R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 11-11-2010, 01:20 PM   #18271
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Southern California
Posts: 2,167
Trader Rating: 77 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JR007 View Post
The main things peopele usuallly want to know to give advice on set-up is length of the main straight, whether it's technical or open, carpet or asphalt, stuff like that.
A lot of the hekp offered is by peoples personal experiences on similar tracks, so the more info you cangive about your track, the easier it is to give something benificial.
In-door track. Tight turns, smooth asphault (high grip), main straight is probably 50 ft long
Attached Thumbnails
Tekin RS ESC sensored-_jn11381.jpg  
goin2drt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2010, 01:29 PM   #18272
Tech Elite
 
M-Technic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Palm Beach, FL
Posts: 2,562
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TrevCoult View Post
There IS the ability to set start and end rpm for dual mode. It is similar to boost for sensored mode but works with the timing advance setting instead.

There are ways of measuring and changing timing when running sensorless, though I don't know exactly how it does it.

Trev
Quote:
6.3. Dual mode and sensored-only mode
The RS’s firmware contains a brushless mode: dual or sensored-only.

In dual mode (the default), the RS uses the sensors only at very low speeds; then it changes to a fixed amount of timing advance (Section 6.3.1), determined without using the sensors. (The RS uses the voltage of the undriven phase wire, plus a bunch of software, to figure the timing without sensors.) If not all of the sensors are working (e.g. cable damaged) or the motor is sensorless, the RS does not use sensors at all in dual mode. Without sensors, you may notice the car go slightly in reverse before going forward when starting from a dead stop; this is not what you want at the start of a race! Dual mode avoids this bad behavior if sensors are available

6.3.1. Timing Advance (dual mode): range 0 - 100
The firmware has a built-in notion of the maximum possible timing advance when running in dual mode; it is somewhere around 25-30 degrees. The Timing Advance setting is a percentage of this maximum. So to use half the maximum you’d set TA to 50, and to use maximum timing advance you’d set TA to 100.

TA has no effect on the motor’s timing while running at very low RPMs using the sensors. The timing advance set in the motor (endbell) is used during the sensored phase of dual mode. The sensored phase is very short: only a few inches of car movement.
.
__________________
RCAmerica | Xray | Hudy | Radiopost | Speed Passion USA | Trinity | P3 Graphics
M-Technic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2010, 01:51 PM   #18273
Tech Champion
 
RedBullFiXX's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Intergalactic Planetary
Posts: 6,542
Trader Rating: 34 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by goin2drt View Post
Don't blow me up for not "tedious testing" but I would like to know if someone has a set up sheet for the Tekin RS (non pro) running the 17.5 tekin motor. I am running a new TCX on an indoor asphault track (West Coast Raceway). Just looking to get things close an din the "ball park" with car/motor/esc set before I go out and have a blast doing all the fine tuning.

Thanks all.
Just ask Ron Schurr at West Coast, he is a guru on all things RC.
__________________
--> 12th scale Information Source <--

"Men do not quit playing because they grow old; they grow old because they quit playing."
― Oliver Wendell Holmes Jr.
RedBullFiXX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2010, 02:08 PM   #18274
Tech Regular
 
TrevCoult's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Worksop, Nottinghamshire, UK
Posts: 355
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by M-Technic View Post
In dual mode (the default), the RS uses the sensors only at very low speeds; then it changes to a fixed amount of timing advance (Section 6.3.1), determined without using the sensors.
That was written pre 212, when there was no start and end rpm for the timing advance in dual mode.

As far as I know, the sensors are not used at a high enough rpm to be used to control the amount of timing advance. I think it does it some other way, but Randy or Jim would know better.

Trev
__________________
Schumacher Atom GT12
Schumacher Eclipse 12th
www.carsrcracing.co.uk
CARSrcracing.co.uk Webmaster
Schumacher Racing
TrevCoult is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2010, 02:13 PM   #18275
Tech Champion
 
Krio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: At dirt tracks in Michigan!
Posts: 5,103
Trader Rating: 150 (99%+)
Default

In 212 the start and end rpm selection is in effect at all times. If you are in sensored only mode then the boost slider is used to determine the end timing. If you are running without a sensor harness then the timing advance slider determines the the end timing starting at 0 degrees for the start rpm. In dual mode you start using the sensors timing at extremely low rpms, then assume the same process as if you were running strictly sensorless. The notes you quoted are for previous versions of hotwire and have no bearing anymore. However, if you want your motor to feel the same as it did on 203 in dual mode, just set your end rpm to 1000 so that as soon as you get off the sensored start the full amount of timing selected in the timing advance slider is applied.
__________________
www.kriostasis.com
Krio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2010, 02:22 PM   #18276
Tech Elite
 
M-Technic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Palm Beach, FL
Posts: 2,562
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Krio View Post
In 212 the start and end rpm selection is in effect at all times. If you are in sensored only mode then the boost slider is used to determine the end timing. If you are running without a sensor harness then the timing advance slider determines the the end timing starting at 0 degrees for the start rpm. In dual mode you start using the sensors timing at extremely low rpms, then assume the same process as if you were running strictly sensorless. The notes you quoted are for previous versions of hotwire and have no bearing anymore. However, if you want your motor to feel the same as it did on 203 in dual mode, just set your end rpm to 1000 so that as soon as you get off the sensored start the full amount of timing selected in the timing advance slider is applied.
Ok.

