R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-15-2011, 07:09 PM   #20281
Tech Lord
 
20 SMOKE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: HVR_ WEEKI WACHEE FL
Posts: 10,299
Trader Rating: 101 (100%+)
Default

if you have no chime that is a sign of 1s with a bad booster what is your setting on it
__________________
Jamie W
*Team Tekin*Tekno-rc*DE Racing*AKA*DDHRC*
20 SMOKE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2011, 08:56 PM   #20282
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 115
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Angry

Thank you Randy for your reply.Tried all said still nothing.Whats the process for sending in for repairs?Very disgusted 3 hrs. play for 180.00 dollars to me not very good return.thaught brushless was more reliable? not so far for me.Last in door race for me this week end.Now have to put in the old reliable g9 and an old brushed motor.
olegeezer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2011, 09:01 PM   #20283
Tech Champion
 
cannon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: A total distraction
Posts: 7,266
Trader Rating: 35 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mist467 View Post
Hoping someone can help out. My rs has 3 leds flashing on each end left/right. Manual says its on the wrong motor type but its not. Also it doesnt chime when turned on. Just stays flashing. Things i have tried

Another motor
sensor cable
new cap
reflash and reprogram


So far nothing. Any other suggestions before i send it?? Sucks got to run it once and this happen. Its not my first or only tekin but the first time i have a problem. Thanks
Some of these problems can also come from bad soldering of the wires on to the motor. It only takes a sliver of solder to cross the A B C settings and you have issues and fry things
__________________
www.feralbatteries.com ........... new website
cannon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2011, 09:08 PM   #20284
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 711
Trader Rating: 27 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cannon View Post
Some of these problems can also come from bad soldering of the wires on to the motor. It only takes a sliver of solder to cross the A B C settings and you have issues and fry things
Soldering is fine. The speed controller was perfectly fine and just stopped after landing a jump in my 2w buggy. No wires were touching and solder was perfect. its not the first time they have dumb little glitches like this but usually a reflash takes care of it. Guess not this time. Does anyone else have any other suggestions other then what was stated?? Its my 5 or 6th RS and i love em was just wondering if anyone else had any experience with this.
__________________
Alex B
Kyosho America/Byron Fuels/J concepts
For all your painting needs!
Elite Paint Workz
[email protected]
mist467 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2011, 01:26 AM   #20285
Tech Master
 
YoDog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Lompoc, Ca.
Posts: 1,686
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rcfiend View Post
Hey Randy is there a problem with the RS Esc's? I have the same problem as Olegeezer. In fact there were two of us at my track yesterday that received the same error codes. We both swapped the esc with another using the same motor, leads, and sensor. Also we were both using tekin 17.5 motors, no boost or timing.
I've only had my esc for about 3 months.

Luv the speedo just wondering if there is a problem on the horizon.
I had the same problem and there does seem to be alot of others with this problem too.
It cost me $$ to get it replaced since it was out of warranty but there does seem to be issues with the FETs. IMO...
I love this speedo but I'm very concerned that it may happen again when I switch it on for the A Main.
My first RS Pro that I bought is still going strong and Never had a problem whatsoever, maybe the newer production runs are a bit different than the older ones.
YoDog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2011, 06:48 AM   #20286
Tech Master
 
Buckaroo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Norfolk, VA
Posts: 1,503
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by YoDog View Post
.........maybe the newer production runs are a bit different than the older ones.
Several guys around here have had the same issue, too.

There was a period of time about 3-4 months ago when RS/RS Pros were out of stock for almost a month at Tekin but they actually had a decent stock of them in the warehouse ready to go, but there was some technical issue and they were testing/working with their manufacturer to ensure that the units were up to spec. Funny how the 'old' ones aren't having any trouble, but purchases from about 3-4 months ago up to now are starting to have issues. I'm sure Tekin has been keeping track of serial numbers of failures for trend analysis. It would be interesting to know if it's simple useage or a bad run!
__________________
Tom Keith

Tekin & Sweep, thanks for all that you do for you know who!

Associated/T.O.P./Mugen/Fantom/Spektrum/Savox
Buckaroo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2011, 08:20 AM   #20287
Tech Elite
 
hairy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: In the Good ole' U.S.A.
Posts: 2,323
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cannon View Post
Some of these problems can also come from bad soldering of the wires on to the motor. It only takes a sliver of solder to cross the A B C settings and you have issues and fry things
I have had the same problem and it WAS the sensor wire. I see where you state you tried the sensor wire was it a new wire or one you already and or have used?
__________________
MERLIN RACING
"He once ran a marathon because it was on his way"
Logic is a lost art!
You are defined in life by how you respond to defeat!
hairy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2011, 08:43 AM   #20288
Tech Elite
 
M-Technic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Palm Beach, FL
Posts: 2,562
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

