R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-14-2010, 10:55 PM   #18931
Tech Champion
 
Still Bill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Reno, NV
Posts: 7,234
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

I am currently using the SMC 220 ma Li-Fe pack with no issues. Have owned 3 other 200 ma Li-Fe packs with only one failing for unknown reason.

No experience with any Li-Fe pack gaining voltage over the past 2+ years. As a precaution, I do unplug my receiver packs (and main packs) from electronics when not in use.

Bill
__________________
Constantly evolving CRC WGT and WGT-R/T...Carpet & Asphalt...All thanks to Team CRC.

And a pair of Associated B6 buggies for turf and clay tracks.
Still Bill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2010, 11:27 PM   #18932
Team Tekin
 
Randy_Pike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Norcal
Posts: 9,702
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to Randy_Pike
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Victor Vector View Post
Help please. I've ploughed thru'20 pages looking for the cap value and it didn't show. Mine broke a leg and the hobbyshop don't got one on the shelf, so I need to get something from the Shack !!

Help me please.

Jacko
THe correct part# is TT3520 which is a 16v 330uf LOW ESR cap which you will likely not find at Radio Shack.

SO Bill is right you can use a 16v 1000uf cap until you get the correct one.
__________________
"Things may come to those who wait, but only the things left by those who hustle." Abraham Lincoln

Tekin,Protek,A-Main Hobbies,JConcepts,Avid RC,Yokomo,MIP,SikLidz,FactoryRC, www.randypikerc.com
Randy_Pike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2010, 07:59 AM   #18933
Tech Elite
 
Victor Vector's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Over Here
Posts: 2,788
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Randy_Pike View Post
THe correct part# is TT3520 which is a 16v 330uf LOW ESR cap which you will likely not find at Radio Shack.

SO Bill is right you can use a 16v 1000uf cap until you get the correct one.
Thank you Randy,

Jacko
__________________
Jack Balchin.
Timezone Hooligan
IBEW Local 48-retired (Definitely, great pension.)
Victor Vector is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2010, 08:41 AM   #18934
Tech Adept
 
HyperFX's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: TX
Posts: 161
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to HyperFX
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Randy_Pike View Post
THe correct part# is TT3520 which is a 16v 330uf LOW ESR cap which you will likely not find at Radio Shack.

SO Bill is right you can use a 16v 1000uf cap until you get the correct one.
Randy, I've been using a 16v 1000uf cap on my RS Pro in a DEX410. I was working under the assumption that the larger cap could reduce esc temps. I have the original 330uf cap, and will reinstall it, if needed. What makes the low esr 330 cap better than a 1000? Thanks for your help, Randy.
__________________
4PK, DEX410, DESC410R, DEX210, Tekin RS/RS Pro/RX8, Ten SCTE, XXX-SCT, XXXT-CR, XXX, XX, JRx2
MOTOCROSS: Because Roller Coasters Are Too Slow!
HyperFX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2010, 08:57 AM   #18935
Tech Champion
 
Krio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: At dirt tracks in Michigan!
Posts: 5,102
Trader Rating: 150 (99%+)
Default

The point of the cap is to keep the voltage going to the esc as steady as possible. There is a tiny bit of resistance and impedance in the capacitor that slows how fast it can charge/discharge. The smaller the esr value, the more effective the capacitor. There are several ways to decrease the esr value of a system, but the main two are to add more capacitors/capacity (higher uF) or use better capacitors with lower esr values. The 330 uF cap included has a very low esr value while the 1000 uF cap from the shack does not. However, the larger capacity helps somewhat. The best solution if your esc is on the toasty side is multiple caps with the low esr designation so that you are maintaining the esr, but adding to the capacity. That is why 2 330 uF caps are suggested for hot mod motors.
__________________
www.kriostasis.com
Krio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2010, 09:19 AM   #18936
Team Tekin
 
Randy_Pike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Norcal
Posts: 9,702
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to Randy_Pike
Default

Jamie is correct.

The ideal setup is multiple TT3520 caps. However two of the TT3522 or 16v 1000uf standard caps work pretty well also.

The Low esr caps have a much faster response time allowing them to be more effective at their job.
__________________
"Things may come to those who wait, but only the things left by those who hustle." Abraham Lincoln

Tekin,Protek,A-Main Hobbies,JConcepts,Avid RC,Yokomo,MIP,SikLidz,FactoryRC, www.randypikerc.com
Randy_Pike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2010, 09:44 AM   #18937
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 103
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Still Bill View Post
What radio do you have?
Airtronics MX-3FHSS
dcasargent is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2010, 03:25 PM   #18938
Tech Elite
 
Victor Vector's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Over Here
Posts: 2,788
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Randy_Pike View Post
THe correct part# is TT3520 which is a 16v 330uf LOW ESR cap which you will likely not find at Radio Shack.

