R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10-08-2010, 05:09 PM   #17356
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 282
Default

On my futaba 3vc, I can set my throttle and brake epa to 120 ??? should I use this or set it at 100 and callibrate the radio. I also have had problems with this
__________________
XRAY T4 Hobbywing V3 Sanwa
FLAT OUT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2010, 05:26 PM   #17357
Tech Regular
 
michael mercer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Herrin, Illinois
Posts: 461
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Randy_Pike View Post
Trevor is correct. Less voltage means more current. For 1s mod racing you should be uisng the RS Pro. I've seen others use the RS for it and you "can" but it may thermal so testing would need to be done.
Really?
I thought I=ER . I being current measured in amps. E being electromotive force measured in volts, and R being resistance measured in ohms. Please correct me if I'm wrong.
michael mercer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2010, 05:56 PM   #17358
Tech Fanatic
 
BCbud's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Victoria BC Canada
Posts: 758
Trader Rating: 37 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by michael mercer View Post
Really?
I thought I=ER . I being current measured in amps. E being electromotive force measured in volts, and R being resistance measured in ohms. Please correct me if I'm wrong.

Good day!

V=IR

V= voltage
I=current
R=resistance

It is Ohm's law.
__________________
Xray NT1 - Xray T4 2013 TC - Xray T4 2013 VTA - CRCgenX10 - CRCgenX - CRCgenXi - Slash 4X4 with LCG conversion -Associated RC8Be - Xray XB4 - DX3R PRO
Recycled teenager.
www.irocc.ca ; www.corvictoria.com ; http://www.wcics.ca/
I will not send Pay Pal as a gift or add fees to the price so DO NOT ASK!
BCbud is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2010, 06:13 PM   #17359
Tech Fanatic
 
BCbud's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Victoria BC Canada
Posts: 758
Trader Rating: 37 (100%+)
Default

After going back and reading a bit, what is being questioned is to get the same amount of power (watts) you would need more current.

P=VI

P=watts
v=volts
I=current

If you decreas the voltage, you need more current to get the same amount of power.

I hope this makes sence.
__________________
Xray NT1 - Xray T4 2013 TC - Xray T4 2013 VTA - CRCgenX10 - CRCgenX - CRCgenXi - Slash 4X4 with LCG conversion -Associated RC8Be - Xray XB4 - DX3R PRO
Recycled teenager.
www.irocc.ca ; www.corvictoria.com ; http://www.wcics.ca/
I will not send Pay Pal as a gift or add fees to the price so DO NOT ASK!

Last edited by BCbud; 10-08-2010 at 06:13 PM. Reason: spelling
BCbud is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2010, 07:37 PM   #17360
Tech Regular
 
michael mercer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Herrin, Illinois
Posts: 461
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BCbud View Post
After going back and reading a bit, what is being questioned is to get the same amount of power (watts) you would need more current.

P=VI

P=watts
v=volts
I=current

If you decreas the voltage, you need more current to get the same amount of power.

I hope this makes sence.
You are correct. What I meant to post was I=V/R. If the resistance stays the same and you reduce the voltage, you will also reduce the current.
michael mercer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2010, 08:35 PM   #17361
Tech Elite
 
Grenade10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Fort Collins, Colorado
Posts: 4,674
Trader Rating: 37 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by michael mercer View Post
You are correct. What I meant to post was I=V/R. If the resistance stays the same and you reduce the voltage, you will also reduce the current.
Yes this is the right equation. I was taught it this way .......

Indian See's The Vulture over the River.

Quiz next week and I bet more people rememeber this!!
__________________
Darkside, Sweep, BSR, Fantom, IGT Hobbies and IGT8
Byrons Fuel, ProtoForm Bodies & Futaba Radio Gear by Choice
Founding Member of CORRC .... 5280raceway
www.darksidems.com www.igthobbies.com www.IGT8.com
Grenade10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2010, 08:59 PM   #17362
Tech Apprentice
 
Kuttermax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Dublin, OH
Posts: 91
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kuttermax View Post
Is anyone else here running a Novak Ballistic motor with their RS?

