Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
Tekin RS ESC sensored >

Tekin RS ESC sensored

Tekin RS ESC sensored

Reply

Old 10-04-2010, 10:09 AM
  #17266  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (15)
 
M-Technic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Palm Beach, FL
Posts: 2,562
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Randy_Pike View Post
Anytime you upgrade the esc software you MUST recalibrate.
I know. But in the flurry of setting up a new car while at the track I forgot to do it. It worked and it was still fast, but not as fast as it could be...
M-Technic is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2010, 10:26 AM
  #17267  
Tech Adept
 
StevenOlsen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Denmark
Posts: 176
Default

hi guys.

one of my fellow racers have a problem with his RSpro he says that the breaks ar rubbish and that i takes the car 3-4 meters to stop, where he with his old car could break in 1-2 meters.

his setup is
futaba 4PK 2,4ghz
LRP 2cells 5300 28C
LRP x11 17,5

i have tryed the beginners guide (about the setup with lipo cut off and other things) and have recalibrated severel times. but i just wont work, we havent tryed a different transmitter or motor. but 3 sensorwires.

any ideas ????
StevenOlsen is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2010, 10:40 AM
  #17268  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (34)
 
RedBullFiXX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Intergalactic Planetary
Posts: 6,542
Trader Rating: 34 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by StevenOlsen View Post
hi guys.

one of my fellow racers have a problem with his RSpro he says that the breaks ar rubbish and that i takes the car 3-4 meters to stop, where he with his old car could break in 1-2 meters.

his setup is
futaba 4PK 2,4ghz
LRP 2cells 5300 28C
LRP x11 17,5

i have tryed the beginners guide (about the setup with lipo cut off and other things) and have recalibrated severel times. but i just wont work, we havent tryed a different transmitter or motor. but 3 sensorwires.

any ideas ????
Re-calibrate radio using the 4PK calibration menu (not speedo related)
Make sure throttle and brake are set to max in radio
Re-calibrate RS after

I set brake to max on RS, and adjust brakes with radio ATL setting.
RedBullFiXX is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2010, 03:00 PM
  #17269  
Tech Master
iTrader: (59)
 
frito's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 1,987
Trader Rating: 59 (100%+)
Default need a little setup help

Ok new to the 1/12 scale scene need some advice.This is what i ran yesterday and seemed fast but lacks out of corner/infield, run on a carpet track/roadcourse.not sure length run 17.5 class
crc genxl
tekin rs motor 17.5
boost 50
turbo 5
start 2437/end7001
delay .26
ramp 1
1 cell
timing profile c2
throttle profile 5
current limit 84
push off
advance timing 10
gearing 78/51 tires 4.1

Just dont have a clue to be honest,Just the guys at track where helping me out.
frito is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2010, 03:03 PM
  #17270  
Tech Lord
iTrader: (102)
 
20 SMOKE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: HVR_ WEEKI WACHEE FL
Posts: 10,366
Trader Rating: 102 (100%+)
Default

take some timing boost off and add motor timing,or take turbo off and add motor timing
20 SMOKE is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2010, 03:35 PM
  #17271  
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: UK
Posts: 286
Default

Hi,

I'm running a Tekin Pro with a Redline 13.5t in my T3 and I'm finding the 'Timing' settings in Hotwire a bit hard to understand.

What does Current Limit do and when would I turn it down or up ?

How do I know what end rpm to set is there a way to work it out ?

What's the best way to set the gearing correct on the car before starting to adjust things like boost, turbo, ramp etc. Should I set anything to 0 or off then gear the car for the track first then start adding boost etc ?

The start rpm is where the boost setting comes in and the end rpm is where the boost stops is that correct ?

Is the all the settings in the Turbo are only for when full throttle is open and for a certain time, the delay

?I know there's lots of set up's out on the net and the Tekin is popular at my local track but thet don't really help me understand how and what each setting does and when to adjust it
S.A.W is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2010, 03:40 PM
  #17272  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (20)
 
Team Pink's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 469
Trader Rating: 20 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by S.A.W View Post
Hi,

I'm running a Tekin Pro with a Redline 13.5t in my T3 and I'm finding the 'Timing' settings in Hotwire a bit hard to understand.

What does Current Limit do and when would I turn it down or up ?

How do I know what end rpm to set is there a way to work it out ?

What's the best way to set the gearing correct on the car before starting to adjust things like boost, turbo, ramp etc. Should I set anything to 0 or off then gear the car for the track first then start adding boost etc ?

The start rpm is where the boost setting comes in and the end rpm is where the boost stops is that correct ?

