R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10-05-2010, 05:42 AM   #17281
Tech Regular
 
TrevCoult's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Worksop, Nottinghamshire, UK
Posts: 355
Default

One thing to point out, boost and turbo are completely independent in the way they act, but combine for the total amount of timing.

The time boost comes in, and the amount of it depend on the start and end RPM, so the current RPM of your motor defines the amount of timing.

For turbo, when this comes in, and the amount of it depend on the amount of time you have spent on full throttle, along with your delay and ramp settings.

Your total amount of timing is the amount of boost at any point plus the amount of turbo (plus any motor timing).

Hope this helps.

Trev
__________________
Schumacher Atom GT12
Schumacher Eclipse 12th
www.carsrcracing.co.uk
CARSrcracing.co.uk Webmaster
Schumacher Racing
TrevCoult is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2010, 06:16 AM   #17282
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: UK
Posts: 286
Default

Is it best to leave turbo at 0 then get gearing and rpm right before adding turbo if it's needed ?

Thanks.
S.A.W is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2010, 07:00 AM   #17283
Tech Elite
 
M-Technic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Palm Beach, FL
Posts: 2,562
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

Alright so I checked my radio and speedo last night and I guess I did recalibrate it after I put v208 on it.

Soooo, who has a link to download the Hotwire v4 software so I can go back to v203?
__________________
RCAmerica | Xray | Hudy | Radiopost | Speed Passion USA | Trinity | P3 Graphics
M-Technic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2010, 07:04 AM   #17284
Tech Addict
 
bfong13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 611
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by M-Technic View Post
Alright so I checked my radio and speedo last night and I guess I did recalibrate it after I put v208 on it.

Soooo, who has a link to download the Hotwire v4 software so I can go back to v203?
TJ, I think I might have a laptop with 203 still on it. I'll check tonight.
bfong13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2010, 07:06 AM   #17285
Tech Regular
 
TrevCoult's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Worksop, Nottinghamshire, UK
Posts: 355
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by S.A.W View Post
Is it best to leave turbo at 0 then get gearing and rpm right before adding turbo if it's needed ?

Thanks.
Yes. Tune your car to the infield and then add turbo for extra speed on the straight if necessary.

Trev
__________________
Schumacher Atom GT12
Schumacher Eclipse 12th
www.carsrcracing.co.uk
CARSrcracing.co.uk Webmaster
Schumacher Racing
TrevCoult is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2010, 07:38 AM   #17286
Tech Master
 
frito's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 1,981
Trader Rating: 59 (100%+)
Default

ok if you go back a page or so and see what i ran..It seems the first 5 or 6 laps it hauls the mail and then it just goes to same ole speed the rest of the race,I know it will fall off some,but not like its doing,on a track with 17.5 rs and motor,track is 45x90 carpet whats a good base line compared to what i had posted in my last post..or what can it be..
__________________
rc8b3e
b44.3
bfmce
t5m
radioactive raceway
frito is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2010, 07:43 AM   #17287
Tech Elite
 
M-Technic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Palm Beach, FL
Posts: 2,562
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by frito View Post
ok if you go back a page or so and see what i ran..It seems the first 5 or 6 laps it hauls the mail and then it just goes to same ole speed the rest of the race,I know it will fall off some,but not like its doing,on a track with 17.5 rs and motor,track is 45x90 carpet whats a good base line compared to what i had posted in my last post..or what can it be..
I don't know too much about 1s setups but for such a small track you should lower your turbo deley to 0.10 or 0.15.
__________________
RCAmerica | Xray | Hudy | Radiopost | Speed Passion USA | Trinity | P3 Graphics
M-Technic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2010, 08:03 AM   #17288
Tech Apprentice
 
Kuttermax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Dublin, OH
Posts: 91
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

[quote=Randy_Pike;8020981]
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kuttermax
Strange problem today with a new Tekin RS I just dropped into my 1/10 Kyosho RB5 buggy with Novak Ballistic 13.5.

I set it up fully sensored with TP3 default. 25 drag brake, 10 neutral point, brakes 80. Kopropo radio - mostly at defaults. I dialed the Novak endbell back to 15 degrees from the stock 30, with the goal to get more low end before boost kicks in at a little of 5k rpm.

QUOTE]

I did some testing last night and am still somewhat confused. I ended up dropping a new 17.5 Novak Ballistic (stock 30 end bell timing) into the buggy so as toeliminate the other motor as a variable. It also allowed me to redo all the solder connections to make sure they were fine and use a brand new sensor wire.

After installing and recalibrating radio to speedo (I set up with TP3, Brushless, sensored only, delayed reverse, neutral width 10, software 2.08), I'm still getting much higher RPM in reverse than forward. Forward is still fast enough to balloon the wheels, but clearly in reverse things are spinning much faster. I can hold the car up and go full throttle forward and it doesn't seem that things are spinning that fast, but in reverse I can only hold it for about half a second or so, because I'm worried the tires will fly off the wheels it's so fast.