I'd be interested in having you check if the "reverse faster than forward" problem also exists. To me it seems that for whatever reason I'm getting more timing advance in reverse than forward, exactly the opposite of what should be occurring with the 30 degree default timing on the Novak can.

The only sensored motors I currently own are Novak Ballistics, so I haven't been able to troubleshoot using a different motor. I went ahead and ordered a Tekin 13.5 BL today and will have it by Friday. I will drop it in the car Friday evening and it will be very interesting to see what that does.
I picked up the Tekin Redline 13.5 BL today and dropped it into my RB5 and hooked it up to the Tekin RS. It solved the problem. Forward is faster than reverse with boost off and dramatically faster as I dial up the boost.

Looks like I will be needing to get another Tekin Redline to replace my Novak Ballistic in my SC-R....
__________________
Kyosho RB5 SP2 and SC-R
Traxxas Slash PE 4x4 and E-Revo BL
Tamiya Egress, RC10
Hometrack: http://www.crcrc.com
Kuttermax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2010, 01:10 AM   #17363
Tech Regular
 
TrevCoult's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Worksop, Nottinghamshire, UK
Posts: 355
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BCbud View Post
After going back and reading a bit, what is being questioned is to get the same amount of power (watts) you would need more current.

P=VI

P=watts
v=volts
I=current

If you decreas the voltage, you need more current to get the same amount of power.

I hope this makes sence.
Someone's got it! Yes, to get the same power with less voltage you need more current, and that is what happens when running 1S LiPo.

Trev
__________________
Schumacher Atom GT12
Schumacher Eclipse 12th
www.carsrcracing.co.uk
CARSrcracing.co.uk Webmaster
Schumacher Racing
TrevCoult is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2010, 01:13 AM   #17364
Tech Regular
 
TrevCoult's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Worksop, Nottinghamshire, UK
Posts: 355
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kuttermax View Post
I picked up the Tekin Redline 13.5 BL today and dropped it into my RB5 and hooked it up to the Tekin RS. It solved the problem. Forward is faster than reverse with boost off and dramatically faster as I dial up the boost.

Looks like I will be needing to get another Tekin Redline to replace my Novak Ballistic in my SC-R....
If that has happened, my guess is it is something to do with the timing setting of the Ballistic. Try out different motor timing settings to see if it makes any difference.

Trev
__________________
Schumacher Atom GT12
Schumacher Eclipse 12th
www.carsrcracing.co.uk
CARSrcracing.co.uk Webmaster
Schumacher Racing
TrevCoult is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2010, 05:23 AM   #17365
Tech Apprentice
 
Kuttermax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Dublin, OH
Posts: 91
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TrevCoult View Post
If that has happened, my guess is it is something to do with the timing setting of the Ballistic. Try out different motor timing settings to see if it makes any difference.

Trev
I agree that something is way off on the timing of the Novak Ballistics that I have. It would seem that they are off by 180 degrees.

I have the problem with several of them and the Tekin motor working confirms that it is the motor and not the ESC that is the problem.

Next step for me is contacting Novak and seeing want they think and whether they'll replace the motors (should be under warranty).

I also have a brand new unopened Novak Ballistic 4.5T that I planned to drop into a Slash 4x4 with a RS Pro. Now I'm not sure I even want to open it and am thinking of sending it back and waiting for the Tekin SC's motors to come out.
__________________
Kyosho RB5 SP2 and SC-R
Traxxas Slash PE 4x4 and E-Revo BL
Tamiya Egress, RC10
Hometrack: http://www.crcrc.com
Kuttermax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2010, 07:17 AM   #17366
avs
Tech Master
 
avs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 1,175
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by michael mercer View Post
Really?
I thought I=ER . I being current measured in amps. E being electromotive force measured in volts, and R being resistance measured in ohms. Please correct me if I'm wrong.
what Randy stated is correct, and ohm's law is not the governing equation. (e=ir, or your version)

with a given motor wind, more voltage means more rpm, and more current means more torque.

so switching from 2s vs 1s in the same car, the same power (torque*rpm) will be achieved by at a lower rpm with more torque. does this help?
__________________
Tony Shimko
avs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2010, 08:40 AM   #17367
Tech Regular
 
Jsaves's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Montana
Posts: 495
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default tekin iphone or ipad

With Verizon getting there iphone soon, meaning the use of the ipad is easier also, I hope the best esc company in the land is moving toward an app for that hotwire. How cool would that be to bring the ipad or iphone to the track instead of the computer!

