R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-24-2010, 10:28 AM   #19006
Tech Champion
 
STLNLST's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Sacramento
Posts: 8,999
Trader Rating: 21 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tc3team View Post
+1

Everyone has a different way of managing the power, some like a short burst of power through a minimal rpm range, (aggressive) others prefer to smooth it out over several K rpm, there is no "right or wrong" setting

Obviously esc settings can be dependant on grip levels too.

As long as the motor is geared right for the track and therefore not hot after a run, it's all good....
Great minds think alike
STLNLST is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2010, 11:12 AM   #19007
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Hagerstown, MD
Posts: 1,699
Trader Rating: 19 (100%+)
Default

Hi guys, can anybody help me with a mod touring setup for a ballistic 7.5 on a snowbirds dize track?
__________________
★Randy Banks★
COLD AS ICE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2010, 11:51 AM   #19008
Tech Lord
 
20 SMOKE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: HVR_ WEEKI WACHEE FL
Posts: 10,299
Trader Rating: 101 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by COLD AS ICE View Post
Hi guys, can anybody help me with a mod touring setup for a ballistic 7.5 on a snowbirds dize track?
http://www.teamtekin.com/hotwire/ESC...d-7-5-v203.pdf
__________________
Jamie W
*Team Tekin*Tekno-rc*DE Racing*AKA*DDHRC*
20 SMOKE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2010, 09:31 AM   #19009
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 106
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 2wdrive View Post
Just curious if you felt any fading after a few minutes or did it stay constant throughout the 5 minute run? Did you use a fan on the motor?

I am not sure if that setup works on the MACH outdoors but i will try that setup on the indoortrack next time
no fading!
i run the same setup on Megadrom in geilenkirchen, Germany
awesome speeds, no fading.

i even use these weak 30C 4200mah batteries of 18 euro from HK, too cheap to be true, little less power than 40C 5000mah batts but enough to keep up with the pack. also with the 40C batts i dont get high temperatures. I might try to lower the end rpm to get even more speed as you say it wont even reach full timing. i run 8.0 gearing so and i do hear some screaming down the back straight so it might just reach alot of rpms there...
Markiempje is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2010, 09:59 AM   #19010
Tech Regular
 
Dragula426's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 351
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tc3team
+1

Everyone has a different way of managing the power, some like a short burst of power through a minimal rpm range, (aggressive) others prefer to smooth it out over several K rpm, there is no "right or wrong" setting

Obviously esc settings can be dependant on grip levels too.

As long as the motor is geared right for the track and therefore not hot after a run, it's all good....

Quote:
Originally Posted by STLNLST View Post
Great minds think alike

X3 on that one. I have found in off road, I prefer the smooth powerband over a long rpm range so I don't get that burst just as I hit the jump. In dirt oval, indoors anyways, I will raise the lower rpm range and lower the upper for a huge jump in speed when the throttle is pulled. Its all driver preference!!!
__________________
Team Tekin
Jeffery Racing Concepts
Little 'O' Speedway
Extreme Graffix
Dragula426 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2010, 03:12 AM   #19011
Tech Elite
 
Big Midget's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Lawrence, Ks
Posts: 4,334
Trader Rating: 100 (100%+)
Default

sorry to interrupt guys....just got a quick question. Has anyone put a ''Y" connector off they're speed control lead? So you dont have to disconnect it from the rx every time to make adjustments using your Hot wire......
__________________
UltralineHobbies.com
Ultraline Raceway Topeka Ks
Dee & Mee Hobbies RickyRacer Lidz,Absolute Tattoo,Fuzzy Dice Decals
Big Midget is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2010, 03:27 AM   #19012
Tech Elite
 
pakk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 3,077
Trader Rating: 79 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Big Midget View Post
sorry to interrupt guys....just got a quick question. Has anyone put a ''Y" connector off they're speed control lead? So you dont have to disconnect it from the rx every time to make adjustments using your Hot wire......
Yeah, it doesn't work. It has to be disconnected from the RX for some reason. Another option is to just put a 1" extension. Makes it a lot easier and you able to grip the plastic connector.
__________________
*Photon* *SC10 4x4*
RCRD
pakk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2010, 06:16 AM   #19013
Tech Master
 
Buckaroo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Norfolk, VA
Posts: 1,503
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Big Midget View Post
sorry to interrupt guys....just got a quick question. Has anyone put a ''Y" connector off they're speed control lead? So you dont have to disconnect it from the rx every time to make adjustments using your Hot wire......
Doesn't work. Puts the reciever in parallel with the computer and the ESC, messing up the signal.
__________________
Tom Keith

Tekin & Sweep, thanks for all that you do for you know who!

