Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
Tekin RS ESC sensored >

Tekin RS ESC sensored

Tekin RS ESC sensored

Reply

Old 11-11-2010, 09:02 AM
  #18256  
Suspended
iTrader: (77)
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Southern California
Posts: 2,167
Trader Rating: 77 (100%+)
Default Help

Don't blow me up for not "tedious testing" but I would like to know if someone has a set up sheet for the Tekin RS (non pro) running the 17.5 tekin motor. I am running a new TCX on an indoor asphault track (West Coast Raceway). Just looking to get things close an din the "ball park" with car/motor/esc set before I go out and have a blast doing all the fine tuning.

Thanks all.
goin2drt is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2010, 09:07 AM
  #18257  
Tech Lord
iTrader: (101)
 
20 SMOKE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: HVR_ WEEKI WACHEE FL
Posts: 10,352
Trader Rating: 101 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by goin2drt View Post
Don't blow me up for not "tedious testing" but I would like to know if someone has a set up sheet for the Tekin RS (non pro) running the 17.5 tekin motor. I am running a new TCX on an indoor asphault track (West Coast Raceway). Just looking to get things close an din the "ball park" with car/motor/esc set before I go out and have a blast doing all the fine tuning.

Thanks all.
SIZE OF THE TRACK
20 SMOKE is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2010, 09:31 AM
  #18258  
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 32
Default

Ok thanks to all for the info about the motor limitations on the RS. It will then stay with my stock combo wich works very well.

I would love to see what dynamic timing could do on a mod motor, not sure i'll have the use to purchase an rs pro since i only race stock during the off season.

I am about to get an rx8 for a 1/8 buggy, could i use this esc to power this 5,5T motor in a TC as well?

I guess it would work, but would it competitive or juste so so. Has anyone done it?
Jeppi is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2010, 09:33 AM
  #18259  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (15)
 
M-Technic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Palm Beach, FL
Posts: 2,562
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Jeppi View Post
Ok thanks to all for the info about the motor limitations on the RS. It will then stay with my stock combo wich works very well.

I would love to see what dynamic timing could do on a mod motor, not sure i'll have the use to purchase an rs pro since i only race stock during the off season.

I am about to get an rx8 for a 1/8 buggy, could i use this esc to power this 5,5T motor in a TC as well?

I guess it would work, but would it competitive or juste so so. Has anyone done it?
In my opinion, when you are running a 3.5-5.5 mod motor, it doesn't matter what speedo you run, you are not going to get out motored unless it's a HUGE track!
M-Technic is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2010, 10:09 AM
  #18260  
Tech Master
iTrader: (2)
 
racer-oZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Wichita
Posts: 1,485
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Just downloaded 212 for my Tekin speedo to get back into electric for the winter.

When in dual mode: the timing advance feature is showing with a starting and ending rpm. In 2wd buggy what do you guys typically set the timing advance and rpm setting when running an 8.5 motor?

Also, I didn't see a 13.5 setup for 2wd buggy on the Tekin website for the new 212 software? Can someone give me a good starting point for an offroad track with very high bite about 95 foot straight?

Leaving now for the track... 2010 Fall Classic in Hutchinson, KS!!!

Thanks!
racer-oZ is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2010, 10:12 AM
  #18261  
Suspended
iTrader: (77)
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Southern California
Posts: 2,167
Trader Rating: 77 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by 20 SMOKE View Post
SIZE OF THE TRACK
ugh. Says 7500 SQ FT
goin2drt is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2010, 10:12 AM
  #18262  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (2)
 
jammincrtjames's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: GA
Posts: 969
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Im interested to see what setting people are running with the D3 motor and 212 software on a small 80 x 40 track in TC
jammincrtjames is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2010, 10:25 AM
  #18263  
Team EAM
iTrader: (79)
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Murfreesboro, TN
Posts: 9,286
Trader Rating: 79 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by jammincrtjames View Post
Im interested to see what setting people are running with the D3 motor and 212 software on a small 80 x 40 track in TC
We are running the spec mode at Thunder if you all plan on coming up. But we might be able to get a full heat of open too if you all are planning on it anytime this winter.

EA
EAMotorsports is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2010, 10:50 AM
  #18264  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (15)
 
M-Technic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Palm Beach, FL
Posts: 2,562
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by racer-oZ View Post
Just downloaded 212 for my Tekin speedo to get back into electric for the winter.

