R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-04-2010, 04:30 PM   #18676
Tech Elite
 
hairy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: In the Good ole' U.S.A.
Posts: 2,323
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Yes and they are working.as a matter fo fact the leds all light up when the throttle is pulled and the motor won't turn over.
__________________
MERLIN RACING
"He once ran a marathon because it was on his way"
Logic is a lost art!
You are defined in life by how you respond to defeat!
hairy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2010, 04:33 PM   #18677
Regional Moderator
 
CarbonJoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 2,661
Default

Here are my 17.5 X-12 settings 40x90 foot carpet track
Motor comes off around 195 degrees, which is where the X-12 seems to like to run.
Car is stupid fast, almost like a 10.5 down the straight.

17.5 Foam
V2.03
LRP X-12 -4 dot insert
Gearing 35/110 5.34 FDR
Drag Brake off
Reverse Strength off
Brake Strength 85
Neutral Width 10
Motor Type BL-FW
Throttle Profile 5
Voltage Cutoff off
Push Control off
Timing Boost 45
Turbo 10
Sensored checked
Turbo Delay 0.0
Turbo Ramp 3.0
Start RPM 2721
End RPM 10001
Tire size 2.26in/57.5mm
Rollout 1.33in/33.81mm
__________________
*** The Gate - Celebrating 8 years at the same location ***
The difference between genius and stupidity is that genius has its limits. - Albert Einstein
Understeer is when you hit the wall with the front of the car and oversteer is when you hit the wall with the rear of the car
CarbonJoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2010, 04:34 PM   #18678
Team Tekin
 
Randy_Pike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Norcal
Posts: 9,702
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to Randy_Pike
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hairy View Post
Yes and they are working.as a matter fo fact the leds all light up when the throttle is pulled and the motor won't turn over.


Ok, this sounds like the unit hasn't armed yet. Please set your NW setting to 56 or higher. Then see if the unit powers up properly.

What transmitter/receiver are you using?
__________________
"Things may come to those who wait, but only the things left by those who hustle." Abraham Lincoln

Tekin,Protek,A-Main Hobbies,JConcepts,Avid RC,Yokomo,MIP,SikLidz,FactoryRC, www.randypikerc.com
Randy_Pike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2010, 04:37 PM   #18679
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Denmark
Posts: 562
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hairy View Post
My settings are as follows
FDR 7.53

Carpet track with good traction and a straight of approx 80ft.
V212
boost 51
turbo 10
Timing 80
Start rpm 4278
End rpm 10000
turbo delay.1
Turbo ramp 2
Cut off 2s
sensored mode
motor direction normal
throttle profile 4
current limit 98
drag brake off
brake strength 100
Reverse speed off
nuetral width 8
push control 20
throttle min and brake min at default setting
It probably won't help (as it does sound like some sensor problem in the motor), but an FDR of 7.53 with a 17.5T does sound extreme. I race at a fairly small track (compared to those big ETS, Snowbirds and such tracks), and I use a FDR of 5.7. AFAIK 5.5-6.5 is the norm with a 17.5T
__________________
Niklas Hansen
Team TCHobby / Team Upgrade-RC
Tamiya TRF417 / Speed Passion GT2.0 / Speed Passion V3 motors.
Nilks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2010, 04:38 PM   #18680
Tech Elite
 
hairy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: In the Good ole' U.S.A.
Posts: 2,323
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Randy_Pike View Post
Ok, this sounds like the unit hasn't armed yet. Please set your NW setting to 56 or higher. Then see if the unit powers up properly.

What transmitter/receiver are you using?

What is the NW setting?
This happens after I have run the car two or three times and go back to the pit to let it cool off change battery and then it happens.The battery is the same on it ran it's first run with without any rpoblems.

Futaba 3PK super and an r603ff receiver.
__________________
MERLIN RACING
"He once ran a marathon because it was on his way"
Logic is a lost art!
You are defined in life by how you respond to defeat!
hairy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2010, 04:38 PM   #18681
Tech Elite
 
hairy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: In the Good ole' U.S.A.
Posts: 2,323
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

sorry i'm slow Neutral width DUH!
__________________
MERLIN RACING
"He once ran a marathon because it was on his way"
Logic is a lost art!
You are defined in life by how you respond to defeat!
hairy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2010, 04:45 PM   #18682
Tech Elite
 
