R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-09-2010, 09:49 AM   #18856
Tech Elite
 
M-Technic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Palm Beach, FL
Posts: 2,562
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Krio View Post
Are you going from full throttle? If turbo is engaged and you back off just enough so that timing vanishes, but still on power enough that the magnetic field being created is now "behind" the rotor it will slow the motor to an extent.
Yes, from full to partial throttle. I do not believe my turbo is on in that particular sweeper but it's possible. I will say however that this does not happen with v203 and the setup is almost identical.
__________________
RCAmerica | Xray | Hudy | Radiopost | Speed Passion USA | Trinity | P3 Graphics
M-Technic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2010, 10:30 AM   #18857
2xs
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 198
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by M-Technic View Post
I am talking about partial lifting, not even going to neutral, not going to brake. I really don't use brakes on my track so I haven't messed with the minimum brake setting. Minimum throttle I have been using 20-30 (17.5 touring car).
I think the problem is that when you start running the minimum throttle above 20%. At 20% MinT for every 1% you move the trigger you are actually changing the ESC throttle response by 1.25%, and at 30% MinT ESC response will change by 1.43%.

So the higher you have MinT the smoother and more controlled you will have to be with the trigger.
2xs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2010, 10:31 AM   #18858
Team Tekin
 
Randy_Pike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Norcal
Posts: 9,702
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to Randy_Pike
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dmatter View Post
Did the on road guys go back to 208? I was looking at some recent set up sheets of Atsushi Hara etc and they said they were using 208? Is there something wrong with 212?
No, it was likely the setup he was using at the time. I have Hara's latest setups and will be posting them shortly. He's using 212 and is very happy with it.
__________________
"Things may come to those who wait, but only the things left by those who hustle." Abraham Lincoln

Tekin,Protek,A-Main Hobbies,JConcepts,Avid RC,Yokomo,MIP,SikLidz,FactoryRC, www.randypikerc.com
Randy_Pike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2010, 10:32 AM   #18859
Team Tekin
 
Randy_Pike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Norcal
Posts: 9,702
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to Randy_Pike
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by M-Technic View Post
Yes, from full to partial throttle. I do not believe my turbo is on in that particular sweeper but it's possible. I will say however that this does not happen with v203 and the setup is almost identical.
If it's a sweeper it's very possible. Where's your turbo delay set?
__________________
"Things may come to those who wait, but only the things left by those who hustle." Abraham Lincoln

Tekin,Protek,A-Main Hobbies,JConcepts,Avid RC,Yokomo,MIP,SikLidz,FactoryRC, www.randypikerc.com
Randy_Pike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2010, 10:44 AM   #18860
Tech Elite
 
M-Technic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Palm Beach, FL
Posts: 2,562
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 2xs View Post
I think the problem is that when you start running the minimum throttle above 20%. At 20% MinT for every 1% you move the trigger you are actually changing the ESC throttle response by 1.25%, and at 30% MinT ESC response will change by 1.43%.

So the higher you have MinT the smoother and more controlled you will have to be with the trigger.
It did it with v208 also, which had no min. throttle.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Randy_Pike View Post
If it's a sweeper it's very possible. Where's your turbo delay set?
.2 delay, 2 ramp, 12 turbo. The sweeper is no more than 20 feet out of a 180 hairpin. I guess it's possible but since going from .1 to .2 delay I really felt that I stopped using turbo in the infield of our track, and the car is a lot easier to drive in the infield now.
__________________
RCAmerica | Xray | Hudy | Radiopost | Speed Passion USA | Trinity | P3 Graphics
M-Technic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2010, 11:13 AM   #18861
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 185
Default

randy are there anny mod setups from hara?
there are for mod not that manny setups for a tc.

now with the 212 it would be nice for some setups for large medium an small tracks.
toptek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2010, 11:27 AM   #18862
Tech Elite
 
reenmachine's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Studio City, CA
Posts: 2,539
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by M-Technic View Post
The only thing I have noticed is that the car can violently "check up" if you lift the throttle much, like if you are lifted at the apex of a high speed sweeper. This has been a common complaint at our track, but I think it happened on v208 as well. We noticed it after leaving v203.
I would wager this may come from the tendency of the "fast guys" to run a really tiny, or even min, neutral width in combination with aggressive min brake. If you lift suddenly and the rx sees the tiniest amount of brake signal the ESC will go straight to the min brake value and you'll get that violent "check up". People here have been accused of brake checking.

Have you tried a larger NW, like 10?

EDIT: scratch that (perhaps) after reading newer responses.
__________________
Pete Waydo
2010 Big Fat Turkey Race Mini Cooper AAA Main Champion
*** currently in stasis ***
reenmachine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2010, 11:37 AM   #18863
Tech Champion
 
MikeXray's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: New York
Posts: 5,749
Trader Rating: 73 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by M-Technic View Post
I am talking about partial lifting, not even going to neutral, not going to brake. I really don't use brakes on my track so I haven't messed with the minimum brake setting. Minimum throttle I have been using 20-30 (17.5 touring car).
I've had that happen, 10 on the push control fixed it.
__________________
Mike L. Awesomatixusa.com | TQWire.com | Islandraceway.com |JacksonRCracing.com | Horsham RC | Sweepracingusa.com
MikeXray is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2010, 12:01 PM   #18864
Tech Fanatic
 
azwan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Penang MY
Posts: 865
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 20 SMOKE View Post
read over this,it is a new user guide with pics on everything the rs does

http://www.carsrcracing.co.uk/?p=244
thanks a lot bro
__________________
XRAY T4 / ORCA VX / ORCA INFINITE / PPRCC
ON ROAD RACING
azwan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2010, 12:10 PM   #18865
Team Tekin
 
Randy_Pike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Norcal
Posts: 9,702
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to Randy_Pike
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by M-Technic View Post
It did it with v208 also, which had no min. throttle.