When in dual mode: the timing advance feature is showing with a starting and ending rpm. In 2wd buggy what do you guys typically set the timing advance and rpm setting when running an 8.5 motor?

Also, I didn't see a 13.5 setup for 2wd buggy on the Tekin website for the new 212 software? Can someone give me a good starting point for an offroad track with very high bite about 95 foot straight?

Leaving now for the track... 2010 Fall Classic in Hutchinson, KS!!!

Thanks!
The RPM range is not used in dual mode.
M-Technic is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2010, 11:14 AM
  #18265  
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Christchurch, NZ
Posts: 1,063
Default

Originally Posted by goin2drt View Post
ugh. Says 7500 SQ FT
The main things peopele usuallly want to know to give advice on set-up is length of the main straight, whether it's technical or open, carpet or asphalt, stuff like that.
A lot of the hekp offered is by peoples personal experiences on similar tracks, so the more info you cangive about your track, the easier it is to give something benificial.
JR007 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2010, 11:42 AM
  #18266  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (152)
 
Krio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: At dirt tracks in Michigan!
Posts: 5,415
Trader Rating: 152 (99%+)
Default

Originally Posted by M-Technic View Post
The RPM range is not used in dual mode.
In 212 it is used. The starting timing is zero with the end timing being whatever you have your timing advance slider at.
Krio is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2010, 12:02 PM
  #18267  
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 900
Default

Er... In dual mode the motor is started using the sensors, and then it switched to sensorless mode. The Boost Timing slider is not operative in dual mode, and therefore the rev range selection is not operative either. As the speedo switches to sensorless in Dual Mode (hence the title - sensored to sensorless, two modes, Dual Mode) the timing cannot be detected as the sensor does not operate.

The Dual Mode slider goes from 0 to 100%. 100% is (IIRC) 30 degrees advance, so 50% is 15 degrees and so on.

HTH
SlowerOne is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2010, 12:07 PM
  #18268  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (15)
 
M-Technic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Palm Beach, FL
Posts: 2,562
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Krio View Post
In 212 it is used. The starting timing is zero with the end timing being whatever you have your timing advance slider at.
Care to tell me how the RPM range is used when the sensors are not being read?

M-Technic is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2010, 12:08 PM
  #18269  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (31)
 
JayBee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: 12TH-MAN COUNTRY
Posts: 6,816
Trader Rating: 31 (100%+)
Default

Running 17.5 w/BOOST-

*MOTOR ENDBELL TIMING= 30
*BOOST= 50
*TURBO= 10
*TURBO DELAY= 0.1
*TURBO RAMP= 3
*START RPM= 1532
*END RPM= 8492
*ROLLOUT= 87mm/ 3.425"

My car was fast yesterday amongst a field of 13.5's w/o BOOST. Just doing some testing here. I qualified 7th outta 16 guys. I finished 5th. About the 2minute mark though, I felt a noticeable fade. Car was still able to stay in front of a few guys charging hard but felt they were definitely faster than I was. I just kept clean and my car was really good. My question is, is this a ROLLOUT/GEARING issue or should I change something with my settings?

Btw, the way I have the brakes set up on this speedo w/my radio is awesome! I love how I can 'late apex'. Sweet!
JayBee is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2010, 12:18 PM
  #18270  
Tech Regular
 
TrevCoult's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Worksop, Nottinghamshire, UK
Posts: 355
Default

Originally Posted by SlowerOne View Post
Er... In dual mode the motor is started using the sensors, and then it switched to sensorless mode. The Boost Timing slider is not operative in dual mode, and therefore the rev range selection is not operative either. As the speedo switches to sensorless in Dual Mode (hence the title - sensored to sensorless, two modes, Dual Mode) the timing cannot be detected as the sensor does not operate.

The Dual Mode slider goes from 0 to 100%. 100% is (IIRC) 30 degrees advance, so 50% is 15 degrees and so on.

HTH
Originally Posted by M-Technic View Post
Care to tell me how the RPM range is used when the sensors are not being read?

There IS the ability to set start and end rpm for dual mode. It is similar to boost for sensored mode but works with the timing advance setting instead.

There are ways of measuring and changing timing when running sensorless, though I don't know exactly how it does it.

Trev
TrevCoult is offline  
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service