R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 11-03-2010, 07:12 AM   #18091
Tech Champion
 
STLNLST's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Sacramento
Posts: 8,997
Trader Rating: 21 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ronsand View Post
Thanks for all the advice. I will run the car tonight and if necessary do some tuning to FDR, motor timing and esc. I will tune in again later on with my findings.
Let us know what you find out and keep track of all your changes. You should feel a difference in the way the car feels with every adjustment.
STLNLST is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2010, 11:28 AM   #18092
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 176
Default

I've got a question about 1s LiPo operation. I checked the "1S LiPo" box and tried to run the ESC, but it blinked the voltage cutoff error code. When I went back into Hotwire, it showed the voltage cutoff setting was still set for 2S. If the "1S LiPo" checkbox doesn't change the voltage cutoff setting, then what does it do? Turn off the ESC's voltage regulator maybe?
Kevin Marcy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2010, 11:29 AM   #18093
Tech Fanatic
 
jammincrtjames's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: GA
Posts: 969
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

what is the "minimum throttle adjustment" and how is it used?
__________________
NEXUS RACING www.nexusracing.com | FANTOM RACING www.fantomracing.com
ORCA www.orcarc.com | TURTLE TRAX / www.turtletraxraceway.com
--------------------------------------------------
"If you're not first...you're last!"
jammincrtjames is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2010, 11:33 AM   #18094
Tech Lord
 
20 SMOKE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: HVR_ WEEKI WACHEE FL
Posts: 10,299
Trader Rating: 101 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kevin Marcy View Post
I've got a question about 1s LiPo operation. I checked the "1S LiPo" box and tried to run the ESC, but it blinked the voltage cutoff error code. When I went back into Hotwire, it showed the voltage cutoff setting was still set for 2S. If the "1S LiPo" checkbox doesn't change the voltage cutoff setting, then what does it do? Turn off the ESC's voltage regulator maybe?
you have to move the slider for voltage,just move it up to the top and set a custom voltage http://www.carsrcracing.co.uk/?p=244
__________________
Jamie W
*Team Tekin*Tekno-rc*DE Racing*AKA*DDHRC*
20 SMOKE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2010, 11:39 AM   #18095
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,920
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kevin Marcy View Post
I've got a question about 1s LiPo operation. I checked the "1S LiPo" box and tried to run the ESC, but it blinked the voltage cutoff error code. When I went back into Hotwire, it showed the voltage cutoff setting was still set for 2S. If the "1S LiPo" checkbox doesn't change the voltage cutoff setting, then what does it do? Turn off the ESC's voltage regulator maybe?
When i run my RS in my 1/12th i tick the 1S box and turn the voltage cut off the "custom" and then set it to 3.000v

I am using a Voltage booster so i then never turn the RS on , i just use the V booster switch . This dissables the voltage cut off totally , Even running a 10.5 with very powerfull set up i only ever put 2500Mah in my Lipos
sidecarphil1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2010, 12:17 PM   #18096
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Poole, UK
Posts: 66
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by M-Technic View Post
I didn't have the file either, both when I went to v208 and v212. Both installed fine. Running Windows 7.
Thanks (and Randy) - that would come under the heading Wonders of Windows then
yellowshark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2010, 05:06 PM   #18097
Tech Regular
 
TrevCoult's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Worksop, Nottinghamshire, UK
Posts: 355
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jammincrtjames View Post
what is the "minimum throttle adjustment" and how is it used?
It is the percentage of full throttle you get as soon as you move your trigger/stick away from neutral. This should give you both more immediate punch and more feel through the rest of the throttle range.

We've found that around 15 is good for 12th scale with a 10.5, it may be different for other motors and classes though.

Trev
__________________
Schumacher Atom GT12
Schumacher Eclipse 12th
www.carsrcracing.co.uk
CARSrcracing.co.uk Webmaster
Schumacher Racing
TrevCoult is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2010, 07:01 AM   #18098
Tech Elite
 
hairy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: In the Good ole' U.S.A.
Posts: 2,323
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jammincrtjames View Post
what is the "minimum throttle adjustment" and how is it used?
Quote:
Originally Posted by Krio View Post
It is used to adjust the feel of the throttle and brakes. The default setting (and what every version prior to 212 is set at) puts 1% throttle trigger movement to 1% power, 2% throttle trigger to 2% power, etc. For cars with low amounts of power and high traction this is just wasted throttle trigger throw that you would never use in a race and is taking away from the resolution at higher trigger throws. Setting the default to 20 or so takes the first 1% of trigger throw and is now applying, say, 7% power. This gives a stronger feel at low trigger throws and allows more precise control at higher power levels since so much of your trigger movement isn't taken up just getting enough power to the motor. The same goes for brakes; if you never need to use just 1% of brakes, then upping the minimum brake gives you more control at the higher braking forces and reduces your reaction time by removing a small amount of how far your finger has to move to achieve the braking or acceleration force you desire.

