R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 05-11-2011, 01:50 PM   #20461
Tech Regular
 
Mr. MR4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Malta, EU
Posts: 297
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr. MR4
Did a couple of runs with my Tekin RS Pro in 1/10 TC (2S Lipo) GM 13.5 motor.

The problem I am having is that the time the turbo seems to be kicking in is varying, and some times it doesnt at all!

I have resoldered the wires, changed the sensor cable, put a new capacitor, done a factory reset and changed the motor and put up the epa on the transmitter (KO Propo) and problem is still there.

Any other suggestions?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Randy_Pike View Post
This is either a setup that is off, or a radio system issue. So since you're using a KO are you calibrating the esc at 100/100 and bumping up the "hi" point to 105?

What is your esc setup? How big is the track? What is the layout like?
Hi Randy,

I tried out the same setup (Hara's IIC Setup with boost 18 instead of 14) with a speed passion 13.5 motor (motor timing 10 deg) and the speedo worked fine and was quick all day. Could it be that I have to use different settings for the GM (97294)13.5 motor? (No motor timing and 12.3mm purple ring rotor)

Track is technical with 2 hairpins and 80 foot straight .

Thanks
Karl
__________________
Xray T4'16 HobbyWing Xerun 120A V3.1
Xray X1'16 HobbyWing Justock
Yokomo R12C3 HobbyWing Xerun V3.1
Mr. MR4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2011, 01:55 PM   #20462
Tech Lord
 
20 SMOKE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: HVR_ WEEKI WACHEE FL
Posts: 10,299
Trader Rating: 101 (100%+)
Default

that straight is border line for turbo if you lift at any point it is useless,i dont use turbo under 100ft just to show that you dont need it,and yes you need to find what work for each motor no two are alike
__________________
Jamie W
*Team Tekin*Tekno-rc*DE Racing*AKA*DDHRC*
20 SMOKE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2011, 02:12 PM   #20463
Tech Regular
 
Mr. MR4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Malta, EU
Posts: 297
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 20 SMOKE View Post
that straight is border line for turbo if you lift at any point it is useless,i dont use turbo under 100ft just to show that you dont need it,and yes you need to find what work for each motor no two are alike
20 smoke - Thanks

What gearing and esc settings do you suggest I use for the SP 13.5?

Thanks
__________________
Xray T4'16 HobbyWing Xerun 120A V3.1
Xray X1'16 HobbyWing Justock
Yokomo R12C3 HobbyWing Xerun V3.1
Mr. MR4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2011, 03:17 PM   #20464
Tech Lord
 
20 SMOKE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: HVR_ WEEKI WACHEE FL
Posts: 10,299
Trader Rating: 101 (100%+)
Default

most 13.5 are in the 6's so i would turn off turbo and use timing boost and gear it from there
__________________
Jamie W
*Team Tekin*Tekno-rc*DE Racing*AKA*DDHRC*
20 SMOKE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2011, 12:27 PM   #20465
Tech Master
 
Big Features's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Currituck, North Carolina
Posts: 1,881
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Hey does anyone have a good FDR and ESC set up for SCT 13.5??

Thanks!

Mike
__________________
Mike Kling
Team Associated REEDY Powered
JConcepts TXD Skin Graphix FDJ Sauce
Big Features is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2011, 02:09 PM   #20466
Tech Adept
 
Monkeys punk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 142
Default

Got my RS back from Tekin repair Yesterday. Great service as ever and back on my doorstep within 3 weeks from the UK.
Cheers Randy
Monkeys punk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2011, 10:23 AM   #20467
Team Tekin
 
Randy_Pike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Norcal
Posts: 9,702
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to Randy_Pike
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Big Features View Post
Hey does anyone have a good FDR and ESC set up for SCT 13.5??

Thanks!

Mike
Mike FDR will vary from track to track, layout to layout.

Setup sheets are here:

http://www.teamtekin.com/hotwire/ESCsetups/index.html
__________________
"Things may come to those who wait, but only the things left by those who hustle." Abraham Lincoln

Tekin,Protek,A-Main Hobbies,JConcepts,Avid RC,Yokomo,MIP,SikLidz,FactoryRC, www.randypikerc.com
Randy_Pike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2011, 12:23 PM   #20468
Tech Elite
 
entitymugenmtx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Northridge ca
Posts: 2,117
Trader Rating: 81 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to entitymugenmtx
Default

I'm running a Ko Propo Eurus radio with a Tekin RS pro I calibrated at 100% H-point does it make a big difference if I go to 150% H-point
__________________
SPONSORS.....MY CHECKBOOK....
entitymugenmtx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2011, 12:36 PM   #20469
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 134
Default Tekin RS Pro

I have some problem with my electric touring car.
After aprox 3 min the ESC overheat, motor heat ok.
I have now change positions plus added a fan and I will also add another cap.
This should do it but I need some help with ESC setup.

