R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-15-2011, 01:17 PM   #19966
Tech Champion
 
RedBullFiXX's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Intergalactic Planetary
Posts: 6,542
Trader Rating: 34 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by andrewdoherty View Post
Care to share?
About the 6.5 setup, sure.

Same motor I ran at the nats last year, but it's much better in Dual-Mode.

Pm me an email and I'll send you a setup with roll.

Bull.
Yes you will need a rec pack or booster with that Esc
I reccomend the TQ Booster
__________________
--> 12th scale Information Source <--

"Men do not quit playing because they grow old; they grow old because they quit playing."
― Oliver Wendell Holmes Jr.
RedBullFiXX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2011, 02:04 PM   #19967
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Woodinville, WA
Posts: 2,512
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

I've got a question about neutral width, minimum throttle/brake, and radio settings like punch (KO EX-10) and throttle accel (4pk). The punch/throttle excel feature makes the radio jump from neutral straight to a higher value, so it can remove a dead zone around neutral in the ESC.

I'm running a DX3R, SR3100 recv, Tekin RS, and Fantom Ion 3 (duo3).

I've got my neutral width set to "Min". Throttle profile on the RS is 3 (linear), and I've got no expo in the radio. Minimum throttle is currently at 0. The radio has no punch/throttle accel feature.

If I put the car on a stand, and very slowly pull the trigger, I get absolutely no drive from the wheels until something like 15-20% throttle. This makes it very hard to be smooth, precise, and fast on the throttle / brakes.

So, my question is, is the "minimum" neutral width on the Tekin still a huge lame-ass gaping hole? Or is it just that the Tekin is driving so lightly near neutral that it doesn't actually move anything? If I turn up the min throttle, will I actually get a reaction closer to neutral on the trigger? Or will I still have to pull the trigger 15-20% before I get the min throttle? Or maybe there's a bug with min neutral width in the Tekin, and I should try 1 or 2?

Most of the experienced drivers at my track say the Tekin feels like crap, and I'm wondering if the huge soggy sponge around neutral is a big part of that. One of the guys who has an EX-10 said the min throttle setting didn't do anything for him, and he had to turn the punch up to like 25 to get it to feel right. Unfortunately, I don't have that option.

-Mike
grippgoat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2011, 02:24 PM   #19968
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Miami, FL
Posts: 983
Trader Rating: 70 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Randy_Pike View Post
You will not be able to get a post. We do not sell them. Ideally the unit should be sent in for repair. We do not recommend running it without the posts.
Do you think it will be to expensive just to put a 1 post? Thanks
lnc0321 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2011, 02:25 PM   #19969
Tech Champion
 
MikeXray's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: New York
Posts: 5,749
Trader Rating: 73 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by grippgoat View Post
I've got a question about neutral width, minimum throttle/brake, and radio settings like punch (KO EX-10) and throttle accel (4pk). The punch/throttle excel feature makes the radio jump from neutral straight to a higher value, so it can remove a dead zone around neutral in the ESC.

I'm running a DX3R, SR3100 recv, Tekin RS, and Fantom Ion 3 (duo3).

I've got my neutral width set to "Min". Throttle profile on the RS is 3 (linear), and I've got no expo in the radio. Minimum throttle is currently at 0. The radio has no punch/throttle accel feature.

If I put the car on a stand, and very slowly pull the trigger, I get absolutely no drive from the wheels until something like 15-20% throttle. This makes it very hard to be smooth, precise, and fast on the throttle / brakes.

So, my question is, is the "minimum" neutral width on the Tekin still a huge lame-ass gaping hole? Or is it just that the Tekin is driving so lightly near neutral that it doesn't actually move anything? If I turn up the min throttle, will I actually get a reaction closer to neutral on the trigger? Or will I still have to pull the trigger 15-20% before I get the min throttle? Or maybe there's a bug with min neutral width in the Tekin, and I should try 1 or 2?

Most of the experienced drivers at my track say the Tekin feels like crap, and I'm wondering if the huge soggy sponge around neutral is a big part of that. One of the guys who has an EX-10 said the min throttle setting didn't do anything for him, and he had to turn the punch up to like 25 to get it to feel right. Unfortunately, I don't have that option.

