R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-09-2011, 05:49 PM   #19141
Tech Fanatic
 
macdude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 925
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hairy View Post
Hey i'm just frustrated that I am having this big a problem with my ESC it has been going on since well before November.They replace each one with a brand new one and after several runs the Esc won't turn the motor over without Me having to spin the wheels and as soon as I let off it won't turn the motor over without having the spin the wheels by hand and when it stops in order to get the tires to turn over I have to spin the tires by hand and then the Esc will keep the power to the motor until i let it stop and then I have to spin the tires by hand to get it to run.
What motor? Does the sensor board check out? Does the motor spin freely without the controller attached to it? First thing I would do if your motor keeps frying your speed control is try another motor. Or at least pull the thing apart and make sure the windings aren't shorted out or got something else wrong with them. I have had a couple rotors shatter in my motors. The motors would still run just not that well as they were no complete failures. I have also had my rotors flake and the metal get stuck in the end bearing and seize the motor.

I have seen a lot of weirdness, but never have I seen multiple failures of speed control when there was nothing else wrong.
__________________
---------------
KO Eurus / Orca / MMP / XB2 / 22-4 /
macdude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2011, 05:57 PM   #19142
Tech Master
 
Geezatec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1,460
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hairy View Post
Hey i'm just frustrated that I am having this big a problem with my ESC it has been going on since well before November.They replace each one with a brand new one and after several runs the Esc won't turn the motor over without Me having to spin the wheels and as soon as I let off it won't turn the motor over without having the spin the wheels by hand and when it stops in order to get the tires to turn over I have to spin the tires by hand and then the Esc will keep the power to the motor until i let it stop and then I have to spin the tires by hand to get it to run.
I may have misread about the LED's. Version 198-207 works fine. anything high Ive had the same problem with 10.5 motors. You may have the Push brake set to high. For some reason on adjustmode LED 1 & 2 counter act each other Play with these modes and redo the Calibration of TX. I dont use push control anyway, I'd just turn it off push control. 3 times or 4 times they replace it. I get tired of it happenijng twice!!!

I don't know why it loosses the setting of mode, or looses calibration of TX. I just think an error on setting the modes, an forget what modes we set!!
Geezatec is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2011, 05:57 PM   #19143
Tech Master
 
postoposto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 1,127
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

hello guys...,

weird thing happened to my rspro...:

with fully charged 50c lipo, 1st n 2nd lap was damn good n fast...
after that, the speedo seems to be very weak... poor range of torque output..
tried swap the motor but the same prob occurred....

any ideas guys?... plz help me....
__________________
***Kelab Kereta Kawalan Jauh Dungun (Reg. No.: 2137-10-TRG)***
>>>Welcome to Dungun Model Car Speedway (DMCS)!!!!<<<
postoposto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2011, 06:15 PM   #19144
Tech Fanatic
 
macdude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 925
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by postoposto View Post
hello guys...,

weird thing happened to my rspro...:

with fully charged 50c lipo, 1st n 2nd lap was damn good n fast...
after that, the speedo seems to be very weak... poor range of torque output..
tried swap the motor but the same prob occurred....

any ideas guys?... plz help me....
Recalibrate your radio to your ESC. Also check your sensor cable. If it becomes loose then the ESC will run the motor in sensorless mode and will feel exactly how you describe.
__________________
---------------
KO Eurus / Orca / MMP / XB2 / 22-4 /
macdude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2011, 06:21 PM   #19145
Tech Master
 
postoposto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 1,127
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by macdude View Post
Recalibrate your radio to your ESC. Also check your sensor cable. If it becomes loose then the ESC will run the motor in sensorless mode and will feel exactly how you describe.
i've done that too.... but still.....
__________________
***Kelab Kereta Kawalan Jauh Dungun (Reg. No.: 2137-10-TRG)***
>>>Welcome to Dungun Model Car Speedway (DMCS)!!!!<<<
postoposto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2011, 06:59 PM   #19146
Tech Master
 
picco007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: TX.
Posts: 1,814
Trader Rating: 91 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to picco007 Send a message via Yahoo to picco007
Default v212 help please

Hey guys, I'm running 17.5 on a low traction asphalt track 130 foot straight, fairly open. Can someone point me in the right direction on setup for 212? There are many more settings that I don't understand. Thanks in advance

Ronnie
__________________
EA Motorsports
picco007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2011, 07:05 PM   #19147
Tech Champion
 
smilekt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 9,536
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by postoposto View Post
i've done that too.... but still.....
already try change another good lipo ?
__________________
Kuala Terengganu Rc Club Facebook
http://www.facebook.com/group.php?v=wall&gid=357083332025
smilekt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2011, 07:06 PM   #19148
Tech Elite
 
hairy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: In the Good ole' U.S.A.
Posts: 2,323
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by macdude View Post
What motor? Does the sensor board check out? Does the motor spin freely without the controller attached to it? First thing I would do if your motor keeps frying your speed control is try another motor. Or at least pull the thing apart and make sure the windings aren't shorted out or got something else wrong with them. I have had a couple rotors shatter in my motors. The motors would still run just not that well as they were no complete failures. I have also had my rotors flake and the metal get stuck in the end bearing and seize the motor.

