R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10-20-2010, 08:40 PM   #17731
Tech Lord
 
20 SMOKE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: HVR_ WEEKI WACHEE FL
Posts: 10,299
Trader Rating: 101 (100%+)
Default

try a different cap,are the wires getting hot or warm
__________________
Jamie W
*Team Tekin*Tekno-rc*DE Racing*AKA*DDHRC*
20 SMOKE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2010, 08:43 PM   #17732
Tech Elite
 
L.Fairtrace's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Beyond the Wall
Posts: 3,774
Trader Rating: 23 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to L.Fairtrace
Default

You mean there is a small cracking sound when you plug your batteries in coming from the plug?

Thats good that is your cap discharging.
__________________
Awesomatix USA - EaMotorsports - RocheUSA - MonTech - Sanwa - BSR Racing Tires - TQ Wire - Solaris Racing Tires - Side Piece Racing

180 and 360 Raceway. Best on the East Coast. Take your pick
L.Fairtrace is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2010, 08:57 PM   #17733
Tech Master
 
big al's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Olympia,Wa
Posts: 1,026
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

the spark can be seen and heard. I don't have any heating of the wires at all. There isn't any smoke or anything that seems dangerous. It's done this since I've owned it and the esc works perfectly.
big al is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2010, 09:02 PM   #17734
Tech Fanatic
 
BCbud's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Victoria BC Canada
Posts: 758
Trader Rating: 37 (100%+)
Default

Good day!

That is just the cap taking its charge, no problem.
__________________
Xray NT1 - Xray T4 2013 TC - Xray T4 2013 VTA - CRCgenX10 - CRCgenX - CRCgenXi - Slash 4X4 with LCG conversion -Associated RC8Be - Xray XB4 - DX3R PRO
Recycled teenager.
www.irocc.ca ; www.corvictoria.com ; http://www.wcics.ca/
I will not send Pay Pal as a gift or add fees to the price so DO NOT ASK!
BCbud is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2010, 09:10 PM   #17735
Tech Elite
 
tallyrc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: palm city, fl
Posts: 2,594
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tallyrc View Post
couple q's.. i'm sure this has been asked but the search seems to never work these days.. first.. certainly the default deadband of 56 is not % of total throtle so what is it? a percentage of somethign else? and with deadband in the modern radios should either the radio or esc be set at "0"? also.. are out base setups from 208 a good starting point with 212? excited to give it whirl this weekend..
i'll try it again..
__________________
WWW.STORMERHOBBIES.COM helping keep pan cars alive!

Turns out not where, but who your with that really matters... DMB
tallyrc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2010, 09:19 PM   #17736
Tech Fanatic
 
bukil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: BenTooWrah
Posts: 998
Trader Rating: 39 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tallyrc View Post
couple q's.. i'm sure this has been asked but the search seems to never work these days.. first.. certainly the default deadband of 56 is not % of total throtle so what is it? a percentage of somethign else? and with deadband in the modern radios should either the radio or esc be set at "0"? also.. are out base setups from 208 a good starting point with 212? excited to give it whirl this weekend..
Quote:
Originally Posted by Randy_Pike View Post
Greg make sure you're setting your LVC to 1s. The chime is created by the motor so do you have your motor hooked up?

Nuetral width is the "window" in which we wil accept a calibrated nuetral.
Quote:
Originally Posted by tallyrc View Post
i'll try it again..
See above post?
__________________
☆ ActivRC ☆
bukil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2010, 09:20 PM   #17737
Tech Addict
 
georgec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: TN
Posts: 624
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Had my RS updated this afternoon before practice by the track owner and I think I like 212 better than 208. Braking is much improved and overall has a smoother feel, as for top speed I could tell no difference.
Thanks Tekin for a great product and excellent support!
georgec is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2010, 09:34 PM   #17738
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Hong Kong
Posts: 233
Default 208 cannot update to 212

Maybe it is just me, but my RSpro 208 cannot be updated to 212. I have download and installed hotwire212 onto my PC. The 208 software uninstalled and the new version prompted to update the ESC when plugged in.

When all the steps are completed (with 212 updated confirmation) the hotwire interface popped up, it shows all the options etc... (like normal). However, when I unplugged the ESC and replug into the hotwire, hotwire again prompts to update again saying that my ESC needs to be updated with a newer version. I have tried this like 10x with no luck.

I reinstalled 208 onto the PC and the hotwire 208 detects the ESC with 208 firmware.

Apparently, my ESC did not get updated with the 212 software although it confirmed that it should. Again, I have reflash and reflash like 10x but still cannot find a solution.

