R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-13-2010, 05:34 PM   #18901
Tech Apprentice
 
Over-rev's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Florida
Posts: 91
Default

I just got the tekin RS Pro, can I use the Novak glitch buster instead of the cap that comes with the esc?
__________________
And behold, a pale horse, and he who sat upon it, his name was death, and Hades followed him - Revelation 6:8

ΜΟΛΩΝ ΛΑΒΕ
Over-rev is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2010, 05:39 PM   #18902
Tech Champion
 
STLNLST's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Sacramento
Posts: 8,999
Trader Rating: 21 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Over-rev View Post
I just got the tekin RS Pro, can I use the Novak glitch buster instead of the cap that comes with the esc?
It's reccommended to use the stock Tekin supplied cap that comes with the speedo. I would hate for you to possibly run into a problem and get frustrated with the speedo. Not saying that this would happen but we want you enjoying your purchase
STLNLST is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2010, 05:52 PM   #18903
Tech Champion
 
Krio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: At dirt tracks in Michigan!
Posts: 5,103
Trader Rating: 150 (99%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Over-rev View Post
I just got the tekin RS Pro, can I use the Novak glitch buster instead of the cap that comes with the esc?
They serve two separate purposes. The cap with the RS is to be soldered directly to the esc to help with ripple currents fromthe battery. The glitch buster is supposed to be plugged into the receiver to smooth the power going from the bec to the reciever.
__________________
www.kriostasis.com
Krio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2010, 07:17 PM   #18904
Tech Master
 
Victory Side's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Richfield PA
Posts: 1,908
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Send a message via Skype™ to Victory Side
Default

HELP!

I have a tekin Rs Pro. It has been a great esc. I have an odd problem. It was ran in an x60 with a 10.5 novak with no problems. I took it out to let another guy run in 17.5 tc. It acted like it had no turbo. We tried different motors with the same issue, until he tried a trinity duo and bam it worked an acted like it had turbo. I tried a brand new Ballistic and am having the same issues with the 212 software. Any help is welcomed.
__________________
WWW.RICHFIELDRACEWAY.COM
"There are only two ways to live your life. One is as though nothing is a miracle. The other is as though everything is a miracle." ~Albert Einstein
"Do you want to know who you are? Don't ask. Act! Action will delineate and define you.'
Victory Side is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2010, 07:58 PM   #18905
Team Tekin
 
Randy_Pike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Norcal
Posts: 9,702
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to Randy_Pike
Default

Victory, sounds like one or some of the motors are having either sensor issues themselves or a sensor harness is going bad.

If you're losing turbo you're likely losing sensors.

It could also be the transmitter used. So did he use his tx?
__________________
"Things may come to those who wait, but only the things left by those who hustle." Abraham Lincoln

Tekin,Protek,A-Main Hobbies,JConcepts,Avid RC,Yokomo,MIP,SikLidz,FactoryRC, www.randypikerc.com
Randy_Pike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2010, 08:12 PM   #18906
Tech Master
 
NEW-BEE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 1,606
Trader Rating: 34 (97%+)
Default RS OR RSP?

FOR US NEWCOMERS WHO ARE LOOKING TO ENTER RACES FOR THE FIRST TIME,ON A 17.5 WHATS GOOD?BY THE WAY IM GETTING RID MY OTHER ESC'S AND LOOKING TO GET A TEKIN.LOL
NEW-BEE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2010, 08:29 PM   #18907
Tech Champion
 
Still Bill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Reno, NV
Posts: 7,237
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by NEW-BEE View Post
FOR US NEWCOMERS WHO ARE LOOKING TO ENTER RACES FOR THE FIRST TIME,ON A 17.5 WHATS GOOD?BY THE WAY IM GETTING RID MY OTHER ESC'S AND LOOKING TO GET A TEKIN.LOL
An RS will do just fine.
__________________
Constantly evolving CRC WGT and WGT-R/T...Carpet & Asphalt...All thanks to Team CRC.

And a pair of Associated B6 buggies for turf and clay tracks.
Still Bill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2010, 08:51 PM   #18908
Tech Apprentice
 
Over-rev's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Florida
Posts: 91
Default

Ty guys, I'll just use the one that came with the esc then.
__________________
And behold, a pale horse, and he who sat upon it, his name was death, and Hades followed him - Revelation 6:8

ΜΟΛΩΝ ΛΑΒΕ
Over-rev is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2010, 04:12 AM   #18909
Tech Addict
 
georgec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: TN
Posts: 624
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by -WHEELMAN- View Post
front: 4x13x5mm / rear: .125x.375x.15"
Thanks, Funny that the rear bearing would be SAE (1/8x3/8x5/32)
georgec is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2010, 04:56 AM   #18910
Tech Regular
 