I have seen a lot of weirdness, but never have I seen multiple failures of speed control when there was nothing else wrong.
Your right... I must be dreaming this problem,Thanks
__________________
MERLIN RACING
"He once ran a marathon because it was on his way"
Logic is a lost art!
You are defined in life by how you respond to defeat!
hairy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2011, 07:11 PM   #19149
Tech Master
 
postoposto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 1,127
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by smilekt View Post
already try change another good lipo ?
a brand new 5000mah 50c fully charged was used + brand new brushless 10.5 as well..... and the problem temporarily solved everytime i reset the on/off switch...
__________________
***Kelab Kereta Kawalan Jauh Dungun (Reg. No.: 2137-10-TRG)***
>>>Welcome to Dungun Model Car Speedway (DMCS)!!!!<<<
postoposto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2011, 07:15 PM   #19150
Tech Master
 
Yazid_TA05-IFS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Penang
Posts: 1,988
Send a message via Yahoo to Yazid_TA05-IFS Send a message via Skype™ to Yazid_TA05-IFS
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by postoposto View Post
a brand new 5000mah 50c fully charged was used + brand new brushless 10.5 as well..... and the problem temporarily solved everytime i reset the on/off switch...
I experienced this kind of issue previously.. and I managed to narrow down the root cause which was due to the on/off switch having bad contact. Problem solved after I change the switch to the new switch. Maybe you can have a try to change the on/off switch and see if the problem go away...
Yazid_TA05-IFS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2011, 07:26 PM   #19151
Tech Master
 
postoposto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 1,127
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Yazid_TA05-IFS View Post
I experienced this kind of issue previously.. and I managed to narrow down the root cause which was due to the on/off switch having bad contact. Problem solved after I change the switch to the new switch. Maybe you can have a try to change the on/off switch and see if the problem go away...
ok, i'll try.... many thanks bro.....
__________________
***Kelab Kereta Kawalan Jauh Dungun (Reg. No.: 2137-10-TRG)***
>>>Welcome to Dungun Model Car Speedway (DMCS)!!!!<<<
postoposto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2011, 07:53 PM   #19152
Tech Master
 
HarryLeach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Hampton, VA, USA
Posts: 1,596
Send a message via AIM to HarryLeach
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hairy View Post
Hey i'm just frustrated that I am having this big a problem with my ESC it has been going on since well before November.They replace each one with a brand new one and after several runs the Esc won't turn the motor over without Me having to spin the wheels and as soon as I let off it won't turn the motor over without having the spin the wheels by hand and when it stops in order to get the tires to turn over I have to spin the tires by hand and then the Esc will keep the power to the motor until i let it stop and then I have to spin the tires by hand to get it to run.
Out of curiosity, can you post a picture of how your RS is installed in the car?

I've seen something similar before where chassis flex or vibration combined with something mounted very close to the sensor port was causing some very strange behavior.

The reason I ask is because you're getting 2-3 runs before this issue pops up, so I believe you when you say the motor and sensor wire is good, but there's still got to be an underlying cause here somewhere.
__________________
Privateer racing lots of stuff.
Remember kids, racing isn't fair!
HarryLeach is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2011, 08:30 PM   #19153
Tech Lord
 
20 SMOKE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: HVR_ WEEKI WACHEE FL
Posts: 10,299
Trader Rating: 101 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by picco007 View Post
Hey guys, I'm running 17.5 on a low traction asphalt track 130 foot straight, fairly open. Can someone point me in the right direction on setup for 212? There are many more settings that I don't understand. Thanks in advance

Ronnie
tc/12th ?
__________________
Jamie W
*Team Tekin*Tekno-rc*DE Racing*AKA*DDHRC*
20 SMOKE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2011, 08:49 PM   #19154
Tech Master
 
picco007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: TX.
Posts: 1,814
Trader Rating: 91 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to picco007 Send a message via Yahoo to picco007
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 20 SMOKE View Post
tc/12th ?
Sorry it is for TC.....Thanks
__________________
EA Motorsports
picco007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2011, 09:00 PM   #19155
Tech Lord
 
20 SMOKE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: HVR_ WEEKI WACHEE FL
Posts: 10,299
Trader Rating: 101 (100%+)
Default

40 timing boost
14 turbo
start 2-3k
end 15k
ramp 2
delay .15
0 motor
fdr 6.0
throttle 3
everything else to your feel
__________________
Jamie W
*Team Tekin*Tekno-rc*DE Racing*AKA*DDHRC*
20 SMOKE is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tekin Redline RS Sensored ESC and motors, opinions for offroad? Cain Electric Off-Road 4230 06-07-2015 04:38 PM
Sensored vs. Sensorless lemansracer Electric On-Road 71 02-14-2009 03:19 AM
New Tekin Redline Sensored Motors are Roar Legal! Randy_Pike Electric On-Road 3 08-05-2008 02:08 AM
Tekin Redline Sensored 10.5 HUCKMAN Electric On-Road 6 07-15-2008 08:50 PM
sensored vs sensorless bprocket Rookie Zone 5 05-16-2008 09:38 AM


Tags
v203, vegas 2.0


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 2 (0 members and 2 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 12:54 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net