R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 11-24-2010, 06:44 PM   #18466
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Christchurch, NZ
Posts: 1,063
Default

That's the setting I was thinking of. I have a 3PKS and had a similar problem which that fixed. So, from the top, have you:
1. Set your throttle adjust to read correct on the radio.
2. Set the transmitter throttle to reverse
3. Re-calibrated the esc.
4. Checked you don't have "reverse motor" set on hotwire
5. Checked your sensor wire is working (3 feint lights showing on the esc when you rotate the motor)

If all that works, i'd have to say try a different motor if you can, get the same problem, send the esc in for service.
__________________
Agama A8 Evo | GRP .21 | Spektrum | Savox

My car just hit 88mph. I hope it comes back soon....
JR007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2010, 06:46 PM   #18467
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Christchurch, NZ
Posts: 1,063
Default

The last thing is to set your throttle end-point to, say, 105% and see if that helps. Your radio may not be recognising full throttle consistently
__________________
Agama A8 Evo | GRP .21 | Spektrum | Savox

My car just hit 88mph. I hope it comes back soon....
JR007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2010, 07:25 PM   #18468
Tech Elite
 
Tim Garland's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Mayfield KY
Posts: 2,892
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

Thanks for all the help. I may have expected to much from 30 deg timing, set it to 50 and it came alive. Still not sure why it acted as if it had 50 deg when I set the controller to reverse.

Thanks Again
Tim
Tim Garland is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2010, 07:09 AM   #18469
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 185
Default

I have a question about the gearing of the car when I use a 13mm rotor compared with a 12,5mm rotor.
Do I need to gear heavier? so do I need a bigger motor pinion?

I have te Tekin combo and I love it. 13,5 and 10,5t motor.
toptek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2010, 07:22 AM   #18470
Regional Moderator
 
CarbonJoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 2,661
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by toptek View Post
I have a question about the gearing of the car when I use a 13mm rotor compared with a 12,5mm rotor.
Do I need to gear heavier? so do I need a bigger motor pinion?

I have te Tekin combo and I love it. 13,5 and 10,5t motor.
Yes, bigger pinion or smaller spur. A larger rotor gives you more torque and less RPM, so for the same speed, you need to gear up.
__________________
*** The Gate - Celebrating 8 years at the same location ***
The difference between genius and stupidity is that genius has its limits. - Albert Einstein
Understeer is when you hit the wall with the front of the car and oversteer is when you hit the wall with the rear of the car
CarbonJoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2010, 08:21 AM   #18471
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 185
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CarbonJoe View Post
Yes, bigger pinion or smaller spur. A larger rotor gives you more torque and less RPM, so for the same speed, you need to gear up.
thanks. timing can stay the same?
toptek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2010, 11:40 AM   #18472
Tech Champion
 
STLNLST's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Sacramento
Posts: 9,000
Trader Rating: 21 (100%+)
Default

Certain radio's wonder more than others. My old KO helios for example. Even after doing the factor reset calibration deal the radio wouldn't hold my settings when I set everything at 100 and bumped it up to 105 or 110. The only way I was able to make it hold was to set the speedo with the radio at 90% and then bump it all the way to 140%. It might sound extreme but it worked for me and I never had an issue after that. My issue was loosing turbo for no reason at all. This solved everything. Now that I have the DX3R I don't have to go through these extremem measures.
STLNLST is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2010, 11:44 AM   #18473
Tech Champion
 
STLNLST's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Sacramento
Posts: 9,000
Trader Rating: 21 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by toptek View Post
thanks. timing can stay the same?
Yes...leave the timing the same. I did this recently in off road and tried to leave the gearing the same and played with the speedo settings but I found myself coming back to where I started and just gearing up to get the RPM's back. I'll probably go back to the 12.5 rotor. I only went to the 13mm because we ran on some super hig carpet traction type dirt....LOL We ran smoothie tires The 12.5 rotor should be all that you need but it sounds like you like testing things just like I do
STLNLST is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2010, 05:30 PM   #18474
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 185
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by STLNLST View Post
Yes...leave the timing the same. I did this recently in off road and tried to leave the gearing the same and played with the speedo settings but I found myself coming back to where I started and just gearing up to get the RPM's back. I'll probably go back to the 12.5 rotor. I only went to the 13mm because we ran on some super hig carpet traction type dirt....LOL We ran smoothie tires The 12.5 rotor should be all that you need but it sounds like you like testing things just like I do
thanks. yes I like testing. for the races you arn't allowed to use the 13mm rotor.
I used the 10,5t first but it was spinning his weels.
now I test with the 13,5t. stil one of the fastest cars on the track.

