R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 05-10-2011, 08:16 AM   #20446
Tech Adept
 
Mundy1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Mid-Michigan
Posts: 245
Trader Rating: 50 (100%+)
Default

He guys,

I am wondering about setting up a car for my 7year old. Actually a SC10 Off road short course truck with RS and 17.5 turn Redline.
I know this is the on road forum but this is the hot place for RS info it seems.

I want to limit power and ussually did this with end point adjustments on a radio.

Now that we have tekin rs's and hotwire would I do that with current limit only or a combination of current limit and end point setting?

Tell me if I am wrong.
Current limit only = slower release of power with full top speed available

Endpoint only = normal fast release of power but top speed is limited

Current limit and end point = slower more controlable release of power and top speed limited
Mundy1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2011, 09:18 AM   #20447
Team Tekin
 
Randy_Pike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Norcal
Posts: 9,702
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to Randy_Pike
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr. MR4 View Post
Did a couple of runs with my Tekin RS Pro in 1/10 TC (2S Lipo) GM 13.5 motor.

The problem I am having is that the time the turbo seems to be kicking in is varying, and some times it doesnt at all!

I have resoldered the wires, changed the sensor cable, put a new capacitor, done a factory reset and changed the motor and put up the epa on the transmitter (KO Propo) and problem is still there.

Any other suggestions?
This is either a setup that is off, or a radio system issue. So since you're using a KO are you calibrating the esc at 100/100 and bumping up the "hi" point to 105?

What is your esc setup? How big is the track? What is the layout like?
__________________
"Things may come to those who wait, but only the things left by those who hustle." Abraham Lincoln

Tekin,Protek,A-Main Hobbies,JConcepts,Avid RC,Yokomo,MIP,SikLidz,FactoryRC, www.randypikerc.com
Randy_Pike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2011, 09:20 AM   #20448
Team Tekin
 
Randy_Pike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Norcal
Posts: 9,702
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to Randy_Pike
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mundy1 View Post
He guys,

I am wondering about setting up a car for my 7year old. Actually a SC10 Off road short course truck with RS and 17.5 turn Redline.
I know this is the on road forum but this is the hot place for RS info it seems.

I want to limit power and ussually did this with end point adjustments on a radio.

Now that we have tekin rs's and hotwire would I do that with current limit only or a combination of current limit and end point setting?

Tell me if I am wrong.
Current limit only = slower release of power with full top speed available

Endpoint only = normal fast release of power but top speed is limited

Current limit and end point = slower more controlable release of power and top speed limited
Correct on all counts. Current limiter to control bottom end power. Epa to control top speed.

Ideally this should simply be geared/setup for the speed you're looking for in the first place.
__________________
"Things may come to those who wait, but only the things left by those who hustle." Abraham Lincoln

Tekin,Protek,A-Main Hobbies,JConcepts,Avid RC,Yokomo,MIP,SikLidz,FactoryRC, www.randypikerc.com
Randy_Pike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2011, 10:18 AM   #20449
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: France
Posts: 172
Default

Hello randy,

i ve an rs pro with 212.

I don't see any rpm difference on fly wheel with the 1-2-3 preselected power profile ( ex throttle profile )

On the 4-5 i heard the additional timing kick up the motor rpm

Is it normal ? or maybe it s a bug and it will be fixed at the 213


Another one question,

I always drive a 10.5 boosted motor with the tekin. And for this week end i will try a 4.5 with 0 boost but few turbo for top speed.

So i set 0 boost and some turbo but when i test it, i don't see ( or heard ) any rpm difference. Look like the turbo don't work.

Maybe rs pro have a minimum boost requird to activate turbo launch ?

Thanks for reply
Manson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2011, 10:37 AM   #20450
Tech Elite
 
M-Technic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Palm Beach, FL
Posts: 2,562
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Manson View Post
Hello randy,

i ve an rs pro with 212.

I don't see any rpm difference on fly wheel with the 1-2-3 preselected power profile ( ex throttle profile )

On the 4-5 i heard the additional timing kick up the motor rpm

Is it normal ? or maybe it s a bug and it will be fixed at the 213
Throttle profile is the throttle curve, it dictates how "aggressive" the feel of the throttle trigger is. It doesn't change the RPM.
__________________
RCAmerica | Xray | Hudy | Radiopost | Speed Passion USA | Trinity | P3 Graphics
M-Technic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2011, 10:43 AM   #20451
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: France
Posts: 172
Default

i know that, throttle profile on the esc was deleted and replace by preselected timing profile
Manson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2011, 04:47 PM   #20452
Team Tekin
 
Randy_Pike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Norcal
Posts: 9,702
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to Randy_Pike
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Manson View Post
Hello randy,

i ve an rs pro with 212.

