R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-18-2008, 09:42 PM   #1726
Team Tekin
 
Randy_Pike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Norcal
Posts: 9,702
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to Randy_Pike
Default

Nice car Bob.

Well little personal tidbit about me that Ty knows but most don't is that for the last decade I've been with Dodge/Chrysler in the tech department. Trust me, I like Dodge much better as well.

Hemi! Do we need to say more?
__________________
"Things may come to those who wait, but only the things left by those who hustle." Abraham Lincoln

Tekin,Protek,A-Main Hobbies,JConcepts,Avid RC,Yokomo,MIP,SikLidz,FactoryRC, www.randypikerc.com
Randy_Pike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2008, 05:56 PM   #1727
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 632
Trader Rating: 35 (100%+)
Default

.

Last edited by Josh Keller; 09-26-2009 at 08:00 PM.
Josh Keller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2008, 02:21 PM   #1728
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Helmond
Posts: 1,544
Default

i have updated some one els his Tekin RS pro from 180 to 189.
Damn wath a speed. The car was verry fast. (fastest car on the track)
I drove mine in the 183.
The thing that i want to cange is the acceleration.
It is in nr 5 a litle bit to agressife. in nr 4 it is a litle bit to slow for me. The gap is to big for me.
I was faster with the acceleration at 5. Only it was harder to keep the car good on the track.
Also i have changed the pinion from 24 to 23. This made the car a bit faster and kept the motor under the 60degrees Celcius.
It was a good practice but i hope that my speedo will work also on the 189. I want that speed also
__________________
http://www.mikky32.com
Tekin RS pro
TOP racing Photon
Tekin Redline 10,5
Protoform LTC-R
mikky32 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2008, 03:41 PM   #1729
Tech Fanatic
 
DHMOTORSPORTS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Central IL.
Posts: 836
Trader Rating: 19 (100%+)
Default

Hey guys just got my new RS. Had a question about the wiring? I am running a brushed motor and to do it you have to run 3 wires into 1. Instead of doing it that way can you just jump the 3 together at the posts and run 1 wire back? In my thinking its the same. But not pysically the same..
__________________
Trinity / Team Epic / ReVtech Batteries / TRC / F-Bomb Graphix
DHMOTORSPORTS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2008, 04:09 PM   #1730
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 649
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Yup, you can wire it up that way without any problem for brushed.
Fred_B is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2008, 01:44 PM   #1731
Tech Adept
 
C van der Hagen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 245
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TRF415boy View Post
Run it in sensored only mode and turn the timing on the motor to the max.
Is this possible without hotwire?
C van der Hagen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2008, 02:34 PM   #1732
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Helmond
Posts: 1,544
Default

no you need the hotwire.
__________________
http://www.mikky32.com
Tekin RS pro
TOP racing Photon
Tekin Redline 10,5
Protoform LTC-R
mikky32 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2008, 04:19 PM   #1733
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 929
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default

im having a problem, when the car accelerates from a dead stop it stutters badly then about 15ft it goes away. heres my setup, anyone with ideas much appreciated

12th scale rs pro 17.5 tekin nihm
no drag
limiter off
profile 3
brake %5
sesored only mode
motor timing max

what ive tried so far
motor(tried a 13.5 much worse)
sensor wire
re setup rs pro
eddie10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2008, 04:21 PM   #1734
Tech Master
 
shadow102's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 1,441
Trader Rating: 21 (96%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by eddie10 View Post
im having a problem, when the car accelerates from a dead stop it stutters badly then about 15ft it goes away. heres my setup, anyone with ideas much appreciated

12th scale rs pro 17.5 tekin nihm
no drag
limiter off
profile 3
brake %5
sesored only mode
motor timing max

what ive tried so far
motor(tried a 13.5 much worse)
sensor wire
re setup rs pro
are the sensor lights lighting up?
__________________
Hot Bodies Cyclone - - TeamTekin - - Spektrum - - Team Orion - - Futaba

www.nexusracing.com
www.go-rc.org
shadow102 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2008, 05:07 PM   #1735
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 929
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default

yes they are
eddie10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2008, 05:28 PM   #1736
Tech Master
 
CCristo's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Millbury, MA
Posts: 1,439
Trader Rating: 55 (100%+)
Default

What firmware version? Can you test it with a 6 cell to see if the problem goes away?
CCristo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2008, 05:33 PM   #1737
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 929
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default

i beleive its 189 ill check it
eddie10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2008, 05:43 PM   #1738
sg1
Tech Elite
 
sg1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Ohio
Posts: 3,073
Trader Rating: 79 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by eddie10 View Post
i beleive its 189 ill check it
If it is, do you also have the "turbo boost"? How much motor timing do you have, max?? If you have the boost on and more then 6 deg. motor timing it's too much total timing and probably overgeared. With the Tekin 17.5 at zero timing and max in speedo you would want to start about 3.00" roll out for a 90 x 60 track. Smaller tracks go down to 2.90" rollout. The stuttering should go away. When I first started with the boost and motor timing I had the same problem.
__________________
**Team Scream**Parma/PSE**TQ Wire**Roche**Pemberton**BSR**Graupner/GM**SXT**
sg1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2008, 05:46 PM   #1739
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 929
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default

sorry its 180 firmware wth sesored only box checked
eddie10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2008, 05:50 PM   #1740
sg1
Tech Elite
 
sg1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Ohio
Posts: 3,073
Trader Rating: 79 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by eddie10 View Post
sorry its 180 firmware wth sesored only box checked
That's still high timing, What roll out did you have? How hot was the motor?
__________________
**Team Scream**Parma/PSE**TQ Wire**Roche**Pemberton**BSR**Graupner/GM**SXT**
sg1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tekin Redline RS Sensored ESC and motors, opinions for offroad? Cain Electric Off-Road 4230 06-07-2015 04:38 PM
Sensored vs. Sensorless lemansracer Electric On-Road 71 02-14-2009 03:19 AM
New Tekin Redline Sensored Motors are Roar Legal! Randy_Pike Electric On-Road 3 08-05-2008 02:08 AM
Tekin Redline Sensored 10.5 HUCKMAN Electric On-Road 6 07-15-2008 08:50 PM
sensored vs sensorless bprocket Rookie Zone 5 05-16-2008 09:38 AM


Tags
v203, vegas 2.0


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 11:36 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net