's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Indy-freakin'-ana
Posts: 1,156
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

Even though my question wasn't answered directly the info on gearing and drag brake helped. I'm running around 6.0 on the 10.5 and all ESC boost, 0 timing on the motor, so it is super torquey. I'll see if I can find a setup nearly as fast with timing on the motor and see if it smooths out the drag brake any.
__________________
Stop holding bitterness deep in your bum soul.
cwoods34 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tekin Redline RS Sensored ESC and motors, opinions for offroad? Cain Electric Off-Road 4230 06-07-2015 04:38 PM
Sensored vs. Sensorless lemansracer Electric On-Road 71 02-14-2009 03:19 AM
New Tekin Redline Sensored Motors are Roar Legal! Randy_Pike Electric On-Road 3 08-05-2008 02:08 AM
Tekin Redline Sensored 10.5 HUCKMAN Electric On-Road 6 07-15-2008 08:50 PM
sensored vs sensorless bprocket Rookie Zone 5 05-16-2008 09:38 AM


Tags
v203, vegas 2.0


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 10:54 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net