R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 02-17-2011, 12:02 PM   #19666
Team Tekin
 
Randy_Pike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Norcal
Posts: 9,702
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to Randy_Pike
Default

I agree Mike Haynes is CRAZY! LOL

But that's what he said he was using so I posted it up. Use with Caution!
__________________
"Things may come to those who wait, but only the things left by those who hustle." Abraham Lincoln

Tekin,Protek,A-Main Hobbies,JConcepts,Avid RC,Yokomo,MIP,SikLidz,FactoryRC, www.randypikerc.com
Randy_Pike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2011, 01:13 PM   #19667
Tech Elite
 
303slowdown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Rapid City SD.
Posts: 2,299
Trader Rating: 24 (100%+)
Default

Hay Randy ive had 2 rs's that did the the 2 first led and 2 last led problem ,is it something im doing or is their something i can do to prevent this. My setups arnt much different than most probably a little safer than most actually. Any input would be great.
Thanks Ryan
__________________
Ryan Borgheiinck
303slowdown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2011, 01:55 AM   #19668
Tech Regular
 
darrenoakley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Dorset UK
Posts: 266
Default

Think I have isolated the problem to the sensor socket in the speedo itself. Used 4 leads now and get the same thing. If I push the plug into the RS at an angle it wil go in and out of sensor mode. Could it be a dry joint Somewhare maybe ?
Gutted as I love these speedos and want to use it next week. Guess I will need to investigate inside carefully and see what's up.
__________________
Xray x11
Xray T3 011
darrenoakley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2011, 08:03 AM   #19669
Tech Master
 
gonzo416's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 1,938
Trader Rating: 39 (98%+)
Default

someone needs to come up with an easier way(Something like Viper has done) to change settings other than pulling the lead out and plugging it into the rx. I use a 3" lead into the rx so I don't have to keep taking it out of the rx.
gonzo416 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2011, 08:08 AM   #19670
Tech Master
 
2wdrive's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 1,316
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gonzo416 View Post
someone needs to come up with an easier way(Something like Viper has done) to change settings other than pulling the lead out and plugging it into the rx. I use a 3" lead into the rx so I don't have to keep taking it out of the rx.
Well you already figured out the easiest way. btw many users do it this way and it works a charm.
2wdrive is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2011, 08:17 AM   #19671
Tech Master
 
Xpress's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Dirt sucks!
Posts: 1,614
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gonzo416 View Post
someone needs to come up with an easier way(Something like Viper has done) to change settings other than pulling the lead out and plugging it into the rx. I use a 3" lead into the rx so I don't have to keep taking it out of the rx.
I don't worry too much about the receiver because it is the male portion of the connector. I worry more about the contacts in the plug wearing out or the wires pulling from the crimp.
__________________
"Desire is the key to motivation, but it's the determination and commitment to an unrelenting pursuit of laying it down - a commitment to excellence - that will enable you to attain the success you seek to beat ass."

-Espo
Xpress is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2011, 08:20 AM   #19672
Tech Master
 
gonzo416's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 1,938
Trader Rating: 39 (98%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Xpress View Post
I don't worry too much about the receiver because it is the male portion of the connector. I worry more about the contacts in the plug wearing out or the wires pulling from the crimp.
that's exactly what happens. the contacts get worn using the 3" extension too. that's why i say they need to come up with a better way.
gonzo416 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2011, 08:42 AM   #19673
2xs
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 198
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by darrenoakley View Post
Got a problem with my RS pro
Only running 17.5 fdr 6.5 and until now it has worked fine but today it feels like it had gone sensorless, then now and agian the boost will kick in for a blip and drop again. I have changed motors and sensor wires and also opened up the motor to check its not the sensor board. Will it be worth reinstalling 212 to see if it is a software issue ? Do hope it is as I have only used it 5 meetings since it was sent to Tekin for replacement.

