R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 11-12-2010, 09:24 PM   #18301
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Covington, La.
Posts: 3,587
Trader Rating: 50 (98%+)
Send a message via AIM to micrors4guy
Default

what profile do i need to put my rs on for no no boost operation? Have a 12th scale series starting tomorrow and they are now starting to toy with the idea of running it non boosted.
micrors4guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2010, 09:27 PM   #18302
Tech Master
 
HarryLeach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Hampton, VA, USA
Posts: 1,596
Send a message via AIM to HarryLeach
Default

Profile 1
__________________
Privateer racing lots of stuff.
Remember kids, racing isn't fair!
HarryLeach is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2010, 09:32 PM   #18303
Regional Moderator
 
CarbonJoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 2,661
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by micrors4guy View Post
what profile do i need to put my rs on for no no boost operation? Have a 12th scale series starting tomorrow and they are now starting to toy with the idea of running it non boosted.
Quote:
Originally Posted by HarryLeach View Post
Profile 1
Timing profile 1 (not throttle profile 1).
__________________
*** The Gate - Celebrating 8 years at the same location ***
The difference between genius and stupidity is that genius has its limits. - Albert Einstein
Understeer is when you hit the wall with the front of the car and oversteer is when you hit the wall with the rear of the car
CarbonJoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2010, 09:33 PM   #18304
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Covington, La.
Posts: 3,587
Trader Rating: 50 (98%+)
Send a message via AIM to micrors4guy
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CarbonJoe View Post
Timing profile 1 (not throttle profile 1).
thanks.
micrors4guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2010, 11:11 AM   #18305
Tech Champion
 
jmackani's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Shippensburg
Posts: 5,611
Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CarbonJoe View Post
Surprisingly, no. A Novak Sentry data logger showed that my 17.5 Duo1 was hitting between 29,000 - 32,500 RPM on a track with a 90 foot straight. That was with a FDR of 6.56 and an end RPM of 18,000. Sounds like a 10.5 down the straight.

Depending on gearing, you could hit that RPM.
Take out all the timing boost/turbo though and you will see that you will never get to those rpm levels. The only way you could do that is through mechanical timing and they applying the software timing.
jmackani is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2010, 02:13 PM   #18306
Tech Elite
 
hairy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: In the Good ole' U.S.A.
Posts: 2,323
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default HELP!

My speedo has a problem......When i pull the trigger it will not take off, you can hear it making a noise and the led's light up ,but will not take off.
I can spin the gear and it will run as long as the gear is turning everything is fine.
I have tried three other motors and different sensor cables to no effect. I have un soldered and resoldered the wires from the battery to the speedo and from the speedo to the motor,no change!
Does any one know what is wrong!
It came off the track from an eventless run and when I went back out this happened.
__________________
MERLIN RACING
"He once ran a marathon because it was on his way"
Logic is a lost art!
You are defined in life by how you respond to defeat!
hairy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2010, 02:38 PM   #18307
Team Tekin
 
Randy_Pike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Norcal
Posts: 9,702
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to Randy_Pike
Default

1s or 2s Hairy?
__________________
"Things may come to those who wait, but only the things left by those who hustle." Abraham Lincoln

Tekin,Protek,A-Main Hobbies,JConcepts,Avid RC,Yokomo,MIP,SikLidz,FactoryRC, www.randypikerc.com
Randy_Pike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2010, 03:04 PM   #18308
Tech Elite
 
hairy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: In the Good ole' U.S.A.
Posts: 2,323
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

2s
__________________
MERLIN RACING
"He once ran a marathon because it was on his way"
Logic is a lost art!
You are defined in life by how you respond to defeat!
hairy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2010, 05:11 PM   #18309
Tech Addict
 
rcko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Somewhere In Time
Posts: 611
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

Hairy, i had mine act up like this as well. It was weird... I did the factory reset. No joy. Couldnt even calibrate. Then I had to reset the EPAs on my transmitter. I set the throttle to 135. max is 140 and brake to 115. The after calibration I set throttle to 140.

The guy behind me last wknd at Nexus had his act up as well. They tried all sort of stuff but no joy with anything. It was almost as if it was burnt.