I then decided to take a closer look at my SCT which also has a Tekin RS in it and a Novak Ballistic 10.5. Settings are about the same (fully sensored, 2.08 etc). I've been racing it and it seems reasonably quick but I don't have a lot of basis for comparison. I activated delayed reverse in the software, which I had turned off before. Interestingly I have the same issue with this setup, reverse is clearly spinning the wheels a lot faster than forward....

I didn't have time to make a video and post to Youtube last night, but may try tonight just to demonstrate the issue.


So either this is:

1. Normal

2. A radio problem - I'm using a KO Propo EX-5. Throttle servo is set to "reverse" which is supposed to be the correct way. When set to "Normal" the speed control will not calibrate. I'm not using any special throttle curves and using "throttle curve 3" in the Tekin software. I am using the same radio for both vehicles.

3. Some other problem? - but according to Randy it should not be the Tekin's. I don't think it's the motor's because they are new. It shouldn't be the wiring because it seems it wouldn't work at all if wired in correctly.

Stumped on this one....
__________________
Kyosho RB5 SP2 and SC-R
Traxxas Slash PE 4x4 and E-Revo BL
Tamiya Egress, RC10
Hometrack: http://www.crcrc.com
Kuttermax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2010, 08:27 AM   #17289
Tech Elite
 
DaveW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Mobile, AL
Posts: 2,964
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by S.A.W View Post
I still don't understand how you come up with the end rpm, I understand the start rpm, eg as you come onto the straight you want the boost to start to come in.

Thanks.
Others may disagree with this, but i use a manufacturers max RPM listing of a motor rounded off to the highest value as my end RPM setting in the RS.

For instance, my LRP x12 13.5 is listed as having a max RPM of 21,960. So my end RPM for the RS will be 22,000RPM. I then try the three lowest start RPM's on the RS list on the track infield to be sure i cant feel the transition into boost in the middle of the slowest corner. On our track thats usually the 3000 or 5000 start RPM.

As far as turbo goes, i use ramp 1 mostly and a zero delay (which is actually .02) and adjust its value accordingly. If i switch to ramp 2, i usually end up running 2/3rds of my ramp 1 value as a start point.

You can get a different feel by messing with the end and start RPMs for boost, but for me i decided to set the speedo up so it felt pretty much linear like my older brushed speedos did. Turbo is just the little cherry on top of the sundae.

I went back to a front ball diff in my TC this past week and the car was really responsive (compared to a front spool) to the in and out of boost transition through the corner, so i had to lower the start RPM all the way to be sure i didnt get a rush of power mid corner and push me off my line. After that, all i worry about is adjusting my turbo and gearing and im good to go.
__________________
...you better run like im booger flickin...
DaveW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2010, 08:39 AM   #17290
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: UK
Posts: 286
Default

What's the maximum rpm for the Redline 13.5t ? I can find the kv but not the rpm or can you convert it to rpm if so how ?

Thanks.
S.A.W is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2010, 09:10 AM   #17291
Tech Lord
 
20 SMOKE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: HVR_ WEEKI WACHEE FL
Posts: 10,299
Trader Rating: 101 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by S.A.W View Post
What's the maximum rpm for the Redline 13.5t ? I can find the kv but not the rpm or can you convert it to rpm if so how ?

Thanks.
KV x VOLTAGE= rpm

3500KV http://www.teamtekin.com/blmotors.html

MOTOR P/N TURNS WATTS KV ROTOR
Redline Sensored 2.5 TT2261 2.5 730 11,900 13mm
Redline Sensored 3.5 TT2260 3.5 630 10,800 13mm
Redline Sensored 4.5 TT2259 4.5 535 9,300 13mm
Redline Sensored 5.5 TT2258 5.5 428 7,700 12.5mm
Redline Sensored 6.5 TT2257 6.5 404 6,700 12.5mm
Redline Sensored 7.5 TT2256 7.5 352 6,100 12.5mm
Redline Sensored 8.5 TT2255 8.5 295 5,300 12.5mm
Redline Sensored 9.5 TT2254 9.5 261 4,900 12.5mm
Redline Sensored 10.5 TT2253 10.5 243 4,500 12.5mm
Redline Sensored 13.5 TT2252 13.5 201 3,500 12.5mm
Redline Sensored 17.5 TT2251 17.5 131 2,500 12.5mm
Redline Sensored 21.5 TT2250 21.5 88 2,100 12.5mm
__________________
Jamie W
*Team Tekin*Tekno-rc*DE Racing*AKA*DDHRC*
20 SMOKE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2010, 09:12 AM   #17292
Tech Fanatic
 
jjfo80's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: queensland australia
Posts: 759
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by S.A.W View Post
What's the maximum rpm for the Redline 13.5t ? I can find the kv but not the rpm or can you convert it to rpm if so how ?

