R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Old 02-25-2011, 12:48 PM   #19786
Tech Adept

Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)

Plugged it into hotwire and it functions normally.

Does that mean I'm good to go? Or do I have to test it with a motor?
looklikeaflip is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2011, 12:59 PM   #19787
Tech Elite

Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)

Quote:
Originally Posted by looklikeaflip View Post

That depends on whether you bought it to look at and fiddle with in HotWire, or whether you actually bought it to put in a car and run a motor.

Seriously, you've gotta hook it up to a motor to use it...

-Mike
grippgoat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2011, 01:03 PM   #19788
Tech Adept

I dont have a lipo battery yet...

I'm brand new to electric so bare with me...
Old 02-25-2011, 03:46 PM   #19789
Tech Adept

Quote:

And what I meant to say is not if "im good to go" but if it lights up red when connected to the hotwire is that a good indication of a functioning esc?

If not, of course I'd have to test it on a motor to see if it works. I just don't want to waste time soldering it to the motor and changing connectors to find out the ESC doesnt work and needs to be returned to the sender
Old 02-25-2011, 03:49 PM   #19790
Tech Lord

Trader Rating: 24 (100%+)

Quote:
And what I meant to say is not if "im good to go" but if it lights up red when connected to the hotwire is that a good indication of a functioning esc?

If not, of course I'd have to test it on a motor to see if it works. I just don't want to waste time soldering it to the motor and changing connectors to find out the ESC doesnt work and needs to be returned to the sender
Unless Randy knows some trick, there's just no way to know for sure without hooking it all up.

My guess is that it's just a blown cap. Those things can really stink but without trying it out, you won't know for sure.
wingracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2011, 03:52 PM   #19791