In general, low power and high traction means most people would benefit from a higher minimum brake and throttle settings. With higher power and lower traction set the minimum brake/throttle lower.
__________________
MERLIN RACING
"He once ran a marathon because it was on his way"
Logic is a lost art!
You are defined in life by how you respond to defeat!
hairy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2010, 07:03 PM   #18099
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 850
Trader Rating: 42 (100%+)
Default

Tekin...."really satisfies" I just want to give a plug for Tekin and their product support. I sent mine off last week with a mysterious issue. Today I got a brand new one in the mail with no charge for repair. Plus it came with a small Snickers candy bar. lol They are setting the standard in speedos and more importantly, to me, with support! Thanks Tekin for the hassle free help!
__________________
On-point/ EA horsey power/XFactory / Hudy / Tekin / Trinity / KO Propo / Reino's Ragu
mracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2010, 07:18 PM   #18100
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Michigan
Posts: 1,049
Default

Hey! I didn't get a Snickers with mine. LoL!!
But I agree 110% that the Tekin product is the best there is, bar none.

Last edited by John Warner; 11-04-2010 at 07:35 PM.
John Warner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2010, 07:20 PM   #18101
Tech Master
 
locked's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,758
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mracer View Post
Tekin...."really satisfies" I just want to give a plug for Tekin and their product support. I sent mine off last week with a mysterious issue. Today I got a brand new one in the mail with no charge for repair. Plus it came with a small Snickers candy bar. lol They are setting the standard in speedos and more importantly, to me, with support! Thanks Tekin for the hassle free help!
nice!

Great support for great products. What more could you ask for?

Maybe a melt resistant top decal for schmucks like me whose hands always manage to slip while soldering and hideously disfigure their awesome ESC. I know I can order a replacement case for cheap. I've been meaning to do that for a while. I'll probably "F" that one up too. I'd be a horrible surgeon.
__________________
Dave Locke
Team PerformanceHobbies.ca | ORCA RC | Bodies by Brandon | Team Meeting
XRAY T4'15 x2 | XRAY XB4 | XRAY XB8E | XRAY XB8
locked is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2010, 07:35 PM   #18102
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 850
Trader Rating: 42 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by John Warner View Post
Hey! I didn't get a Snickers with mine. LoL!!
I literally started laughing when it fell out of the box. I am sure it was left over from Halloween. I am can't eat it. I will mail it to you.
__________________
On-point/ EA horsey power/XFactory / Hudy / Tekin / Trinity / KO Propo / Reino's Ragu
mracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2010, 07:37 PM   #18103
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 850
Trader Rating: 42 (100%+)
Default

__________________
On-point/ EA horsey power/XFactory / Hudy / Tekin / Trinity / KO Propo / Reino's Ragu
mracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2010, 07:48 PM   #18104
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Michigan
Posts: 1,049
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mracer View Post
I literally started laughing when it fell out of the box. I am sure it was left over from Halloween. I am can't eat it. I will mail it to you.
That'll be awesome.... Thanks!
John Warner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2010, 07:29 AM   #18105
Tech Addict
 
spar9368's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 516
Trader Rating: 53 (100%+)
Send a message via MSN to spar9368
Default

Hey all,


Just got myself into 1/10 Modified racing in my home track, and I need few starting points for ESC setups.



My home track is a large/fast open asphalt track with long straight and big sweeper, and I'm running RS Pro 212 version.

I have a few 4.5 ~ 5.5T Speed Passion V3 motors and gearing range is about late 8 to early 9.

I know low turn motors normally don't run timing boost and turbo, but I know some does and there must be a significant difference. I've been playing with Stock classes for a while, and just want to know how to setup timing advance/timing boost/turbo.


Thanks in advance.
__________________
Anyone needs BRAND NEW OS Engines, Please PM me.
spar9368 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tekin Redline RS Sensored ESC and motors, opinions for offroad? Cain Electric Off-Road 4230 06-07-2015 04:38 PM
Sensored vs. Sensorless lemansracer Electric On-Road 71 02-14-2009 03:19 AM
New Tekin Redline Sensored Motors are Roar Legal! Randy_Pike Electric On-Road 3 08-05-2008 02:08 AM
Tekin Redline Sensored 10.5 HUCKMAN Electric On-Road 6 07-15-2008 08:50 PM
sensored vs sensorless bprocket Rookie Zone 5 05-16-2008 09:38 AM


Tags
v203, vegas 2.0


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 2 (0 members and 2 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 08:59 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net