R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 11-27-2010, 01:46 PM   #18481
Tech Regular
 
guinnes.s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 341
Default

I want to setup a Dx3r radio with the tekin rs,anything I should do to make sure I'm doing it right?
guinnes.s is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2010, 02:11 PM   #18482
Tech Fanatic
 
BCbud's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Victoria BC Canada
Posts: 758
Trader Rating: 37 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by guinnes.s View Post
I want to setup a Dx3r radio with the tekin rs,anything I should do to make sure I'm doing it right?

Start with reading the instructions.
__________________
Xray NT1 - Xray T4 2013 TC - Xray T4 2013 VTA - CRCgenX10 - CRCgenX - CRCgenXi - Slash 4X4 with LCG conversion -Associated RC8Be - Xray XB4 - DX3R PRO
Recycled teenager.
www.irocc.ca ; www.corvictoria.com ; http://www.wcics.ca/
I will not send Pay Pal as a gift or add fees to the price so DO NOT ASK!
BCbud is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2010, 02:23 PM   #18483
Tech Regular
 
guinnes.s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 341
Default

I may refrase my question,so maybe we don't waste precious electronic papers with sily answers.
As i read on some tx after the setup to get the most of it you need to increase the throttle from 100% to 110% or more,so wondering if this is the case on the DX3R. Hope Im clear this time,lol
guinnes.s is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2010, 02:27 PM   #18484
Tech Fanatic
 
BCbud's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Victoria BC Canada
Posts: 758
Trader Rating: 37 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by guinnes.s View Post
I may refrase my question,so maybe we don't waste precious electronic papers with sily answers.
As i read on some tx after the setup to get the most of it you need to increase the throttle from 100% to 110% or more,so wondering if this is the case on the DX3R. Hope Im clear this time,lol

Try it without doing that at first. If you find that you loose turbo or turbo dosn't work then do that.
__________________
Xray NT1 - Xray T4 2013 TC - Xray T4 2013 VTA - CRCgenX10 - CRCgenX - CRCgenXi - Slash 4X4 with LCG conversion -Associated RC8Be - Xray XB4 - DX3R PRO
Recycled teenager.
www.irocc.ca ; www.corvictoria.com ; http://www.wcics.ca/
I will not send Pay Pal as a gift or add fees to the price so DO NOT ASK!
BCbud is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2010, 03:08 PM   #18485
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Christchurch, NZ
Posts: 1,063
Default

Also, depending on the radio, you often have to reverse the ESC channel on the radio to get it to work. I know it's the case with my Futaba, but can't remember with Spektrum
__________________
Agama A8 Evo | GRP .21 | Spektrum | Savox

My car just hit 88mph. I hope it comes back soon....
JR007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2010, 04:04 PM   #18486
Tech Master
 
Buckaroo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Norfolk, VA
Posts: 1,503
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

My Spektrum DX3.0 doesn't require anything funky to get everything to work. Just make sure your end points are at 100% and you'll be fine. Heck, even throttle direction doesn't matter, works either way.
__________________
Tom Keith

Tekin & Sweep, thanks for all that you do for you know who!

Associated/T.O.P./Mugen/Fantom/Spektrum/Savox
Buckaroo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2010, 04:11 PM   #18487
Tech Regular
 
guinnes.s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 341
Default

Do u find to be as smoth has using a tx with sticks?mine seems to have some cog at low rev .should some of the setting on the tekin solve that?
guinnes.s is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2010, 04:28 PM   #18488
Tech Master
 
HarryLeach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Hampton, VA, USA
Posts: 1,596
Send a message via AIM to HarryLeach
Default

With a DX3r, make sure endpoints are at 100, trim zero, calibrate to the RS, then bump the throttle end point to 105 for safe measure and call it a day.
__________________
Privateer racing lots of stuff.
Remember kids, racing isn't fair!
HarryLeach is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2010, 05:53 PM   #18489
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 185
Default

I have a problem. I have to much power when I drive away. My weels are spinning. I tried other tires and setups on my car but that didn't work. I also tried to lower the boost and that also didn't work. My start rpm was about 6000 and I'm using a 13,5t tekin motor timing 0 on the motor. Fdr 7.2. I didn't use the turbo because the straight is to short. With 50 timinboost I have more than enough power. Now I lose some speed by accelarating and corner out as it is a slow corner. All the other places I'm fast.

First I thought that I didn't have enough power but the drivers that were watching told me that I have weelspin. I let someone els drive with my car so i could watch what happens.

