R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 11-09-2010, 01:35 PM   #18226
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 56
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default Odd behavior

I was driving 13.5 12th scale using v2.12 with Donny Lia's setup. 2 times during the night I had the following happen:

I got bumped or I bumped but not enough to be marshalled and after that I lost all timing boost and turbo. The car was just flat for 3 or 4 laps. Then driving like I do, I stuffed it into the boards. After sitting for the few seconds it took to get marshalled, timing boost and turbo were back.

I'm thinking it has to do with neutral width (which is set low) or my sensor cable.

Futaba 3PM radio, Novak Ballistic motor, LiFe receiver battery.

Any thoughts?

Carter
darcydawg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2010, 01:51 PM   #18227
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,920
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by darcydawg View Post
I was driving 13.5 12th scale using v2.12 with Donny Lia's setup. 2 times during the night I had the following happen:

I got bumped or I bumped but not enough to be marshalled and after that I lost all timing boost and turbo. The car was just flat for 3 or 4 laps. Then driving like I do, I stuffed it into the boards. After sitting for the few seconds it took to get marshalled, timing boost and turbo were back.

I'm thinking it has to do with neutral width (which is set low) or my sensor cable.

Futaba 3PM radio, Novak Ballistic motor, LiFe receiver battery.

Any thoughts?

Carter
sounds like the sensor cable coming out a bit
then being tapped back in
sidecarphil1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2010, 01:57 PM   #18228
Tech Master
 
HarryLeach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Hampton, VA, USA
Posts: 1,596
Send a message via AIM to HarryLeach
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by darcydawg View Post
I was driving 13.5 12th scale using v2.12 with Donny Lia's setup. 2 times during the night I had the following happen:

I got bumped or I bumped but not enough to be marshalled and after that I lost all timing boost and turbo. The car was just flat for 3 or 4 laps. Then driving like I do, I stuffed it into the boards. After sitting for the few seconds it took to get marshalled, timing boost and turbo were back.

I'm thinking it has to do with neutral width (which is set low) or my sensor cable.

Futaba 3PM radio, Novak Ballistic motor, LiFe receiver battery.

Any thoughts?

Carter
Buddy of mine had a similar issue last Saturday and as near as we could figure something in the sensor board was getting knocked around. Changing motors fixed his issue as the sensor wire was in the same position each time.

You could try changing sensor wires first [easier and cheaper].
__________________
Privateer racing lots of stuff.
Remember kids, racing isn't fair!
HarryLeach is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2010, 02:42 PM   #18229
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 411
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by darcydawg View Post
I was driving 13.5 12th scale using v2.12 with Donny Lia's setup. 2 times during the night I had the following happen:

I got bumped or I bumped but not enough to be marshalled and after that I lost all timing boost and turbo. The car was just flat for 3 or 4 laps. Then driving like I do, I stuffed it into the boards. After sitting for the few seconds it took to get marshalled, timing boost and turbo were back.

I'm thinking it has to do with neutral width (which is set low) or my sensor cable.

Futaba 3PM radio, Novak Ballistic motor, LiFe receiver battery.

Any thoughts?

Carter
Was leading my final on sunday and the same thing happend, sensor wire came out of the motor, made for an interesting final two laps blocking everyone! Stuck some bluetac over the lead for now. One of those things that just happens.
__________________
Xray XB4 | Kyosho RB6 | Kyosho Rudebits DB2
Chris-s is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2010, 02:45 PM   #18230
Tech Master
 
Buckaroo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Norfolk, VA
Posts: 1,503
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

That settles it, a spare sensor wire is next up for purchase!
__________________
Tom Keith

Tekin & Sweep, thanks for all that you do for you know who!

Associated/T.O.P./Mugen/Fantom/Spektrum/Savox
Buckaroo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2010, 02:51 PM   #18231
Tech Master
 
locked's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,758
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by HarryLeach View Post
Buddy of mine had a similar issue last Saturday and as near as we could figure something in the sensor board was getting knocked around. Changing motors fixed his issue as the sensor wire was in the same position each time.

You could try changing sensor wires first [easier and cheaper].

That's happened to me a few times with 2 different motors. Usually after my car got t-boned on the motor side. ESC switched to sensorless. A little push on the sensor wire usually fixed it right away. I think it came just loose enough to lose connection.
__________________
Dave Locke
Team PerformanceHobbies.ca | ORCA RC | Bodies by Brandon | Team Meeting
XRAY T4'15 x2 | XRAY XB4 | XRAY XB8E | XRAY XB8
locked is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2010, 03:02 PM   #18232
Tech Fanatic
 
Fast XXXS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Ballarat, VIC
Posts: 843
Trader Rating: 49 (100%+)
Default

Hey guys. Connected my RS up reverse polarity on the weekend and it went pop, stupid me. How much $$$ am I looking at getting it repaired? Posting from Australia.