Is the all the settings in the Turbo are only for when full throttle is open and for a certain time, the delay

?I know there's lots of set up's out on the net and the Tekin is popular at my local track but thet don't really help me understand how and what each setting does and when to adjust it
Current limiter help run the motor some what cooler. For 13.5 I would highly reccomend 90 to a 100 for 13.5. On the RPM subject you honestly nailed so there you need to play with a go for what feels right to you.
Team Pink is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2010, 03:41 PM
  #17273  
Tech Lord
iTrader: (102)
 
20 SMOKE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: HVR_ WEEKI WACHEE FL
Posts: 10,366
Trader Rating: 102 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by S.A.W View Post
Hi,

I'm running a Tekin Pro with a Redline 13.5t in my T3 and I'm finding the 'Timing' settings in Hotwire a bit hard to understand.

What does Current Limit do and when would I turn it down or up ?

How do I know what end rpm to set is there a way to work it out ?

What's the best way to set the gearing correct on the car before starting to adjust things like boost, turbo, ramp etc. Should I set anything to 0 or off then gear the car for the track first then start adding boost etc ?

The start rpm is where the boost setting comes in and the end rpm is where the boost stops is that correct ?

Is the all the settings in the Turbo are only for when full throttle is open and for a certain time, the delay

?I know there's lots of set up's out on the net and the Tekin is popular at my local track but thet don't really help me understand how and what each setting does and when to adjust it
read over this
http://redirectingat.com/?id=42X1295...ored-1151.html
20 SMOKE is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2010, 03:55 PM
  #17274  
Tech Regular
 
TrevCoult's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Worksop, Nottinghamshire, UK
Posts: 363
Default

Originally Posted by 20 SMOKE View Post
Thanks Jamie, you got there before I did. Amazing how many people don't even read back one page!

Trev
TrevCoult is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2010, 04:25 PM
  #17275  
Tech Lord
iTrader: (102)
 
20 SMOKE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: HVR_ WEEKI WACHEE FL
Posts: 10,366
Trader Rating: 102 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by TrevCoult View Post
Thanks Jamie, you got there before I did. Amazing how many people don't even read back one page!

Trev
you mean you can go back a page
20 SMOKE is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2010, 02:54 AM
  #17276  
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: UK
Posts: 286
Default

Thanks for the link, I had read the older version but didn't know there was one on the newer software.

So any timing on the motor is working all the time, then boost only works when the motor is in the set rpm value's ?

After the end rpm is reached Turbo will come in but only if the throttle is opened for the set delay time ?

So do I gear the car for the punch/infield ? then set the rpm for the straights etc and if I need a bit more at the end of the straight I would add the turbo, is that right ?

I still don't understand how you come up with the end rpm, I understand the start rpm, eg as you come onto the straight you want the boost to start to come in.

Thanks.
S.A.W is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2010, 03:10 AM
  #17277  
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Christchurch, NZ
Posts: 1,063
Default

You've pretty much got it nailed, but, the boost timing will apply throughout most of the time you are running. Astart of 5000 RPM is barely more than walking pace, and if you end at around 20,000 rpm, that's probably 3/4 throttle on a 13.5 (roughly speaking). So, after that "about" 3/4 throttle range, you've got all your boost applied, and then it's just waiting for the turbo, if you need it.
JR007 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2010, 03:14 AM
  #17278  
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: UK
Posts: 286
Default

Oh and timing advance dosen't do anything in sensored mode ? I read somewhere that it said set this to 0 incase the sensor lead fails and the other place says run it at 100 incase the sensor lead fails ? but then it will dump full timing on the motor and you might cook it ?

So what's good end rpm to set for a 13.5t ?
S.A.W is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2010, 04:30 AM
  #17279  
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Hong Kong
Posts: 233
Default

Originally Posted by S.A.W View Post
Oh and timing advance dosen't do anything in sensored mode ? I read somewhere that it said set this to 0 incase the sensor lead fails and the other place says run it at 100 incase the sensor lead fails ? but then it will dump full timing on the motor and you might cook it ?

So what's good end rpm to set for a 13.5t ?
Advanced timing setting:
For mod motor, set it low, ~40 to 60
For stock motor, set it higher, ~ 80 to 90

13.5, you can set end rpm at about 17000rpm
hardmankam is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2010, 05:33 AM
  #17280  
Tech Regular
 
TrevCoult's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Worksop, Nottinghamshire, UK
Posts: 363
Default

Originally Posted by S.A.W View Post
Oh and timing advance dosen't do anything in sensored mode ? I read somewhere that it said set this to 0 incase the sensor lead fails and the other place says run it at 100 incase the sensor lead fails ? but then it will dump full timing on the motor and you might cook it ?

So what's good end rpm to set for a 13.5t ?
Timing advance does nothing in sensored mode unless the sensor lead breaks or falls out.

On a 13.5 set this to 100. If the sensor lead fails this will then give you a fixed 30 degrees of timing and get you home a little slower than normal. If you set it to 0 it will get you home a lot slower!

For a modified motor setting this to 100 would NOT be a good idea. That is possibly where you've heard different things.

Trev
TrevCoult is offline  
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service