Any ideas would be great
I had the same problem a few weeks ago. I opened my RS up, looked at the sensor connector under a microscope. I found 4 broken solder joints. Re-soldered the connector and have not had any issues since.
2xs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2011, 09:24 AM   #19674
Tech Regular
 
darrenoakley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Dorset UK
Posts: 266
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by darrenoakley View Post
Think I have isolated the problem to the sensor socket in the speedo itself. Used 4 leads now and get the same thing. If I push the plug into the RS at an angle it wil go in and out of sensor mode. Could it be a dry joint Somewhare maybe ?
Gutted as I love these speedos and want to use it next week. Guess I will need to investigate inside carefully and see what's up.
Got the same problem with both of my Tekins now rs and pro running the same settings
Profile 4
boost 45
turbo 10
ramp 2.0
Sensored
Running sensorless but fine up until now, Changed motor,sensor leads,Batterys,checked plugs, At full throttle all the LEDs flash but no boost kicks in or blips in and out. Not changed the settings for months and only running 17.5 fdr 6.5
The RS was only replaced 2 months ago and used for 2 meetings.
__________________
Xray x11
Xray T3 011
darrenoakley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2011, 09:33 AM   #19675
Tech Regular
 
darrenoakley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Dorset UK
Posts: 266
Default

What is the best time to get Live chat ? I am in the UK so when ever i go on it seems to be off line.
__________________
Xray x11
Xray T3 011
darrenoakley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2011, 02:52 PM   #19676
Team Tekin
 
Randy_Pike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Norcal
Posts: 9,702
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to Randy_Pike
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 303slowdown View Post
Hay Randy ive had 2 rs's that did the the 2 first led and 2 last led problem ,is it something im doing or is their something i can do to prevent this. My setups arnt much different than most probably a little safer than most actually. Any input would be great.
Thanks Ryan
Ryan 1s or 2s?
__________________
"Things may come to those who wait, but only the things left by those who hustle." Abraham Lincoln

Tekin,Protek,A-Main Hobbies,JConcepts,Avid RC,Yokomo,MIP,SikLidz,FactoryRC, www.randypikerc.com
Randy_Pike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2011, 04:23 PM   #19677
Tech Regular
 
darrenoakley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Dorset UK
Posts: 266
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 2xs View Post
I had the same problem a few weeks ago. I opened my RS up, looked at the sensor connector under a microscope. I found 4 broken solder joints. Re-soldered the connector and have not had any issues since.
Had a really helpful chat with Randy online and thought we had sorted it but as its intermittent it looked like it was working ok till it come back 5 mins later. May open it and have a look carefully.
__________________
Xray x11
Xray T3 011
darrenoakley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2011, 05:39 PM   #19678
Tech Elite
 
303slowdown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Rapid City SD.
Posts: 2,299
Trader Rating: 24 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Randy_Pike View Post
Ryan 1s or 2s?
im running 1s running life receiver packs with 17.5 and 13.5
__________________
Ryan Borgheiinck
303slowdown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2011, 06:10 PM   #19679
Team Tekin
 
Randy_Pike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Norcal
Posts: 9,702
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to Randy_Pike
Default

Did this occur after getting hit or crashing?
__________________
"Things may come to those who wait, but only the things left by those who hustle." Abraham Lincoln

Tekin,Protek,A-Main Hobbies,JConcepts,Avid RC,Yokomo,MIP,SikLidz,FactoryRC, www.randypikerc.com
Randy_Pike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2011, 07:30 PM   #19680
Tech Elite
 
303slowdown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Rapid City SD.
Posts: 2,299
Trader Rating: 24 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Randy_Pike View Post
Did this occur after getting hit or crashing?
I think the first one did but the second one I had very little crashes with it was fine through the second qualifier then I charged battery went out for the third did my hot laps then the car stopped I picked it up spun the tires ,it acted like it had a hung brush (if it had brushes) so I changed sensor wires and turned it back on and got the lights of death. I tried re flashing the software and still didn't work.
__________________
Ryan Borgheiinck
303slowdown is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tekin Redline RS Sensored ESC and motors, opinions for offroad? Cain Electric Off-Road 4230 06-07-2015 04:38 PM
Sensored vs. Sensorless lemansracer Electric On-Road 71 02-14-2009 03:19 AM
New Tekin Redline Sensored Motors are Roar Legal! Randy_Pike Electric On-Road 3 08-05-2008 02:08 AM
Tekin Redline Sensored 10.5 HUCKMAN Electric On-Road 6 07-15-2008 08:50 PM
sensored vs sensorless bprocket Rookie Zone 5 05-16-2008 09:38 AM


Tags
v203, vegas 2.0


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 03:35 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net