R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-23-2011, 08:15 PM   #20356
Tech Champion
 
stiltskin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Virginia Beach
Posts: 5,368
Trader Rating: 102 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by olegeezer View Post
reading on tekin forum afew others with leds1267 flashing have to send in.before i send in I would like to know what I did wrong to cause this.so i dont go through this again.bought mine in nov used 1 race. track quit onroad switched to offroad didnt buy offroad till march used 3 race days then the rs quit.so no warranty.
Try looking at your solder job. If there are any small pieces of solder that have dropped between two posts of the speedo OR motor, it will give the false reading of wrong motor. It doesn't take much either. I had a very small sliver, but it's enough to make the ground and cause the 1267 lights. Worth an extra look.
__________________
Tony Rumple
Team EAM // Gravity RC
stiltskin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2011, 08:17 PM   #20357
avs
Tech Master
 
avs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 1,175
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by donwhit View Post
Neutral width is set to 10, is this too tight?
Someone said to set around 7?
regards
Don
less than 10 is small. the default is greater than 50

some radio's neutral can wander, and a small neutral width will cause the ESC to not arm at startup because it can't find neutral.

you can experiment with neutral width at 50 or 60. i am not familiar with your radio, but logic suggests that since your son's radio works then you may have a large trim setting on your throttle. if not, then steal your son's radio. (they must look alike so who's to know? )
__________________
Tony Shimko
avs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2011, 09:50 PM   #20358
Tech Elite
 
303slowdown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Rapid City SD.
Posts: 2,299
Trader Rating: 24 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by olegeezer View Post
anyone interested in rs flashing 12 67 leds and hotwire pm offer
That sucks I to have been bitten by the 12 67 bug 3 times to be exact and apperantly their is nothing you can do to prevent it as I have asked a few month ago and never got a response. If your running 2s their are many other esc s that are just as fast unfortunatly for 1s tekin is the way to go.
__________________
Ryan Borgheiinck
303slowdown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2011, 05:26 AM   #20359
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 64
Default

Gold star to the man who mentioned trim!
Had to click the trim towards throttle high nearly all the way but it did set and appears to get full throttle and brake OK.
Interestingly, tried to move the trim back to middle after setting neutral and it was OK also.
All of the above done with neutral width set to 10.
regards and thanks
Don
donwhit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2011, 05:49 AM   #20360
Tech Adept
 
jayh50's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: WV
Posts: 109
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default RS speedp

Quote:
Originally Posted by donwhit View Post
Apologies if this has been asked before...
I have a Sanwa Super Exzes transmitter fitted with a Spektrum 2.4 module. The receiver is Spektrum. This setup has worked with Novak, LRP, Hobbywing etc over the years. Servo is Futaba 9550.
I installed a brand new RS speedo, connected to a Novak ballistic 17.5 motor. During the setup it could not find neutral - lights kept flashing.
Tried a different receiver, then a different 2.4 transmitter module then a spare Exzes transmitter. Still no neutral.
Tried my sons Super Exzes with a Spektrum 2.4 module, found neutral straight away!
I really don't want to buy a new transmitter. Any ideas?
Don
Did you try learning the neutral, wide open thottle and full brake with the mode button? You need to have all of your transmitter trims at neutral first.
__________________
CUSTOM WORKS GBX2, GBX3, LOSI 22 Buggy, 22 SCT, LOSI 8IGHT E BUGGY.
GO FAST, TURN RIGHT, LEFT, RIGHT, LEFT, OHH CRAP!!!!!!!!!!!!
TURN IT OVER, TURN LEFT, RIGHT, LEFT, RIGHT, LOL
jayh50 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2011, 06:01 AM   #20361
Tech Champion
 
cannon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: A total distraction
Posts: 7,266
Trader Rating: 35 (100%+)
Default

Try setting all your trims back to maximum default. Sometimes using a preused model on your radio will not work if you have changed settings. Reset everything or find a new model
__________________
www.feralbatteries.com ........... new website
cannon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2011, 11:35 AM   #20362
Tech Elite
 
M-Technic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Palm Beach, FL
Posts: 2,562
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by donwhit View Post
Neutral width is set to 10, is this too tight?
Someone said to set around 7?
regards
Don
Put it up to 50 and see if it works then.
__________________
RCAmerica | Xray | Hudy | Radiopost | Speed Passion USA | Trinity | P3 Graphics
M-Technic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2011, 04:22 PM   #20363
Tech Fanatic
 
Airwave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 790
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Randy_Pike View Post
Who's motor?
Team Orion Vortex Race 2009 7.5 sensored...

