R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10-23-2010, 06:33 PM   #17866
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Michigan
Posts: 1,049
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cwoods34 View Post
I'm pretty upset with Tekin. I put 208 on my cars and they gained more speed and dropped temps. NOW they bring out 212 and it makes them faster, cooler, and easier to drive?.... I'm sick of it. These FREE updates are a waste of my time.



Can't wait to put some rips in the carpet tomorrow! Thanks Tekin!
That's funny stuff!!!
John Warner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2010, 06:46 PM   #17867
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Northern VA
Posts: 3,538
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to munrath
Default

Randy,

Awesome job with 212... I HAVE BRAKES... LOL! The car simply feels better off the line and throughout the entire power curve.

Mark
__________________
Tekno RC (RTM) / RadioPost / Tekin / Pro-Match Racing / AKA / PT Racing Oils/Diff Lube

Races for 2015:
PNB, AMS, E-Nats Warm-up, E-Nats, LCRC North East Challenge, RAC, LCRC Halloween, Badlands, ROAR Region 2 Series, and Local Club Racing
munrath is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2010, 10:28 PM   #17868
Tech Champion
 
STLNLST's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Sacramento
Posts: 8,999
Trader Rating: 21 (100%+)
Default

212+ME+OFF ROAD= DISASTER........LOL After numerous years I'm going back to off road and I hope it's like riding a bike. Stay tuned.............
STLNLST is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2010, 10:58 PM   #17869
Team Tekin
 
Randy_Pike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Norcal
Posts: 9,702
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to Randy_Pike
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cwoods34 View Post
I'm pretty upset with Tekin. I put 208 on my cars and they gained more speed and dropped temps. NOW they bring out 212 and it makes them faster, cooler, and easier to drive?.... I'm sick of it. These FREE updates are a waste of my time.



Can't wait to put some rips in the carpet tomorrow! Thanks Tekin!
Umm.... sorry!?
__________________
"Things may come to those who wait, but only the things left by those who hustle." Abraham Lincoln

Tekin,Protek,A-Main Hobbies,JConcepts,Avid RC,Yokomo,MIP,SikLidz,FactoryRC, www.randypikerc.com
Randy_Pike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2010, 11:17 PM   #17870
Tech Champion
 
Still Bill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Reno, NV
Posts: 7,237
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by STLNLST View Post
212+ME+OFF ROAD= DISASTER........LOL After numerous years I'm going back to off road and I hope it's like riding a bike. Stay tuned.............
Can't imagine you on a bike...
__________________
Constantly evolving CRC WGT and WGT-R/T...Carpet & Asphalt...All thanks to Team CRC.

And a pair of Associated B6 buggies for turf and clay tracks.
Still Bill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2010, 08:42 AM   #17871
Tech Elite
 
Warren Weaver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NASCAR COUNTRY
Posts: 2,479
Trader Rating: 47 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Randy_Pike View Post
I wasn't saying it was done intentionally. Sometimes computers hiccup and stop USB operation,etc. It happens.

I would like everyone to please go to www.teamtekin.com/hotwire.html

and download the latest software update. The original version 212 had a display error while using the C2 throttle profile.

To check to make sure you've got the latest and most current plug in your hotwire and hit the "help" button. It should read Hotwire version 5.7.3



on the tekin site it says v5.1.7 is that the hotwire and the 5.7.3 the update on the speedo end?
thanks



HotWire V5.1.7 w/Vegas 212 Released 10/20/2010:
1. Includes Vegas software 212 for RS, RS Pro, Rx8 esc:
a. Minimum Throttle adjustment
b. Minimum Brake Adjustment
c. Improved braking feel
__________________
R1 WURKS-AWESOMATIX USA-LRP-BITTYDESIGN-TQ WIRE-PROTOTYPE RACING-SWEEP RACING-TXDSKINGRAPHIX-HOBMAX-THE RUG-TEAM EZDUZIT
R.I.P. MY FRIEND JDUB MISSED BUT NEVER FORGOTTEN
Warren Weaver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2010, 08:53 AM   #17872
1M
Tech Addict
 
1M's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: NY
Posts: 653
Trader Rating: 35 (100%+)
Thumbs up

Quote:
Originally Posted by Randy_Pike View Post
I wasn't saying it was done intentionally. Sometimes computers hiccup and stop USB operation,etc. It happens.

