R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-20-2010, 09:59 AM   #18976
Team Tekin
 
Randy_Pike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Norcal
Posts: 9,702
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to Randy_Pike
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by trackermi View Post
It is a B4.1 Buggy. I had the posts pointing towards the front of the car and the wires going back. The T4 and B4 both have the ESC in the same position but on the T4 the posts are outwards.

It was literally slapp the hill and then lights out instantly. But had steering. the ESC is pretty much gone outside of providing power to the other electronics. My truck has never done this before so I want to make sure its not a weakness of the ESC or if something else may be wrong.

But the posts and the esc is clear from other objects. Unless the wires routing over the top can cause the issue.
The RS rarely fails due to vibration or impacts. When the unit powers up what led's are shown?
__________________
"Things may come to those who wait, but only the things left by those who hustle." Abraham Lincoln

Tekin,Protek,A-Main Hobbies,JConcepts,Avid RC,Yokomo,MIP,SikLidz,FactoryRC, www.randypikerc.com
Randy_Pike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2010, 10:00 AM   #18977
Team Tekin
 
Randy_Pike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Norcal
Posts: 9,702
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to Randy_Pike
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AiR2k View Post
I run Durango DEX410 with Tekin RS Pro and Speed Passion Comp V3 6.5t.

Speedo and motor gets too hot in 10 mins when running offroad indoors. Now I'm looking for a solution to make them run cooler and found this message by RC MARKET. Did Tekin actually release alu case?

Durango is really harsh for speedos 'cause of it's weight, gear diffs and tight fittings. Anyway I'm really happy with RS Pro and would like to use this in future too.
We need setup info from the esc, motor timing and what gearing you're running?
__________________
"Things may come to those who wait, but only the things left by those who hustle." Abraham Lincoln

Tekin,Protek,A-Main Hobbies,JConcepts,Avid RC,Yokomo,MIP,SikLidz,FactoryRC, www.randypikerc.com
Randy_Pike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2010, 06:01 PM   #18978
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: West, MI
Posts: 27
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Randy_Pike View Post
The RS rarely fails due to vibration or impacts. When the unit powers up what led's are shown?
No lights.. All of them Re out.

The first was a tekin rs pro. Sent it back paid 100$ got a new one. Then in the mean time got a tekin rs to hold me over. I ran stock as I wanted to watch ryan caveleiri race at the track.. No issues that day at all. Switch back to the 10.5 motor and 4 laps out slapped the hill and same thing different esc.. All lights out rig after hitting the landing wrong. Same exact spot as the other esc. I hope it gets warrantied as it's literally 2 weeks old. But more so need to figure it out. The have always bee good escs.

Facts.. Both esc all lights out. No hookup to pc. Nothing.. But have steering
Both I b4 buggy and quit upon the jump on the track.
Both with using a fanton 10.5 motor. It's an ion3 version.


Aldo I the motor was checked out and itstill works. So I am Los for what's going on.

Last edited by trackermi; 12-20-2010 at 06:27 PM.
trackermi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2010, 07:05 PM   #18979
Tech Champion
 
cannon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: A total distraction
Posts: 7,266
Trader Rating: 35 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by trackermi View Post
No lights.. All of them Re out.

The first was a tekin rs pro. Sent it back paid 100$ got a new one. Then in the mean time got a tekin rs to hold me over. I ran stock as I wanted to watch ryan caveleiri race at the track.. No issues that day at all. Switch back to the 10.5 motor and 4 laps out slapped the hill and same thing different esc.. All lights out rig after hitting the landing wrong. Same exact spot as the other esc. I hope it gets warrantied as it's literally 2 weeks old. But more so need to figure it out. The have always bee good escs.

Facts.. Both esc all lights out. No hookup to pc. Nothing.. But have steering
Both I b4 buggy and quit upon the jump on the track.
Both with using a fanton 10.5 motor. It's an ion3 version.


Aldo I the motor was checked out and itstill works. So I am Los for what's going on.

Have you checked that the receiver is not playing up. The impact might be cutting the signal from the receiver
__________________
www.feralbatteries.com ........... new website
cannon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2010, 07:43 PM   #18980
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: West, MI
Posts: 27
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cannon View Post
Have you checked that the receiver is not playing up. The impact might be cutting the signal from the receiver
Not really.. How do I check it cause it binds fine,works fine and wouldn't the esc have at least a light or a noise or something. Were talking all esc lights.

The weird thing is power is cycling through as the steering works.

Even my transponder lights up. Just not the esc.

I never lost steering the whole time. Just all motor power is gone and esc is taking a coffee break.

I even put the esc on my truck and same results.

The radio equipment is all new in November. All airtronics m11x stuff. And after replacing the esc it all works again.

I would have to believe the power input side is ok as it's still powering up the steering, receiver and transponder. Maybe something in the motor or output side it get whacked when it hits the ground.

But two esc and one rs pro and one rs.. I am about to cry..lol

I love these escs so I am not changing.. We just need to figure this out..

I am going to go rip my motor Part real quick..
trackermi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2010, 09:16 PM   #18981
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: West, MI
Posts: 27
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by trackermi View Post
Not really.. How do I check it cause it binds fine,works fine and wouldn't the esc have at least a light or a noise or something. Were talking all esc lights.

The weird thing is power is cycling through as the steering works.

Even my transponder lights up. Just not the esc.

I never lost steering the whole time. Just all motor power is gone and esc is taking a coffee break.

I even put the esc on my truck and same results.

