R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-25-2011, 11:02 AM   #19336
Tech Master
 
rcfiend's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Irvine, CA.
Posts: 1,380
Trader Rating: 30 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Krio View Post
Yes. The latest software has the option to do an "express install" with a lightweight interface just for netbooks.
Thx. Krio. Any recommendations on netbooks?
rcfiend is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2011, 11:09 AM   #19337
Tech Lord
 
20 SMOKE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: HVR_ WEEKI WACHEE FL
Posts: 10,299
Trader Rating: 101 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rcfiend View Post
I;m thinking about purchasing a Tekin esc, but don't want to lug a laptop to the track all of the time. Will the Tekin run adequatley enough on a netbook?
i use a acer and a dell netbook
__________________
Jamie W
*Team Tekin*Tekno-rc*DE Racing*AKA*DDHRC*
20 SMOKE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2011, 11:16 AM   #19338
Tech Master
 
rcfiend's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Irvine, CA.
Posts: 1,380
Trader Rating: 30 (100%+)
Default

Cool. Thx guys.
rcfiend is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2011, 11:20 AM   #19339
Tech Elite
 
Riketsu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Puerto Rico
Posts: 2,514
Trader Rating: 32 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Riketsu
Default

The acer netbook will handle the complete program without any hassle.
__________________
eBay user id: riketsukirai
Riketsu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2011, 11:29 AM   #19340
Tech Master
 
rcfiend's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Irvine, CA.
Posts: 1,380
Trader Rating: 30 (100%+)
Default

Great that's good to know. I'll check out the acer.
rcfiend is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2011, 11:58 AM   #19341
Tech Master
 
Dog Bone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 1,411
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rcfiend View Post
I;m thinking about purchasing a Tekin esc, but don't want to lug a laptop to the track all of the time. Will the Tekin run adequatley enough on a netbook?
Yup, works fine. I have Windows 7 on my Netbook, and I've never had an issue.
__________________
Ken Miller
T4 2015
CRC Twenty5
Dog Bone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2011, 01:58 PM   #19342
Tech Fanatic
 
bukil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: BenTooWrah
Posts: 998
Trader Rating: 39 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 20 SMOKE View Post
yes it is 30* so if you loose the sensor wire you still have 30 and finish a race
Let me rephrase my question. If you lower your timing advance in sensored mode, will this yield to a better bottom end?
__________________
☆ ActivRC ☆
bukil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2011, 02:00 PM   #19343
Tech Fanatic
 
macdude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 925
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bukil View Post
Let me rephrase my question. If you lower your timing advance in sensored mode, will this yield to a better bottom end?
No timing advance is only for if you happen to be in sensorless mode.
__________________
---------------
KO Eurus / Orca / MMP / XB2 / 22-4 /
macdude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2011, 02:05 PM   #19344
Tech Fanatic
 
bukil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: BenTooWrah
Posts: 998
Trader Rating: 39 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by COLD AS ICE View Post
if you move your mouse over the words timing advance when you hotwire is plugged to the esc it will tell you that the lower the number is the more low end or torque you will have, the higher the number the more top end and less torque with higher motor temps.
Check the quote. This guy might have found a better way to tune the tekin without adding boost for better bottom end.
__________________
☆ ActivRC ☆
bukil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2011, 02:40 PM   #19345
Tech Elite
 
reenmachine's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Studio City, CA
Posts: 2,539
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by COLD AS ICE View Post
if you move your mouse over the words timing advance when you hotwire is plugged to the esc it will tell you that the lower the number is the more low end or torque you will have, the higher the number the more top end and less torque with higher motor temps.
Just because the words pop up when you mouse over it doesn't mean it's active. Put it in forward-only mode and mouse over reverse strength and you'll still see the explanation.

From everything I've ever seen, "Timing Advance" only applies to sensorless operation (dual mode). You can still set it even when in sensored only mode as a hedge against the rare occasion when you lose sensor operation for whatever reason. In fact, you could even do this in earlier versions, it just wasn't as obvious. You selected dual mode, set the timing advance, then selected sensored only and proceeded with the rest of your settings. Even though it was hidden it was still functional. The tabbed arrangement of the GUI for v208 made more sliders available so the timing advance slider could always be visible.
__________________
Pete Waydo
2010 Big Fat Turkey Race Mini Cooper AAA Main Champion
*** currently in stasis ***
reenmachine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2011, 02:46 PM   #19346
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Hawaii, USA
Posts: 7,186
Default

Been awhile since I checked in here since I have been very happy with my settings for awhile now. So I have a few questions:

1st - Any more progress on the Droid/Apple version? I'd like to get a Droid tablet as opposed to a netbook.

2nd - Does Tekin have anything planned yet for ROAR's recent spec ESC proposal in case that becomes the rule?

3rd - Any plans yet for a 1 cell ESC that doesn't need a booster or RX pack?
InspGadgt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2011, 02:46 PM   #19347
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Hagerstown, MD
Posts: 1,699
Trader Rating: 19 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by reenmachine View Post
Just because the words pop up when you mouse over it doesn't mean it's active. Put it in forward-only mode and mouse over reverse strength and you'll still see the explanation.

From everything I've ever seen, "Timing Advance" only applies to sensorless operation (dual mode). You can still set it even when in sensored only mode as a hedge against the rare occasion when you lose sensor operation for whatever reason. In fact, you could even do this in earlier versions, it just wasn't as obvious. You selected dual mode, set the timing advance, then selected sensored only and proceeded with the rest of your settings. Even though it was hidden it was still functional. The tabbed arrangement of the GUI for v208 made more sliders available so the timing advance slider could always be visible.
okay thanks for clearing that up. I must have misread or misunderstood the info boxes.
__________________
★Randy Banks★
COLD AS ICE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2011, 05:56 PM   #19348
Tech Addict
 
AndreC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Florida
Posts: 570
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

Can anybody tell me where I can get the v203 software? I'm not liking the 212.
AndreC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2011, 06:06 PM   #19349
Tech Lord
 
20 SMOKE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: HVR_ WEEKI WACHEE FL
Posts: 10,299
Trader Rating: 101 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AndreC View Post
Can anybody tell me where I can get the v203 software? I'm not liking the 212.
what wrong on 212 that doesent work for you
__________________
Jamie W
*Team Tekin*Tekno-rc*DE Racing*AKA*DDHRC*
20 SMOKE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2011, 06:41 PM   #19350
Tech Addict
 
AndreC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Florida
Posts: 570
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 20 SMOKE View Post
what wrong on 212 that doesent work for you
It doesnt seem anywhere near as fast as the 203. I'm pretty sure I have the right settings. Dennis set it for me.
AndreC is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tekin Redline RS Sensored ESC and motors, opinions for offroad? Cain Electric Off-Road 4230 06-07-2015 04:38 PM
Sensored vs. Sensorless lemansracer Electric On-Road 71 02-14-2009 03:19 AM
New Tekin Redline Sensored Motors are Roar Legal! Randy_Pike Electric On-Road 3 08-05-2008 02:08 AM
Tekin Redline Sensored 10.5 HUCKMAN Electric On-Road 6 07-15-2008 08:50 PM
sensored vs sensorless bprocket Rookie Zone 5 05-16-2008 09:38 AM


Tags
v203, vegas 2.0


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 02:08 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net