The main interrogation is about the start RPM and the end RPM...
Airwave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2011, 04:34 AM   #20364
TJ
Tech Champion
 
TJ's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 7,449
Default

I current run a tekin rs pro in 21.5 but with turbo. I am entering a competition which run 21.5 spec. I know I have to have 212 software but how do I change the esc to spec like the usa competition. also is there any other information or settings I need to change?

Thanks
__________________
Castle Hill Raceway: www.castlehillraceway.com
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/groups/121817254587521/

"Anything I say can or will be used against me at a later date":
TJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2011, 04:42 AM   #20365
Tech Master
 
locked's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,758
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TJ View Post
I current run a tekin rs pro in 21.5 but with turbo. I am entering a competition which run 21.5 spec. I know I have to have 212 software but how do I change the esc to spec like the usa competition. also is there any other information or settings I need to change?

Thanks
You can quickly change to blinky (zero timing) mode by turning on the ESC , then press the mode button 5 times (until TP light is lit) then press the INCR button until only the first light is lit. Or you can set it to timing profile 1 through the hotwire.

In blinky mode you can adjust everything else, just not the timing/turbo

You will probably also need to lower your FDR. One of the classes I race is a 21.5 class that allows boost, but most of the time everyone runs non-boosted. For boosted I used an FDR of 5.0, but for blinky I use 3.8 (Duo3 motor). Some places have a minimum FDR rule, so you might want to inquire about that.
__________________
Dave Locke
Team PerformanceHobbies.ca | ORCA RC | Bodies by Brandon | Team Meeting
XRAY T4'15 x2 | XRAY XB4 | XRAY XB8E | XRAY XB8
locked is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2011, 04:49 AM   #20366
TJ
Tech Champion
 
TJ's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 7,449
Default

Thanks Locked is there a setup sheet I can use for the other setting to give me a good start on a medium size track with good grip.

Sorry but what is FDR
__________________
Castle Hill Raceway: www.castlehillraceway.com
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/groups/121817254587521/

"Anything I say can or will be used against me at a later date":
TJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2011, 05:01 AM   #20367
Tech Master
 
locked's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,758
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TJ View Post
Thanks Locked is there a setup sheet I can use for the other setting to give me a good start on a medium size track with good grip.

Sorry but what is FDR
FDR is Final Drive Ratio (Spur divided by Pinion multiplied by the car's internal ratio=FDR). I don't think you'll find a setup sheet useful for blinky mode. Since you can't adjust the timing, pretty much all the other settings are just personal preference things.
__________________
Dave Locke
Team PerformanceHobbies.ca | ORCA RC | Bodies by Brandon | Team Meeting
XRAY T4'15 x2 | XRAY XB4 | XRAY XB8E | XRAY XB8
locked is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2011, 05:04 AM   #20368
PDR
Tech Master
 
PDR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 1,826
Trader Rating: 30 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TJ View Post
Thanks Locked is there a setup sheet I can use for the other setting to give me a good start on a medium size track with good grip.

Sorry but what is FDR
Trev, for the event you're thinking of, somewhere between 3.5 and 3.8 is a good starting point (around 53mm rollout). The motor you use will have an influence on what works best. If we're on tomorrow night, feel free to have a chat
__________________
Looking for chassis | Multiple Kids
2011 Slowest Winner - 21.5 Muchmore Masters & NSW State Titles Demo Class
https://www.facebook.com/phatdadracing/
Making an A Main at a Scotty Ernst event. Awesome. Scotty calling you first in A1. Priceless
PDR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2011, 05:07 AM   #20369
TJ
Tech Champion
 
TJ's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 7,449
Default

Thanks guys will try to set it up tomorrow hopeful it fine for racing tomorrow night.

cheers

Trev
__________________
Castle Hill Raceway: www.castlehillraceway.com
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/groups/121817254587521/

"Anything I say can or will be used against me at a later date":
TJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2011, 05:27 AM   #20370
Tech Champion
 
cannon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: A total distraction
Posts: 7,266
Trader Rating: 35 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TJ View Post
Sorry but what is FDR
That is a joke surely Trev?

Only 20+ years in the sport
__________________
www.feralbatteries.com ........... new website
cannon is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tekin Redline RS Sensored ESC and motors, opinions for offroad? Cain Electric Off-Road 4230 06-07-2015 04:38 PM
Sensored vs. Sensorless lemansracer Electric On-Road 71 02-14-2009 03:19 AM
New Tekin Redline Sensored Motors are Roar Legal! Randy_Pike Electric On-Road 3 08-05-2008 02:08 AM
Tekin Redline Sensored 10.5 HUCKMAN Electric On-Road 6 07-15-2008 08:50 PM
sensored vs sensorless bprocket Rookie Zone 5 05-16-2008 09:38 AM


Tags
v203, vegas 2.0


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 10:29 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net