The radio equipment is all new in November. All airtronics m11x stuff. And after replacing the esc it all works again.

I would have to believe the power input side is ok as it's still powering up the steering, receiver and transponder. Maybe something in the motor or output side it get whacked when it hits the ground.

But two esc and one rs pro and one rs.. I am about to cry..lol

I love these escs so I am not changing.. We just need to figure this out..

I am going to go rip my motor Part real quick..
Well the motor didn't turn up anything. It's a rather new ion3 and the solder tabs are still in place, copper winding looks fine. Not sure..

Maybe I should just replace the battery and motor also. I like my esc more than them both anyways.

Randy have any thoughts on this. Pm me if you want.

Thanks.
trackermi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2010, 11:20 AM   #18982
Team Tekin
 
Randy_Pike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Norcal
Posts: 9,702
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to Randy_Pike
Default

I would like you to turn the unit on AFTER unplugging the sensor harness and the esc from the receiver.

I want to know if the esc powers up with led's.
__________________
"Things may come to those who wait, but only the things left by those who hustle." Abraham Lincoln

Tekin,Protek,A-Main Hobbies,JConcepts,Avid RC,Yokomo,MIP,SikLidz,FactoryRC, www.randypikerc.com
Randy_Pike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2010, 11:41 AM   #18983
Tech Master
 
Kenny L's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 1,267
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Default

Or try firing it up with out b wire on it. Sounds to me you have bad motor wind and its blowing out B phase of esc
__________________
Team Tekin, Ko Propo America
Kenny L is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2010, 12:12 PM   #18984
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: West, MI
Posts: 27
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Randy_Pike View Post
I would like you to turn the unit on AFTER unplugging the sensor harness and the esc from the receiver.

I want to know if the esc powers up with led's.
I will try that tonight. I did unplug it from the receiver once to see if I could connect via hot-wire.. That failed and no lights came on then. But I will give it a shot.

I will replace the motor just in case. But both times it was a chassis slap that started so it could be something not visually I can see with the motor. Not sure...
trackermi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2010, 02:01 PM   #18985
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Christchurch, NZ
Posts: 1,063
Default

Have you checked the receiver plug on the esc has all the terminals in place? I found after 3 years of using my RS I had the signal wire just working loose so I put on new terminals and all was good
__________________
Agama A8 Evo | GRP .21 | Spektrum | Savox

My car just hit 88mph. I hope it comes back soon....
JR007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2010, 06:32 PM   #18986
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Southern California
Posts: 2,167
Trader Rating: 77 (100%+)
Default ESC set up help

Any recomendations to start out at.

Running B4. indoor smooth clay (WCRC)
81/22 gearing
Novak 17.5 ballistic motor

Thanks
goin2drt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2010, 07:59 PM   #18987
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: West, MI
Posts: 27
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Randy_Pike View Post
I would like you to turn the unit on AFTER unplugging the sensor harness and the esc from the receiver.

I want to know if the esc powers up with led's.
I soldered the leads on connected it, flipped the switch and nothing. Sensor wire off. All lights off and no startup noise.

Plugged the receiver back in and the receiver,servo and transponder all came to life. Nothing else.

The esc is two weeks old and I am sure the connections are fine. I just bought the entire setup last month all brand new. Regardless I am pitching the motor and battery just to be safe.
trackermi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2010, 08:01 PM   #18988
Team Tekin
 
Randy_Pike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Norcal
Posts: 9,702
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to Randy_Pike
Default

Sorry to hear that. If you've done what I've asked sounds like it needs repair.

Hit me up for an RA# or the tech guys online at our website.
__________________
"Things may come to those who wait, but only the things left by those who hustle." Abraham Lincoln

Tekin,Protek,A-Main Hobbies,JConcepts,Avid RC,Yokomo,MIP,SikLidz,FactoryRC, www.randypikerc.com
Randy_Pike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2010, 08:24 PM   #18989
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: West, MI
Posts: 27
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Randy_Pike View Post
Sorry to hear that. If you've done what I've asked sounds like it needs repair.

Hit me up for an RA# or the tech guys online at our website.
Thanks. I will send an email tomorrow. I have three tekins so I am set till this one comes back.

Also I got an add showing some new tekin motors.. When are those things coming out. They look awesome.
trackermi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2010, 07:41 PM   #18990
Tech Master
 
postoposto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 1,127
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

good day guys...

just bought my RSPro with 212 updated... but still blur with the throttle setting..
can somebody plz redefine the 'end RPM', 'start RPM', turbo/ boost setting?

currently using LRP 9.5 on a 60 meters straight line local track...

Thanks.... cheers
__________________
***Kelab Kereta Kawalan Jauh Dungun (Reg. No.: 2137-10-TRG)***
>>>Welcome to Dungun Model Car Speedway (DMCS)!!!!<<<
postoposto is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tekin Redline RS Sensored ESC and motors, opinions for offroad? Cain Electric Off-Road 4230 06-07-2015 04:38 PM
Sensored vs. Sensorless lemansracer Electric On-Road 71 02-14-2009 03:19 AM
New Tekin Redline Sensored Motors are Roar Legal! Randy_Pike Electric On-Road 3 08-05-2008 02:08 AM
Tekin Redline Sensored 10.5 HUCKMAN Electric On-Road 6 07-15-2008 08:50 PM
sensored vs sensorless bprocket Rookie Zone 5 05-16-2008 09:38 AM


Tags
v203, vegas 2.0


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 02:35 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net