R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 11-24-2010, 06:06 AM   #18451
Tech Regular
 
TrevCoult's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Worksop, Nottinghamshire, UK
Posts: 355
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CarbonJoe View Post
Did he try any of the canned timing profiles, or does it only happen on C1 and C2?
Did you try the firmware downgrade/re-upgrade? Does it happen with 203 or 208?
Chris, good suggestion from CarbonJoe. I couldn't try the downgrade/upgrade at the national, only had 212 with me.

Trev
__________________
Schumacher Atom GT12
Schumacher Eclipse 12th
www.carsrcracing.co.uk
CARSrcracing.co.uk Webmaster
Schumacher Racing
TrevCoult is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2010, 06:46 AM   #18452
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 596
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by idbdoug View Post
After loading v212 onto speedo, did you recalibrate your speedo by doing the neutral-full throttle-full brake calibration.
idbdoug
Yes, recalibrated before the weekend and on the day again, just in case

Quote:
Originally Posted by CarbonJoe View Post
Did he try any of the canned timing profiles, or does it only happen on C1 and C2?
Did you try the firmware downgrade/re-upgrade? Does it happen with 203 or 208?
Haven't tried any other profiles, it's set to C2/C1
Haven't tried downgrading, but have reflashed it to 212, no change.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Smartypants View Post
Does it do the same when connected to a 2s lipo?
Don't use a 2s lipo on it, will give it a go though
__________________
CPD Racing
chris_dono is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2010, 07:05 AM   #18453
Regional Moderator
 
CarbonJoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 2,661
Default

Sometimes there appears to be a "bad" setting that only gets cleared/fixed by a downgrade/upgrade cycle.

If one of the canned timing profiles work, then that would show that the hardware is physically OK.
__________________
*** The Gate - Celebrating 8 years at the same location ***
The difference between genius and stupidity is that genius has its limits. - Albert Einstein
Understeer is when you hit the wall with the front of the car and oversteer is when you hit the wall with the rear of the car
CarbonJoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2010, 12:03 PM   #18454
Team Tekin
 
Randy_Pike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Norcal
Posts: 9,702
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to Randy_Pike
Default

If there is turbo than the sensors are working.

This sounds like a possible radio issue at some point. Also make sure his setup is correct. I agree that using a preset profile like Timing Profile 5 would let you know if was user error inputing the setup.

If this is 1s setup he also must select 1s on the VC setting to get realistic start/end rpms from the preset profiles.
__________________
"Things may come to those who wait, but only the things left by those who hustle." Abraham Lincoln

Tekin,Protek,A-Main Hobbies,JConcepts,Avid RC,Yokomo,MIP,SikLidz,FactoryRC, www.randypikerc.com
Randy_Pike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2010, 12:50 PM   #18455
Team EAM
 
EAMotorsports's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Murfreesboro, TN
Posts: 9,158
Trader Rating: 79 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to EAMotorsports
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cwoods34 View Post
Ok, seeking advice for 17.5 open TC.........

Novak SS w/max timing (don't know specific number)
Boost 48
RPM 1,500 to 10,000
FDR 5.4
Some turbo thrown in

I was first running around a 6.3 FDR when I started this setup (borrowed from a friend) and it ran horrible while coming off under 100* F. I just threw 4 teeth at it to a 5.4 (currently on the car) and it picked up a considerable amount of speed and a temp of around 155 from what I can remember.

What can I do to give this setup more bottom end? It just doesn't have as much rip as I'd like, but it has nice top end (would be great on a large asphalt track).

Although it seemed to run slower at 6.3 with this setup, would it help to shorten the RPM range a bit and work my way back up into the 6's?.... or take motor timing back off and try another tooth or so?

I've never ran an SS with 212, but some of the other fast guys did and seemed to have great luck with it, so I know it has potential. Thanks Tekin
Here is the setup I run with a Duo based motor in 17.5 open. Its fast and doesnt get supper hot.

FDR 6.4
Timing slightly under max (about same as full on novak SS motor)
Boost 50
RPM 3500-12500
Turbo 10-12 depending on length of track
ramp 2.0
delay .15 (important for heat and feel of turbo)
Min throttle 10


EA
__________________
Contact Us
Team EAM, Our Facebook
Team EAM | Xray | RCAmerica | Hudy | APEX Raceway and Hobbies | RC Mission | Killer Concepts | AVID | Hobbywing.
EAMotorsports is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2010, 03:08 PM   #18456
Tech Master
 
cwoods34's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Indy-freakin'-ana
Posts: 1,156
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

Ok, I'll have to try that setup out. I had a Putnam Duo 2 thrown in but did not get enough time to find a good setup, so I stole a friend's that was already fast. Chances are I won't need turbo at the next race so temps should be fine. Thanks!
__________________
Stop holding bitterness deep in your bum soul.
cwoods34 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2010, 03:11 PM   #18457
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 596
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Randy_Pike View Post
If there is turbo than the sensors are working.

This sounds like a possible radio issue at some point. Also make sure his setup is correct. I agree that using a preset profile like Timing Profile 5 would let you know if was user error inputing the setup.