Associated/T.O.P./Mugen/Fantom/Spektrum/Savox
Buckaroo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2010, 06:24 AM   #19014
Tech Master
 
WIITA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 1,590
Trader Rating: 42 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by pakk View Post
Yeah, it doesn't work. It has to be disconnected from the RX for some reason. Another option is to just put a 1" extension. Makes it a lot easier and you able to grip the plastic connector.
Buy a 3" servo extension. Plug it in and shoe goo then female end somewhere else that is easy to get to. I rum mine on the top of the servo. This makes changes so easy.
__________________
Team CRC / Sanwa / Team scream / Genesis RC / Hobbywing / TQ Wire / Schelle / MIP / RC^2 / TEKNO / BoomRC
WIITA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2010, 07:59 AM   #19015
Tech Elite
 
Big Midget's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Lawrence, Ks
Posts: 4,334
Trader Rating: 100 (100%+)
Default

I never thought of using an extension....

Thanks for the heads up suggestions
__________________
UltralineHobbies.com
Ultraline Raceway Topeka Ks
Dee & Mee Hobbies RickyRacer Lidz,Absolute Tattoo,Fuzzy Dice Decals
Big Midget is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2010, 08:22 AM   #19016
Tech Champion
 
tc3team's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 6,151
Default

im an agressive racer with the throttle (too many years racing 27t!) so I will typically have a narrow rpm band, which is highlighted also by racing on a 10x15m carpet track, I want POWER out the corners!

But, on the other end of the scale, ive enjoyed using dual drive, yes even with 13.5. with a few tweaks it could be just as fast as sensored drive, if not faster.

Like we all agree guys, power is one element, controlling it is quite another.

Even on the g11pro, I never used max power, i used it at 90% to preserve brush and comm wear in the 27t class, with no noticable drop in performance.

Great conversation guys
__________________
Fusion Hobbies / www.horshamrc.org

The wife stops me being sane and the r/c stops me from going insane....
tc3team is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2010, 02:17 PM   #19017
Tech Addict
 
warnos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 522
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default timing

Anyone know what the far left slidder does on the timing tab for hotwire 212 in sensored mode?

There are the two usual turbo and boost slidders then there is the rpm range.. but I noticed on the far left kinda in the back ground.. there is a third slidder called timing advance which has a range from 0-100 anyone know what this does.. by default I think its on 80.. I have moved it around up to 100 down to 50 but cannot seem to notice a difference..

Cheers

Warnos
Attached Thumbnails
Tekin RS ESC sensored-tekin-timing-advance.jpg  
__________________
TCX Smokem / F104 wgp
Major Sponsor : Visa Card
TEAM SMA - www.smaracing.org
warnos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2010, 02:28 PM   #19018
Tech Elite
 
M-Technic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Palm Beach, FL
Posts: 2,562
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by warnos View Post
Anyone know what the far left slidder does on the timing tab for hotwire 212 in sensored mode?

There are the two usual turbo and boost slidders then there is the rpm range.. but I noticed on the far left kinda in the back ground.. there is a third slidder called timing advance which has a range from 0-100 anyone know what this does.. by default I think its on 80.. I have moved it around up to 100 down to 50 but cannot seem to notice a difference..

Cheers

Warnos
That is the timing advance for when you are running in dual mode. In sensored mode it does nothing unless you lose your sensor during a run and it switches to dual mode.
__________________
RCAmerica | Xray | Hudy | Radiopost | Speed Passion USA | Trinity | P3 Graphics
M-Technic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2010, 02:59 PM   #19019
Tech Lord
 
20 SMOKE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: HVR_ WEEKI WACHEE FL
Posts: 10,299
Trader Rating: 101 (100%+)
Default

leave it on 100 that way you have 30* if you loose the sensor wire
__________________
Jamie W
*Team Tekin*Tekno-rc*DE Racing*AKA*DDHRC*
20 SMOKE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2010, 03:13 PM   #19020
Tech Apprentice
 
rayhoe1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 79
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

yep yep and it does happen!
rayhoe1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tekin Redline RS Sensored ESC and motors, opinions for offroad? Cain Electric Off-Road 4230 06-07-2015 04:38 PM
Sensored vs. Sensorless lemansracer Electric On-Road 71 02-14-2009 03:19 AM
New Tekin Redline Sensored Motors are Roar Legal! Randy_Pike Electric On-Road 3 08-05-2008 02:08 AM
Tekin Redline Sensored 10.5 HUCKMAN Electric On-Road 6 07-15-2008 08:50 PM
sensored vs sensorless bprocket Rookie Zone 5 05-16-2008 09:38 AM


Tags
v203, vegas 2.0


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 10:47 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net