R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10-20-2010, 12:50 PM   #17686
Administrator
 
Matt M.'s Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 8,410
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default

thank you dawn, and thank you randy, it is people like you guys that keep rctech a popular site.

now, moving forward, i have had about enough of the accusations that are unfounded, especially after the answer was given...

lets now talk about how 212 is a great program and how we are setting it up....
__________________
Team Losi Racing-Team Tekin-Proline Racing-Motiv-92zero Designs-Jim Neubert Paint Design-LiveRC.com-TFR-Team Dirt Heaven-Gravity RC-Trackside

UNLESS someone like you cares a whole awful lot,nothing is going to get better. It's not. Dr. Seuss
Matt M. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2010, 12:51 PM   #17687
Tech Elite
 
pakk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 3,077
Trader Rating: 79 (100%+)
Default

I'd like to know where I can get the mouse trap that accepts 212.
__________________
*Photon* *SC10 4x4*
RCRD
pakk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2010, 12:55 PM   #17688
Tech Elite
 
reenmachine's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Studio City, CA
Posts: 2,539
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dawn Sanchez View Post
Gentlemen: I have not logged into this site for almost a year simply because conversations get way out of hand.. and now, I refuse to allow MY NAME to be associated with hurting a good ROAR affiliate.

Tekin did nothing wrong. Tekin did their job and ROAR chose to review a software profile. We determined for the spirit of the rules, the 208 profile didn't match what we needed in a sportsman ESC and TEKIN offered to change things - but honestly, didn't have to.

I answered an email today that I thought was a private conversation and in no way did I give permission for my email to be publicized. I was asked if the 208 was legal and no, it is not as the list does not reflect 208 but now reflects 212. So, loaded question I guess and I was naive to see that and I answered a question and I should have been more sparing in my answer as I did not realize it would be used to hurt an affiliate publically.

Again, Tekin did nothing wrong. ROAR asked for a change and was granted this change for the sake of its members.

Move on already. Nobody did anything to deserve this kind of bashing.

Dawn Sanchez
ROAR President
This just needs to be repeated every page for a few days.
__________________
Pete Waydo
2010 Big Fat Turkey Race Mini Cooper AAA Main Champion
*** currently in stasis ***
reenmachine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2010, 01:51 PM   #17689
Tech Regular
 
darrenoakley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Dorset UK
Posts: 266
Default

Just testing 212 and worked great for 5 mins, Then started to stutter when at full throttle and dont get full power. Have tryed update again, Recalibrate controller,Changed motor but still stuttering. if i drop my throttle epa to 80% it works but still wont get full power. Any ideas ? alsdo even does it with 208 and 203 installed.

Could it be the capacitor is stuffed maybe.
__________________
Xray x11
Xray T3 011
darrenoakley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2010, 01:53 PM   #17690
Tech Elite
 
R3VoLuTiOn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Posts: 2,391
Trader Rating: 27 (100%+)
Default

T minus 3 hours until I get to go racing with 212.

I will miss boost though. I hope it comes back into 17.5 eventually.
__________________
John Tsang 🏁 VBC Racing 🚗 ORCA RC 🚗 GripworksRC 🚗 MotivRC 🚗 GravityRC 🚗 RC America

http://www.facebook.com/VancouverRRR 🏁 http://www.facebook.com/OvergearedRacing
R3VoLuTiOn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2010, 01:56 PM   #17691
Team Tekin
 
Randy_Pike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Norcal
Posts: 9,702
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to Randy_Pike
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by darrenoakley View Post
Just testing 212 and worked great for 5 mins, Then started to stutter when at full throttle and dont get full power. Have tryed update again, Recalibrate controller,Changed motor but still stuttering. if i drop my throttle epa to 80% it works but still wont get full power. Any ideas ? alsdo even does it with 208 and 203 installed.

Could it be the capacitor is stuffed maybe.
This sounds like a motor issue or losing a sensor possibly. After you updated you did recalibrate your radio right?

What is your full esc setup? 1s or 2s?
__________________
"Things may come to those who wait, but only the things left by those who hustle." Abraham Lincoln

Tekin,Protek,A-Main Hobbies,JConcepts,Avid RC,Yokomo,MIP,SikLidz,FactoryRC, www.randypikerc.com
Randy_Pike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2010, 01:59 PM   #17692
Tech Fanatic
 
Green Machine!'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Eastvale, Ca.
Posts: 816
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Send a message via MSN to Green Machine!
Default

Question asside from all the drama. I have the 4PK. It has minimum drive on the throttle and brake that I already use. Are these the same adjustment intergrated in the new 212? Also if I run 17.5 open, I don't realy have to worry about the other stuff. Is that correct?
__________________
Team Kamikaze.
XCEED RC
SERPENT
FUTABA
SSCLCG
Green Machine! is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2010, 02:04 PM   #17693
Tech Regular
 
darrenoakley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Dorset UK
Posts: 266
Default

running 1s 10.5
start 2750 ish
finish 10500 ish
boost 45
no advance
no turbo
Worked fine before and in first race, changed to 13.5 motor and replace sensor lead but still not working. I am going to replace the cap when I get home and see what that does. It seems to happen when the LEDs reach the top where turbo (if i was using it) would kick in.

