R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-21-2011, 11:27 AM   #20326
Team Tekin
 
Randy_Pike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Norcal
Posts: 9,702
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to Randy_Pike
Default

The stock cap should be found and put back on. The cap however was not the likely cause.

I would be looking at your sensor harness for frayed wires, loose battery connections,etc.
__________________
"Things may come to those who wait, but only the things left by those who hustle." Abraham Lincoln

Tekin,Protek,A-Main Hobbies,JConcepts,Avid RC,Yokomo,MIP,SikLidz,FactoryRC, www.randypikerc.com
Randy_Pike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2011, 11:30 AM   #20327
Tech Regular
 
Mr. MR4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Malta, EU
Posts: 297
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Ok will check wiring.

Thanks for the replies
__________________
Xray T4'16 HobbyWing Xerun 120A V3.1
Xray X1'16 HobbyWing Justock
Yokomo R12C3 HobbyWing Xerun V3.1
Mr. MR4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2011, 12:18 PM   #20328
Tech Fanatic
 
jrxs-r's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Posts: 831
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr. MR4 View Post
Hi,

Yesterday during a race (1/10 TC 2s) the speedo (RS Pro) shut down for a few seconds, and then got going again and was fine for the rest of the race.

In another race sometimes the turbo & boost seemed to be struggling to kick in after 3 minutes of running.

Could this be a blown capacitor or do I just have to factory reset the speedo?

Thanks
A factory reset did it for me. I checked all my wires, cap and sensor wire... but it was the reset that stopped the turbo cutting out intermittently after 3 mins or so.
__________________
Cheers,
Zack
___________________________________________________________________________
Proudly Sponsored by Stanbridges Hobbies
Serpent S411
jrxs-r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2011, 12:39 PM   #20329
Tech Elite
 
M-Technic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Palm Beach, FL
Posts: 2,562
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

Check all solder joints too. A friend had a problem with his RS last night that turned out to be a poor solder joint on the RS post that was about to give out.
__________________
RCAmerica | Xray | Hudy | Radiopost | Speed Passion USA | Trinity | P3 Graphics
M-Technic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2011, 01:01 PM   #20330
Tech Regular
 
Mr. MR4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Malta, EU
Posts: 297
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Checked solder joints and they seem fine. Did a factory reset and changed the sensor cable.

Thanks for the tips guys. Much appreciated
__________________
Xray T4'16 HobbyWing Xerun 120A V3.1
Xray X1'16 HobbyWing Justock
Yokomo R12C3 HobbyWing Xerun V3.1
Mr. MR4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2011, 02:34 PM   #20331
Tech Master
 
spu83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: S FL
Posts: 1,594
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

What will cause the cap to blow up? Last night running RS pro with Trinty duo 3 with blinking mode and change to TP 3. In the beginning motor started to humming then all the sudden the cap blow up. The timing on motor around +4.
__________________
Pak Lee
XB8E, XB4'15, 410.3, T4'16, XB2de, X1'16, XT2de
spu83 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2011, 03:08 PM   #20332
Tech Lord
 
20 SMOKE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: HVR_ WEEKI WACHEE FL
Posts: 10,299
Trader Rating: 101 (100%+)
Default

surge under a load,make sure there is nothing binding the drive train
__________________
Jamie W
*Team Tekin*Tekno-rc*DE Racing*AKA*DDHRC*
20 SMOKE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2011, 03:17 PM   #20333
Team Tekin
 
Randy_Pike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Norcal
Posts: 9,702
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to Randy_Pike
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by spu83 View Post
What will cause the cap to blow up? Last night running RS pro with Trinty duo 3 with blinking mode and change to TP 3. In the beginning motor started to humming then all the sudden the cap blow up. The timing on motor around +4.
Motor was humming? This means you may have had your throttle trimmed up somehow?

The motor should never hum while sitting there.
__________________
"Things may come to those who wait, but only the things left by those who hustle." Abraham Lincoln

Tekin,Protek,A-Main Hobbies,JConcepts,Avid RC,Yokomo,MIP,SikLidz,FactoryRC, www.randypikerc.com
Randy_Pike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2011, 05:27 PM   #20334
Tech Regular
 
twk-b's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: calgary
Posts: 379
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Send a message via MSN to twk-b
Default couldnt resist

Quote:
Originally Posted by Randy_Pike View Post
Sure, and we have. However we're not going to be held liable for such a program.

