R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10-31-2010, 10:07 PM   #18046
Tech Elite
 
bkspeedo's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Fort Fun, CO
Posts: 3,139
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by fasteddie d View Post
Also I am running single cell 1/12 scale with a speedpassion 17.5 motor and boost rpm are 2355 to 2999 before the download the motor was running much cooler.

A friend advised that the motor really shouldn't get any hotter then around 60c .
I feel I should try and bring down the temp in the motor and the boost delay felt like came on right away so I increased the delay in the turbo as it seems to come on right away .

I am brand new to the electric scene so thanks for bearing with me.

Try these settings for 17.5 12th scale;

End RPM - 7500
Start RPM - 2xxx
Boost 55 (max)
Turbo - 0 (no turbo, ramp and delay settings not required)
Roll-out around 2.900" or 73mm, go up or down on roll-out to suit the track and driving style.
No timing in motor or center for the SPv3 motor. You could play with timing on this motor, the sensor plug all the way to right may be good.
__________________
Brent Klingforth
Sponsors: Awesomatix USA ~ Roche USA ~ ORCA ~ AVID Bearings ~ R1 Wurks
TQ Wire ~ Montech ~ WTF ~ BSR Racing Tires ~ 2mm Design ~ Helix Designs
5280 Raceway
MILE HIGH INDOOR CHAMPS April 19-22nd 2018 @ www.milehighindoorchamps.com
bkspeedo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2010, 05:20 AM   #18047
Tech Initiate
 
jtrcracing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Sweden
Posts: 21
Default

Could really need some help with the setup of 212 version.rubbertouring.
17.5T duo2 motor timing allowed. raced this weekend and had no bottom or topspeed, and the temp was around 85C. my FDR 6,20.it was the first time i used 212. would be very happy if someone could post a setup for this.
__________________
Shepherd velox v10, robitronic protos v2,robitronic mantis.
Shepherd Velox v8.
jtrcracing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2010, 05:45 AM   #18048
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 678
Trader Rating: 10 (92%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jtrcracing View Post
Could really need some help with the setup of 212 version.rubbertouring.
17.5T duo2 motor timing allowed. raced this weekend and had no bottom or topspeed, and the temp was around 85C. my FDR 6,20.it was the first time i used 212. would be very happy if someone could post a setup for this.
have you tried hara's setup?
captain stacker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2010, 07:25 AM   #18049
Tech Elite
 
M-Technic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Palm Beach, FL
Posts: 2,562
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jtrcracing View Post
Could really need some help with the setup of 212 version.rubbertouring.
17.5T duo2 motor timing allowed. raced this weekend and had no bottom or topspeed, and the temp was around 85C. my FDR 6,20.it was the first time i used 212. would be very happy if someone could post a setup for this.
50 boost
12 turbo
5,000 start
17,000 end
ramp 2 or 3
.15 delay
minimum throttle 20

Gear around 5.9-6.2 and try half a tick of positive timing on the motor.
__________________
RCAmerica | Xray | Hudy | Radiopost | Speed Passion USA | Trinity | P3 Graphics
M-Technic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2010, 07:45 AM   #18050
avs
Tech Master
 
avs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 1,175
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JayBee View Post
Anybody out there running an LRP X12 13.5 with 4-dot timing? What are you rolled out at in your 1/12th scale? *no boost*

Any new 212 settings yet?
in WGT i ended up with 85mm rollout and 0 dot timing. i would guess maybe 95mm for 1/12? i got 170degrees after 5minutes, with other motors i am used to seeing lower temps like 150's but apparently LRP's run better at a little higher temp?

i tried the 3dot and 1dot and was really down on top speed, 1dot was better but 0dot was fastest. maybe i never got the rollout right with less timing, but i only had limited practice time.
__________________
Tony Shimko
avs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2010, 07:46 AM   #18051
Tech Elite
 
303slowdown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Rapid City SD.
Posts: 2,299
Trader Rating: 24 (100%+)
Default

Didnt someone say the set ups for 212 where the same as 208 and 203 for that matter. So why is everyone having such trouble with set ups with 212 their the same on all my stuff.
__________________
Ryan Borgheiinck
303slowdown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2010, 07:58 AM   #18052
Tech Elite
 
M-Technic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Palm Beach, FL
Posts: 2,562
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 303slowdown View Post
Didnt someone say the set ups for 212 where the same as 208 and 203 for that matter. So why is everyone having such trouble with set ups with 212 their the same on all my stuff.
No idea. My setup is very similar ever since 203. Small changes here and there.
__________________
RCAmerica | Xray | Hudy | Radiopost | Speed Passion USA | Trinity | P3 Graphics
M-Technic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2010, 08:11 AM   #18053
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 753
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 20 SMOKE View Post
i would say so,you are getting 48* of timing at once your range is 644 go with a 6k-7500 end and a 3k start up
We were at a big race a couple of weeks ago when the first person helped set up the speed control and I remember him looking at the rpm perameters and saying that they were way out of range.
Looking at the set ups on the tekin site last night confirmed my rpms need to be looked at and you guys confirmed that as well.
Is that usally the case when you download a update that you would loose this area of the programing as it looks like all the other aspects were saved.
fasteddie d is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2010, 08:17 AM   #18054
Tech Elite
 
M-Technic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Palm Beach, FL
Posts: 2,562
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by fasteddie d View Post
We were at a big race a couple of weeks ago when the first person helped set up the speed control and I remember him looking at the rpm perameters and saying that they were way out of range.
Looking at the set ups on the tekin site last night confirmed my rpms need to be looked at and you guys confirmed that as well.
Is that usally the case when you download a update that you would loose this area of the programing as it looks like all the other aspects were saved.
When you update your speedo all settings revert to the default of that firmware. After 203 (i.e., 208 and 212) the default RPM range was 5,XXX to 20,XXX.
__________________
RCAmerica | Xray | Hudy | Radiopost | Speed Passion USA | Trinity | P3 Graphics
M-Technic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2010, 08:42 AM   #18055
Tech Fanatic
 
jjfo80's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: queensland australia
Posts: 759
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Hey Randy just want to say the brakes are bloody unreal and the little update with the minimum and maximum setting for throttle and brakes make a great feel.... Thanks guys for a great update......