It's pretty frustrating that probably 90% of the problems posted here are user error, but everyone always blames the speedo as being defective right away.
__________________
RCAmerica | Xray | Hudy | Radiopost | Speed Passion USA | Trinity | P3 Graphics
M-Technic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2011, 09:17 AM   #20289
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 115
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Angry

does tekin build a more user freindly unit for us idiots?seems like alot of us 1350 +pages.
olegeezer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2011, 09:30 AM   #20290
Tech Elite
 
pakk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 3,077
Trader Rating: 79 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by olegeezer View Post
does tekin build a more user freindly unit for us idiots?seems like alot of us 1350 +pages.
Yeah. Just don't use the hotwire.
__________________
*Photon* *SC10 4x4*
RCRD
pakk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2011, 09:36 AM   #20291
Tech Elite
 
hairy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: In the Good ole' U.S.A.
Posts: 2,323
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by M-Technic View Post
It's pretty frustrating that probably 90% of the problems posted here are user error, but everyone always blames the speedo as being defective right away.
I agree but with all of this technology it's easy to say at first thought that the electronics MUST be bad.I myself had, in the past, a problem with the unit but I spent a good amount of time eliminating any and all other possibilities BEFORE I approached Tekin.Let me say this by doing so it was alot easier to talk to the techs about it also. Showing SOMEONE that you have taken time to eliminate anything that could be suspect,the techs have better information to go on.
Now that the problem has been found and fixed these are some of best ESC's I have ever run. Even if alot of places want to prohibit the use of boost. Tekin rocks and has for over the twenty years I have been using them, From my first G9 to the RS. Thank you Tekin and keep it up!
__________________
MERLIN RACING
"He once ran a marathon because it was on his way"
Logic is a lost art!
You are defined in life by how you respond to defeat!

Last edited by hairy; 04-16-2011 at 09:38 AM. Reason: happy fingers!
hairy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2011, 08:52 PM   #20292
Tech Addict
 
ground-round's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 710
Trader Rating: 18 (100%+)
Default

Have to chime in here - I had a problem with my car going soft about 3-4 minutes into a race (17.5 boosted TC). I had everyone tell me "your settings are wrong,"
"you need a new motor," "your batteries are old." And I've read the same thing on this board.

Well today at my track I got so frustrated that I decided it was no holds barred -I was going to get to the root cause of this, no expense spared. First up - seek the counsel of the two fastest guys at the track to get their gear ratio and hotwire settings. FAIL. Second up - new motor. FAIL. Third - new SMC battery pack. FAIL. Fourth in line - new sensor wire. FAIL. Fifth - go through the entire drive train looking for something that may be hung-up. Nope, nothing there either. Every run, my car went soft mid-to late run.

Finally, into the hobby shop for a brand new RS. Success! I was able to run 6 full minutes with no fade! And just to be sure, I put in an old motor and an old battery pack with the same result - no fading. There is definitely something going on with a select few RS speedos. So to all of you out there like me going absolutely nutz and feeling stupid...it might actually be the speedo.
ground-round is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2011, 09:53 PM   #20293
Tech Champion
 
Still Bill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Reno, NV
Posts: 7,237
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

Interesting!
__________________
Constantly evolving CRC WGT and WGT-R/T...Carpet & Asphalt...All thanks to Team CRC.

And a pair of Associated B6 buggies for turf and clay tracks.
Still Bill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2011, 04:07 PM   #20294
Tech Elite
 
M-Technic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Palm Beach, FL
Posts: 2,562
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ground-round View Post
Have to chime in here - I had a problem with my car going soft about 3-4 minutes into a race (17.5 boosted TC). I had everyone tell me "your settings are wrong,"
"you need a new motor," "your batteries are old." And I've read the same thing on this board.

Well today at my track I got so frustrated that I decided it was no holds barred -I was going to get to the root cause of this, no expense spared. First up - seek the counsel of the two fastest guys at the track to get their gear ratio and hotwire settings. FAIL. Second up - new motor. FAIL. Third - new SMC battery pack. FAIL. Fourth in line - new sensor wire. FAIL. Fifth - go through the entire drive train looking for something that may be hung-up. Nope, nothing there either. Every run, my car went soft mid-to late run.

Finally, into the hobby shop for a brand new RS. Success! I was able to run 6 full minutes with no fade! And just to be sure, I put in an old motor and an old battery pack with the same result - no fading. There is definitely something going on with a select few RS speedos. So to all of you out there like me going absolutely nutz and feeling stupid...it might actually be the speedo.
Can you explain how the speedo could magically change settings 3-4 minutes into your run? Did you try the trick of calibrating your radio at 90% and bumping it to 100% after calibrating?
__________________
RCAmerica | Xray | Hudy | Radiopost | Speed Passion USA | Trinity | P3 Graphics
M-Technic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2011, 08:22 PM   #20295
Tech Addict
 
ground-round's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 710
Trader Rating: 18 (100%+)
Default

Nope. Nor can I explain how "magically" installing a new speedo with everything else the same fixed my problem. Today's speedos are highly sopisticated pieces of computerized equipment. Is it too far out of the realm of probability to think that maybe, just maybe one of the diodes/fets/capacitors/internal connections/processor boards could be a little off kilter?
ground-round is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tekin Redline RS Sensored ESC and motors, opinions for offroad? Cain Electric Off-Road 4230 06-07-2015 04:38 PM
Sensored vs. Sensorless lemansracer Electric On-Road 71 02-14-2009 03:19 AM
New Tekin Redline Sensored Motors are Roar Legal! Randy_Pike Electric On-Road 3 08-05-2008 02:08 AM
Tekin Redline Sensored 10.5 HUCKMAN Electric On-Road 6 07-15-2008 08:50 PM
sensored vs sensorless bprocket Rookie Zone 5 05-16-2008 09:38 AM


Tags
v203, vegas 2.0


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 06:46 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net