R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-05-2010, 09:04 AM   #18721
Tech Fanatic
 
jammincrtjames's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: GA
Posts: 969
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 20 SMOKE View Post
$74+ shipping if it is dead.

if hairy updated your esc that was working fine and he updated other esc that he got than i would say there is a problem with the version he is using.try a different 212 pc and re install it with a factory reset
Did that. Thats what I was originally thinking. I was hoping mine was not fried. I did factory reset and the re-updated with my known good install.

For me...I realize these things happen. I have never had a failure yet with any Tekins. I love mine. Thats why i threw my fried one aside and went and grabbed a new one.

Do you need to get an RA number#?
__________________
NEXUS RACING www.nexusracing.com | FANTOM RACING www.fantomracing.com
ORCA www.orcarc.com | TURTLE TRAX / www.turtletraxraceway.com
--------------------------------------------------
"If you're not first...you're last!"
jammincrtjames is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2010, 09:17 AM   #18722
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 185
Default

contact tekin first. than you get a ra number.
toptek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2010, 10:06 AM   #18723
Tech Lord
 
20 SMOKE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: HVR_ WEEKI WACHEE FL
Posts: 10,299
Trader Rating: 101 (100%+)
Default

yes you need a ra#,just pm randy that way there you can get it ready faster than calling
__________________
Jamie W
*Team Tekin*Tekno-rc*DE Racing*AKA*DDHRC*
20 SMOKE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2010, 10:09 AM   #18724
Tech Champion
 
jmackani's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Shippensburg
Posts: 5,610
Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by toptek View Post
no it is not your setup.
as your clubmembers run the same setup withoud problems, than there is something els.
do you use the same radio settings fir the throttle?

as they send you a new one. update it withe the v208 or v203.
there is something outside the speedo that causes tge problems.
as you use a speedo from someone els and the same thing happens than is it not the speedo.
open your reciever and clean it. there can be durt in it. this can cause problems for signall and speedo.
it costed me 2 lrp speedo's.
so check everything around your speedo. also your servo and wires.
there is something els than the setup or speedo.

still would i go for an other setup.
I recall reading a while ago when those lrp motors came out that they could not take the amount of timing like the other motors. I thought a lot of guys were actually cooking the motors because they tried to use their traditional timing.
jmackani is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2010, 10:20 AM   #18725
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 185
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jmackani View Post
I recall reading a while ago when those lrp motors came out that they could not take the amount of timing like the other motors. I thought a lot of guys were actually cooking the motors because they tried to use their traditional timing.
they run with a verry high gearing.
i go for lower timing and lower gearing.
toptek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2010, 10:23 AM   #18726
Tech Champion
 
jmackani's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Shippensburg
Posts: 5,610
Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)
Default

Here is the thread that I recalled it from: http://www.rctech.net/forum/electric...rning-lrp.html
jmackani is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2010, 10:34 AM   #18727
Tech Champion
 
jmackani's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Shippensburg
Posts: 5,610
Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by toptek View Post
use an other motor as you get a new speedo.
ask if tekin will test the speedo for you.
++1

You use another motor besides the lrp when you get the new speedo and see if that lasts for an entire night. I think from what has been posted, you always seem to the use the lrp first and then have problems and then go to other motors. I think the speedo is already messed up from the the lrp and the other motors are not going to change that problem.
jmackani is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2010, 10:39 AM   #18728
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 185
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jmackani View Post
Here is the thread that I recalled it from: http://www.rctech.net/forum/electric...rning-lrp.html
this was with the spx.
you can run with a high boost but than you need to gear it extream light and use a wider rpm range.
i would go for a low boost and a heavier gearing.
the motor runs better that way.
toptek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2010, 10:56 AM   #18729
Tech Elite
 
hairy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: In the Good ole' U.S.A.
Posts: 2,323
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jmackani View Post
++1

You use another motor besides the lrp when you get the new speedo and see if that lasts for an entire night. I think from what has been posted, you always seem to the use the lrp first and then have problems and then go to other motors. I think the speedo is already messed up from the the lrp and the other motors are not going to change that problem.

If it is the motor as you all seem to think then why did it run great with the same motor for two months and 6 races and when I changed to V212 it all goes bad?

20Smoke this is why I wanted to talk one on one with someone who is familiar with Tekin products, Several pages of posts and nothing firm resolved.I keep explaining the same thing over and over and gatting no where.
as far a trying a different motor I don't have another 17.5 to race with and dropping another $85.00 for testing purposes won't fly.
I have $200.00 + wrapped up in a system that from March of this year has been plaqued with problems, first off the speedo would lose top end after two minutes in to the run, and that was a speedo problem that was taken care of by a replacement, now this problem AFTER I updated to V212.

I am wasting my time here on this forum and Tekin techs aren't available to talk to me in person, as I have asked to speak with one and they have not called be back since over a week ago.
I'm tired of Tekin equipment being this way and Tried of fighting to race a toy car. I am NOW very sorry that I made this purchase. I'm locked in as I can't afford another system and this one seems to not want to work!!!!!!
__________________
MERLIN RACING
"He once ran a marathon because it was on his way"
Logic is a lost art!
You are defined in life by how you respond to defeat!
hairy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2010, 11:04 AM   #18730
Team Tekin
 
Randy_Pike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Norcal
Posts: 9,702
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to Randy_Pike
Default

Harry the guys at Tekin are always ready to talk to anyone having an issue. If you're trying to call during the weekend nobody is working.