If this is 1s setup he also must select 1s on the VC setting to get realistic start/end rpms from the preset profiles.
we had throttle profile 4 selected
start rpms: 800, 2k, 4k (tried three different setups)
end rpms: 10k

boost: 40-max
turbo: 12-15

I'll try a timing profile first, if that doesn't do it, I'll post it.
__________________
CPD Racing
chris_dono is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2010, 03:26 PM   #18458
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: La Mirada, CA
Posts: 1,041
Trader Rating: 31 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by chris_dono View Post
we had throttle profile 4 selected
start rpms: 800, 2k, 4k (tried three different setups)
end rpms: 10k

boost: 40-max
turbo: 12-15

I'll try a timing profile first, if that doesn't do it, I'll post it.

Any chance you're running a Futaba 3PK w/ Fasst module? I swear this is how my car feels as well.
ittjv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2010, 03:48 PM   #18459
Tech Elite
 
Tim Garland's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Mayfield KY
Posts: 2,892
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

Iíve search but canít find the answer and hope to get some help. Iím running a 3PK and can not get any boost. I have to set the throttle to reverse for calibration. After setting up the controller and calibrating the radio, I can then hook back up to the hotwire and reverse the throttle on the speedo. I then have full boost but motor is running backwards. Not sure if the A, B, and C phase could be swapped to get full power but forwards. Any help will be greatly appreciated.
Tim Garland is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2010, 03:53 PM   #18460
Team EAM
 
EAMotorsports's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Murfreesboro, TN
Posts: 9,158
Trader Rating: 79 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to EAMotorsports
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tim Garland View Post
Iíve search but canít find the answer and hope to get some help. Iím running a 3PK and can not get any boost. I have to set the throttle to reverse for calibration. After setting up the controller and calibrating the radio, I can then hook back up to the hotwire and reverse the throttle on the speedo. I then have full boost but motor is running backwards. Not sure if the A, B, and C phase could be swapped to get full power but forwards. Any help will be greatly appreciated.
You should not have to reverse the settings in the Hotwire. Something else some guys with wandering high speed pots on the radios have to do is after setting everything bump the throttle endpoint to 110% instead of 100. That has taken care of a few peoples issues.
__________________
Contact Us
Team EAM, Our Facebook
Team EAM | Xray | RCAmerica | Hudy | APEX Raceway and Hobbies | RC Mission | Killer Concepts | AVID | Hobbywing.
EAMotorsports is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2010, 04:02 PM   #18461
Tech Master
 
goBezerk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: KRCORCC, VIC, AUS
Posts: 1,637
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Send a message via Skype™ to goBezerk
Default

Thanks to everybody for their suggestions regarding the rapid slowing when rolling off throttle. Out of everything I tried the answer was add more teeth to the pinion, made a massive difference I just adjusted the rpm ends to suit the new gearing and it's still a rocket and managed to drop off some boost to compensate for any extra heat and leave the turbo alone.

Now fingers crossed that the rain will go away for the weekend
__________________
► Paul Sims - KRCORCC - BRCCC - TFTR
► R/C racin', 1 percent car, 99 percent driver ©
► BEZERK RC on Facebook, PayPal accepted
► PROLINE - TEAM AE - GFORCE - R/C Race Supplies
goBezerk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2010, 04:03 PM   #18462
Team Tekin
 
Randy_Pike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Norcal
Posts: 9,702
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to Randy_Pike
Default

EA is right you're dialing yourself right out of it.

Simply reverse the throttle channel and calibrate the radio, done leave it.

If you reverse the rotation of the motor the car should be going backwards. I'm not sure why you'd want to do this?
__________________
"Things may come to those who wait, but only the things left by those who hustle." Abraham Lincoln

Tekin,Protek,A-Main Hobbies,JConcepts,Avid RC,Yokomo,MIP,SikLidz,FactoryRC, www.randypikerc.com
Randy_Pike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2010, 04:03 PM   #18463
Tech Elite
 
Tim Garland's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Mayfield KY
Posts: 2,892
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

Thanks, I tried that as well. The system does work properly when reversing the throttle on my radio, forward is forward, but when I reverse the motor in hotwire the rpm’s increase by 50+% only now the motor is running in reverse. Running Novac motor SS.
Tim Garland is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2010, 05:06 PM   #18464
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Christchurch, NZ
Posts: 1,063
Default

It will be your Neutral Setting Adjustment on the radio.
After a while, the neutral drifts on the radio, and you need to reset it using this feature.
Look it up in the manual, I had to do it recently.
__________________
Agama A8 Evo | GRP .21 | Spektrum | Savox

My car just hit 88mph. I hope it comes back soon....
JR007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2010, 05:14 PM   #18465
Tech Elite
 
Tim Garland's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Mayfield KY
Posts: 2,892
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JR007 View Post
It will be your Neutral Setting Adjustment on the radio.
After a while, the neutral drifts on the radio, and you need to reset it using this feature.
Look it up in the manual, I had to do it recently.
Not sure which setting your talking about. I have reset the throttle using the adjust setting. Even went from 70/30 to 50/50 thinking that might help.
Tim Garland is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tekin Redline RS Sensored ESC and motors, opinions for offroad? Cain Electric Off-Road 4230 06-07-2015 04:38 PM
Sensored vs. Sensorless lemansracer Electric On-Road 71 02-14-2009 03:19 AM
New Tekin Redline Sensored Motors are Roar Legal! Randy_Pike Electric On-Road 3 08-05-2008 02:08 AM
Tekin Redline Sensored 10.5 HUCKMAN Electric On-Road 6 07-15-2008 08:50 PM
sensored vs sensorless bprocket Rookie Zone 5 05-16-2008 09:38 AM


Tags
v203, vegas 2.0


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 12:41 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net