.2 delay, 2 ramp, 12 turbo. The sweeper is no more than 20 feet out of a 180 hairpin. I guess it's possible but since going from .1 to .2 delay I really felt that I stopped using turbo in the infield of our track, and the car is a lot easier to drive in the infield now.
Since the sweeper is that long I know turbo is kicking in. To verify it raise it .4 or .5
__________________
"Things may come to those who wait, but only the things left by those who hustle." Abraham Lincoln

Tekin,Protek,A-Main Hobbies,JConcepts,Avid RC,Yokomo,MIP,SikLidz,FactoryRC, www.randypikerc.com
Randy_Pike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2010, 12:15 PM   #18866
Team Tekin
 
Randy_Pike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Norcal
Posts: 9,702
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to Randy_Pike
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by toptek View Post
randy are there anny mod setups from hara?
there are for mod not that manny setups for a tc.

now with the 212 it would be nice for some setups for large medium an small tracks.
He will be testing more mod setups shortly. I will post up what he's happy with once I get that info.

You can take a few of the 203 Mod setups and use them in 212. Jason Moberly's 4.5 setup is one of my favorite to reccomend.
Attached Thumbnails
Tekin RS ESC sensored-jmoberly3-29-10-rs-tc-4-5.png  
__________________
"Things may come to those who wait, but only the things left by those who hustle." Abraham Lincoln

Tekin,Protek,A-Main Hobbies,JConcepts,Avid RC,Yokomo,MIP,SikLidz,FactoryRC, www.randypikerc.com
Randy_Pike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2010, 01:10 PM   #18867
Tech Apprentice
 
Jim_1987's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: U.K
Posts: 56
Default

I'm new to the programable speed controllers, any advice for a good starting point for 13.5?

Another question, is it best to run a wide rpm range 5k to 20k or 5k to 10k? What are the advantages of each one?
Jim_1987 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2010, 01:12 PM   #18868
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 185
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Randy_Pike View Post
He will be testing more mod setups shortly. I will post up what he's happy with once I get that info.

You can take a few of the 203 Mod setups and use them in 212. Jason Moberly's 4.5 setup is one of my favorite to reccomend.
thanks.

in sensord mode? I always use dual mode for my 4,5T.
with the timing on 45 it went great.
gearing depends on the track.

I tried the 212 and the infield rip is just sick. also a great top speed but I lowerd the timing to 30 - 35.
I race now indoor and train with the 4,5t
the straight is short so I don't need a lot of timing. the car still don't reages his top speed but accelaretes good and the motor stays cooler than before.

I will try the setup in sensord mode.
toptek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2010, 01:22 PM   #18869
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 185
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim_1987 View Post
I'm new to the programable speed controllers, any advice for a good starting point for 13.5?

Another question, is it best to run a wide rpm range 5k to 20k or 5k to 10k? What are the advantages of each one?
my rpm range for a 13,5 is about 3 to 5K
depends on the track motor and gearing.
I run with a turbo of 5 with a dealy of 0
ramp 2
start rpm is now most of the time from 7000 to 9000.
but it al depends on the track.

you can also use a turbo delay but use than a lower start rpm. around the 4000.

on the tekin site there are some good setups for a 13,5t.
toptek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2010, 01:27 PM   #18870
Tech Elite
 
M-Technic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Palm Beach, FL
Posts: 2,562
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by reenmachine View Post
I would wager this may come from the tendency of the "fast guys" to run a really tiny, or even min, neutral width in combination with aggressive min brake. If you lift suddenly and the rx sees the tiniest amount of brake signal the ESC will go straight to the min brake value and you'll get that violent "check up". People here have been accused of brake checking.

Have you tried a larger NW, like 10?

EDIT: scratch that (perhaps) after reading newer responses.
My NW is 25, minimum brake is 0 or whatever the default for v212 is.

Quote:
Originally Posted by MikeXray View Post
I've had that happen, 10 on the push control fixed it.
I'm running 20 push. It helped but its still there. I think push only activates if you go all the way to neutral.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Randy_Pike View Post
Since the sweeper is that long I know turbo is kicking in. To verify it raise it .4 or .5
I will try it and see how it affects it. Our straight is 120-130ft., I feel that with a .5 delay I wouldn't see much if any turbo on our straight, but I know a lot of setups don't rely on turbo as much as others so I will experiment some more.
__________________
RCAmerica | Xray | Hudy | Radiopost | Speed Passion USA | Trinity | P3 Graphics
M-Technic is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tekin Redline RS Sensored ESC and motors, opinions for offroad? Cain Electric Off-Road 4230 06-07-2015 04:38 PM
Sensored vs. Sensorless lemansracer Electric On-Road 71 02-14-2009 03:19 AM
New Tekin Redline Sensored Motors are Roar Legal! Randy_Pike Electric On-Road 3 08-05-2008 02:08 AM
Tekin Redline Sensored 10.5 HUCKMAN Electric On-Road 6 07-15-2008 08:50 PM
sensored vs sensorless bprocket Rookie Zone 5 05-16-2008 09:38 AM


Tags
v203, vegas 2.0


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 10:25 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net