Please TEKIN

God Bless
__________________
Proud member of Magic City RC Racers
Magic City R/C (Facebook)
CRC GT-R
CRC WTF-1
Jsaves is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2010, 09:31 AM   #17368
Tech Apprentice
 
Kuttermax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Dublin, OH
Posts: 91
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jsaves View Post
With Verizon getting there iphone soon, meaning the use of the ipad is easier also, I hope the best esc company in the land is moving toward an app for that hotwire. How cool would that be to bring the ipad or iphone to the track instead of the computer!

Please TEKIN

God Bless
That would be sweet.
__________________
Kyosho RB5 SP2 and SC-R
Traxxas Slash PE 4x4 and E-Revo BL
Tamiya Egress, RC10
Hometrack: http://www.crcrc.com
Kuttermax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2010, 09:40 AM   #17369
Tech Elite
 
kuruption's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Southeast PA
Posts: 2,118
Trader Rating: 24 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to kuruption
Default

There are some technical limitations to what the iPhone can do, in particular, the iPhone would need to be able to become a 'usb host' (which is part of the usb2go specs) which I do not believe the iPhone or Ipod touch can do at this point.

Even of the android-based phones, only a few of them support this feature, and of those that do, only 1 or 2 support it out of the box from the carrier and/or vendor.

I have an android phone that can be a usb host, but it's not supported by the vendor/carrier. It requires hacking (i.e. rooting) the OS and, at this point, custom soldering your own connector. Obviously this wouldn't be very viable for everyone as it would void your phone's warranty.

So, while I also would like the ability to program my Tekin from my phone, everyone needs to understand the limitations are most likely within the phones themselves and not necessarily with Tekin's ability or desire to support this functionality.

My advise is to spend a few dollars and purchase yourself a netbook, even a used one will do. Netbooks tend to be just as cheap, if not cheaper, than your standard smart phone and can run the Hotwire software. I know some would say that they don't want to buy something new, but at the same time, if I told you phone XYZ supported this functionality, you would probably go buy one right now... so think about it a bit.
__________________
Ray Sundland
Eat. Sleep. Race. Repeat.
"Feel not as though it is a sphere we live on, rather an infinite plane which has the illusion of leading yourself back to a point of origin."
kuruption is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2010, 10:20 AM   #17370
Tech Adept
 
Revlimit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Worthleavin, KS
Posts: 125
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Reversing the throttle channel didn't work for me, with my calibrating issues. It just made the motor run the opposite direction, with reverse enabled. But I went through the programming and set the neutral width to the lowest setting and it worked with only four clicks of throttle subtrim towards the high side. Also no more squishy trigger feel, so I am happy. Aslong as my turbo and timing boost settings will come on the right way I won't worry about a little subtrim. Thanks for the help though.
__________________
Dirt oval crazed!
Custom Works Rocket 13.5 latemodel, FT B4 backup latemodel/offroad
Boss tuned Speed Passion Power http://bossrcmotorsports.com/
Proud member of Hubbard Motorsports, Team Wicked, and Boss RC Motorsports!
Revlimit is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tekin Redline RS Sensored ESC and motors, opinions for offroad? Cain Electric Off-Road 4230 06-07-2015 04:38 PM
Sensored vs. Sensorless lemansracer Electric On-Road 71 02-14-2009 03:19 AM
New Tekin Redline Sensored Motors are Roar Legal! Randy_Pike Electric On-Road 3 08-05-2008 02:08 AM
Tekin Redline Sensored 10.5 HUCKMAN Electric On-Road 6 07-15-2008 08:50 PM
sensored vs sensorless bprocket Rookie Zone 5 05-16-2008 09:38 AM


Tags
v203, vegas 2.0


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 09:15 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net