R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-04-2011, 12:31 PM   #20161
Tech Elite
 
kuruption's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Southeast PA
Posts: 2,118
Trader Rating: 24 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to kuruption
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Obsidian View Post
Greets all,

Ran my RSpro this weekend at a local club, and in the Amain I was hit hard into the first turn. After that I noticed the car was really sluggish and had no ramping at all. I check the mechanics of the car but everything was rotating freely. I sort of remember it being talk about that settings could be scrambled if the esc experienced a hard shock or impact. Due to time constraints, I was unable to reapply the settings and test on the track. Any thoughts about settings being scrambled? I will also check try replacing the sensor wire if reapplying the settings doesn't work.
cheers
Wow, someone must be smoking something sweet. Scrambled? Really?!

Most likely it's a bad sensor wire, or if you less lucky, the sensor board in your motor went bad (was it a Duo3 by any chance? They're known to have crappy rear plate designs that damage the sensor board on impact).
__________________
Ray Sundland
Eat. Sleep. Race. Repeat.
"Feel not as though it is a sphere we live on, rather an infinite plane which has the illusion of leading yourself back to a point of origin."
kuruption is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2011, 12:32 PM   #20162
Tech Champion
 
RedBullFiXX's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Intergalactic Planetary
Posts: 6,542
Trader Rating: 34 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Obsidian View Post
Greets all,

Ran my RSpro this weekend at a local club, and in the Amain I was hit hard into the first turn. After that I noticed the car was really sluggish and had no ramping at all. I check the mechanics of the car but everything was rotating freely. I sort of remember it being talk about that settings could be scrambled if the esc experienced a hard shock or impact. Due to time constraints, I was unable to reapply the settings and test on the track. Any thoughts about settings being scrambled? I will also check try replacing the sensor wire if reapplying the settings doesn't work.
cheers
Check your sensor cable connection first, that is exactly what would happen in that scenario. It also helps to have your "Timing Advance" set to full so when/if the sensor cable becomes disconnected it won't be quite as slow
__________________
--> 12th scale Information Source <--

"Men do not quit playing because they grow old; they grow old because they quit playing."
― Oliver Wendell Holmes Jr.
RedBullFiXX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2011, 12:34 PM   #20163
Tech Elite
 
theisgroup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 3,191
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Obsidian View Post
Greets all,

Ran my RSpro this weekend at a local club, and in the Amain I was hit hard into the first turn. After that I noticed the car was really sluggish and had no ramping at all. I check the mechanics of the car but everything was rotating freely. I sort of remember it being talk about that settings could be scrambled if the esc experienced a hard shock or impact. Due to time constraints, I was unable to reapply the settings and test on the track. Any thoughts about settings being scrambled? I will also check try replacing the sensor wire if reapplying the settings doesn't work.
cheers
i watched a xray t3 plow through a 2x6 external track barrier. the board was broken in half and the chassis was a taco. and the speedo never lost a 1 or 0. lol
__________________
yang lai

Team Tamale | Team Tekin | RCAmerica | Speedmerchant | Speedzone RC | EA Motorsports | Ko Propo USA | eXpress Motorsports | Parma/PSE
theisgroup is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2011, 01:41 PM   #20164
Tech Lord
 
wingracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 12,861
Trader Rating: 24 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by theisgroup View Post
i watched a xray t3 plow through a 2x6 external track barrier. the board was broken in half and the chassis was a taco. and the speedo never lost a 1 or 0. lol
Nice

Yeah, it has to be a sensor wire or sensor board. It's slow because it is running in sensorless mode.
__________________
Sean. Certified speed crazed mowron.
Team Shepherd USA
www.ashfordhobby.com
wingracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2011, 02:00 PM   #20165
Tech Elite
 
kuruption's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Southeast PA
Posts: 2,118
Trader Rating: 24 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to kuruption
Default

Let's look at it this way....

A plane's "black box" is a digital recorder of flight data and cockpit voice recordings. If data was simply "scrambled" during a big impact, then any data garnered from a plane crash would be useless.
__________________
Ray Sundland
Eat. Sleep. Race. Repeat.
"Feel not as though it is a sphere we live on, rather an infinite plane which has the illusion of leading yourself back to a point of origin."
kuruption is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2011, 03:56 PM   #20166
Team Tekin
 
Randy_Pike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Norcal
Posts: 9,702
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to Randy_Pike
Default

Yang is right, settings in the RS won't go "scrambled" if you wreck.

Clearly you lost your sensors in some way, motor, harness, esc.

Use the RS's sensor checker to figure out what is the cause.
__________________
"Things may come to those who wait, but only the things left by those who hustle." Abraham Lincoln

Tekin,Protek,A-Main Hobbies,JConcepts,Avid RC,Yokomo,MIP,SikLidz,FactoryRC, www.randypikerc.com
Randy_Pike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2011, 04:45 PM   #20167
Tech Elite
 
GSM Storm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 2,277
Trader Rating: 112 (100%+)
Default 4.5 mod setup

Hi all
Looking for a setup to run 4.5 turn mod in TC onroad, any one have one they have been using.