Cribbin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 360
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by georgec View Post
Thanks, Funny that the rear bearing would be SAE (1/8x3/8x5/32)
yeah one is metric the other imperial, i was confused too lol
__________________
Bro-Kin Racing Group
X-Ray T3
X-Ray T2 '007
Castle Hill Raceway
Futaba LRP Tekin
Cribbin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2010, 06:00 AM   #18911
Tech Addict
 
georgec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: TN
Posts: 624
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cribbin View Post
yeah one is metric the other imperial, i was confused too lol
Same with the screws, metric rear and SAE up front? Must have had a bunch of left over parts to get rid of when they built these Even so, still quite pleased with the performance. On a side note, EA was testing one of the new Tekin 17.5 motors (red can) at our local track last week and it looked rocket!
georgec is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2010, 07:52 AM   #18912
Tech Master
 
Victory Side's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Richfield PA
Posts: 1,908
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Send a message via Skype™ to Victory Side
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Randy_Pike View Post
Victory, sounds like one or some of the motors are having either sensor issues themselves or a sensor harness is going bad.

If you're losing turbo you're likely losing sensors.

It could also be the transmitter used. So did he use his tx?
I tried it with his transmitter M11x, and my DX3r. Same issue. I swapped the motor (ballistic 17.5) and same sensor wire to another of my RS's and there is no problem. But when I put an older style motor (Novak SS, Trinity Duo1) it works just fine with the other RS that had given me fits. I'm a little puzzled Great product just trying to figure out what is up. I tried re-updating the esc and still same issue.
__________________
WWW.RICHFIELDRACEWAY.COM
"There are only two ways to live your life. One is as though nothing is a miracle. The other is as though everything is a miracle." ~Albert Einstein
"Do you want to know who you are? Don't ask. Act! Action will delineate and define you.'
Victory Side is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2010, 08:13 AM   #18913
Tech Elite
 
L.Fairtrace's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Beyond the Wall
Posts: 3,774
Trader Rating: 23 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to L.Fairtrace
Default

I know alot of people seem to think that 203 is faster in 12th scale or just in general but this weekend I was able to Tq both super stock Touring 17.5 and 12th scale 13.5 with 212 over some very good drivers.

In 12th scale my motor actually came off almost cool to the touch and I tqed by a lap with my hotlap and finishing laps only .3-.4 different.

Which I think is about as good as you are going to get in 12th scale spec classes.

I also ran 212 in the main at Cleveland and finished 2nd in 17.5 boosted 12th scale.

There are settings that are not perfected by any means just things I am throwing at the car and they are working decently. I think once I hit the sweet spot the lowered temps in 212 will actually produce faster runs and cooler motors overall.
__________________
Awesomatix USA - EaMotorsports - RocheUSA - MonTech - Sanwa - BSR Racing Tires - TQ Wire - Solaris Racing Tires - Side Piece Racing

180 and 360 Raceway. Best on the East Coast. Take your pick
L.Fairtrace is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2010, 08:23 AM   #18914
Tech Champion
 
RedBullFiXX's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Intergalactic Planetary
Posts: 6,542
Trader Rating: 34 (100%+)
Default

+1
The Dude Abides.
__________________
--> 12th scale Information Source <--

"Men do not quit playing because they grow old; they grow old because they quit playing."
― Oliver Wendell Holmes Jr.
RedBullFiXX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2010, 10:37 AM   #18915
Tech Adept
 
Andrew Knapp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Rapid Competition Rc Raceway
Posts: 100
Send a message via AIM to Andrew Knapp Send a message via Yahoo to Andrew Knapp
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Victory Side View Post
HELP!

I have a tekin Rs Pro. It has been a great esc. I have an odd problem. It was ran in an x60 with a 10.5 novak with no problems. I took it out to let another guy run in 17.5 tc. It acted like it had no turbo. We tried different motors with the same issue, until he tried a trinity duo and bam it worked an acted like it had turbo. I tried a brand new Ballistic and am having the same issues with the 212 software. Any help is welcomed.
Where did you have the timing set on the ballistic motor?
__________________
Team CRC www.teamcrc.com--Team Trinity--Revtech--Team Spektrum www.spektrumrc.com--protoform--SXT--Rapid Competition RC Raceway and my dad!
Andrew Knapp is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tekin Redline RS Sensored ESC and motors, opinions for offroad? Cain Electric Off-Road 4230 06-07-2015 04:38 PM
Sensored vs. Sensorless lemansracer Electric On-Road 71 02-14-2009 03:19 AM
New Tekin Redline Sensored Motors are Roar Legal! Randy_Pike Electric On-Road 3 08-05-2008 02:08 AM
Tekin Redline Sensored 10.5 HUCKMAN Electric On-Road 6 07-15-2008 08:50 PM
sensored vs sensorless bprocket Rookie Zone 5 05-16-2008 09:38 AM


Tags
v203, vegas 2.0


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 12:40 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net