-Mike
I have the same radio setup and use 10 for Neutral width, there is definitely not that large of a dead space. Almost everyone binds at 100% then kicks it up to 100-120 epa, everything else throttle wise is untouched.
__________________
Mike L. Awesomatixusa.com | TQWire.com | Islandraceway.com |JacksonRCracing.com | Horsham RC | Sweepracingusa.com
MikeXray is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2011, 03:51 PM   #19970
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Woodinville, WA
Posts: 2,512
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MikeXray View Post
I have the same radio setup and use 10 for Neutral width, there is definitely not that large of a dead space. Almost everyone binds at 100% then kicks it up to 100-120 epa, everything else throttle wise is untouched.
To explain how I was testing a bit more...

The DX3R has that status screen where it shows you the servo positions. The point where I get drive is about 250, which I think is out of 1200 or so, but I need to double check.

Can anyone who uses the RS with a KO or 4PK chime in? The setting on the KO is called punch, and the setting on the 4PK is called Throttle Accelleration. I'm not sure what other radios have that setting. I just know the Spektrum ones don't have it.

I'll play a bit with the neutral width and min throttle settings. It wouldn't surprise me if there's a bug in the Tekin that makes it go cross-eyed if you set it too low.

EDIT: I haven't been kicking up my end-points after calibration. I just leave it at 100.

-Mike
grippgoat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2011, 04:07 PM   #19971
pmc
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Pinhal novo - Portugal
Posts: 173
Default

Hello

someone has a good setup for a Tekin RS Pro ( version 212) and a motor LRP X12 13.5 T for a track with a main straight of 60 meters??

thanks in advance.
Best regards:
Pedro Silva
pmc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2011, 04:49 PM   #19972
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 247
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MikeXray View Post
I have the same radio setup and use 10 for Neutral width, there is definitely not that large of a dead space. Almost everyone binds at 100% then kicks it up to 100-120 epa, everything else throttle wise is untouched.
Is binding at 100 EPA recommended?

The manual says to max out EPA and D/R. So I binded at 140 for FORW. and 160 for REV.
looklikeaflip is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2011, 05:08 PM   #19973
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Station in Va.Beach but Texas is home
Posts: 326
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

I was told to do it at 100 and also told to do it with epa set at 95. Then after bind to move epa to 100. This is what I did and it works great. I was told to do that so it will definately see 100 percent full throttle. I would try it and see if it helps
__________________
CEFX Photon/Boss motor sports/Thunderpower motors/Savox/Airtronics
Tommy Kitchens
aka: STRAIGHT LINE
devilsquid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2011, 05:35 PM   #19974
Team Tekin
 
Randy_Pike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Norcal
Posts: 9,702
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to Randy_Pike
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by grippgoat View Post
If I put the car on a stand, and very slowly pull the trigger, I get absolutely no drive from the wheels until something like 15-20% throttle. This makes it very hard to be smooth, precise, and fast on the throttle / brakes.

So, my question is, is the "minimum" neutral width on the Tekin still a huge lame-ass gaping hole? Or is it just that the Tekin is driving so lightly near neutral that it doesn't actually move anything? If I turn up the min throttle, will I actually get a reaction closer to neutral on the trigger? Or will I still have to pull the trigger 15-20% before I get the min throttle? Or maybe there's a bug with min neutral width in the Tekin, and I should try 1 or 2?
-Mike
This is pretty much what is happening. Because we have so much control down low for crawling,etc you can get the system to "hum" and not move. Min throttle is the correct adjustment for this. If it was a deadband issue you would get NO response from the esc, no humming,etc.

Most guys in TC 17.5 are liking between 15 and 20 for Min Throttle. Each chassis/driver is different. There is so much "stiction" in a belted TC that a 17.5 simply will not rotate it with the small amounts of driver we can give the motor.

Set your NW to 10, start to adjust Min Throttle.
__________________
"Things may come to those who wait, but only the things left by those who hustle." Abraham Lincoln

Tekin,Protek,A-Main Hobbies,JConcepts,Avid RC,Yokomo,MIP,SikLidz,FactoryRC, www.randypikerc.com
Randy_Pike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2011, 05:40 PM   #19975
Team Tekin
 
Randy_Pike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Norcal
Posts: 9,702
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to Randy_Pike
Default

Guys let's clear this up really quick. Not all radios require a calibration at 95 epa and then bump to 100.