SO Bill is right you can use a 16v 1000uf cap until you get the correct one.
Curiosity question on capacitor: I ran Speedpassion before going Tekin. Will the large banked capacitor set work on the RS Pro ?? I happen to have one in the draw.........

Jacko
__________________
Jack Balchin.
Timezone Hooligan
IBEW Local 48-retired (Definitely, great pension.)
Victor Vector is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2010, 04:33 PM   #18939
Tech Champion
 
Krio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: At dirt tracks in Michigan!
Posts: 5,102
Trader Rating: 150 (99%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Victor Vector View Post
Curiosity question on capacitor: I ran Speedpassion before going Tekin. Will the large banked capacitor set work on the RS Pro ?? I happen to have one in the draw.........

Jacko
Yes.
__________________
www.kriostasis.com
Krio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2010, 04:43 PM   #18940
Team Tekin
 
Randy_Pike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Norcal
Posts: 9,702
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to Randy_Pike
Default

Yes it will work but those too are not Low ESR caps.
__________________
"Things may come to those who wait, but only the things left by those who hustle." Abraham Lincoln

Tekin,Protek,A-Main Hobbies,JConcepts,Avid RC,Yokomo,MIP,SikLidz,FactoryRC, www.randypikerc.com
Randy_Pike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2010, 05:15 PM   #18941
Tech Elite
 
Victor Vector's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Over Here
Posts: 2,788
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Randy_Pike View Post
Yes it will work but those too are not Low ESR caps.
Thanks Randy (again) this will get me out of a time jamb ....

Jacko
__________________
Jack Balchin.
Timezone Hooligan
IBEW Local 48-retired (Definitely, great pension.)
Victor Vector is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2010, 07:00 PM   #18942
Tech Fanatic
 
OZDC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 930
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Default

I've never understood this.

Forgetting the effect a cap has on RF and only talking about DC.

If the speedie is drawing 10's of amps at peak times, wouldn't a 330uf or even a 1000uf dump real quick?

Isn't that why guys with huge car stereos use caps in the 2f range

So what would/could happen if i did not run one?

DC


Quote:
Originally Posted by Krio View Post
The point of the cap is to keep the voltage going to the esc as steady as possible. .
OZDC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2010, 07:36 PM   #18943
Tech Master
 
miller tyme's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Indiana
Posts: 1,710
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by OZDC View Post
I've never understood this.

Forgetting the effect a cap has on RF and only talking about DC.

If the speedie is drawing 10's of amps at peak times, wouldn't a 330uf or even a 1000uf dump real quick?

Isn't that why guys with huge car stereos use caps in the 2f range

So what would/could happen if i did not run one?

DC
FET's and Transistors prefer nice clean power for long life, I think the capacitor helps smooth out the voltage signal. So to answer your question, without some type of cap the longevity of the ESC is in jeopardy
__________________
Ken Miller
RCTarget - Capricorn - Pro Level RC - MAX Power - Maxima Fuel - EA Motorsorts - TQ Wire

LONG LIVE OPEN MODIFIED
miller tyme is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2010, 07:52 PM   #18944
Team Tekin
 
Randy_Pike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Norcal
Posts: 9,702
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to Randy_Pike
Default

The cap handles ripple current which in turn makes the fet's work more efficiently. This in turn allows the esc to run cooler.

Do not run the RS without a cap.
__________________
"Things may come to those who wait, but only the things left by those who hustle." Abraham Lincoln

Tekin,Protek,A-Main Hobbies,JConcepts,Avid RC,Yokomo,MIP,SikLidz,FactoryRC, www.randypikerc.com
Randy_Pike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2010, 08:01 PM   #18945
Tech Fanatic
 
OZDC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 930
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Default

Thanks Randy,

That makes sense. I understand about ripple currents/voltages which are small.

The way some people describe the use of the cap is that it is like a reserve of power to help keep the BATTERY voltage stable.

DC

Quote:
Originally Posted by Randy_Pike View Post
The cap handles ripple current which in turn makes the fet's work more efficiently. This in turn allows the esc to run cooler.

Do not run the RS without a cap.
OZDC is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tekin Redline RS Sensored ESC and motors, opinions for offroad? Cain Electric Off-Road 4230 06-07-2015 04:38 PM
Sensored vs. Sensorless lemansracer Electric On-Road 71 02-14-2009 03:19 AM
New Tekin Redline Sensored Motors are Roar Legal! Randy_Pike Electric On-Road 3 08-05-2008 02:08 AM
Tekin Redline Sensored 10.5 HUCKMAN Electric On-Road 6 07-15-2008 08:50 PM
sensored vs sensorless bprocket Rookie Zone 5 05-16-2008 09:38 AM


Tags
v203, vegas 2.0


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 08:39 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net