Cheers
Fast XXXS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2010, 03:04 PM   #18233
Tech Master
 
HarryLeach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Hampton, VA, USA
Posts: 1,596
Send a message via AIM to HarryLeach
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by locked View Post
That's happened to me a few times with 2 different motors. Usually after my car got t-boned on the motor side. ESC switched to sensorless. A little push on the sensor wire usually fixed it right away. I think it came just loose enough to lose connection.
The car I mentioned usually had this happen in practice, thankfully, and we were able to pull the car over immediately, unplug and replug the sensor wire with no change. Take an allen driver handle and tap the end of the motor, back on sensored mode.

We swapped the motor, and all was good in the world again.

I should have clarified, the sensor wire is ALWAYS the first thing to check, and a new spare on hand is highly recommended, but things can knock loose in the motor as well.
__________________
Privateer racing lots of stuff.
Remember kids, racing isn't fair!
HarryLeach is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2010, 03:06 PM   #18234
Team Tekin
 
Randy_Pike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Norcal
Posts: 9,702
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to Randy_Pike
Default

Install 212, do a factory reset PRIOR to doing a radio calibration.


What transmitter is he using? 1s or 2s?
__________________
"Things may come to those who wait, but only the things left by those who hustle." Abraham Lincoln

Tekin,Protek,A-Main Hobbies,JConcepts,Avid RC,Yokomo,MIP,SikLidz,FactoryRC, www.randypikerc.com
Randy_Pike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2010, 03:28 PM   #18235
Tech Lord
 
20 SMOKE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: HVR_ WEEKI WACHEE FL
Posts: 10,299
Trader Rating: 101 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fast XXXS View Post
Hey guys. Connected my RS up reverse polarity on the weekend and it went pop, stupid me. How much $$$ am I looking at getting it repaired? Posting from Australia.

Cheers
79+shipping get a RA# and fill out the form http://www.teamtekin.com/forms/ServiceRequestForm.pdf
__________________
Jamie W
*Team Tekin*Tekno-rc*DE Racing*AKA*DDHRC*
20 SMOKE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2010, 07:23 PM   #18236
Tech Master
 
YoDog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Lompoc, Ca.
Posts: 1,686
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Randy_Pike View Post
Install 212, do a factory reset PRIOR to doing a radio calibration.


What transmitter is he using? 1s or 2s?
Hi Randy, if you are referring to Kim's calibration issue,
He is using a 2s pack in a TC and trying to calibrate to an M11, I believe.

Here is where it started:

http://www.rctech.net/forum/8184217-post18196.html
YoDog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2010, 07:27 PM   #18237
Tech Fanatic
 
Fast XXXS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Ballarat, VIC
Posts: 843
Trader Rating: 49 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 20 SMOKE View Post
79+shipping get a RA# and fill out the form http://www.teamtekin.com/forms/ServiceRequestForm.pdf
Thanks mate!
Fast XXXS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2010, 08:13 PM   #18238
Tech Elite
 
Jochim_18's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: CALI
Posts: 2,372
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

I'm using M11 now I did get it to calibrate but I just could not get the neutral band to go lower.

Quote:
Originally Posted by YoDog View Post
Kim, we should have tried it with my laptop. Maybe the problem is with the one you are using. Is it the same as the one you tried v208 with?
I remember you had the same problem with that one as well.

Guys, I don't know if it was mentioned previously, v203 works without any problem with his radio but the versions after that is where the issue rears it's ugly head. There has got to be something different that is making it difficult to calibrate with these radios.
Any ideas Randy?
__________________
Localrcracing.com - Your premiere source of Radio controlled Racing in central California.

Visaliahobbies.com * SkyRC * casterracingparts.com
Jochim_18 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2010, 08:16 PM   #18239
Tech Elite
 
Jochim_18's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: CALI
Posts: 2,372
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

I did that too after installing 212 I reset it to factory default... I got it to calibrate guys but the issue is I could not get the neutral band to be set lower than 85%...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Randy_Pike View Post
Install 212, do a factory reset PRIOR to doing a radio calibration.


What transmitter is he using? 1s or 2s?
__________________
Localrcracing.com - Your premiere source of Radio controlled Racing in central California.

Visaliahobbies.com * SkyRC * casterracingparts.com
Jochim_18 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2010, 03:38 AM   #18240
Tech Adept
 
Racingbod85's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Bromley, Kent, UK
Posts: 186
Default

Does anyone here run their Tekin with an Novak velociti motor? I'm running a 10.5 SS and i'm trying to find out what timing the motor comes with so i can set the speedo accordingly.

Thanks
__________________
RC12L4
Novak 4.5R / 10.5R
Sanwa/Futaba/Much More
Carpetwars/Sidcup RCC/Maritime Racing/7oaksmcc
Racingbod85 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tekin Redline RS Sensored ESC and motors, opinions for offroad? Cain Electric Off-Road 4230 06-07-2015 04:38 PM
Sensored vs. Sensorless lemansracer Electric On-Road 71 02-14-2009 03:19 AM
New Tekin Redline Sensored Motors are Roar Legal! Randy_Pike Electric On-Road 3 08-05-2008 02:08 AM
Tekin Redline Sensored 10.5 HUCKMAN Electric On-Road 6 07-15-2008 08:50 PM
sensored vs sensorless bprocket Rookie Zone 5 05-16-2008 09:38 AM


Tags
v203, vegas 2.0


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 06:44 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net