I will play withe the gearing to see wath happens.
I drive this saturday on a small indoor track.
toptek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2010, 11:57 PM   #18475
Tech Champion
 
STLNLST's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Sacramento
Posts: 9,000
Trader Rating: 21 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by toptek View Post
thanks. yes I like testing. for the races you arn't allowed to use the 13mm rotor.
I used the 10,5t first but it was spinning his weels.
now I test with the 13,5t. stil one of the fastest cars on the track.

I will play withe the gearing to see wath happens.
I drive this saturday on a small indoor track.
I'll go down stairs tomorrow and look at my hotwire settings and post them for you They will be for 2wd buggy running a 13.5 with the 13mm rotor. The only reason I really put the 13mm rotor in the can is because they consider the 13,5 and 10,5 mod motors and the 13mm rotor was allowed in mod motors before.
STLNLST is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2010, 01:31 AM   #18476
Tech Regular
 
darrenoakley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Dorset UK
Posts: 266
Default

Does anyone know if I put my throttle and brake minimum back to 0 would it be the same as 208. I had a great setup on 208 1s but can't get it to feel the same with 212. Work great in my touring car though.
__________________
Xray x11
Xray T3 011
darrenoakley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2010, 02:18 AM   #18477
Tech Regular
 
Team Pink's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 456
Trader Rating: 20 (100%+)
Default

[QUOTE=darrenoakley;8261175]Does anyone know if I put my throttle and brake minimum back to 0 would it be the same as 208. I had a great setup on 208 1s but can't get it to feel the same with 212. Work great in my touring car though.[/

Im pretty sure it would be the same if you did that.
__________________
Team Losi Racing/ Spektrum/ Horizon Hobby/ JConcepts/ Hobby Star/ Schelle Racing
Team Pink is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2010, 11:03 AM   #18478
Team Tekin
 
Randy_Pike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Norcal
Posts: 9,702
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to Randy_Pike
Default

Yes putting both min brake and min throttle to 0 will mimic 208's feel.
__________________
"Things may come to those who wait, but only the things left by those who hustle." Abraham Lincoln

Tekin,Protek,A-Main Hobbies,JConcepts,Avid RC,Yokomo,MIP,SikLidz,FactoryRC, www.randypikerc.com
Randy_Pike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2010, 01:36 PM   #18479
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Virginia
Posts: 937
Trader Rating: 21 (100%+)
Default

just noticed my compacitor for my Rs has a broken leg. Is there one I can pick up at radioshack to make it work?
VA_Racer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2010, 12:25 PM   #18480
Team Tekin
 
Randy_Pike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Norcal
Posts: 9,702
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to Randy_Pike
Default

in a pinch a 16v 1000uf cap will work. Get the TT3520 cap though when you can.
__________________
"Things may come to those who wait, but only the things left by those who hustle." Abraham Lincoln

Tekin,Protek,A-Main Hobbies,JConcepts,Avid RC,Yokomo,MIP,SikLidz,FactoryRC, www.randypikerc.com
Randy_Pike is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tekin Redline RS Sensored ESC and motors, opinions for offroad? Cain Electric Off-Road 4230 06-07-2015 04:38 PM
Sensored vs. Sensorless lemansracer Electric On-Road 71 02-14-2009 03:19 AM
New Tekin Redline Sensored Motors are Roar Legal! Randy_Pike Electric On-Road 3 08-05-2008 02:08 AM
Tekin Redline Sensored 10.5 HUCKMAN Electric On-Road 6 07-15-2008 08:50 PM
sensored vs sensorless bprocket Rookie Zone 5 05-16-2008 09:38 AM


Tags
v203, vegas 2.0


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 10:22 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net