R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-20-2011, 11:39 AM   #19261
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 157
Send a message via AIM to Matt W
Default Throttle and brake minimum

Hi Guys,

I was wondering if someone could explain the new throttle and brake minimum feature on the new 212 software?

any help would be much appreciated?
Matt W is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2011, 11:48 AM   #19262
Tech Lord
 
20 SMOKE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: HVR_ WEEKI WACHEE FL
Posts: 10,299
Trader Rating: 101 (100%+)
Default

if it is 10 you get 10% at throttle start up same with brakes 10 is 10% of brakes at when it is applied.this is when the throttle and brake are first being applied or being recognized by the esc
__________________
Jamie W
*Team Tekin*Tekno-rc*DE Racing*AKA*DDHRC*
20 SMOKE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2011, 03:27 PM   #19263
Tech Master
 
padailey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Council Bluffs, IA
Posts: 1,603
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by djiewie View Post
you installed the software but did you then updated the esc?
it has a button on the rightside lower corner. maybe first toggle the advanced button and then it shows the update button. After update you have to calibrate your controls again.

wish you succes, greetz JW
Got a chance to try again last night to get 212 to work. Uninstalled... Installed... rebooted.... hooked up hotwire and it stated I had older software so it went through the update and reset to default. Advanced button would not work. When I pass the mouse over the button occasionally the word "Advanced" lights up but will not do anything else. I can make changes and apply those changes but once I quit and hook up the esc again it starts all over saying my software is an older version. Guess I'll just try going back to 208 unless someone has more suggestions.
__________________
www.hobbyplexraceway.com

Tamiya TRF417X (Lion's Automotive GTR)
Tamiya TRF416X
Tamiya F104W MP6/4 converted to F104X1 (Renault R30)
padailey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2011, 05:39 PM   #19264
Tech Elite
 
Grenade10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Fort Collins, Colorado
Posts: 4,674
Trader Rating: 37 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by padailey View Post
Got a chance to try again last night to get 212 to work. Uninstalled... Installed... rebooted.... hooked up hotwire and it stated I had older software so it went through the update and reset to default. Advanced button would not work. When I pass the mouse over the button occasionally the word "Advanced" lights up but will not do anything else. I can make changes and apply those changes but once I quit and hook up the esc again it starts all over saying my software is an older version. Guess I'll just try going back to 208 unless someone has more suggestions.
If you come over to the HobbyPlex this weekend, I have 203, 208 and 212 with me that works and can see about upgrading your ESC if you want.

Will be in Friday afternoon 4-6 based on weather and running oval and onroad this weekend.

Mark
__________________
Darkside, Sweep, BSR, Fantom, IGT Hobbies and IGT8
Byrons Fuel, ProtoForm Bodies & Futaba Radio Gear by Choice
Founding Member of CORRC .... 5280raceway
www.darksidems.com www.igthobbies.com www.IGT8.com
Grenade10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2011, 08:58 PM   #19265
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 164
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

hey can i run a tekin rs pro whit a 4.5t motor on mod class and not have to worriet about overhiting
f1o7x9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2011, 09:19 PM   #19266
Tech Lord
 
20 SMOKE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: HVR_ WEEKI WACHEE FL
Posts: 10,299
Trader Rating: 101 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by f1o7x9 View Post
hey can i run a tekin rs pro whit a 4.5t motor on mod class and not have to worriet about overhiting
yes
__________________
Jamie W
*Team Tekin*Tekno-rc*DE Racing*AKA*DDHRC*
20 SMOKE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2011, 11:28 PM   #19267
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,920
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

I have an RS and want to step up to Mod with my 1/12th 1S

What is the lowest turn motor i can run without it temping out on me ???

also do you run it in duel mode or sensored ??

Thanks Phil
sidecarphil1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2011, 01:59 AM   #19268
Tech Champion
 
tc3team's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 6,151
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by f1o7x9 View Post
hey can i run a tekin rs pro whit a 4.5t motor on mod class and not have to worriet about overhiting
Sometimes it is advised or heard of to run 2 capacitors (stock tekin caps that come with the ESC), but apart from that, you are good to go
__________________
Fusion Hobbies / www.horshamrc.org

The wife stops me being sane and the r/c stops me from going insane....
tc3team is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2011, 06:12 AM   #19269
Tech Addict
 