I would like everyone to please go to www.teamtekin.com/hotwire.html

and download the latest software update. The original version 212 had a display error while using the C2 throttle profile.

To check to make sure you've got the latest and most current plug in your hotwire and hit the "help" button. It should read Hotwire version 5.7.3
I remember that "hiccup" Friday night. I went to Team Tekin.com scroll down the right side. Live chat, is on and off during any given day. You have Have set up questions Some will help you out. Saturday morning new 212 was up. I put it in 4 car every one saved settings on 1st try.

Raced Saturday, I raced 1 car my wife ran another and I tested the other 2. All cars rac great

Bob
1M is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2010, 10:54 AM   #17873
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Denmark
Posts: 562
Default

I just upgraded my Tekin RS Pro today. I don't use brakes, so I don't know about that, but I am really liking the min throttle. With 208 I sometimes went on the throttle to much, because I had no punch / speed at low throttle, resulting in overdriving the car. With 212 it is much easier to control.
__________________
Niklas Hansen
Team TCHobby / Team Upgrade-RC
Tamiya TRF417 / Speed Passion GT2.0 / Speed Passion V3 motors.
Nilks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2010, 11:58 AM   #17874
Tech Addict
 
Dave De Voe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Springfield,OR
Posts: 661
Post

just double checking. do you need to unplug the red wire on th esc when using a reciever battery on 1/12 setups??
__________________
VOE RACING/LUNSFORD Ti/CIPRIOTTI CUSTOM RC/TEAM DRIVER CGRC
Team Associated RC10 B5r-B5m/RC10Worlds/RC8B Nova 21+4
"Don't think,don't blink,it takes way too long"
Best in the Northwest '11 Nitro Stadium Truck
CGRC- COTTAGE GROVE RC RACEWAY
Dave De Voe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2010, 12:23 PM   #17875
Tech Elite
 
andrewdoherty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: ★Wylie, TX★
Posts: 3,776
Trader Rating: 47 (100%+)
Default

nope. Leave it in.
__________________
"Whether you think you can, or think you can't, you're right." -Henry Ford
"[Driving] Genius is 1% inspiration, and 99% perspiration" -T.A. Edison
|◤Hobbywing◢|◤SpeedzoneUSA.com◢|◤Pro-One◢|
|◤ReflexRacing.net◢|◤Protoform◢|◤AVID R/C◢|
andrewdoherty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2010, 06:03 PM   #17876
Tech Elite
 
andrewdoherty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: ★Wylie, TX★
Posts: 3,776
Trader Rating: 47 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by andrewdoherty View Post
I'm having troubles with 212 on my netbook on XP. I downloaded the file, and the installation process goes as expected, but when I open the software I get a message that I can only change settings on this computer and I won't be able to update software with it. When I view the software version in the opening help menu, it seems clear that 212 hasn't loaded. It worked perfect on my other laptop with XP however. I have tried re-downloading the sw and reinstalling with the same results. I looked through the faq and help sections on Tekin but they don't seem to address this. Has this already been discussed here and I missed it? ANy ideas? I tried uninstalling and reloading with no success as well... thanks y'all!
Here's what I have tried to fix this with no luck so far.
HP mini notebook running XP. I had 208 loaded on this computer previously with no problems. When I installed 208 I chose the express install.


Download a fresh copy of HW SW and reload

deleted all remnants of all previous hotwire installations manually (I was only able to find the obvious files however. I imagine there is a file somewhere not allowing me to install the newest sw)

looked for a virtual store (not found I am assuming because it only exists in Vista and W7)

Tried turning user account verifications off. (Again not found)

Tried installing the express and full versions

Tried several different Tekins that work fine on other computers

Tried the Hot Wire cable on a 2 other computers

Tried installing HW to a different folder than the default.

