R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-12-2011, 09:36 AM   #19171
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Great Falls, MT
Posts: 190
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gonzo416 View Post
Looking for some help. I update to 212 from 203 and after about 11 minute of running the car stutters. I would like to reset the speedo to reinstall 212, but I don't know how and I don't know if it will work.
Depending on what class you're running - At 11 minutes - You are probably hitting the low voltage cutoff no matter what version you use. Can't be much battery left at that point?
__________________
Dude, Go RRReally FFFast - When something gets in your way - Turrrnn
VRacing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2011, 11:32 AM   #19172
Tech Master
 
gonzo416's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 1,938
Trader Rating: 39 (98%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by VRacing View Post
Depending on what class you're running - At 11 minutes - You are probably hitting the low voltage cutoff no matter what version you use. Can't be much battery left at that point?
my mistake. i ran for 1 minute, not 11 minutes. i practice like i race, so i run for 5 minutes total.
gonzo416 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2011, 12:43 PM   #19173
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Cambridge, Ontario Canada
Posts: 82
Default

Need some help for my 1/12 scale!

I just bought a 17.5 Duo 3 and basically installed it in place of my 17.5 Novak SS, I left all of my Tekin Settings the same and the gearing the same.
Timing on the motor was zero.

I ran it for about 5 minutes, I went about 1/10th a lap quicker, but temps were in the 140F range vs the 115F range I was getting on my Novak!

If someone wouldn't mind posting a setup for this, it would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks
Grant
__________________
XRAY T3'12 17.5, Spec R R1 13.5, CRC GenXL, Grant Galloway Designs ( Painter )
lifeguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2011, 12:49 PM   #19174
Tech Elite
 
theisgroup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 3,191
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

spec?
__________________
yang lai

Team Tamale | Team Tekin | RCAmerica | Speedmerchant | Speedzone RC | EA Motorsports | Ko Propo USA | eXpress Motorsports | Parma/PSE
theisgroup is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2011, 01:44 PM   #19175
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Cambridge, Ontario Canada
Posts: 82
Default

Sorry should have mentioned open ESC
__________________
XRAY T3'12 17.5, Spec R R1 13.5, CRC GenXL, Grant Galloway Designs ( Painter )
lifeguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2011, 02:00 PM   #19176
Tech Elite
 
theisgroup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 3,191
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

we don't run boosted 17.5 at this point because ROAR does not have that as a class, but when they did, i ran the setup i have on the tekin site under 203. that would be where I would start and work from there. my boosted 13.5 setup has not changed much since 203 and looking at EA and Donny from the IIC, it is very close to my 13.5 setup. my 13.5 on the tekin site is for an N motor. for a T motor, it is very close to Donny and EA's IIC setup. so from 203 to 212 has not changed much in time'd setups
__________________
yang lai

Team Tamale | Team Tekin | RCAmerica | Speedmerchant | Speedzone RC | EA Motorsports | Ko Propo USA | eXpress Motorsports | Parma/PSE
theisgroup is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2011, 04:00 AM   #19177
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 4
Default

Hi,
I would like to know what settings I use Tekin RS (Turbo, Boost, RPM, etc.). I use LRP X12 17.5 turns on 2S lipo. Car is WGT pan car 1:10.
Carpet Track size is about 38x25 metrs with high speed corner.
Thanks
Miky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2011, 10:03 AM   #19178
Team Tekin
 
Randy_Pike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Norcal
Posts: 9,702
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to Randy_Pike
Default

WGT on 2s is pretty rare. I'd try one of the TC setups and lower the start/end rpms to say 4k start and 14k end.
__________________
"Things may come to those who wait, but only the things left by those who hustle." Abraham Lincoln

Tekin,Protek,A-Main Hobbies,JConcepts,Avid RC,Yokomo,MIP,SikLidz,FactoryRC, www.randypikerc.com
Randy_Pike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2011, 10:47 AM   #19179
Tech Master
 
2wdrive's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 1,316
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Miky View Post
Hi,
I would like to know what settings I use Tekin RS (Turbo, Boost, RPM, etc.). I use LRP X12 17.5 turns on 2S lipo. Car is WGT pan car 1:10.
Carpet Track size is about 38x25 metrs with high speed corner.
Thanks

Quote:
Originally Posted by Randy_Pike View Post
WGT on 2s is pretty rare. I'd try one of the TC setups and lower the start/end rpms to say 4k start and 14k end.
good call, that is almost the same setup i use for my indoor 200mm pancar with 17.5t and 2s lipo boost wise anyway......