Also replaced capacitor now and still no joy.
__________________
Xray x11
Xray T3 011

Last edited by darrenoakley; 10-20-2010 at 02:55 PM.
darrenoakley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2010, 02:27 PM   #17694
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 282
Default 212 SETUP INFO ???

Hi Will Randy and the team be posting some info on here or there website to tell us what these new adjustments do and how / when we should use them ??
__________________
XRAY T4 Hobbywing V3 Sanwa
FLAT OUT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2010, 02:44 PM   #17695
Tech Master
 
bshookup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Olympia, WA
Posts: 1,554
Trader Rating: 18 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by skypilot View Post
PS. I'm not 100% sure, but I'm pretty sure Brain Shook who won the sportsman class at the roar paved nats used a Tekin and not a LRP as previously stated by randy, I'll call him and ask to make sure, however like I said, it really doesn't matter now that world peace as been accomplished with the release of 212.
"Brain?"

Randy is correct, I ran an LRP Sphere Comp 07 at ROAR nats. I could see how you would remember otherwise because more often than not you'd see a Tekin in my car. I'm happy to see the response from Dawn and hope to see the 208/212 banter die down. Looking forward to trying out that 212.

Wish I could have raced some WGT with you on Sunday Ritchie. Catch you at the track soon.

- Brian
__________________
TEAM ASSOCIATED
REEDY
TEAM POWERS: www.teampowersusa.net/
bshookup is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2010, 03:18 PM   #17696
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 900
Default

Many thanks Randy and all at Team Tekin. Downloaded the new 212, all worked exactly according to plan, and both speedos now updated. Looking forward to trying it all out at the track this weekend.

I didn't have to register, Randy, but you have my e-mail from the 208 download. If you need it again for the 212, please post here and I'll forward it to you.

As for the 208 / 212 Stock setting debate - well, they say that this hobby is for children!! Super post from Dawn, and I hope the children are now bored with that game, and we can get on with the business of making our Tekin-powered cars fly!
SlowerOne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2010, 03:23 PM   #17697
Tech Champion
 
JayBee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: 12TH-MAN COUNTRY
Posts: 6,813
Trader Rating: 31 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DaveW View Post
These last 4 pages of whining and crying are from the people that want a class that is easier for them to win in. The only problem is they have actually made it more difficult. In an open market, this control is damn near impossible.

They point fingers and toss accusations to debate something that would be a non issue if they just ran the previous classes available and didnt press to rewrite the rule books.

In all actuality these same folks wouldn't win doo-doo. These are the same guys who bitch and moan about a superior DRIVER kickin' their asses and blames the ass-kickin' on other things OTHER THAN inferior setup & driving skills
__________________
R C 3 G R A F I X _ F U S I O N . G R A P H I X _ S E A T T L E - R/C - R A C E R S _ E M E R A L D C I T Y R C . C O M

A E - 12R5.2 _ S M - REV8 PRO
JayBee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2010, 03:45 PM   #17698
Tech Master
 
sportpak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Ft Wayne, IN
Posts: 1,314
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default

I'm a little lost in all the bullshit.... Is v212 a SPEC ONLY update, or basically v208 with an updated spec profile?
__________________
-Tamiya TA05-R - Tamiya M05 - Summit Raceway Ft. Wayne, IN

www.summitrcraceway.com
sportpak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2010, 03:49 PM   #17699
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 1,870
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

No, v212 has other things as well, but it is also the latest ROAR '0-timing' software, but has better brakes and min brake/throttle levels to.

As an aside, the more you try to control the easier it is to point a finger at someone going faster and call them cheaters with no hard and fast evidence, seen it in silver can, 27t, 19t and now we got it in brushless. Sometimes you just got to accept the fact, if you build it with top spec equipment, you will get a better performance, especially when you get the drive right. As for me, slowest you will catch me with in saloon is a 13.5
DA_cookie_monst is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2010, 03:55 PM   #17700
Tech Master
 
DS Motorsport's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 1,440
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Randy_Pike View Post
When I follow this link and download the software it is still the 208 version, am I doing something wrong or what?

Also an other question, currently I'm using this capacitor with my RS pro: http://www.lrp.cc/en/products/electr...0-74v/details/

I opted for this one as I'm also running a 5.5T motor outside with the RS.
Now for indoor I will solely run 13.5T and I think the LRP Cap. might be a bit large for this motor.
As I somewhat remember from my electric engineering classes a Cap. has an ideal size for a certain application, has to do with higher voltages as the Cap. get's filled more or something.
So would it be wise to switch back to the stock Capacitor?
__________________
P1-RC.com
DS Motorsport is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tekin Redline RS Sensored ESC and motors, opinions for offroad? Cain Electric Off-Road 4230 06-07-2015 04:38 PM
Sensored vs. Sensorless lemansracer Electric On-Road 71 02-14-2009 03:19 AM
New Tekin Redline Sensored Motors are Roar Legal! Randy_Pike Electric On-Road 3 08-05-2008 02:08 AM
Tekin Redline Sensored 10.5 HUCKMAN Electric On-Road 6 07-15-2008 08:50 PM
sensored vs sensorless bprocket Rookie Zone 5 05-16-2008 09:38 AM


Tags
v203, vegas 2.0


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 04:20 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net