Car: Kyosho TF-5 Shin
Tire: Rubber Slick
Gear ratio: 7.46:1 106T/26T 64P (Pro driver says round 7 for this track)
Battery: 2S 45C Lipo
Motor: Tekin Redline 4.5T (Stock timing)
ESC: Tekin RS Pro

Current Version: 212
Brushless Forward Only with Brake
Voltage Cutoff: 2S
Drive Mode: Sensored Only
Motor Direction: Normal
Throttle Profile: 3
Current Limit: 95
Throttle Min: 0
Drag Break: Off
Brake Strength: 60
Reverse Speed: Off
Neutral Width: 3
Push Control: Off
Brake Min: 0
Timing Advance: Min
Boost: 0
Start/End RPM: 5443/20016
Turbo: 5
Turbo Ramp: 1
Turbo Delay: 1.00

Im running on a large outdoor track and the straight is really long,
I could use a "second gear" to get some top speed but I can't feel any turbo kickin?

I have not tested the current setup but I used a similar last time but with Turbo 15 and Ramp 3.
Tested Turbo Delay from 0.5 - 2.0 with no difference.

Is the Turbo function somehow dependent on Timing Advance or Boost?

When running 17.5T indoor the turbo worked great, though I had more timing and boost then now.

I would appreciate some tips

Heres a clip of the track in question.
Same car but then with Novak GTB and Velociti 4.5T

+ YouTube Video
ERROR: If you can see this, then YouTube is down or you don't have Flash installed.
dark_luna is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2011, 12:51 PM   #20470
Tech Lord
 
20 SMOKE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: HVR_ WEEKI WACHEE FL
Posts: 10,299
Trader Rating: 101 (100%+)
Default

you can add a second cap and i would run in dual mode to start off with,you only have 12* motor and 5 turbo you shouldnt be thermalling
__________________
Jamie W
*Team Tekin*Tekno-rc*DE Racing*AKA*DDHRC*
20 SMOKE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2011, 01:27 PM   #20471
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 134
Default

Sorry I didnt mention this setup with turbo 5 is basically just to see that the esc dont overheat.
Thx I will test dual mode

Last edited by dark_luna; 05-17-2011 at 01:39 PM.
dark_luna is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2011, 02:41 PM   #20472
Tech Elite
 
M-Technic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Palm Beach, FL
Posts: 2,562
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

Turbo won't function without timing boost. I think you should be running dual mode though.
__________________
RCAmerica | Xray | Hudy | Radiopost | Speed Passion USA | Trinity | P3 Graphics
M-Technic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2011, 03:36 PM   #20473
Tech Lord
 
20 SMOKE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: HVR_ WEEKI WACHEE FL
Posts: 10,299
Trader Rating: 101 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by M-Technic View Post
Turbo won't function without timing boost. I think you should be running dual mode though.
i think i seen randy say turbo will,it was talked about in a oval setting but its been a while
__________________
Jamie W
*Team Tekin*Tekno-rc*DE Racing*AKA*DDHRC*
20 SMOKE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2011, 11:17 PM   #20474
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: France
Posts: 172
Default

I talked a about a minimum boost requierd for turbo lunch.
You need to have 25 boost minimum to activate turbo.

I was testing an lrp 4.5 octa wind on the sensored only mod, and i wasnt happy. Realy to much power and not smooth with throttle profile 1 and a lot of current limit.
I think you should try in dual mode.
Next week end i will try a speedpassion 6.5 ( smoother than lrp ) and boost it
Manson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2011, 07:37 AM   #20475
Tech Elite
 
jlfx car audio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: jackson,tn
Posts: 3,363
Trader Rating: 36 (100%+)
Default

I been running my rs pro for over a year without any issue . But this past weekend it seemed as if my current limiter was turned on but after checkin several times it shows off. Swapped motors,batt, settings. Tried several diff tunes. But could never get the bottom end to equal anyone else's . Anyone ever experienced this?
__________________
Justin & Matt Lyons
Awesomatix USA, EA motorsports, Sanwa, Protoform, Avid, Gravity Rc , TSR!
a800s sanwa m12s
jlfx car audio is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tekin Redline RS Sensored ESC and motors, opinions for offroad? Cain Electric Off-Road 4230 06-07-2015 04:38 PM
Sensored vs. Sensorless lemansracer Electric On-Road 71 02-14-2009 03:19 AM
New Tekin Redline Sensored Motors are Roar Legal! Randy_Pike Electric On-Road 3 08-05-2008 02:08 AM
Tekin Redline Sensored 10.5 HUCKMAN Electric On-Road 6 07-15-2008 08:50 PM
sensored vs sensorless bprocket Rookie Zone 5 05-16-2008 09:38 AM


Tags
v203, vegas 2.0


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 03:55 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net