DUde, hope you get it running. The speedo has been a blessing for me since I am able to really tweak the power band of the car now.
rcko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2010, 05:15 PM   #18310
Tech Elite
 
hairy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: In the Good ole' U.S.A.
Posts: 2,323
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

I have tried resetting everything no joy!
This speedo is great WHEN it works...but right now I'm sorry I spent the money.
__________________
MERLIN RACING
"He once ran a marathon because it was on his way"
Logic is a lost art!
You are defined in life by how you respond to defeat!
hairy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2010, 05:16 PM   #18311
Tech Elite
 
hairy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: In the Good ole' U.S.A.
Posts: 2,323
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rcko View Post
Hairy, i had mine act up like this as well. It was weird... I did the factory reset. No joy. Couldnt even calibrate. Then I had to reset the EPAs on my transmitter. I set the throttle to 135. max is 140 and brake to 115. The after calibration I set throttle to 140.

The guy behind me last wknd at Nexus had his act up as well. They tried all sort of stuff but no joy with anything. It was almost as if it was burnt.

DUde, hope you get it running. The speedo has been a blessing for me since I am able to really tweak the power band of the car now.
that was r\c rpb and he was running 12th/ 1s and it was the switch
__________________
MERLIN RACING
"He once ran a marathon because it was on his way"
Logic is a lost art!
You are defined in life by how you respond to defeat!
hairy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2010, 05:24 PM   #18312
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Buford, Ga
Posts: 48
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Hairy, mine took a dump last weekend in my 12r5 at Nexus and I had to send it back to Tekin. They have it now. Mine was just 3 weeks old with 1 weekend of practice and 1 race day. Went in to the error code death of flashing 1/2 and 6/7. It would not respond to any resets or other motors. I installed a new LRP 17.5t motor fresh out of the box, my old Tekin 13.5t motor, a new sensor wire, resoldered and it was not responding. I put my LRP stock spec esc back in and checked everything out and it all works fine. Hoping that Tekin has my RS pro back this week. I sent it via USPS Priority mail on Monday and they received it on Wednesday. Randy was quick with his email and an RA #.
__________________
Big Marv
Ultramarv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2010, 06:34 PM   #18313
Tech Elite
 
hairy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: In the Good ole' U.S.A.
Posts: 2,323
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

I'm waiting for a ra# email says 3 to 4 days for a response. this will be the second time I have to send back the speedo for a problem. Not much I can do about it, looks like it will be several weeks before I can race again though.Thats just the way it goes I guess.
__________________
MERLIN RACING
"He once ran a marathon because it was on his way"
Logic is a lost art!
You are defined in life by how you respond to defeat!
hairy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2010, 06:36 PM   #18314
Tech Lord
 
20 SMOKE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: HVR_ WEEKI WACHEE FL
Posts: 10,299
Trader Rating: 101 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hairy View Post
I'm waiting for a ra# email says 3 to 4 days for a response. this will be the second time I have to send back the speedo for a problem. Not much I can do about it, looks like it will be several weeks before I can race again though.Thats just the way it goes I guess.
you can get one from randy
__________________
Jamie W
*Team Tekin*Tekno-rc*DE Racing*AKA*DDHRC*
20 SMOKE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2010, 05:41 AM   #18315
Tech Elite
 
hairy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: In the Good ole' U.S.A.
Posts: 2,323
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 20 SMOKE View Post
you can get one from randy
That would be great as I am very frustrated with Tekin speedo's right now. I just went to my computer to reload v212 and now the advanced window won't open to verify that I actually have v212 loaded.
You know I haven't changed anything but seems as if the Tekin settings aren't the same.I am real dissappointed that to get back on the road racing I will have to send in my speedo for the second time since I purchased it in march of this year.
In being fair they replaced my first speedo for free even though it was out of warranty(it would not hold top end),but this one is going to cost me $75.00 plus shipping to get fixed(figuring that they won't replace it for free again).
I have taken great care of my electronics and I can't afford to go to a new type of Electronics, I'm stuck with Tekin.I have been a Tekin user since the early 1990's and have never had the problems that I am experiencing now.Not trying to slam Tekin but I am frustrated and not confident in the product right now.
__________________
MERLIN RACING
"He once ran a marathon because it was on his way"
Logic is a lost art!
You are defined in life by how you respond to defeat!
hairy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tekin Redline RS Sensored ESC and motors, opinions for offroad? Cain Electric Off-Road 4230 06-07-2015 04:38 PM
Sensored vs. Sensorless lemansracer Electric On-Road 71 02-14-2009 03:19 AM
New Tekin Redline Sensored Motors are Roar Legal! Randy_Pike Electric On-Road 3 08-05-2008 02:08 AM
Tekin Redline Sensored 10.5 HUCKMAN Electric On-Road 6 07-15-2008 08:50 PM
sensored vs sensorless bprocket Rookie Zone 5 05-16-2008 09:38 AM


Tags
v203, vegas 2.0


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 08:46 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net