Like I said you're more than welcome to call me so I can help you as well. I also don't work on the weekends(most of the time) 208 968 2823

You keep saying the same thing and so do we. Yes a bad motor can kill a speedo, it happens.

212 has nothing to do with this "failure." I've already suggested that since this is a 1s application you need to try using a 2s lipo to supply the esc with power.

Also unplug all other components from the receiver: servo, p/t, etc.

From the sounds of it you stil have an issue where the booster/rx pack is not supplying enough voltage for the RS to perform a motor test. I'd wager at this point it's not the motor.

We have been seeing a ton of bad rx packs, boosters,etc. It's not always the esc. IF you're group is all using "similiar" setups I'd like someone to hook up the RS's normally in a non 1s application.

I realize you're frustrated. However you haven't spoken to anyone at Tekin according to your posts. Please call me Monday.
__________________
"Things may come to those who wait, but only the things left by those who hustle." Abraham Lincoln

Tekin,Protek,A-Main Hobbies,JConcepts,Avid RC,Yokomo,MIP,SikLidz,FactoryRC, www.randypikerc.com
Randy_Pike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2010, 11:14 AM   #18731
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: In a house
Posts: 226
Default

I would send the lrp back and say that it has been blowing up escs ask them to check it for you see if you can get a report on the motor,the motor may have been on the way out before you changed and just decided to go at the point you changed over.
Or see if tekin will repair the esc then ask if you can borrow a motor of someone at your track but do not install the lrp just incase it is faulty.
Quietman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2010, 11:26 AM   #18732
Tech Elite
 
hairy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: In the Good ole' U.S.A.
Posts: 2,323
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Quietman View Post
I would send the lrp back and say that it has been blowing up escs ask them to check it for you see if you can get a report on the motor,the motor may have been on the way out before you changed and just decided to go at the point you changed over.
Or see if tekin will repair the esc then ask if you can borrow a motor of someone at your track but do not install the lrp just incase it is faulty.

The motor runs great on my other speedo that is NOT a Tekin.
__________________
MERLIN RACING
"He once ran a marathon because it was on his way"
Logic is a lost art!
You are defined in life by how you respond to defeat!
hairy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2010, 11:30 AM   #18733
Tech Elite
 
hairy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: In the Good ole' U.S.A.
Posts: 2,323
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Randy I know no one is working on the weekends i'm not that stupid. I said I called over a week ago and had to leave a message and noone has called me back.

If the motor is bad then why does it run perfectly on old LRP speedo?

this is why I am frustrated page and page of posts and I am still repeating my self.
I called you if you will remember and after a very brief conversation, at 11 am your time, you said send it back and we will replace it.

AND THIS IS A 2S APPLICATION AS I HAVE STATED BEFORE>
__________________
MERLIN RACING
"He once ran a marathon because it was on his way"
Logic is a lost art!
You are defined in life by how you respond to defeat!
hairy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2010, 11:40 AM   #18734
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 185
Default

on old speedo's motors will run that are not always ok.
this because they don't use advanced timing. in dual mode or sensorless the motor will run perfect on the tekin.

call randy. he wants to help you but than you must call him up.
toptek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2010, 11:46 AM   #18735
Tech Master
 
Xpress's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Dirt sucks!
Posts: 1,613
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Randy_Pike View Post
Harry the guys at Tekin are always ready to talk to anyone having an issue. If you're trying to call during the weekend nobody is working.

Like I said you're more than welcome to call me so I can help you as well. I also don't work on the weekends(most of the time) 208 968 2823

You keep saying the same thing and so do we. Yes a bad motor can kill a speedo, it happens.

212 has nothing to do with this "failure." I've already suggested that since this is a 1s application you need to try using a 2s lipo to supply the esc with power.

Also unplug all other components from the receiver: servo, p/t, etc.

From the sounds of it you stil have an issue where the booster/rx pack is not supplying enough voltage for the RS to perform a motor test. I'd wager at this point it's not the motor.

We have been seeing a ton of bad rx packs, boosters,etc. It's not always the esc. IF you're group is all using "similiar" setups I'd like someone to hook up the RS's normally in a non 1s application.

I realize you're frustrated. However you haven't spoken to anyone at Tekin according to your posts. Please call me Monday.
I don't think customer service gets any better than this!
__________________
"Desire is the key to motivation, but it's the determination and commitment to an unrelenting pursuit of laying it down - a commitment to excellence - that will enable you to attain the success you seek to beat ass."

-Espo
Xpress is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tekin Redline RS Sensored ESC and motors, opinions for offroad? Cain Electric Off-Road 4230 06-07-2015 04:38 PM
Sensored vs. Sensorless lemansracer Electric On-Road 71 02-14-2009 03:19 AM
New Tekin Redline Sensored Motors are Roar Legal! Randy_Pike Electric On-Road 3 08-05-2008 02:08 AM
Tekin Redline Sensored 10.5 HUCKMAN Electric On-Road 6 07-15-2008 08:50 PM
sensored vs sensorless bprocket Rookie Zone 5 05-16-2008 09:38 AM


Tags
v203, vegas 2.0


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 08:22 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net