R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 02-11-2011, 01:28 AM   #19591
Tech Fanatic
 
bukil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: BenTooWrah
Posts: 998
Trader Rating: 39 (100%+)
Default

Has anyone tried running a mod motor using blinky profile? If so, what would be FDR for an 8.5?
__________________
☆ ActivRC ☆
bukil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2011, 01:45 AM   #19592
Tech Adept
 
Chubba's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Hong Kong
Posts: 174
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Still Bill View Post
That's it.
Thanks very much.

Do I need a receiver battery pack also to use the RS Pro ESC?

I will be using 1s Lipo.
__________________
[Mugen MRX 5] [Yokomo R12] [Xray T3 2011] [Xray X10 Link] [KM HK-1]
Chubba is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2011, 05:10 AM   #19593
Tech Lord
 
20 SMOKE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: HVR_ WEEKI WACHEE FL
Posts: 10,299
Trader Rating: 101 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chubba View Post
Thanks very much.

Do I need a receiver battery pack also to use the RS Pro ESC?

I will be using 1s Lipo.
yes you need a RX pack or a Booster for 1s,are you going to run mod 5t or lower than you dont need the pro
__________________
Jamie W
*Team Tekin*Tekno-rc*DE Racing*AKA*DDHRC*
20 SMOKE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2011, 08:10 AM   #19594
Tech Champion
 
RedBullFiXX's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Intergalactic Planetary
Posts: 6,542
Trader Rating: 34 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bukil View Post
Has anyone tried running a mod motor using blinky profile? If so, what would be FDR for an 8.5?
You would probably be better off running in "Dual Mode" than blinky for that motor.
It should be much smoother this way.

I run 12th, sorry no idea for fdr.
__________________
--> 12th scale Information Source <--

"Men do not quit playing because they grow old; they grow old because they quit playing."
― Oliver Wendell Holmes Jr.
RedBullFiXX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2011, 08:41 AM   #19595
Tech Champion
 
Still Bill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Reno, NV
Posts: 7,236
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chubba View Post
Thanks very much.

Do I need a receiver battery pack also to use the RS Pro ESC?

I will be using 1s Lipo.
For getting the highest level of performance out of your 1S pack, use a receiver pack.

For convenience (not having to recharge the receiver pack each run), use a booster.

Bill
__________________
Constantly evolving CRC WGT and WGT-R/T...Carpet & Asphalt...All thanks to Team CRC.

And a pair of Associated B6 buggies for turf and clay tracks.
Still Bill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2011, 09:28 AM   #19596
Tech Master
 
gonzo416's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 1,938
Trader Rating: 39 (98%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Still Bill View Post
For getting the highest level of performance out of your 1S pack, use a receiver pack.

For convenience (not having to recharge the receiver pack each run), use a booster.

Bill
Is a Novak booster good enough? How do I use or install it? I kind of remember people staying away from the booster but I can't remember why. Thanks for your help.
gonzo416 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2011, 09:37 AM   #19597
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,920
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gonzo416 View Post
Is a Novak booster good enough? How do I use or install it? I kind of remember people staying away from the booster but I can't remember why. Thanks for your help.
I run the Corally V-boost on my 1/12th with my RS and it has never been a prblem , if you want the lipo cut off to work then you need both booster and RS turned on but i dont run it like that ,I run with the RS turned off and use the booster as the switch for the car , this means you dont have a lipo cut off on the RS working but i know i can run 8 mins ok with my Lipos

Hope this makes sense and i didnt waffel on too long LOL
sidecarphil1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2011, 10:04 AM   #19598
Tech Lord
 
20 SMOKE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: HVR_ WEEKI WACHEE FL
Posts: 10,299
Trader Rating: 101 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gonzo416 View Post
Is a Novak booster good enough? How do I use or install it? I kind of remember people staying away from the booster but I can't remember why. Thanks for your help.
some novaks work and some dont with the rs,the novak has a built in cut off that is set to high but you can remove it,just dont know how
__________________
Jamie W
*Team Tekin*Tekno-rc*DE Racing*AKA*DDHRC*
20 SMOKE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2011, 03:43 PM   #19599
Tech Regular
 
part-time racer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Faster than a speeding bullet
Posts: 458
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by part-time racer View Post
Its been some time since i last ran my rs pro and its loaded with the 203 firmwear.
I just bought an LRP X12 13.5 and have no idea what gearing to run or profile setting on the esc.
Has anyone had any experience with this combo that can help?
PS, its a big indoor track (35m X 18m)
Do I need to re-word this to get a responce?
part-time racer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2011, 03:55 PM   #19600
Tech Lord
 
wingracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 12,861
Trader Rating: 24 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by part-time racer View Post
Do I need to re-word this to get a responce?
TC or 12th would help.
__________________
Sean. Certified speed crazed mowron.
Team Shepherd USA
www.ashfordhobby.com
wingracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2011, 04:01 PM   #19601
Tech Regular
 
part-time racer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Faster than a speeding bullet
Posts: 458
Default

tc, maybe i need to turn the turbo off and just run on timing boost?
part-time racer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2011, 04:02 PM   #19602
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Hagerstown, MD
Posts: 1,699
Trader Rating: 19 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bukil View Post
Has anyone tried running a mod motor using blinky profile? If so, what would be FDR for an 8.5?
try maybe a 7.7 or a 7.5 to start, should work pretty good well, may be to high though, i have never ran a lower turn motor on no boost.
__________________
★Randy Banks★
COLD AS ICE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2011, 04:12 PM   #19603
Tech Lord
 
20 SMOKE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: HVR_ WEEKI WACHEE FL
Posts: 10,299
Trader Rating: 101 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by part-time racer View Post
tc, maybe i need to turn the turbo off and just run on timing boost?
thats allways a good thing
__________________
Jamie W
*Team Tekin*Tekno-rc*DE Racing*AKA*DDHRC*
20 SMOKE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2011, 09:20 AM   #19604
Tech Regular
 
ghostman24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Ohio
Posts: 304
Trader Rating: 25 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bigemike View Post
I have a new b4.1 with an lrp 8.5 and I am getting a hotwire tommorow. What gearing, and setting would you use. I race at the ohio rc factory where they had the midwest champs.

Thanks for the help
Hey Mike here is a souple setups from Tekins site you can try out there.

Last edited by ghostman24; 06-12-2011 at 04:28 PM.
ghostman24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2011, 11:48 AM   #19605
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Christchurch, NZ
Posts: 1,063
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by part-time racer View Post
tc, maybe i need to turn the turbo off and just run on timing boost?
It depends on so many variables, you can't jsut say "use this gearing". Track size, open or technical, straight length, your driving style, available traction, the list goes on.

Have you asked anyone at the track what they run?

If you know a major track that is similar to yours, take a set-up from the Tekin website as a starting point. Although it's true that the gearing changes between brands of motor, you can still use one of them as a start point.
__________________
Agama A8 Evo | GRP .21 | Spektrum | Savox

My car just hit 88mph. I hope it comes back soon....
JR007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tekin Redline RS Sensored ESC and motors, opinions for offroad? Cain Electric Off-Road 4230 06-07-2015 04:38 PM
Sensored vs. Sensorless lemansracer Electric On-Road 71 02-14-2009 03:19 AM
New Tekin Redline Sensored Motors are Roar Legal! Randy_Pike Electric On-Road 3 08-05-2008 02:08 AM
Tekin Redline Sensored 10.5 HUCKMAN Electric On-Road 6 07-15-2008 08:50 PM
sensored vs sensorless bprocket Rookie Zone 5 05-16-2008 09:38 AM


Tags
v203, vegas 2.0


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 04:15 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net