R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-10-2009, 12:07 AM   #2026
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 538
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

I tried 15 boost, 10 on can (Duo 13.5 middle hole). Geared down 6 teeth (64p, 5.76 fdr) for my first run, but was disappointed. I was running the same motor timing with no boost with fdr 5.06 (v189). The run with boost was significantly slower, temp at 4mins was at 130+. Went up 2 teeth (5.49), and still seems lacklusture compared to before. Ran out of time so did not temp, i guess I have to try again another day...

I know I can go back to no boost and back up on the pinion, but just wanted to check out the timing adjustments... Any advice?

Last edited by stocker; 01-10-2009 at 01:54 AM.
stocker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2009, 04:39 AM   #2027
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 137
Default

Need some help very quickly at the DHI Cup. The LED 1, 6 and 7 is on when i turn on the speedo. When i solder the motor off, the speedo reacts perfect to the throttle input. I have tried with my hotwire, using 183 and 189, tried changing the motor type with reverse, tried another motor and i am running out of ideas. I also factory reset the speedo but still no luck, som ideas quickly would be appreciated...
Foodie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2009, 04:52 AM   #2028
Tech Master
 
miller tyme's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Indiana
Posts: 1,710
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Foodie View Post
Need some help very quickly at the DHI Cup. The LED 1, 6 and 7 is on when i turn on the speedo. When i solder the motor off, the speedo reacts perfect to the throttle input. I have tried with my hotwire, using 183 and 189, tried changing the motor type with reverse, tried another motor and i am running out of ideas. I also factory reset the speedo but still no luck, som ideas quickly would be appreciated...
I had similar happen, turns out I grabbed the wrong battery, had a bad cell and too low voltage to turn the motor.
__________________
Ken Miller
RCTarget - Capricorn - Pro Level RC - MAX Power - Maxima Fuel - EA Motorsorts - TQ Wire

LONG LIVE OPEN MODIFIED
miller tyme is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2009, 05:26 AM   #2029
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 137
Default

Not working with full charged battery...
Foodie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2009, 07:46 AM   #2030
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Crestwood KY USA
Posts: 118
Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)
Default

I recently Emailed Randy for the 189 software for my RS and RS Pro. But I was unaware of 183 software. My RS was purchased a couple weeks ago but it came with 180. I updated my hotwire but it only shows 178 and 180. where can I find this 183 and what are its differences. I assume 189 software will have all the updates of 183. Just curious while I wait for the 189 software.
rushrush1 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2009, 08:15 AM   #2031
Tech Master
 
miller tyme's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Indiana
Posts: 1,710
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rushrush1 View Post
I recently Emailed Randy for the 189 software for my RS and RS Pro. But I was unaware of 183 software. My RS was purchased a couple weeks ago but it came with 180. I updated my hotwire but it only shows 178 and 180. where can I find this 183 and what are its differences. I assume 189 software will have all the updates of 183. Just curious while I wait for the 189 software.
183 had a steeper throttle ramp up, it was a beta that Idon't think was released. 189 is the same as 183 just with boost added to the sensored only option. If you set boost to 0* then you will essentially have 183.
__________________
Ken Miller
RCTarget - Capricorn - Pro Level RC - MAX Power - Maxima Fuel - EA Motorsorts - TQ Wire

LONG LIVE OPEN MODIFIED
miller tyme is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2009, 09:34 AM   #2032
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 39
Default

I ran my rs pro for the first time today. It was also my first time running brushless.

The car was pretty fast, but there were no other people with the same motor to compare with.

It seems as if the top speed goes down when I increase drag brake. Is that right?
Ahmed Aman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2009, 12:56 PM   #2033
Team Tekin
 
Randy_Pike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Norcal
Posts: 9,702
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to Randy_Pike
Default

No, drag brake should have nothing to do with the speed.

183 was beta and comes with 189. If you want this software, you must email me for it along with your location so I can hook you up with team drivers in your area.

[email protected]
__________________
"Things may come to those who wait, but only the things left by those who hustle." Abraham Lincoln

Tekin,Protek,A-Main Hobbies,JConcepts,Avid RC,Yokomo,MIP,SikLidz,FactoryRC, www.randypikerc.com
Randy_Pike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2009, 03:31 PM   #2034
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 39
Default

Then I guess it's just me, or the batteries.
Ahmed Aman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2009, 04:55 PM   #2035
Z
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 1,296
Default

Randy...You have PM.
__________________
www.heartofamericaseries.com
2007 RC Pro Series National Champion - Expert Sedan
2005 ROAR Region 8 Nitro Sedan Champion
Stay Thirsty My Friends
Z is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2009, 07:01 PM   #2036
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Crestwood KY USA
Posts: 118
Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)
Default

Randy
Just sent you Email with my location.

Thanks
rushrush1 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2009, 07:02 PM   #2037
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,625
Trader Rating: 36 (100%+)
Default

How does "Push Control" work and how can it help?
EVILGRAFX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2009, 07:17 PM   #2038
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,625
Trader Rating: 36 (100%+)
Default

I was running pretty strong before the 189 update - Rubber Carpet TC 17.5 Duo running 20 deg timing on the motor in Hybrid mode - the car was strong. After switching to 189, it just seems like I can't find that right spot of timing and gearing. I had to gear down almost ten teeth on the pinion just to keep the motor from getting too hot and the power just isn't there. I'm about four tenths off my average laps and best laps since the upgrade. I need more low end power because the track is mostly tight and there is only one long straight down the back. It seems like the car only gained power at the top end where I don't need it. What should I do?

Thanks
Tim
EVILGRAFX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2009, 07:33 PM   #2039
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 929
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default

start at zero boost and go back to your old gearing. running 189 with 0 boost is the same as running 180 or 183. gradually go up on your timing maybe 5 degree at a time and regear one tooth lower each time until you see your best performance or you start getting hot.
eddie10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2009, 09:47 PM   #2040
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 538
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by eddie10 View Post
start at zero boost and go back to your old gearing. running 189 with 0 boost is the same as running 180 or 183. gradually go up on your timing maybe 5 degree at a time and regear one tooth lower each time until you see your best performance or you start getting hot.
OK, I'll try this.
stocker is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tekin Redline RS Sensored ESC and motors, opinions for offroad? Cain Electric Off-Road 4230 06-07-2015 04:38 PM
Sensored vs. Sensorless lemansracer Electric On-Road 71 02-14-2009 03:19 AM
New Tekin Redline Sensored Motors are Roar Legal! Randy_Pike Electric On-Road 3 08-05-2008 02:08 AM
Tekin Redline Sensored 10.5 HUCKMAN Electric On-Road 6 07-15-2008 08:50 PM
sensored vs sensorless bprocket Rookie Zone 5 05-16-2008 09:38 AM


Tags
v203, vegas 2.0


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 08:25 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net