2s lipo and 17.5t in 200mm pancar are used on indoor tracks in Europe during the winter period (maybe other places as well that i am not aware of)

Set the x12 up with teh -10 insert.
Use Atushi's setup and lower the start to around 3000-4000 and end rpm 16000. set turbo on 10. You can lower the turbo to 0.1. We have a speedtrap and we go roughly 55-60 km/h (35-37m/h) on a 25 meter (82 feet) straight at top speed. The 17.5t will have roughly 16.000-20.000 revs then.

Start low with your rollout and temp the motor every 2 minutes. If it is still cold after 7 minutes make your rollout higher. Use a rollout that makes the motor temp around 55-65 degree after 7 minutes (around 30-40mm)and you will have a good base to work from.

Then you can see if you would like more top speed or more acceleration or want the acceleration more fluent etc etc by adding boost for the infield or turbo for the straight. It really depends on the layout. But always check motor temperature and use rollout accordingly.

17.5t and 2s has a nice speed for indoor use. Good luck. Wich country are you from by the way?
2wdrive is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2011, 10:56 AM   #19180
Tech Master
 
2wdrive's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 1,316
Default

double post
2wdrive is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2011, 11:14 AM   #19181
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 4
Default

Thank you your answer. I am Czech. What boost I have used?
Miky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2011, 01:50 PM   #19182
Tech Master
 
2wdrive's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 1,316
Default

http://www.teamtekin.com/hotwire/ESCsetups/index.html

Look at the v2.08 setups there are some 17.5t setups for touringcar there that is usefull as a guide. You can lower the end rpm a little and go from there..

On the example i used you can use 50 boost but for a x12 you might start out with 45 or so as the x12 has more timing build in the motor. Just watch the temperature and use bigger or smaller pinions accordingly.
2wdrive is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2011, 03:20 PM   #19183
Tech Master
 
padailey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Council Bluffs, IA
Posts: 1,603
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default Problem with v212

I upgraded my RS from v208 to v212 from the Tekin website. I installed the software and everything seemed to work fine except when I went to make changes after my initial setup. Every time I connect the hotwire to the esc I get the notice that my software is an older version and I must start over upgrading my esc. I uninstalled v212 and reinstalled and I still have the issue.

I haven't been following the thread much lately so I read back a few pages but couldn't find anything recently concerning this issue. Could someone PM me the solution if they have had this issue. Thanks
__________________
www.hobbyplexraceway.com

Tamiya TRF417X (Lion's Automotive GTR)
Tamiya TRF416X
Tamiya F104W MP6/4 converted to F104X1 (Renault R30)
padailey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2011, 03:24 PM   #19184
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Indy
Posts: 326
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by padailey View Post
I upgraded my RS from v208 to v212 from the Tekin website. I installed the software and everything seemed to work fine except when I went to make changes after my initial setup. Every time I connect the hotwire to the esc I get the notice that my software is an older version and I must start over upgrading my esc. I uninstalled v212 and reinstalled and I still have the issue.

I haven't been following the thread much lately so I read back a few pages but couldn't find anything recently concerning this issue. Could someone PM me the solution if they have had this issue. Thanks
What version on Winblows are you running?
jetmechG550 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2011, 03:33 PM   #19185
Tech Regular
 
djiewie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 440
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by padailey View Post
I upgraded my RS from v208 to v212 from the Tekin website. I installed the software and everything seemed to work fine except when I went to make changes after my initial setup. Every time I connect the hotwire to the esc I get the notice that my software is an older version and I must start over upgrading my esc. I uninstalled v212 and reinstalled and I still have the issue.

I haven't been following the thread much lately so I read back a few pages but couldn't find anything recently concerning this issue. Could someone PM me the solution if they have had this issue. Thanks
you installed the software but did you then updated the esc?
it has a button on the rightside lower corner. maybe first toggle the advanced button and then it shows the update button. After update you have to calibrate your controls again.

wish you succes, greetz JW
djiewie is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tekin Redline RS Sensored ESC and motors, opinions for offroad? Cain Electric Off-Road 4230 06-07-2015 04:38 PM
Sensored vs. Sensorless lemansracer Electric On-Road 71 02-14-2009 03:19 AM
New Tekin Redline Sensored Motors are Roar Legal! Randy_Pike Electric On-Road 3 08-05-2008 02:08 AM
Tekin Redline Sensored 10.5 HUCKMAN Electric On-Road 6 07-15-2008 08:50 PM
sensored vs sensorless bprocket Rookie Zone 5 05-16-2008 09:38 AM


Tags
v203, vegas 2.0


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 01:14 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net