Then let me ask this: In 212, what is the point of running dual mode if it is still using an RPM range and still reading your sensors even when it's supposedly in sensorless operation?
__________________
RCAmerica | Xray | Hudy | Radiopost | Speed Passion USA | Trinity | P3 Graphics
M-Technic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2010, 02:38 PM   #18277
Tech Champion
 
Krio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: At dirt tracks in Michigan!
Posts: 5,103
Trader Rating: 150 (99%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by M-Technic View Post
Ok.

Then let me ask this: In 212, what is the point of running dual mode if it is still using an RPM range and still reading your sensors even when it's supposedly in sensorless operation?
It's not reading the sensors in dual mode after it gets rolling. The timing is calculated using back emf. The timing is based on absolute, not added to the sensors.
__________________
www.kriostasis.com
Krio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2010, 02:43 PM   #18278
Tech Elite
 
nerdling's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Canberra
Posts: 2,849
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Skitee View Post
the 5.5 limit for the RS is in a 2WD off-road chassis.
So what is the limit of the RS Pro in a TC?
__________________
--XRAY--NOSRAM--PROTOFORM--MUCHMORE--
www.teamxray.com -- www.hudy.net -- www.hobbyexpress.com.au
nerdling is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2010, 03:47 PM   #18279
Tech Lord
 
20 SMOKE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: HVR_ WEEKI WACHEE FL
Posts: 10,299
Trader Rating: 101 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nerdling View Post
So what is the limit of the RS Pro in a TC?
none
__________________
Jamie W
*Team Tekin*Tekno-rc*DE Racing*AKA*DDHRC*

Last edited by 20 SMOKE; 11-11-2010 at 06:06 PM. Reason: miss read,fixed info
20 SMOKE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2010, 03:48 PM   #18280
Tech Lord
 
20 SMOKE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: HVR_ WEEKI WACHEE FL
Posts: 10,299
Trader Rating: 101 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JayBee View Post
Running 17.5 w/BOOST-

*MOTOR ENDBELL TIMING= 30
*BOOST= 50
*TURBO= 10
*TURBO DELAY= 0.1
*TURBO RAMP= 3
*START RPM= 1532
*END RPM= 8492
*ROLLOUT= 87mm/ 3.425"

My car was fast yesterday amongst a field of 13.5's w/o BOOST. Just doing some testing here. I qualified 7th outta 16 guys. I finished 5th. About the 2minute mark though, I felt a noticeable fade. Car was still able to stay in front of a few guys charging hard but felt they were definitely faster than I was. I just kept clean and my car was really good. My question is, is this a ROLLOUT/GEARING issue or should I change something with my settings?

Btw, the way I have the brakes set up on this speedo w/my radio is awesome! I love how I can 'late apex'. Sweet!
12th or wgt,how long of a straight
how much voltage is used and mah
__________________
Jamie W
*Team Tekin*Tekno-rc*DE Racing*AKA*DDHRC*
20 SMOKE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2010, 05:35 PM   #18281
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,625
Trader Rating: 36 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nerdling View Post
So what is the limit of the RS Pro in a TC?
No limit on the pro, you should be able to run whatever 540 size motor you want to run.
EVILGRAFX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2010, 07:01 PM   #18282
Tech Elite
 
RCknight's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 2,273
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

When is Tekin going to come out with a VTA certified speedo? My T3'11 has no room on the chassis and I need something small like the Tekin. Man it's frustrating, I bought a RS before the rule came down and now I can't use it. Makes me want to sell my RC gear and find a different hobby. My local track won't accept them even with the 212 software.
RCknight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2010, 07:22 PM   #18283
Tech Master
 
racer-oZ's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Wichita
Posts: 1,485
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Thanks for the help guys. So far today the car is running well. The 212 update is smooth!
racer-oZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2010, 07:38 PM   #18284
Tech Champion
 
JayBee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: 12TH-MAN COUNTRY
Posts: 6,813
Trader Rating: 31 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 20 SMOKE View Post
12th or wgt,how long of a straight
how much voltage is used and mah
*12th-scale
*80' straight into a sweeper
*when I went to charge, voltage was at 3.64 and I put in 2,881mAh
__________________
R C 3 G R A F I X _ F U S I O N . G R A P H I X _ S E A T T L E - R/C - R A C E R S _ E M E R A L D C I T Y R C . C O M

A E - 12R5.2 _ S M - REV8 PRO
JayBee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2010, 07:46 PM   #18285
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Michigan
Posts: 1,049
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RCknight View Post
When is Tekin going to come out with a VTA certified speedo? My T3'11 has no room on the chassis and I need something small like the Tekin. Man it's frustrating, I bought a RS before the rule came down and now I can't use it. Makes me want to sell my RC gear and find a different hobby. My local track won't accept them even with the 212 software.
If your local track won't accept the Tekin with the 212 software in spec mode one, then somebody needs to talk to the track owner.
John Warner is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tekin Redline RS Sensored ESC and motors, opinions for offroad? Cain Electric Off-Road 4230 06-07-2015 04:38 PM
Sensored vs. Sensorless lemansracer Electric On-Road 71 02-14-2009 03:19 AM
New Tekin Redline Sensored Motors are Roar Legal! Randy_Pike Electric On-Road 3 08-05-2008 02:08 AM
Tekin Redline Sensored 10.5 HUCKMAN Electric On-Road 6 07-15-2008 08:50 PM
sensored vs sensorless bprocket Rookie Zone 5 05-16-2008 09:38 AM


Tags
v203, vegas 2.0


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 08:09 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net