__________________
Owner of Precise Fuels and RC and Podified Fuels
jjfo80 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2010, 12:43 PM   #18056
Tech Elite
 
hairy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: In the Good ole' U.S.A.
Posts: 2,323
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

I have a question: On the v212 what is the "throttle minimum" and "brake minimum" purpose or used for?
__________________
MERLIN RACING
"He once ran a marathon because it was on his way"
Logic is a lost art!
You are defined in life by how you respond to defeat!
hairy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2010, 12:54 PM   #18057
Tech Champion
 
Krio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: At dirt tracks in Michigan!
Posts: 5,102
Trader Rating: 150 (99%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hairy View Post
I have a question: On the v212 what is the "throttle minimum" and "brake minimum" purpose or used for?
It is used to adjust the feel of the throttle and brakes. The default setting (and what every version prior to 212 is set at) puts 1% throttle trigger movement to 1% power, 2% throttle trigger to 2% power, etc. For cars with low amounts of power and high traction this is just wasted throttle trigger throw that you would never use in a race and is taking away from the resolution at higher trigger throws. Setting the default to 20 or so takes the first 1% of trigger throw and is now applying, say, 7% power. This gives a stronger feel at low trigger throws and allows more precise control at higher power levels since so much of your trigger movement isn't taken up just getting enough power to the motor. The same goes for brakes; if you never need to use just 1% of brakes, then upping the minimum brake gives you more control at the higher braking forces and reduces your reaction time by removing a small amount of how far your finger has to move to achieve the braking or acceleration force you desire.

In general, low power and high traction means most people would benefit from a higher minimum brake and throttle settings. With higher power and lower traction set the minimum brake/throttle lower.
__________________
www.kriostasis.com
Krio is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2010, 01:22 PM   #18058
Tech Elite
 
hairy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: In the Good ole' U.S.A.
Posts: 2,323
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Thank you very much!!!! What a clear and precise explaination and in language I can understand! again thank you!
__________________
MERLIN RACING
"He once ran a marathon because it was on his way"
Logic is a lost art!
You are defined in life by how you respond to defeat!
hairy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2010, 02:14 PM   #18059
Tech Elite
 
M-Technic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Palm Beach, FL
Posts: 2,562
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Krio View Post
It is used to adjust the feel of the throttle and brakes. The default setting (and what every version prior to 212 is set at) puts 1% throttle trigger movement to 1% power, 2% throttle trigger to 2% power, etc. For cars with low amounts of power and high traction this is just wasted throttle trigger throw that you would never use in a race and is taking away from the resolution at higher trigger throws. Setting the default to 20 or so takes the first 1% of trigger throw and is now applying, say, 7% power. This gives a stronger feel at low trigger throws and allows more precise control at higher power levels since so much of your trigger movement isn't taken up just getting enough power to the motor. The same goes for brakes; if you never need to use just 1% of brakes, then upping the minimum brake gives you more control at the higher braking forces and reduces your reaction time by removing a small amount of how far your finger has to move to achieve the braking or acceleration force you desire.

In general, low power and high traction means most people would benefit from a higher minimum brake and throttle settings. With higher power and lower traction set the minimum brake/throttle lower.
Your post made me think about a habit I have of programming my Tx at the highest possible throttle end point. For instance, my M11 throttle EPA goes to 140. So I program at 130, and then bump it to 140 to make sure the turbo is always activated.

For 17.5 in ultra high traction, maybe I should be programming at 95 or 100 and bumping to 105 or 110?
__________________
RCAmerica | Xray | Hudy | Radiopost | Speed Passion USA | Trinity | P3 Graphics
M-Technic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2010, 03:19 PM   #18060
pmc
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Pinhal novo - Portugal
Posts: 173
Default

Hello

I will race in a carpet track with a straight line of 82ft.

I'll use a RS Pro esc and a Redline motor 6,5T with a touring car.
like to know a good setup for this track and features.

I will use the software 212.

Thanks in advance.
Best regards:
Pedro Silva
pmc is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tekin Redline RS Sensored ESC and motors, opinions for offroad? Cain Electric Off-Road 4230 06-07-2015 04:38 PM
Sensored vs. Sensorless lemansracer Electric On-Road 71 02-14-2009 03:19 AM
New Tekin Redline Sensored Motors are Roar Legal! Randy_Pike Electric On-Road 3 08-05-2008 02:08 AM
Tekin Redline Sensored 10.5 HUCKMAN Electric On-Road 6 07-15-2008 08:50 PM
sensored vs sensorless bprocket Rookie Zone 5 05-16-2008 09:38 AM


Tags
v203, vegas 2.0


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 08:52 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net