Skitee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Johannesburg, South Africa
Posts: 745
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by f1o7x9 View Post
hey can i run a tekin rs pro whit a 4.5t motor on mod class and not have to worriet about overhiting
If you do still have a problem with heat after you've upgraded the cap then I find that a 25mm high rpm fan stuck to the chassis blowing across the posts helps loads when you run low turn mods.
__________________
Xray T4 2018 ~ HobbyWing Xerun XR10 Pro ~ Motiv RC 4.5
Xray X12 2018 ~ ORCA Vritra VX3 1S ~ Speedzone 4.5

POWERED BY SPEEDZONE USA
Skitee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2011, 06:19 AM   #19270
Tech Lord
 
20 SMOKE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: HVR_ WEEKI WACHEE FL
Posts: 10,299
Trader Rating: 101 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sidecarphil1 View Post
I have an RS and want to step up to Mod with my 1/12th 1S

What is the lowest turn motor i can run without it temping out on me ???

also do you run it in duel mode or sensored ??

Thanks Phil
5.5 is max for a rs,run in dual mode.it can be run in sensored but you need to take it slow
__________________
Jamie W
*Team Tekin*Tekno-rc*DE Racing*AKA*DDHRC*
20 SMOKE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2011, 10:23 AM   #19271
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 676
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default Speedo settings

Anyone have a good setup for 17.5 ramping and non ramping tc on a small carpet track using the d3 ? Also range for gearing.
AARON YOUNG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2011, 11:34 AM   #19272
Tech Lord
 
20 SMOKE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: HVR_ WEEKI WACHEE FL
Posts: 10,299
Trader Rating: 101 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AARON YOUNG View Post
Anyone have a good setup for 17.5 ramping and non ramping tc on a small carpet track using the d3 ? Also range for gearing.
how small of a track
__________________
Jamie W
*Team Tekin*Tekno-rc*DE Racing*AKA*DDHRC*
20 SMOKE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2011, 10:45 PM   #19273
Tech Champion
 
STLNLST's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Sacramento
Posts: 8,999
Trader Rating: 21 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AARON YOUNG View Post
Anyone have a good setup for 17.5 ramping and non ramping tc on a small carpet track using the d3 ? Also range for gearing.
Are you gonna run the settings given or gear to the moon like normal.... Call me sucka!!!
__________________
REMEMBER THE GOOD OLE DAYS..........THEY'RE NEVER COMING BACK SO WE'RE STUCK WITH THE MESS IN FRONT OF US!!!!
STLNLST is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2011, 12:09 AM   #19274
Tech Champion
 
Still Bill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Reno, NV
Posts: 7,237
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by STLNLST View Post
Are you gonna run the settings given or gear to the moon like normal.... Call me sucka!!!
Roasty!
__________________
Constantly evolving CRC WGT and WGT-R/T...Carpet & Asphalt...All thanks to Team CRC.

And a pair of Associated B6 buggies for turf and clay tracks.
Still Bill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2011, 12:10 AM   #19275
Tech Apprentice
 
SPACEBOY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 78
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 20 SMOKE View Post
that fdr is around stock spec(no boost/turbo) i would start around mid 5 with a setting of 30-40 timing boost 10 turbo start 2-3k and 11k end delay .05 ramp 2.if you havent bought the esc yet just buy the rs you don't need the pro unless you are going to run mod or 4wd offroad.now all this boost and rpm will get you confused so here is a article that will help you understand what everything id and does.http://www.carsrcracing.co.uk/?p=244.after you get everything wired up come back and ask more questions
Ok got a chance to play with this today at Tamiyas track. I settled at 5.80 FDR with a slightly modified Hara setup (boosted/turbo) from the Tekin site. so if I turn off the boost/turbo, thats when I need to be geared closer to the 3.5 FDR? Temp on the endbell was around 170 when I came off the track.
SPACEBOY is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tekin Redline RS Sensored ESC and motors, opinions for offroad? Cain Electric Off-Road 4230 06-07-2015 04:38 PM
Sensored vs. Sensorless lemansracer Electric On-Road 71 02-14-2009 03:19 AM
New Tekin Redline Sensored Motors are Roar Legal! Randy_Pike Electric On-Road 3 08-05-2008 02:08 AM
Tekin Redline Sensored 10.5 HUCKMAN Electric On-Road 6 07-15-2008 08:50 PM
sensored vs sensorless bprocket Rookie Zone 5 05-16-2008 09:38 AM


Tags
v203, vegas 2.0


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 01:53 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net