I don't see any rpm difference on fly wheel with the 1-2-3 preselected power profile ( ex throttle profile )

On the 4-5 i heard the additional timing kick up the motor rpm

Is it normal ? or maybe it s a bug and it will be fixed at the 213


Another one question,

I always drive a 10.5 boosted motor with the tekin. And for this week end i will try a 4.5 with 0 boost but few turbo for top speed.

So i set 0 boost and some turbo but when i test it, i don't see ( or heard ) any rpm difference. Look like the turbo don't work.

Maybe rs pro have a minimum boost requird to activate turbo launch ?

Thanks for reply
This is true. Some boost must be set to use turbo. Ideally try a very very mild boost setup without turbo and find your gearing. A lot of our Team Drivers are using boosted 6.5 and 7.5 setups with great success.
__________________
"Things may come to those who wait, but only the things left by those who hustle." Abraham Lincoln

Tekin,Protek,A-Main Hobbies,JConcepts,Avid RC,Yokomo,MIP,SikLidz,FactoryRC, www.randypikerc.com
Randy_Pike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2011, 04:57 PM   #20453
Suspended
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 1,278
Trader Rating: 86 (100%+)
Default

can anyone tell me difference of profile c1 and c2 and minimum brake please?
littlealex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2011, 05:14 PM   #20454
Tech Lord
 
20 SMOKE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: HVR_ WEEKI WACHEE FL
Posts: 10,299
Trader Rating: 101 (100%+)
Default

there is no difference in c1 c2 that is the profile you get to chose the timing and rpm range so the difference is what you make it,minimum brake is the amount applied during the first touch of the brake if you have 10 you get 10* of brake when applied
__________________
Jamie W
*Team Tekin*Tekno-rc*DE Racing*AKA*DDHRC*
20 SMOKE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2011, 05:21 PM   #20455
Suspended
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 1,278
Trader Rating: 86 (100%+)
Default

thanks 20 smoke
littlealex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2011, 01:12 AM   #20456
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: France
Posts: 172
Default

Too bad to have boost to activate turbo. I think my lrp 4.5 have already a good acceleration boost would be useless.

Randy, do you know what is the mimimal value of boost for turbo activation ?


And can you tell me why the no boost, 2, 3 boost profile are same ? I dont see any difference betwen them when i switch it on the 5 th mod

Thanks
Manson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2011, 01:35 AM   #20457
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: 1
Posts: 8
Default

good job. thanx.
__________________
[URL="http://www.promosyonbank.com"]promosyon usb bellek[/URL]
catbirdx02 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2011, 09:04 AM   #20458
Team Tekin
 
Randy_Pike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Norcal
Posts: 9,702
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to Randy_Pike
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Manson View Post
Too bad to have boost to activate turbo. I think my lrp 4.5 have already a good acceleration boost would be useless.

Randy, do you know what is the mimimal value of boost for turbo activation ?


And can you tell me why the no boost, 2, 3 boost profile are same ? I dont see any difference betwen them when i switch it on the 5 th mod

Thanks
What software are you using? Are you changing "timing profiles" or "Throttle profiles?"
__________________
"Things may come to those who wait, but only the things left by those who hustle." Abraham Lincoln

Tekin,Protek,A-Main Hobbies,JConcepts,Avid RC,Yokomo,MIP,SikLidz,FactoryRC, www.randypikerc.com
Randy_Pike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2011, 10:12 AM   #20459
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: France
Posts: 172
Default

The 212 with the timing profile

I see a difference with the 35 boost ( led 4 ) and the 45 boost ( led 5 )

But the no boost mod and led 2-3 are same on my rs pro
Manson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2011, 10:46 AM   #20460
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: France
Posts: 172
Default

I ve try some setups, on fly wheel always because the weather isn't good here.

The minimal boost required to have turbo activate is 25.

But i saw the turbo was less brutal when the boost was low...

Turbo value isn't a percentage right ?

I realy heard the turbo kick my rpm with 35-40 boost, but with 25 of boost, the turbo is less impressive.
Manson is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tekin Redline RS Sensored ESC and motors, opinions for offroad? Cain Electric Off-Road 4230 06-07-2015 04:38 PM
Sensored vs. Sensorless lemansracer Electric On-Road 71 02-14-2009 03:19 AM
New Tekin Redline Sensored Motors are Roar Legal! Randy_Pike Electric On-Road 3 08-05-2008 02:08 AM
Tekin Redline Sensored 10.5 HUCKMAN Electric On-Road 6 07-15-2008 08:50 PM
sensored vs sensorless bprocket Rookie Zone 5 05-16-2008 09:38 AM


Tags
v203, vegas 2.0


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 09:56 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net