Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
Tekin RS ESC sensored >

Tekin RS ESC sensored

Tekin RS ESC sensored

Reply

Old 01-06-2011, 06:41 PM
  #19096  
Tech Master
iTrader: (21)
 
Sith Lord's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Canberra, ACT, Australia
Posts: 1,405
Trader Rating: 21 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by RC MARKET View Post
New arrived RS Pro updated new pcb & fet !
+3, or more - Don't know if this is a newbie question or what, but what are pcb, and fet's? Nothing on Tekin's or RC Market's website??? Is my new RS that arrived in the mail YESTERDAY now obsolete? Will be if it is!
Sith Lord is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2011, 11:33 PM
  #19097  
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 175
Questions??

Originally Posted by RC MARKET View Post
New arrived RS Pro updated new pcb & fet !

Randy has to say about this?
higbo is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2011, 03:10 AM
  #19098  
Tech Elite
 
dameetz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: The Sky
Posts: 2,550
Default Set-up for 10.5t

Where can I get set-up for RS-Pro with X12 10.5t motor? I ll be using this combo in a Tc car (TCX). My local track has long straights with technical infield.

Thanks.
dameetz is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2011, 03:36 AM
  #19099  
Tech Addict
 
Skitee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Johannesburg, South Africa
Posts: 745
Default

Originally Posted by dameetz View Post
Where can I get set-up for RS-Pro with X12 10.5t motor? I ll be using this combo in a Tc car (TCX). My local track has long straights with technical infield.

Thanks.
You can try something along these lines.

4 dot timing insert

Start RPM : around 6000
End RPM : around 21000
Boost : 45 to 48
Turbo : 10 to 12
Turbo Delay : 0.2
Turbo Ramp : 2
Min Drive : 10
Push Control : 0
Drag Brake : 5
FDR : 8.3 to 9.0
Skitee is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2011, 04:32 AM
  #19100  
Tech Elite
 
dameetz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: The Sky
Posts: 2,550
Default

Originally Posted by Skitee View Post
You can try something along these lines.

4 dot timing insert

Start RPM : around 6000
End RPM : around 21000
Boost : 45 to 48
Turbo : 10 to 12
Turbo Delay : 0.2
Turbo Ramp : 2
Min Drive : 10
Push Control : 0
Drag Brake : 5
FDR : 8.3 to 9.0
Thanks Skitee. Will try it out.
dameetz is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2011, 11:02 AM
  #19101  
Tech Lord
iTrader: (32)
 
syndr0me's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: 5280 Raceway
Posts: 13,189
Trader Rating: 32 (100%+)
Default

What's it mean if the ESC can't "see" the motor (the sensor LED's don't light) and the two LED's at each end of the bar flash?
syndr0me is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2011, 11:27 AM
  #19102  
Tech Master
iTrader: (8)
 
PitNamedGordie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Highwood, IL
Posts: 1,789
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by syndr0me View Post
What's it mean if the ESC can't "see" the motor (the sensor LED's don't light) and the two LED's at each end of the bar flash?


I had this same issue with my last ESC...I'm supposed to send it in. I can't remember the technical term used but it had something to do with the ESC losing a phase...or something like that. Since it does not see three phases the ESC thinks you have a brushed motor connected, hence the 1,2,6,7 (wrong motor type warning) lights flashing. (Tekin please correct me if I'm wrong )
PitNamedGordie is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2011, 12:41 PM
  #19103  
Tech Lord
iTrader: (32)
 
syndr0me's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: 5280 Raceway
Posts: 13,189
Trader Rating: 32 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by PitNamedGordie View Post


I had this same issue with my last ESC...I'm supposed to send it in. I can't remember the technical term used but it had something to do with the ESC losing a phase...or something like that. Since it does not see three phases the ESC thinks you have a brushed motor connected, hence the 1,2,6,7 (wrong motor type warning) lights flashing. (Tekin please correct me if I'm wrong )
That's odd, considering it worked just fine before I put 212 on there.
syndr0me is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2011, 01:20 PM
  #19104  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (5)
 
bkspeedo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Fort Fun, CO
Posts: 3,147
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

have you tried reflashing the esc? you might even try flashing with an older version then again with 212.
bkspeedo is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2011, 01:35 PM
  #19105  
Team Tekin
iTrader: (6)
 
Randy_Pike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Norcal
Posts: 9,772
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Led's 12 67 means the RS can't read a phase. This can be caused by the ABC motor wires, an open/shorted phase in the motor, or possibly something wrong internally with the esc.

Also on 1s there is one more possible cause. Insufficient BEC/Booster/Rx pack supply voltage.
Randy_Pike is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2011, 01:43 PM
  #19106  
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 175
Default

Originally Posted by RC MARKET View Post
New arrived RS Pro updated new pcb & fet !

Randy has to say about this?
higbo is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2011, 01:59 PM
  #19107  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (37)
 
BCbud's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Victoria BC Canada
Posts: 758
Trader Rating: 37 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by RC MARKET View Post
New arrived RS Pro updated new pcb & fet !
Could you give us more info on this??????
BCbud is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2011, 02:06 PM
  #19108  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (34)
 
RedBullFiXX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Intergalactic Planetary
Posts: 6,542
Trader Rating: 34 (100%+)
Default

The silence on this subject is deafening.

Sounds like somebody let the cat out of the bag a wee bit early ?
RedBullFiXX is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2011, 06:36 PM
  #19109  
Tech Master
iTrader: (14)
 
mikeygar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 1,204
Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)
Default

Randy,

I have a Tekin RS which I plan to use on my 1/12th with a 1s lipo. Does the motor turn limit still apply or can I safely use a 4.0/4.5T since I assume the ESC will be pulling less amperes? Searched but very little info on this topic.

Lastly, I can't seem to find the wiring diagram for the RS with a booster/RX pack. Do I just remove the red wire in the ESC's plug?

Thanks in advance!
mikeygar is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2011, 07:10 PM
  #19110  
Tech Master
iTrader: (70)
 
stipres's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Temecula, CA
Posts: 1,079
Trader Rating: 70 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by syndr0me View Post
What's it mean if the ESC can't "see" the motor (the sensor LED's don't light) and the two LED's at each end of the bar flash?
I had a motor wire come off at the solder joint. It gave the same code you are having. May want to double check...

Originally Posted by mikeygar View Post
Randy,

I have a Tekin RS which I plan to use on my 1/12th with a 1s lipo. Does the motor turn limit still apply or can I safely use a 4.0/4.5T since I assume the ESC will be pulling less amperes? Searched but very little info on this topic.

Lastly, I can't seem to find the wiring diagram for the RS with a booster/RX pack. Do I just remove the red wire in the ESC's plug?

Thanks in advance!
We use the RX pack and it is not necessary to remove the wire. Just keep the ESC's switch in the off position.
stipres is offline  
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Terms of Service