Regards
Gary
__________________
Driver Gazza
Offroad - RC10 B64 (soon)
Vintage - Kyosho Tomahawk
Fantom Racing, JConcepts, Ace Hobbies/Reedy,
WTF, Plaig Bearings.
GSM Storm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2011, 05:33 PM   #20168
Tech Lord
 
20 SMOKE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: HVR_ WEEKI WACHEE FL
Posts: 10,299
Trader Rating: 101 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by GSM Storm View Post
Hi all
Looking for a setup to run 4.5 turn mod in TC onroad, any one have one they have been using.

Regards
Gary
http://www.teamtekin.com/hotwire/ESC...-RS-TC-4-5.pdf
__________________
Jamie W
*Team Tekin*Tekno-rc*DE Racing*AKA*DDHRC*
20 SMOKE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2011, 05:34 PM   #20169
Tech Master
 
johnny55's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Temple City, Ca
Posts: 1,246
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to johnny55
Default

Looking for some throttle help. I'm looking for more initial throttle, and instant punch I'm not sure how to make my adjustments on my Tekin RS, and radio. I run 17.5 no boost. Thanks in advance.
__________________
Johnny Hernandez
Fight on!
johnny55 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2011, 05:41 PM   #20170
Tech Regular
 
Rebel76's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Sheboygan Falls WI
Posts: 275
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Obsidian View Post
Greets all,

Ran my RSpro this weekend at a local club, and in the Amain I was hit hard into the first turn. After that I noticed the car was really sluggish and had no ramping at all. I check the mechanics of the car but everything was rotating freely. I sort of remember it being talk about that settings could be scrambled if the esc experienced a hard shock or impact. Due to time constraints, I was unable to reapply the settings and test on the track. Any thoughts about settings being scrambled? I will also check try replacing the sensor wire if reapplying the settings doesn't work.
cheers
I had the same issue running a RS with a Redline 17.5. After a slight hit on the boards ( nothing even broke on a T2 008 ) the sensor board in the motor went bad. 3 weeks on a new combo and it broke. I love the speedo but not too sure about a motor that cant take a little bump.

Vaughn
__________________
If WINNING was Easy, Losers would do it!
Innovative Hobbies and Raceway
"DaTrack" Sheboygans outdoor offroad raceway
Rebel76 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2011, 06:12 PM   #20171
Tech Regular
 
Team Pink's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 454
Trader Rating: 20 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by johnny55 View Post
Looking for some throttle help. I'm looking for more initial throttle, and instant punch I'm not sure how to make my adjustments on my Tekin RS, and radio. I run 17.5 no boost. Thanks in advance.
You can try a little more motor timing, higher number on the minimum throttle, or try a more agressive throttle profile.
__________________
Team Losi Racing/ Spektrum/ Horizon Hobby/ JConcepts/ Hobby Star/ Schelle Racing
Team Pink is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2011, 11:45 PM   #20172
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Bay Area, CA
Posts: 742
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to DJGonzo69
Default

Just this weekend I ran my Tekin RS in 17.5 Non ramping. Once the tone rang I pulled the trigger & my car stood still till I got rammed & the car started running. I did run some warm up laps before, so I wonder why I had this issue. Any ideas? I had full timing on a D3 17.5 motor.
Thx-John
__________________
|XRAY|RCAmerica|Hobbywing|KO PROPO|Team Scream Motors|Gonzo PaintWorX|
DJGonzo69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2011, 05:52 AM   #20173
Tech Master
 
Buckaroo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Norfolk, VA
Posts: 1,503
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Is there any phone or tablet computer that supports HotWire?
__________________
Tom Keith

Tekin & Sweep, thanks for all that you do for you know who!

Associated/T.O.P./Mugen/Fantom/Spektrum/Savox
Buckaroo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2011, 05:56 AM   #20174
Tech Lord
 
20 SMOKE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: HVR_ WEEKI WACHEE FL
Posts: 10,299
Trader Rating: 101 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Buckaroo View Post
Is there any phone or tablet computer that supports HotWire?
no
__________________
Jamie W
*Team Tekin*Tekno-rc*DE Racing*AKA*DDHRC*
20 SMOKE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2011, 06:56 AM   #20175
Tech Elite
 
M-Technic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Palm Beach, FL
Posts: 2,562
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DJGonzo69 View Post
Just this weekend I ran my Tekin RS in 17.5 Non ramping. Once the tone rang I pulled the trigger & my car stood still till I got rammed & the car started running. I did run some warm up laps before, so I wonder why I had this issue. Any ideas? I had full timing on a D3 17.5 motor.
Thx-John
Sounds like a sensor problem. First check your sensor wire and then the sensor board on the motor.
__________________
RCAmerica | Xray | Hudy | Radiopost | Speed Passion USA | Trinity | P3 Graphics
M-Technic is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tekin Redline RS Sensored ESC and motors, opinions for offroad? Cain Electric Off-Road 4230 06-07-2015 04:38 PM
Sensored vs. Sensorless lemansracer Electric On-Road 71 02-14-2009 03:19 AM
New Tekin Redline Sensored Motors are Roar Legal! Randy_Pike Electric On-Road 3 08-05-2008 02:08 AM
Tekin Redline Sensored 10.5 HUCKMAN Electric On-Road 6 07-15-2008 08:50 PM
sensored vs sensorless bprocket Rookie Zone 5 05-16-2008 09:38 AM


Tags
v203, vegas 2.0


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 01:01 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net