Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
Tekin RS ESC sensored >

Tekin RS ESC sensored

Tekin RS ESC sensored

Reply

Old 11-30-2010, 11:20 PM
  #18601  
Tech Regular
 
djiewie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 452
Default

could be your right. The 212 has no 208 in it because the 208 was not excepted with the 0-timing setup. So in 0-timing stock now with 212 it is excepted i believe. Maybe in 208 there was still a bit of timing left.

Greetz JW
djiewie is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2010, 11:30 PM
  #18602  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (141)
 
hacker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Vic, Australia
Posts: 3,137
Trader Rating: 141 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by energydrink View Post
Hi I downloaded the 212 software with my tekin 17.5 and it seems slower than when I last ran my car with the 208 software . All my settings are the same since the last time I ran in spec mode . Can anyone help me ? Thanks .
thought I was going crazy, glad someone else is finding the same problem.

definately doesnt have that 203 scream down the straight anymore
hacker is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2010, 11:32 PM
  #18603  
Tech Apprentice
 
energydrink's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 86
Default

What do you mean accepted and not accepted ? i thought both had 0 timing ?
energydrink is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2010, 11:33 PM
  #18604  
Tech Apprentice
 
energydrink's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 86
Default

Originally Posted by hacker View Post
thought I was going crazy, glad someone else is finding the same problem.

definately doesnt have that 203 scream down the straight anymore
Do you mean 208 ?
energydrink is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2010, 11:52 PM
  #18605  
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 185
Default

after updating. dit you reset the speedo and recalibrated your radio?
toptek is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2010, 12:02 AM
  #18606  
Tech Apprentice
 
energydrink's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 86
Default

Of course .
energydrink is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2010, 12:39 AM
  #18607  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (141)
 
hacker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Vic, Australia
Posts: 3,137
Trader Rating: 141 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by energydrink View Post
Do you mean 208 ?
No I used 203 say 8 months ago, then went elsewhere. Came back just recently to 212, doesnt have the same top end, in my opinion.
hacker is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2010, 05:44 AM
  #18608  
Tech Lord
iTrader: (102)
 
20 SMOKE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: HVR_ WEEKI WACHEE FL
Posts: 10,366
Trader Rating: 102 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by energydrink View Post
What do you mean accepted and not accepted ? i thought both had 0 timing ?
there was no timing in 208 spec mode
20 SMOKE is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2010, 06:26 AM
  #18609  
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Rapid City
Posts: 61
Default WGT setup

Our club is starting to run a WGT class, We have a temporary track so the traction is inconsistent, occasionally it will be left laid out for two or three weeks. We decided as a group to go 17.5 turn no timing so the other guys could use GTB's and all of our other classes have switched to superstock so everyone had 17.5's laying around. My question is how much different should the setup be for this compared to 1/12 scale 17.5 setup? Obviously the weight would affect the setup so any pointers on rollout would be appreciated. Our track is 36' x 75' low to medium traction.

Thanks in advance.
slsspark is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2010, 06:45 AM
  #18610  
Tech Master
iTrader: (4)
 
Dog Bone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 1,411
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by 20 SMOKE View Post
there was no timing in 208 spec mode
Wasn't there a small amount of 'fixed' timing added by the ESC, even in spec mode? I thought this was why 212 was created and subsequently approved by Roar for spec racing - so there was a true 'zero-timing mode'.

This would explain why 212 is 'slower' than 208.

Dog Bone is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2010, 07:45 AM
  #18611  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (15)
 
M-Technic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Palm Beach, FL
Posts: 2,562
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Dog Bone View Post
Wasn't there a small amount of 'fixed' timing added by the ESC, even in spec mode? I thought this was why 212 was created and subsequently approved by Roar for spec racing - so there was a true 'zero-timing mode'.

This would explain why 212 is 'slower' than 208.

That is just some people's speculation. It has never been proven.
M-Technic is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2010, 08:27 AM
  #18612  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (23)
 
L.Fairtrace's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Beyond the Wall
Posts: 3,780
Trader Rating: 23 (100%+)
Default

I ran 212 in my TC all weekend and the champs and had one of the fastest cars in Super Stock.

I changed from 203 to 212 for the 12th scale main and I thought it was much better. I could of used a little more gear but my car seemed to have more punch in the main than it did with 203 in qualifiying.
L.Fairtrace is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2010, 08:46 AM
  #18613  
Tech Lord
iTrader: (102)
 
20 SMOKE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: HVR_ WEEKI WACHEE FL
Posts: 10,366
Trader Rating: 102 (100%+)
Default

Larry can you post you setup with tire size and track size if you don't mind
20 SMOKE is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2010, 08:46 AM
  #18614  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (9)
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 711
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

I am looking for a good starting setup for a 1/12th scale 17.5 with timing for a duo 3. I run on 2 tracks one with a 75' straight and the other around 100. I do have a single cell rotor or some bs like that if that makes a difference in setup.

A starting point with places you would change from track to track would be great too...

Any help would be appreciated I am fairly new to making changes in my hotwire
gguertin145 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2010, 02:26 PM
  #18615  
Team Tekin
iTrader: (6)
 
Randy_Pike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Norcal
Posts: 9,822
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Andrew Knaaps Tq and winning US Indoor Champs Setup:
Attached Thumbnails Tekin RS ESC sensored-andrew-knaap-us-indoor-champs-1-12-17.5.png  
Randy_Pike is offline  
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service