hairy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: In the Good ole' U.S.A.
Posts: 2,323
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nilks View Post
It probably won't help (as it does sound like some sensor problem in the motor), but an FDR of 7.53 with a 17.5T does sound extreme. I race at a fairly small track (compared to those big ETS, Snowbirds and such tracks), and I use a FDR of 5.7. AFAIK 5.5-6.5 is the norm with a 17.5T
I'm running basically the same fdr as the other running a R\S and they arn't having the problem I am. Randy I tried reseting everything and the problem still exists. I also have tried other motors and the problem still exists, so I can't see it being the sensor board in the motor.
__________________
MERLIN RACING
"He once ran a marathon because it was on his way"
Logic is a lost art!
You are defined in life by how you respond to defeat!
hairy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2010, 04:48 PM   #18683
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 185
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nilks View Post
It probably won't help (as it does sound like some sensor problem in the motor), but an FDR of 7.53 with a 17.5T does sound extreme. I race at a fairly small track (compared to those big ETS, Snowbirds and such tracks), and I use a FDR of 5.7. AFAIK 5.5-6.5 is the norm with a 17.5T
I run with a 13,5 that fdr.
he uses to much boost. 40 to 45 is more than enough.
gearing a bit heavier is better.

as you turn the motor by hand' light there any leds on your speedo?
toptek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2010, 04:49 PM   #18684
Tech Elite
 
hairy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: In the Good ole' U.S.A.
Posts: 2,323
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

yes they light up, I have tried several other motors and the they are all the same.
__________________
MERLIN RACING
"He once ran a marathon because it was on his way"
Logic is a lost art!
You are defined in life by how you respond to defeat!
hairy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2010, 04:50 PM   #18685
Tech Elite
 
hairy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: In the Good ole' U.S.A.
Posts: 2,323
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Are my settings able to burn out the speed controller?
__________________
MERLIN RACING
"He once ran a marathon because it was on his way"
Logic is a lost art!
You are defined in life by how you respond to defeat!
hairy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2010, 04:56 PM   #18686
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Denmark
Posts: 562
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hairy View Post
Are my settings able to burn out the speed controller?
It shouldn't. I use more extreme settings (aside from the FDR) and mine holds up fine.
__________________
Niklas Hansen
Team TCHobby / Team Upgrade-RC
Tamiya TRF417 / Speed Passion GT2.0 / Speed Passion V3 motors.
Nilks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2010, 05:00 PM   #18687
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 185
Default

burn out your motor yes speedo i don't tink so.
clean the connections from your sensor wire on your speedo and motor.
check them well. durt can cause problems.
toptek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2010, 05:23 PM   #18688
Tech Elite
 
hairy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: In the Good ole' U.S.A.
Posts: 2,323
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

O.k let me say this.... as far as the motor being the problem, I just put a brand new out of the box speedo in the car this week from where Tekin replaced the last one(because it was doing the same thing). Same motor as before new speedo to the track this a.m.
After three runs of six minutes and a break between each as if in a race situation,every thing is fine. go out for a fourth run and the problem comes back, Something happened to the speed controler. If it's not my settings and it sure isn't the motor(because it is doing it with two other motors, that run fine in someone elses car after I tested it), then what is going on?
__________________
MERLIN RACING
"He once ran a marathon because it was on his way"
Logic is a lost art!
You are defined in life by how you respond to defeat!
hairy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2010, 05:28 PM   #18689
Tech Elite
 
hairy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: In the Good ole' U.S.A.
Posts: 2,323
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

I guess I'll just send it in( again) and wait for a replacement don't have much choice I am not having fun this way.
__________________
MERLIN RACING
"He once ran a marathon because it was on his way"
Logic is a lost art!
You are defined in life by how you respond to defeat!

Last edited by hairy; 12-04-2010 at 06:53 PM.
hairy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2010, 05:55 PM   #18690
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 185
Default

use an other motor as you get a new speedo.
ask if tekin will test the speedo for you.
toptek is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tekin Redline RS Sensored ESC and motors, opinions for offroad? Cain Electric Off-Road 4230 06-07-2015 04:38 PM
Sensored vs. Sensorless lemansracer Electric On-Road 71 02-14-2009 03:19 AM
New Tekin Redline Sensored Motors are Roar Legal! Randy_Pike Electric On-Road 3 08-05-2008 02:08 AM
Tekin Redline Sensored 10.5 HUCKMAN Electric On-Road 6 07-15-2008 08:50 PM
sensored vs sensorless bprocket Rookie Zone 5 05-16-2008 09:38 AM


Tags
v203, vegas 2.0


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 01:51 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net