Is there anything I am doing wrong? Please help!

Note: I have updated v198>v200>v203>v208 with NO problem before.

Many thanks!
And keep up the good work, Team Tekin!
hardmankam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2010, 09:54 PM   #17739
Tech Elite
 
tallyrc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: palm city, fl
Posts: 2,594
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bukil View Post
See above post?
thanks, that didnt answer them.. sorry to have bothered you
__________________
WWW.STORMERHOBBIES.COM helping keep pan cars alive!

Turns out not where, but who your with that really matters... DMB
tallyrc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2010, 11:16 PM   #17740
Tech Apprentice
 
rambolin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 66
Default 212 - settings not updating in ESC

Hi

Settings do not update - I am getting the message '..install the newest version..!'. I am using Windows 7. Help appreciated.
rambolin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2010, 11:46 PM   #17741
Tech Apprentice
 
rambolin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 66
Default Re 212 - settings not updating in ESC

Hi

Further to my post above - my ESC does not work at all any more. Still being detected on HotWire but no lights once on battery.

HELP
rambolin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2010, 12:02 AM   #17742
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 387
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

do you still have install program for 208 ?

may pay to go back and flash it again with that and then try 212 after that...

ed
Edwin Pibal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2010, 12:07 AM   #17743
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Hong Kong
Posts: 233
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rambolin View Post
Hi

Further to my post above - my ESC does not work at all any more. Still being detected on HotWire but no lights once on battery.

HELP
My ESC also has some problems updating to v212 as mine does not flash to v212 and being 'stuck' on v208.
You may try to re-flesh to v208 first and see if it works.
hardmankam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2010, 12:11 AM   #17744
Tech Regular
 
twk-b's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: calgary
Posts: 379
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Send a message via MSN to twk-b
Default ah, amazing temperatures?

Ah, so after jumping back into touring car after the summer break, I updated to 208, and setups that used to be pushing the limits temperature wise (150+) are all coming off at 90-100C. B=45 T=10, delay=0.05 ramp=2 5000-9000

I tested both 17.5 and 13.5 with ORCA motors... just a heat sink...

It was a new track layout, so I was unsure on the gearing... I tried a couple teeth each way and my times didnt seem to waiver much either way. Previously with two teeth up, it should have been ready to cook a meal but never over 110.

It seemed there were similar results up and down the pit lane....

No track time between now and race day.. so was hoping to find the follow...

1) With the reduced temperatures are team drivers (and others), making new changes (gearing, RPM gap, etc) to the setups to bring the temps up again, or everyone is just sitting at 100C now in TC? ramp=3 was pretty much off limits from my experience in TC. with the new temps that seems like something worth retesting?

2) With 203 it seemed that boost really spooled up, and was most noticeable in the last 1/3 of the straight almost leaping ahead.... With 208 things seem much more linear which is great, but it doesnt seem to have the same top end.... (b) is this related to "203 level rpm schedules" in 212?

3) What all is recorded with the 2 Custom Profiles? Thottle Profile, drag/push and some other settings also change between classes, are these values stored for each, or shared for all profiles? (Super Stock, Stock, VTA)

I am totally blown away by the temps! Thanks for providing a great product. Keep up the great work!

-b

Last edited by twk-b; 10-21-2010 at 12:15 AM. Reason: minor tweaks
twk-b is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2010, 12:16 AM   #17745
Team Tekin
 
Randy_Pike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Norcal
Posts: 9,702
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to Randy_Pike
Default

If you're having a hard time getting your 212 to update do a factory reset on the unit, try again.
__________________
"Things may come to those who wait, but only the things left by those who hustle." Abraham Lincoln

Tekin,Protek,A-Main Hobbies,JConcepts,Avid RC,Yokomo,MIP,SikLidz,FactoryRC, www.randypikerc.com
Randy_Pike is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tekin Redline RS Sensored ESC and motors, opinions for offroad? Cain Electric Off-Road 4230 06-07-2015 04:38 PM
Sensored vs. Sensorless lemansracer Electric On-Road 71 02-14-2009 03:19 AM
New Tekin Redline Sensored Motors are Roar Legal! Randy_Pike Electric On-Road 3 08-05-2008 02:08 AM
Tekin Redline Sensored 10.5 HUCKMAN Electric On-Road 6 07-15-2008 08:50 PM
sensored vs sensorless bprocket Rookie Zone 5 05-16-2008 09:38 AM


Tags
v203, vegas 2.0


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 07:54 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net