I was the only Tekin driver there between all lrp and gm drivers. So they couldn't help me.
What can i do to solve it?
toptek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2010, 05:57 PM   #18490
Tech Master
 
HarryLeach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Hampton, VA, USA
Posts: 1,596
Send a message via AIM to HarryLeach
Default

If your car setup is good everywhere else:

Lower your start RPM to around 4,000 to widen your RPM range, that should help smooth it out a bit.
__________________
Privateer racing lots of stuff.
Remember kids, racing isn't fair!
HarryLeach is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2010, 06:16 PM   #18491
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 185
Default

Thanks. I will do that. didn't think of that.
my car was one of the fastest overall 3rd time on the trac.
I lost some time in 3 corners but won comming out of the fast corners I was the fastest.
I trie it tomorrow with a lower start rpm and a bit higher end rpm. I have more than enough power on the small track.
I hope to set the fastest time tomorrow.
the top 6 were in 0,4 sec from each other in laptime and in 5 sec from eachother after 5 minits practis run.
tomorrow quali and race.
till now I won all the races the last 3 years.
I only have not the track record. it's 0,1sec bolow my personal record.
An other Tekin driver has it an because of him I changed to Tekin. his car was so fast that i couldn't bead him. he is comming also to race tomorrow.

I drove lrp and GM and now Tekin. Tekin has the most power and it feels good.
toptek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2010, 06:22 PM   #18492
Tech Lord
 
20 SMOKE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: HVR_ WEEKI WACHEE FL
Posts: 10,299
Trader Rating: 101 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by toptek View Post
I have a problem. I have to much power when I drive away. My weels are spinning. I tried other tires and setups on my car but that didn't work. I also tried to lower the boost and that also didn't work. My start rpm was about 6000 and I'm using a 13,5t tekin motor timing 0 on the motor. Fdr 7.2. I didn't use the turbo because the straight is to short. With 50 timinboost I have more than enough power. Now I lose some speed by accelarating and corner out as it is a slow corner. All the other places I'm fast.

First I thought that I didn't have enough power but the drivers that were watching told me that I have weelspin. I let someone els drive with my car so i could watch what happens.

I was the only Tekin driver there between all lrp and gm drivers. So they couldn't help me.
What can i do to solve it?
post the entire setup
__________________
Jamie W
*Team Tekin*Tekno-rc*DE Racing*AKA*DDHRC*
20 SMOKE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2010, 12:00 AM   #18493
Tech Champion
 
STLNLST's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Sacramento
Posts: 8,996
Trader Rating: 21 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by toptek View Post
I have a problem. I have to much power when I drive away. My weels are spinning. I tried other tires and setups on my car but that didn't work. I also tried to lower the boost and that also didn't work. My start rpm was about 6000 and I'm using a 13,5t tekin motor timing 0 on the motor. Fdr 7.2. I didn't use the turbo because the straight is to short. With 50 timinboost I have more than enough power. Now I lose some speed by accelarating and corner out as it is a slow corner. All the other places I'm fast.

First I thought that I didn't have enough power but the drivers that were watching told me that I have weelspin. I let someone els drive with my car so i could watch what happens.

I was the only Tekin driver there between all lrp and gm drivers. So they couldn't help me.
What can i do to solve it?
What is your end RPM and are you using 212? Without knowing your complete set up it will be hard to help you......however.....if your end RPM is at 20,000 or higher, I'd say look at your min drive settings (212) You may want to lower your settings if traction is an issue. Is it also safe to assume this is for on-road???
STLNLST is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2010, 04:47 AM   #18494
Tech Elite
 
nerdling's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Canberra
Posts: 2,849
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Hi Guys,

non ESC question... if a BL motor looses a 'phase' will it run slow and get really hot (hot enough to desolder a wire)?
__________________
--XRAY--NOSRAM--PROTOFORM--MUCHMORE--
www.teamxray.com -- www.hudy.net -- www.hobbyexpress.com.au
nerdling is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2010, 07:50 AM   #18495
Company Representative
 
ammdrew's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 10,583
Trader Rating: 25 (100%+)
Default

Yes it can. You also can get one hot enough to desolder by over gearing... Over timing, too much turbo too soon....

And you always risk the speedo when that happens... If the car slows you should stop immediately every foot or lap maybe the one that takes the speedo with the motor.
__________________
Team Tekin, Team Scream, Paint By Mike, Team Mölzer Mowery Racing, EA Motorsports, Speedmerchant, TQ Wire

MMR Direct Minneapolis World Class Indoor Race Facility.
On Road and Off Road racing year round.

www.molzermoweryracing.com
http://www.facebook.com/pages/MMR/160679913944205?__req=9

Check out You Tube mmrswracing. Every qualifier and every main uploaded at the end of every race day.
ammdrew is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tekin Redline RS Sensored ESC and motors, opinions for offroad? Cain Electric Off-Road 4230 06-07-2015 04:38 PM
Sensored vs. Sensorless lemansracer Electric On-Road 71 02-14-2009 03:19 AM
New Tekin Redline Sensored Motors are Roar Legal! Randy_Pike Electric On-Road 3 08-05-2008 02:08 AM
Tekin Redline Sensored 10.5 HUCKMAN Electric On-Road 6 07-15-2008 08:50 PM
sensored vs sensorless bprocket Rookie Zone 5 05-16-2008 09:38 AM


Tags
v203, vegas 2.0


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 09:56 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net