Sorry guys but you must think a LOT bigger when it comes to this subject. There are a lot of factors when dealing with someone else's product working with yours....
This is totally true for apple iphones... with apple making such integration hard (if not impossible) unless the phone is jail broken.... having to build something that is only going to work on phones that are jail broken is working a small percentage... those with jail broken phones have obviously accepted that their phone could be bricked.... but to justify the costs of development it would really have to work on all iphone to be viable, and the backlash when someone does brick their phone would scare off others quickly...

for Android phones/devices on the other hand, there is no real issue. getting an android phone to talk to the Tekin hotwire is only a couple hours of work... and with knowledge of what you need to say to the hotwire (using ported code from the existing windows app)... a couple of days effort should be enough to bang out a working app, add to that some testing time and a short closed beta, and 1000s of happy customers could sell their crazy windows netbooks and buy another RS!

even an amature could hack this $h!t together with the right information! roflmao...

-b
twk-b is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2011, 05:34 PM   #20335
Tech Master
 
spu83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: S FL
Posts: 1,594
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Randy_Pike View Post
Motor was humming? This means you may have had your throttle trimmed up somehow?

The motor should never hum while sitting there.
The motor started humming when I half throttle it. When I gun it the cap just blown. The drive tran was smooth nothing was binding. After the cap blown everything return to normal but I won't run it until I replace the cap. Better safe than sorry.
__________________
Pak Lee
XB8E, XB4'15, 410.3, T4'16, XB2de, X1'16, XT2de
spu83 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2011, 06:20 PM   #20336
Team Tekin
 
Randy_Pike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Norcal
Posts: 9,702
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to Randy_Pike
Default

Ok, it sounded different the first time.

If you can't find the stock cap pick up a 16v 1000uf cap as Jamie suggested.
__________________
"Things may come to those who wait, but only the things left by those who hustle." Abraham Lincoln

Tekin,Protek,A-Main Hobbies,JConcepts,Avid RC,Yokomo,MIP,SikLidz,FactoryRC, www.randypikerc.com
Randy_Pike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2011, 10:24 PM   #20337
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 115
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Unhappy rs toubles

rs keeps flashing 1267 wrong motor selected. tried all three brushless set ups.nothing different motor and sensor wire out of an other vehicle the speedo came from that prior was working fine.nothing.resoddered all wires speedo and motor nothing.did notice every time resetting speedo each time speedo beeped for nuetral full throttle and reverse.the motor would try to turn.icould feel a slight movement.any advise as i hate having to send in beeing it was bought in november raced once then sat till end of march and raced only 3race days since.thanks for all advise.
olegeezer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2011, 12:36 PM   #20338
Team Tekin
 
Randy_Pike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Norcal
Posts: 9,702
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to Randy_Pike
Default

1s 2s? What type of car?
__________________
"Things may come to those who wait, but only the things left by those who hustle." Abraham Lincoln

Tekin,Protek,A-Main Hobbies,JConcepts,Avid RC,Yokomo,MIP,SikLidz,FactoryRC, www.randypikerc.com
Randy_Pike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2011, 03:41 PM   #20339
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 115
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Angry

Quote:
Originally Posted by olegeezer View Post
rs keeps flashing 1267 wrong motor selected. tried all three brushless set ups.nothing different motor and sensor wire out of an other vehicle the speedo came from that prior was working fine.nothing.resoddered all wires speedo and motor nothing.did notice every time resetting speedo each time speedo beeped for nuetral full throttle and reverse.the motor would try to turn.icould feel a slight movement.any advise as i hate having to send in beeing it was bought in november raced once then sat till end of march and raced only 3race days since.thanks for all advise.
runinng 2s sc lrp10.5 indoor carpet offroad.7mn heats and mains
olegeezer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2011, 04:08 PM   #20340
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 64
Default Can't find neutral

Apologies if this has been asked before...
I have a Sanwa Super Exzes transmitter fitted with a Spektrum 2.4 module. The receiver is Spektrum. This setup has worked with Novak, LRP, Hobbywing etc over the years. Servo is Futaba 9550.
I installed a brand new RS speedo, connected to a Novak ballistic 17.5 motor. During the setup it could not find neutral - lights kept flashing.
Tried a different receiver, then a different 2.4 transmitter module then a spare Exzes transmitter. Still no neutral.
Tried my sons Super Exzes with a Spektrum 2.4 module, found neutral straight away!
I really don't want to buy a new transmitter. Any ideas?
Don
donwhit is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tekin Redline RS Sensored ESC and motors, opinions for offroad? Cain Electric Off-Road 4230 06-07-2015 04:38 PM
Sensored vs. Sensorless lemansracer Electric On-Road 71 02-14-2009 03:19 AM
New Tekin Redline Sensored Motors are Roar Legal! Randy_Pike Electric On-Road 3 08-05-2008 02:08 AM
Tekin Redline Sensored 10.5 HUCKMAN Electric On-Road 6 07-15-2008 08:50 PM
sensored vs sensorless bprocket Rookie Zone 5 05-16-2008 09:38 AM


Tags
v203, vegas 2.0


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 10:58 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net