I was sure to restart the computer on all installation attempts except the first (I haven't had to restart on any of the other installations)

The 2 dialog boxes I get are not ones I have ever seen before. The first says "This computer will NOT support updating your speed control software. Click CANCEL to go to Tekins help page, or OK to continue" After that page closes, the usual hotwire rectangle appears. If I plug in an RS, the SW opens after flashing this dialog box on to the screen

ENABLED: Adjustments
DISABLED: Updates

After that the software opens like usual, but there are errors on the page and it doesn't display correctly. If I make a setting change I get a 3rd dialog box about a runtime error and problems with some .dll. or sometimes it directs me to tekins home page to download the newest version of the SW. When I click the help button it says the SW version is 5.0.3

I have looked on Tekin's support page and reread back quite a ways on this thread, but I can't seem to find any information about this. Does anyone have any ideas? It seems like the old version is not being removed which is not allowing the new version to be installed...

Thanks.
__________________
"Whether you think you can, or think you can't, you're right." -Henry Ford
"[Driving] Genius is 1% inspiration, and 99% perspiration" -T.A. Edison
|◤Hobbywing◢|◤SpeedzoneUSA.com◢|◤Pro-One◢|
|◤ReflexRacing.net◢|◤Protoform◢|◤AVID R/C◢|
andrewdoherty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2010, 06:10 PM   #17877
Team EAM
 
EAMotorsports's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Murfreesboro, TN
Posts: 9,158
Trader Rating: 79 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to EAMotorsports
Default

Andrew its Tekins way of telling you your too fast already! No new update for you!

EA
__________________
Contact Us
Team EAM, Our Facebook
Team EAM | Xray | RCAmerica | Hudy | APEX Raceway and Hobbies | RC Mission | Killer Concepts | AVID | Hobbywing.
EAMotorsports is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2010, 06:21 PM   #17878
Tech Champion
 
Still Bill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Reno, NV
Posts: 7,237
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

Anderew,

What netbook do you have? Opps...I see it!

Otherwise, I agree with EA above...

Bill
__________________
Constantly evolving CRC WGT and WGT-R/T...Carpet & Asphalt...All thanks to Team CRC.

And a pair of Associated B6 buggies for turf and clay tracks.
Still Bill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2010, 06:38 PM   #17879
Tech Elite
 
andrewdoherty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: ★Wylie, TX★
Posts: 3,776
Trader Rating: 47 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by EAMotorsports View Post
Andrew its Tekins way of telling you your too fast already! No new update for you!

EA
Best compliment I have received in a while! Thanks.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Still Bill View Post
Anderew,

What netbook do you have? Opps...I see it!

Otherwise, I agree with EA above...

Bill
LOL, y'all crack me up! Too fast is like Santa; It doesn't exist!

I'm pretty sure this is a hardware issue.
__________________
"Whether you think you can, or think you can't, you're right." -Henry Ford
"[Driving] Genius is 1% inspiration, and 99% perspiration" -T.A. Edison
|◤Hobbywing◢|◤SpeedzoneUSA.com◢|◤Pro-One◢|
|◤ReflexRacing.net◢|◤Protoform◢|◤AVID R/C◢|
andrewdoherty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2010, 06:38 PM   #17880
Tech Master
 
cwoods34's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Indy-freakin'-ana
Posts: 1,156
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

I'm glad the brakes are improved on 212. I've never really used brakes before, but now the damn car is so fast I have to! Here's a setup I tried on my Putnam 17.5 Duo 2 with 0 timing......

RPM 24XX to 75XX
Boost 52
Turbo 7
Delay .3
Ramp 2
Min Throttle 15
Min Brake 12
Neutral Width MIN
FDR 6.2

Temps were about 155-160 with a fan, and that was with some ridiculous brakes. Poor tires...... I could hear them crying in pain. The car actually rolled forward onto its roof a couple of times!

Ok, slight exaggeration......
__________________
Stop holding bitterness deep in your bum soul.
cwoods34 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tekin Redline RS Sensored ESC and motors, opinions for offroad? Cain Electric Off-Road 4230 06-07-2015 04:38 PM
Sensored vs. Sensorless lemansracer Electric On-Road 71 02-14-2009 03:19 AM
New Tekin Redline Sensored Motors are Roar Legal! Randy_Pike Electric On-Road 3 08-05-2008 02:08 AM
Tekin Redline Sensored 10.5 HUCKMAN Electric On-Road 6 07-15-2008 08:50 PM
sensored vs sensorless bprocket Rookie Zone 5 05-16-2008 09:38 AM


Tags
v203, vegas 2.0


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 07:43 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net