Thanks.
Mate just multiply the kv x 7.4 volts to get the approx rpm
cheers
__________________
Owner of Precise Fuels and RC and Podified Fuels
jjfo80 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2010, 09:16 AM   #17293
Tech Fanatic
 
jjfo80's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: queensland australia
Posts: 759
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

[QUOTE=Kuttermax;8028245]
Quote:
Originally Posted by Randy_Pike View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kuttermax
Strange problem today with a new Tekin RS I just dropped into my 1/10 Kyosho RB5 buggy with Novak Ballistic 13.5.

I set it up fully sensored with TP3 default. 25 drag brake, 10 neutral point, brakes 80. Kopropo radio - mostly at defaults. I dialed the Novak endbell back to 15 degrees from the stock 30, with the goal to get more low end before boost kicks in at a little of 5k rpm.

QUOTE]

I did some testing last night and am still somewhat confused. I ended up dropping a new 17.5 Novak Ballistic (stock 30 end bell timing) into the buggy so as toeliminate the other motor as a variable. It also allowed me to redo all the solder connections to make sure they were fine and use a brand new sensor wire.

After installing and recalibrating radio to speedo (I set up with TP3, Brushless, sensored only, delayed reverse, neutral width 10, software 2.08), I'm still getting much higher RPM in reverse than forward. Forward is still fast enough to balloon the wheels, but clearly in reverse things are spinning much faster. I can hold the car up and go full throttle forward and it doesn't seem that things are spinning that fast, but in reverse I can only hold it for about half a second or so, because I'm worried the tires will fly off the wheels it's so fast.

I then decided to take a closer look at my SCT which also has a Tekin RS in it and a Novak Ballistic 10.5. Settings are about the same (fully sensored, 2.08 etc). I've been racing it and it seems reasonably quick but I don't have a lot of basis for comparison. I activated delayed reverse in the software, which I had turned off before. Interestingly I have the same issue with this setup, reverse is clearly spinning the wheels a lot faster than forward....

I didn't have time to make a video and post to Youtube last night, but may try tonight just to demonstrate the issue.


So either this is:

1. Normal

2. A radio problem - I'm using a KO Propo EX-5. Throttle servo is set to "reverse" which is supposed to be the correct way. When set to "Normal" the speed control will not calibrate. I'm not using any special throttle curves and using "throttle curve 3" in the Tekin software. I am using the same radio for both vehicles.

3. Some other problem? - but according to Randy it should not be the Tekin's. I don't think it's the motor's because they are new. It shouldn't be the wiring because it seems it wouldn't work at all if wired in correctly.

Stumped on this one....
A couple of pages ago I explained what I had to do with my futaba 4pk and that was having the transmitter in normal servo mode then calibrate the speedie by using the brake as the throttle and the throttle as the brake. then switch it to rev servo mode and your set to go... try that and let us know.
Cheers mate
__________________
Owner of Precise Fuels and RC and Podified Fuels
jjfo80 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2010, 09:29 AM   #17294
Tech Elite
 
DaveW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Mobile, AL
Posts: 2,964
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jjfo80 View Post
Mate just multiply the kv x 7.4 volts to get the approx rpm
cheers
This brings up an interesting point... LiPo's are said to be 7.4vdc. They are right at 8.4 when charged... what voltage do you use to find RPM?
__________________
...you better run like im booger flickin...
DaveW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2010, 10:10 AM   #17295
Tech Lord
 
20 SMOKE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: HVR_ WEEKI WACHEE FL
Posts: 10,299
Trader Rating: 101 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DaveW View Post
This brings up an interesting point... LiPo's are said to be 7.4vdc. They are right at 8.4 when charged... what voltage do you use to find RPM?
7.4
__________________
Jamie W
*Team Tekin*Tekno-rc*DE Racing*AKA*DDHRC*
20 SMOKE is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tekin Redline RS Sensored ESC and motors, opinions for offroad? Cain Electric Off-Road 4230 06-07-2015 04:38 PM
Sensored vs. Sensorless lemansracer Electric On-Road 71 02-14-2009 03:19 AM
New Tekin Redline Sensored Motors are Roar Legal! Randy_Pike Electric On-Road 3 08-05-2008 02:08 AM
Tekin Redline Sensored 10.5 HUCKMAN Electric On-Road 6 07-15-2008 08:50 PM
sensored vs sensorless bprocket Rookie Zone 5 05-16-2008 09:38 AM


Tags
v203, vegas 2.0


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 05:14 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net