Matter of fact that was only an issue on previous software levels(200). This should not be neccessary with 212.

Some radios wander their signal around a bit. We are very sensitive to radio signal. Because of this should your esc be calibrated to see a set level and that level move or not be achieved by your radio we may not give you full throttle for example. If we do not see full throttle we will not provide turbo. Hence the issue.

Now you can set your epa's to 95 for calibratoin, then bump to 100 without causing an issue. However if you cal at 95 then bump to 140 or higher, this can cause an issue. Some radios have a "wrap around" where the signal comes back around. If you were to cal at 95, bump to 140 you may experience this issue. SO for the sake of conversation only bump 5 to 10 over epa wise over your calibration point.
__________________
"Things may come to those who wait, but only the things left by those who hustle." Abraham Lincoln

Tekin,Protek,A-Main Hobbies,JConcepts,Avid RC,Yokomo,MIP,SikLidz,FactoryRC, www.randypikerc.com
Randy_Pike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2011, 05:45 PM   #19976
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Station in Va.Beach but Texas is home
Posts: 326
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Thanks for the info Randy
__________________
CEFX Photon/Boss motor sports/Thunderpower motors/Savox/Airtronics
Tommy Kitchens
aka: STRAIGHT LINE
devilsquid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2011, 06:53 PM   #19977
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 247
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Thanks...
looklikeaflip is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2011, 08:26 PM   #19978
Tech Regular
 
durtbag's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: planet X in a distant galaxy
Posts: 386
Default Manual Blinky Mode

Quote:
Originally Posted by locked View Post
press MODE button 5 times (TP) then press INCR until only 1 LED is lit
I have tried this, but don't seem to have blinky mode activated. I do not have Hotwire as I am on Mac.

Is there a list of what the factory set profiles are?
Mildest?
Mild?
Linear?

I have searched but can't find?
Thanks
__________________
AW HELL RICKEY, I WAS HIGH WHEN I SAID THAT!
durtbag is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2011, 08:32 PM   #19979
Tech Champion
 
Still Bill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Reno, NV
Posts: 7,237
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Randy_Pike View Post
Guys let's clear this up really quick. Not all radios require a calibration at 95 epa and then bump to 100.

Matter of fact that was only an issue on previous software levels(200). This should not be neccessary with 212.

Some radios wander their signal around a bit. We are very sensitive to radio signal. Because of this should your esc be calibrated to see a set level and that level move or not be achieved by your radio we may not give you full throttle for example. If we do not see full throttle we will not provide turbo. Hence the issue.

Now you can set your epa's to 95 for calibratoin, then bump to 100 without causing an issue. However if you cal at 95 then bump to 140 or higher, this can cause an issue. Some radios have a "wrap around" where the signal comes back around. If you were to cal at 95, bump to 140 you may experience this issue. SO for the sake of conversation only bump 5 to 10 over epa wise over your calibration point.
Thanks for putting this out there.

Per Robert's (at KO) recommendation for the Helios/Eurus, I calibrate my throttle at 140 and bump to 150. Works great!

Bill
__________________
Constantly evolving CRC WGT and WGT-R/T...Carpet & Asphalt...All thanks to Team CRC.

And a pair of Associated B6 buggies for turf and clay tracks.
Still Bill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2011, 08:33 PM   #19980
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Woodinville, WA
Posts: 2,512
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Randy_Pike View Post
Set your NW to 10, start to adjust Min Throttle.
Thanks for the response, Randy.

Just to clarify... if I'm not having any problems with the neutral width at 0, is there actually any reason to increase it to 10?

-Mike
grippgoat is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tekin Redline RS Sensored ESC and motors, opinions for offroad? Cain Electric Off-Road 4230 06-07-2015 04:38 PM
Sensored vs. Sensorless lemansracer Electric On-Road 71 02-14-2009 03:19 AM
New Tekin Redline Sensored Motors are Roar Legal! Randy_Pike Electric On-Road 3 08-05-2008 02:08 AM
Tekin Redline Sensored 10.5 HUCKMAN Electric On-Road 6 07-15-2008 08:50 PM
sensored vs sensorless bprocket Rookie Zone 5 05-16-2008 09:38 AM


Tags
v203, vegas 2.0


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 06:48 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net